Signs

The new feature is signs! Congratulations to those of you who guessed correctly :-)

I know I am repeating myself, but I said this should be easy to do, and of course it wasn’t. Spent good several days on it, and it’s not finished yet! Ugh. I still need to add signs which are stuck directly to the walls (without the post) and resolve some text entry issues.

Initially I wanted to draw my own font for the signs, but after spending so much time on the feature I decided I haven’t got time to do it, and used a font from good old 8-bit Atari, which incidentally was the first computer I ever had.

There were some readability issues with the signs on the phone in low resolution mode, so I made the text to automatically scale to available size. But if you use all possible characters (4 lines of 16 characters each) there’s nothing I can do, you will need to come really close and crouch to read it :-)

 

12 Comments

  1. 1285done
    Posted April 10, 2012 at 23:30 | Permalink | Reply

    great job kaauls this is a pretty big update with world sharing without sighns people are like “well what is that blocky square thing shaped like a rectangular prism” now they can be like “ohh.. its a house” for the record thats how i actually build my houses

  2. korbaksc
    Posted April 11, 2012 at 00:07 | Permalink | Reply

    Great feature! How will it work? New interface that handle writing on the sign or just popping-up classical wp7 keyboard?

    • 1285done
      Posted April 11, 2012 at 00:18 | Permalink | Reply

      good point its probably just the keyboard but i might be wrong
      btw where did you get your profile picture its cool

      • korbaksc
        Posted April 11, 2012 at 08:50 | Permalink | Reply

        Actually I didn’t get it anywhere, I create it with Photoshop using the same font as the original and famous “I love NY” logo =)

        • 1285done
          Posted April 11, 2012 at 21:29 | Permalink

          oh good job on it tho

  3. pippyo03
    Posted April 11, 2012 at 01:31 | Permalink | Reply

    why not just make it so if we click on it, it will come up much bigger on the screen so we can read it?

    • jriot10
      Posted April 11, 2012 at 02:40 | Permalink | Reply

      I agree it should like zoom in on the sign. That would be really cool. And also… I was RIGHT it is a sign XD

  4. reebs
    Posted April 11, 2012 at 03:42 | Permalink | Reply

    Great! I do like the zoom-in on tap idea, also what about letting us draw our own signs? Instead of bringing up a keyboard, what if we were able to carve on the signs? It would be pretty survivally/realistic, and cool.

    • jriot10
      Posted April 11, 2012 at 04:22 | Permalink | Reply

      I think that is a little bit way to advanced but i don’t know Kaalus’s limits in programming, He may have none.

  5. Duxk
    Posted April 11, 2012 at 12:52 | Permalink | Reply

    Just as I thought

    This should really help the the people making puzzle maps

    Thanks Kaalus

  6. ZombieMaster616
    Posted April 11, 2012 at 22:59 | Permalink | Reply

    What makes it poison, did someone take a dump in there

  7. Tanner
    Posted April 11, 2012 at 23:32 | Permalink | Reply

    Yaaaaaaay

Leave a Reply. No swearing please.

