Woohoo, Survivalcraft in Windows Store!

Survivalcraft has been certified by Microsoft and is now available in Windows Store. That means you can play it on your PC, if you have Windows 8.1. Click here to see the listing in the store:

WindowsStoreBadge

This is a great moment for me, and a culmination of over 6 months of porting work, and one of the reasons the new Engine was created.

I tested it on Acer Iconia W8 tablet, Sony Vaio Pro Laptop with touch screen, and device emulator on Windows. During the cerification it was probably tested on more devices by Microsoft. I do hope that it is enough, and Windows is not like Android, where every device crashes in a different way!

Anyway, because there is a free trial, please go and check it out. We need that in these first days to get pushed up the rankings.

Laptop

This is now possible

You can control is via mouse+keyboard, or using touch, if you have a touchscreen.

107 Comments

  1. Posted April 16, 2015 at 13:12 | Permalink | Reply

    Is it a universal app? As in if I own it on WP I own it on Windows?

    • Posted April 16, 2015 at 13:16 | Permalink | Reply

      Yep.

      • Posted April 16, 2015 at 13:31 | Permalink | Reply

        Problem: I own on original Wiindows Phone 7.5 but the only option for me via Windows PC Store is Trial or Buy. I am signed into Windows PC with same criteria as WP.

        • Posted April 16, 2015 at 13:37 | Permalink

          I am sorry, I do not control how Microsoft deals with accounts or purchases. I rely on Microsoft APIs to tell me whether the app is a full version once installed. I also do not fully understand how universal apps linking works, or whether it works at all. As far as I understand, it should work, but only time will tell. You should probably contact Microsoft support for explanation.

        • Posted April 16, 2015 at 15:02 | Permalink

          I see the same thing – I bought the WP version, but it wants me to pay for the Windows Store version. The ‘universal’ part is not working.

        • Posted April 16, 2015 at 20:50 | Permalink

          Odd as now it shows that it is ‘Owned’ in the list of apps, but when you click on it it shows Buy instead of Install. Maybe it will sort itself out in a day or two.

        • Posted April 16, 2015 at 23:19 | Permalink

          Have you tried restarting it? It’s not easy to close a Windows Store app, the only way I thinkis through task manager.

        • Posted April 17, 2015 at 05:29 | Permalink

          Yap, same here. In addition, the PC Version is more expensive than the WP version was, as far as I remember… Could that be the reason for the not-working of the universal App?

      • Posted April 16, 2015 at 13:45 | Permalink | Reply

        Well that didn’t work, So I bought it anyway. ;) I’ve been playing since Day 1 of Windows Phone when there was only a couple wood tools so, The fact that you are still developing I think you deserve it anyway.

  2. Posted April 16, 2015 at 13:18 | Permalink | Reply

    Great!

    • Posted April 16, 2015 at 13:19 | Permalink | Reply

      I hope it will also work with windows 10!
      I use Windows7 for now untill 10 comes out!

      • Posted April 16, 2015 at 15:28 | Permalink | Reply

        Of course it will. In fact I just installed it on Windows 10 and it works fine.

      • chrisitdeveloper
        Posted April 16, 2015 at 23:46 | Permalink | Reply

        Yep I’m playing SC on Win 10 as I type… 😊 bloody awesome!

        • chrisitdeveloper
          Posted April 16, 2015 at 23:48 | Permalink

          Does this mean you may be able to create Microsoft Hololens version next Kaalus? ;)

  3. Posted April 16, 2015 at 13:34 | Permalink | Reply

    Well done mate, surely more than enough reason for me to get out the laptop again, I’ve been waiting years for this! Congratulations to you on such a great job and thanks for making such an amazing game we can all play on the best platform ever!

    Mind ponders on endless world with 2 TB of storage….. Yay lol

    • Posted April 16, 2015 at 15:29 | Permalink | Reply

      Can’t wait to see what you build! :)

      • MTB adventures/RCs to the limit
        Posted April 16, 2015 at 16:24 | Permalink | Reply

        AphX you are one of the best builders around. I just don’t have the time! can’t wait to see what you come out with.

  4. Posted April 16, 2015 at 13:36 | Permalink | Reply

    I do have a Windows 8 PC and tablet, (the tablet was only 120 euro’s and has a Baytrail Z3537G CPU and HDMI) it’ll be great to play! (I’ll buy it as soon as I upgraded my 3v creditcard.)
    So everyone who want it on Windows but don’t have the money, I suggest running it on a cheap tablet though HDMI on a TV/monitor, and a bluetooth keyboard/mouse! (-;
    (Or even better, on a PC, but it can be a big noisy chunk attached to your TV lol!)
    (Mine even can run Skyrim, at 800×600, or Oblivion at ultra gfx and 1280×800, seriously, so I guess it’ll run Survivalcraft at 1080p on TV.)

