Daily Archives: January 14, 2017

Bogged down

A few days ago I had a brainwave and started working on a very promising idea for 2.1. Unfortunately it seems the amount of work to get it done is absolutely massive. I am currently bogged down, knee deep in classes, almost rewriting entire game from scratch. Maybe it’s an exaggeration, but I am touching almost every bit of code there is. The amount of bugs I am unwittingly introducing must be staggering.

mud.jpg

The problems are caused by some assumptions I hardcoded into the game from day one (5 years ago), so they are deeply entrenched and very hard to root out now.

As much as I would love to, I can’t tell you what the thing is until I am sure it will work. At the moment it seems lightyears away! I hope I am wrong here. At least yesterday the game started compiling again, but lots of things are broken.

If I manage to complete it, it will be grand. If I fail, I’ll have to revert and go back to what I was doing at the start of the week, which was not bad in itself and much easier :-)