Windows Store ready

You’ve probably noticed already, but Windows Store version is up and ready for downloading/update.

Have fun!

In the meantime, some people have complained that their 3rd party gamepads do not work with the Windows Store version. Yes, Microsoft only allows XInput gamepads (i.e. XBox gamepads) in Windows Store 8.1 apps. Most older PC gamepads use DirectInput standard, and are not recognized as XInput devices.

If you have one of those, fortunately there is a solution. Try a program called InputMapper 2. It’s free, but you must register to download it. The user interface is very clunky and it took me a full hour to set it up, but eventually I got my DirectInput controller working in Survivalcraft. So it’s definitely possible.

A second, and probably better solution is to just get an used Xbox 360 gamepad. They are very good quality (in my experience miles better than any 3rd party controllers) and come for ~$10 on eBay these days.

Btw. this is how InputMapper2 looks like with the 3 plugins required to make a generic DirectInput gamepad work with Survivalcraft:

im2.jpg

There are also specific plugins for Playstation 3 and 4 controllers, and many more.

 

 

42 Comments

  1. Posted July 1, 2017 at 18:48 | Permalink | Reply

    WoooHoooooooo!

  2. Matt
    Posted July 1, 2017 at 18:50 | Permalink | Reply

    I’m using two PS4 gamepads with DS4Windows and everything works perfectly.

  3. Beatrix Werther
    Posted July 1, 2017 at 19:13 | Permalink | Reply

    And now Kaalus is gonne to publish the update for IOS.

  4. g0reblast
    Posted July 1, 2017 at 19:16 | Permalink | Reply

    My goal is to have the kids using there Xbox controllers and me on the laptop hooked up to a big screen. Get them off Minecraft for a bit! Lol! Awesome as always Kaalus! Thank you!

  5. Posted July 1, 2017 at 19:34 | Permalink | Reply

    Thoughts so far:
    You are top notch sir.
    However. I am very tempted to build an initial starting shack in creative and then switching back to challenging. Because man! This game has sure become difficult with the last few updates. Very hard starting out. Got sick first thing. Never got better lol.
    It’s going to take some practice. Till then I’m a dead man.

    • Posted July 1, 2017 at 21:35 | Permalink | Reply

      Try to stay under trees during rain and make walls for whatever you have to avoid animals killing you. That way you’ll not get sick.

    • Posted July 1, 2017 at 22:11 | Permalink | Reply

      Was thinking might do same, before leaving the beach, just to load up a chest with furniture items I’d love to have. Then once off the beach, strictly Challenging.

  6. Posted July 1, 2017 at 19:35 | Permalink | Reply

    Windows is the best option for SC. I have Android as well. Now if only rotten pumpkins would give some seeds…

  7. Posted July 1, 2017 at 19:38 | Permalink | Reply

    Specific Plug-ins for PS4 controller… Interesting!

  8. Posted July 1, 2017 at 19:40 | Permalink | Reply

    Hey Kaalus are the tablet users going to be able to use the split screen option?
    cause i play SC on my iPad Air

  9. Posted July 1, 2017 at 20:09 | Permalink | Reply

    I feel like its just so brutally and unrealistically hard. It doesn’t take two minutes in the rain to get sick.. I like that you have tried to make things realistic in the mechanics with guns and stuff. But other aspects of the game have just… gone over to being more difficult than real life would be. Maybe things like sickness should start out in peak condition. And the more often you get sick. The more likely you are to get sick in I’ll play around a bit and see what it’s like when you are leveled up a bit. Its likely i just need to spend more time with the game to get used to the mechanics introduced in recent times.

    • g0reblast
      Posted July 1, 2017 at 20:36 | Permalink | Reply

      The key is finding the right spot to set camp. I’m on day 35 on cruel. Food is the biggest headache. Starting out my advice is get some wood, crafting table, wooden sword and axe and pick and spade, collect a 9 vines if possible, then travel to find pumpkins, or boar, mine 8 granite to make a furnace, plant the pumpkins to keep them fresh, try and get to an area near a desert and get cacti, lots of cacti, they are good for fuel for the furnace and defence, make a tiny house from dirt, mine sand to make glass so you can see out, use cacti as a wall or door, break all eggs inside your home (to spawn birds possibly) until you get copper for a bucket, once you have killed a bird make some arrows (wooden tipped ones are fine for birds, place lots of cacti outside your door the wolves etc will not come too close and you can bait them and pick then off one at a time easily.