    • Posted April 16, 2015 at 13:44 | Permalink | Reply

      I meant my tablet can run Skyrim and such, (at 800×600, but I’ll bet SC will run much better at a higher resolution) my PC can also do it obviously, but it gives people the opportunity to play it without buying a full PC.

      • Posted April 16, 2015 at 13:57 | Permalink | Reply

        Ah, I did not see you can use it for WP, that even makes it easier to play it considering WP devices are not expensive nowadays! Sorry about that!
        Anyway, indeed great work Kaalus! Thank you!
        You’ve put so much more attention and possibilities in the game than the competitors, (possibly much larger companies) you truly have a heart for your fans! You are much closer involved with your community! (-:

    • Posted April 16, 2015 at 15:31 | Permalink | Reply

      Yah its pretty cool plugged into a 50″ TV!

  5. Posted April 16, 2015 at 13:40 | Permalink | Reply

    Congrats Kaalus and yes thanks so much for this game! After a stressful day at work, challenge mode really takes my mind off things.

    So if we run a device emulator we could get this running on our Windows 7 machine?

  6. Posted April 16, 2015 at 13:46 | Permalink | Reply

    This is what I have been waiting for since I discovered this game. Besides multiplayer that is… Good work!

  7. Posted April 16, 2015 at 13:52 | Permalink | Reply

    OMG THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU!!!!!!

  8. Posted April 16, 2015 at 13:55 | Permalink | Reply

    Kaalus, why don`t you send it to Steam? I can’t find SC in Windows Store. And a link takes me to the main page. :(

  9. emainia
    Posted April 16, 2015 at 14:15 | Permalink | Reply

    The day we all been waiting for, well at least Windows users! <3 Survivalcraft

  10. Posted April 16, 2015 at 14:28 | Permalink | Reply

    If I understand correctly: (I haven’t followed recent developments) Windows RT, even x86 based (not ARM) will not run Windows desktop applications, but you can run it on a jailbroken x86 Windows RT tablet/phone?
    And you can run Windows RT games though an system emulator on a desktop PC?
    I do believe Microsoft want to make the x86 between portable and desktop devices barriër disappear, so maybe we’ll get a unified Windows OS on x86 devices? (-: (Not related to ARM devices.)
    Sorry, it was a tad bit confusing to me.

  11. Posted April 16, 2015 at 14:30 | Permalink | Reply

    I cant find game in the store!=( And a link takes me to the main page.

  12. Posted April 16, 2015 at 14:33 | Permalink | Reply

    if im playing device with mouse and keyboard how i interact with buttons inside of the game can we map keys for that and how about FOV slider

  13. MTB adventures/RCs to the limit
    Posted April 16, 2015 at 14:40 | Permalink | Reply

    Great! I hope IOS is soon!

    • MTB adventures/RCs to the limit
      Posted April 16, 2015 at 14:41 | Permalink | Reply

      i have windows 7 so……….. maybe a upgrade soon! why can’t windows 7 work?

      • Posted April 16, 2015 at 15:03 | Permalink | Reply

        Windows 7 dosent have windows app store

        • MTB adventures/RCs to the limit
          Posted April 16, 2015 at 16:18 | Permalink

          okay. well that is my stupidity.

  14. Posted April 16, 2015 at 14:44 | Permalink | Reply

    Hard at work Kaalus, good job and Thank you!!! <3
    <3 <3 You!!

    10 months 1 adventure map:
    https://mrsurvivalcraft.wordpress.com/

  15. Posted April 16, 2015 at 14:52 | Permalink | Reply

    Awesome work, now more players can make videos for SC.

  16. Posted April 16, 2015 at 14:54 | Permalink | Reply

    Now… You can say SC on mobile AND PC 😃

  17. mrdxn
    Posted April 16, 2015 at 15:11 | Permalink | Reply

    Great job Kaalus! Congrats!!! Hope all goes well with the testing phase! If I had an 8.1 laptop I’d be all over it… but alas, I’m suck with 7 for the momo. :-) good on ya Kaalus!

  18. Posted April 16, 2015 at 15:11 | Permalink | Reply

    Didn’t even think about it. It was a no brainer purchase. Now i need to get my world from android.

  19. jakethepuppy
    Posted April 16, 2015 at 15:41 | Permalink | Reply

    Kaalus why does it say internal server error (500) when i upload a world in the cc

    • Posted April 16, 2015 at 16:17 | Permalink | Reply

      A bug on the server, should be better now.

      • MTB adventures/RCs to the limit
        Posted April 16, 2015 at 16:19 | Permalink | Reply

        ok. thanks for letting us know!

