Daily Archives: July 7, 2017

Apple and PS3 controller

Apple have rejected the 2.1 update due to screenshot issues. Their rejection messages are extremely vague, so I don’t know what the problem is. I will probably have to make some new screenshots, resubmit and hope for the best.

This means more waiting for Apple update. Sorry!

Today finally I’ve got my PS3 dualshock controller for testing:

DualShock_3_SIXAXIS_Controller_for_PS3_-_Black_2_CarbonFusion_co_uk

I connected it to an Android Phone with an OTG cable. I was expecting the triggers not to work, as this has been reported by you. But what? They work perfectly fine! Are you sure the triggers still don’t work for you?

Btw. I was expecting better from a Sony controller. The problem is that their thumbsticks are badly calibrated. They report maximum value when only about halfway to the edge, so the remaining movement is pointless. Plus, each stick and direction behaves slightly differently. Why not use all the range consistently on all axes like the Xbox ones?

Or, maybe it’s just the PC driver. When connected to a Sony console, they might work differently. Actually, I am pretty sure they do. I don’t believe Sony would have screwed so royally on such a basic thing. But I don’t have a PS3 lying around to check it.