Daily Archives: April 10, 2012

Signs

The new feature is signs! Congratulations to those of you who guessed correctly :-)

I know I am repeating myself, but I said this should be easy to do, and of course it wasn’t. Spent good several days on it, and it’s not finished yet! Ugh. I still need to add signs which are stuck directly to the walls (without the post) and resolve some text entry issues.

Initially I wanted to draw my own font for the signs, but after spending so much time on the feature I decided I haven’t got time to do it, and used a font from good old 8-bit Atari, which incidentally was the first computer I ever had.

There were some readability issues with the signs on the phone in low resolution mode, so I made the text to automatically scale to available size. But if you use all possible characters (4 lines of 16 characters each) there’s nothing I can do, you will need to come really close and crouch to read it :-)