      • jakethepuppy
        Posted April 16, 2015 at 16:19 | Permalink | Reply

        Oh ok thanks

  20. Posted April 16, 2015 at 15:51 | Permalink | Reply

    Please, fix graphical glitches on a android -_-

  21. Posted April 16, 2015 at 15:53 | Permalink | Reply

    Make it for Windows 7 PLEASE!

  22. Posted April 16, 2015 at 16:09 | Permalink | Reply

    This is great. Will the keyboard and mouse work on android as well? This will be great for tablets and bluestacks on older windows. .

    • Posted April 16, 2015 at 16:10 | Permalink | Reply

      There is one problem with bluestacks, the keyboard buffer creates a locking effect.

  23. Posted April 16, 2015 at 17:57 | Permalink | Reply

    Great work kaalus! Is there any word on iOS or its releas?

  24. Posted April 16, 2015 at 20:33 | Permalink | Reply

    Windows 8,1 is so good on my PC it should make waiting for ios 1.27 a lot easier

  25. Posted April 16, 2015 at 20:38 | Permalink | Reply

    Glad it’s finally on PC. although I hope this doesn’t cause legal issues between you and microsoft, since microsoft now owns minecraft. And I’m sure everyone knows how microsoft is with it’s “clone” policy even though survivalcraft is in no way a clone.

    • Posted April 16, 2015 at 23:10 | Permalink | Reply

      I’m sure Microsoft already checked the game out when they allowed it on the stores so I think were fine

  26. Runesten Grimeton
    Posted April 16, 2015 at 21:02 | Permalink | Reply

    Congratulation, work will done.

    I thought it a good idea to let you know that on here; http://apps.microsoft.com/windows/en-us/app/survivalcraft/0fc8e272-1ad6-4c3b-ba89-54a4b2f08f91 it is listed as $4.99 but on the store it is listed as $6.09

    I will give it a try but I can’t see myself paying in AUD. The Australian dollar is just too low in value. Maybe in Bitcoin or something lol.

    Grimeton

  27. Posted April 16, 2015 at 21:44 | Permalink | Reply

    Congratulations Kaalus! Been over a year since I purchased your game and have seen nothing but hard work and greatness ;) keep up the awesome work! Btw will we ever expect to see a Mac version of SC? I switched up from PC to Mac back in August :(

  28. Posted April 16, 2015 at 22:59 | Permalink | Reply

    1.27 one more step closer for iOS…

    ..can’t wait to get my blocky mitts on the new feats

  29. DrSmCraft
    Posted April 16, 2015 at 23:21 | Permalink | Reply

    Kaalus you are so AWESOME. I downloaded SC for Windows PC. The controls are comfortable and very similar to Minecraft’s. It runs so smooth, so clean, so HD, so awesome. And I love the part you can have a desktop sized screen while playing the game and testing your textures. I just love it

  30. chrisitdeveloper
    Posted April 16, 2015 at 23:39 | Permalink | Reply

    Awesome well done mate!!!!
    Works like a charm so far on Windows 10!

  31. Posted April 17, 2015 at 00:12 | Permalink | Reply

    but, if we already own it on an ipad, can we transfer it onto the laptop/computer instead of buying???

    • DrSmCraft
      Posted April 17, 2015 at 04:24 | Permalink | Reply

      I depends. This is my theory. I’m android only user so I don’t know how its on Apple. You could somehow get the .ipa file of SC. (First, IPA files are really hard to find. Second, SC isn’t updated to 1.27, so I would wait.) Then you could install some sort of Apple emulator software on your computer. An example is Virtual(at least that’s what I think its named). You can transfer the file to your computer and run it in the software(This is kinda what people did with SC on Win.7 but with Bluestacks Android Emulator) But I don’t think its possible to run it possible to run Apple apps directly in Computer.

      • DrSmCraft
        Posted April 17, 2015 at 04:25 | Permalink | Reply

        Sorry if this doesn’t make sense.

  32. Posted April 17, 2015 at 00:26 | Permalink | Reply

    I just tried to download this on my surface pro 3, and the store is telling me its not compatible with my device? Any ideas?

  33. Posted April 17, 2015 at 00:29 | Permalink | Reply

    Spammity spam! You sick of me yet, eh? Create an account here! We need some stuff on the forums! Post your awesome stuff here! ——> http://gosurvivalcraft.com

    Love ya loyal Survivalcrafters! Keep crafting! And Kaalus keep coding lol :-D so excited!!!!!!!!!!

    • MTB adventures/RCs to the limit
      Posted April 17, 2015 at 12:45 | Permalink | Reply

      i am there!

  34. Posted April 17, 2015 at 00:47 | Permalink | Reply

    Hey Kaalus, was wondering if this game on PC has vSync enabled. I’m curious as a I prefer not having it on (latency). Well done on the new engine as well, it’s no simple task. Can I ask what programming language this engine is written out of? Also, do you use OpenGL.
    :)

  35. Posted April 17, 2015 at 00:50 | Permalink | Reply

    I just bought the game again! Im so ecited… I dont mind paying again you deserve it Kaalus!

  36. Posted April 17, 2015 at 00:52 | Permalink | Reply

    I can’t get it yet.

  37. Posted April 17, 2015 at 02:09 | Permalink | Reply

    i noticed that when you strike a campfire with lightning it will have the block appear as an entity briefly until it settles and then disappears, is this intentional or a bug (shows up like a mini entity like when you break a explode a normal block) windows version for pc

    • Posted April 17, 2015 at 04:09 | Permalink | Reply

      I think it’s intentional, all blocks I have encountered can turn into that “tiny block form” when exploded

  38. Posted April 17, 2015 at 02:10 | Permalink | Reply

    Well that is awesome. Love the universal compatibility!

  39. chunkychief09
    Posted April 17, 2015 at 03:08 | Permalink | Reply

    Mission accomplished

    • chunkychief09
      Posted April 17, 2015 at 03:09 | Permalink | Reply

      I have been waiting for this day

  40. Blake George
    Posted April 17, 2015 at 03:25 | Permalink | Reply

    Hey has anyone downloaded my worlds off of community content?
    The names are: Farm and Town
    OR Callender IA
    If you have plz email me and comment what you think and/or improvements/additions
    To either one my email is: blakeg@gmail.com
    DONT FORGET TO RATE THEM!! :)

  41. Blake George
    Posted April 17, 2015 at 03:28 | Permalink | Reply

    Sorry typo my email is: blakeg1822@gmail.com

  42. Posted April 17, 2015 at 05:59 | Permalink | Reply

    Hi, Kaalus do you can add a search for the community content, tags or somerhing similar? Almost impossible to find something without it. And multiplayer at least possible to implement or not?

  43. lenhayes7
    Posted April 17, 2015 at 06:45 | Permalink | Reply

    how did you get windows 10? I didn’t know it was out yet

    • Posted April 17, 2015 at 08:37 | Permalink | Reply

      Actually is not released yet… I’m sure of this

    • Posted April 17, 2015 at 09:12 | Permalink | Reply

      Really? All you have to do is google windows 10. The second hit is how to download it, is it that difficult?

      • Posted April 17, 2015 at 13:46 | Permalink | Reply

        Well, I know…
        That is just a “preview version”
        Windows 10 is not Officially released… Only “Unofficially”

  44. Posted April 17, 2015 at 09:07 | Permalink | Reply

    Oh no!…

    The problem of the Community Contenent is not completely resolved Yet…
    There is a world called “Ultimate Dimension Portal”
    Is one of the stupid World that says “Rate 5 for…”

    It’s simply a renamed version of “Diamond Dimension Portal”

  45. Posted April 17, 2015 at 11:09 | Permalink | Reply

    Kaalus, when ios gets resubmitted, are we going to stop nominating?

    • MTB adventures/RCs to the limit
      Posted April 17, 2015 at 12:46 | Permalink | Reply

      i think so.

  46. josmile
    Posted April 17, 2015 at 12:01 | Permalink | Reply

    I don’t have Windows 8.
    Both my phone and PC are Windows 7!
    Would please put some of the improvements like full range of clothing and campfire on Windows 7 phone before you cease to support it.

  47. Posted April 17, 2015 at 13:40 | Permalink | Reply

    Excellent work by Kaalus. Now if he would just implement a left handed mode for iOS and Android. It seems like it would be easy compared to everything else.

    • Posted April 17, 2015 at 17:10 | Permalink | Reply

      Heyyyyy, there is Windows Phone too you know :) SC first released on WP devices.

  48. Posted April 17, 2015 at 14:03 | Permalink | Reply

    Why just USA region???

  49. gwiggy18
    Posted April 19, 2015 at 13:20 | Permalink | Reply

    I’ll get it!

  50. Posted May 16, 2015 at 14:50 | Permalink | Reply

    Can you make a mac version?

  51. TheMegaXandy
    Posted June 6, 2015 at 14:36 | Permalink | Reply

    I have to change my PC region to ‘United States’ to download the game.

  52. Posted July 7, 2015 at 16:51 | Permalink | Reply

    on your windows website, make sure you add photos of the many different animals in the game, including rare ones. that’s a big seller for kids. most of them like having lots of animals
    so they can create a zoo or something.

  53. Posted July 14, 2015 at 17:35 | Permalink | Reply

    A linux version would be most appreciated.

Leave a Reply. No swearing please.