      The issue I have now is that the only food is birds and got no copper to make a bucket to cook eggs or try making bread. The other animals in my area are all predators which is not a problem as they generally avoid me, unless it is a big cat (killed 3 so far, no lions) or I bait them into my expanding maze of cacti! So need to go exploring! That’s when death is likely to come!

      Love it!

      • Posted July 1, 2017 at 21:33 | Permalink | Reply

        That is a very detailed tutorial on the new features!

        • g0reblast
          Posted July 1, 2017 at 22:14 | Permalink

          With cacti always just harvest the top two blocks. They grow so fast. And when placing them as a door for example you can place up to 3 on top of each other. Dead easy to break in the morning and animals stay away or get hurt. They are great.

      • Posted July 1, 2017 at 23:27 | Permalink | Reply

        Thanks for the tips blast. It’s been awhile I’ve been trying to get back into it since the addition of electricity haha. I peeled out to watch some let’s plays just to see what people generally do first. I like your intuitive idea for the use of cactus

      • Posted July 2, 2017 at 03:30 | Permalink | Reply

        In 2.1 I am using temp +4 or even 8. “Normal” seems colder now generally.

        I dig a trench on 1 or more sides of my house. 3 blocks deep. At night it traps the predators if you taunt them. Helps keep their population in check too. Once I have iron for a bucket I’ll place water at one end and a chest at the other to collect skins and meat when they eventually die.

  10. Posted July 1, 2017 at 21:09 | Permalink | Reply

    Nice!

  11. Posted July 1, 2017 at 21:29 | Permalink | Reply

    Kaalus, can you add multiscreen support? If my computer has 2 monitors, i want play at first and my friend will play at second

  12. Posted July 1, 2017 at 21:32 | Permalink | Reply

    Thank you for the help kaalus It is working!
    Can anyone tell me how to save a actual mapping? I don’t find the option to save. When I restrart the programm I need to remap again.
    Thank you!

    • Posted July 1, 2017 at 21:39 | Permalink | Reply

      I found the answer! You need a plugin called “profile loader” then you can save profiles.

  13. Posted July 1, 2017 at 21:34 | Permalink | Reply

    It’s better use Xpadder but is not free.

  14. Posted July 1, 2017 at 22:06 | Permalink | Reply

    BUG (2.0): Furniture texture is upside down.

  15. Posted July 1, 2017 at 23:26 | Permalink | Reply

    ok Kaalus im sad :(
    Im playing on gpd win.

    atom x7 z8750 quad core up to 2.6ghz
    intel hd 405
    4gb ram

    game can run almost solid rock 60fps with 320block render distance.
    The problem is when im pluging in my x360 controller, fps goes down to 25-30 fps. no matter performance settings.i can set 32 blocks render distance, nothing changes

    I have many apps from windows store,and normal windows games much more demanding than sc and everything works fine with them when im using controller.

    in menu fps goes down from 60 to 42-45fps when im connecting my controller.
    i have noticed wierd thing in task manager when im connecting my controller.
    survivalcraft cpu usage goes from ~5% to 15-18%. also service runtime brooker starting up and eats around 20 – 25% cpu but this is normal with uwp apps.

    but in the game built in cpu info i see 20% cpu usage (we are still in menu:P ) and when im connecting my controller cpu usage shows 4-5% Oo

    please

    help

    me

    :((((((((((((

  16. Posted July 2, 2017 at 03:37 | Permalink | Reply

    I’ve tested 3 3rd party Xbox 360/win controllers and they all work about them same. One for $15 on Amazon. All good. Plugged into USB, installed, and worked great. Did not work with MCPC :P.

    Creative is FANTASTIC with a controller! Horizontal movement stays at same height, and blocks build/break fast like MC. Only wish holding down trigger would auto-place blocks. But still, great improvement for Builders!

  17. Posted July 2, 2017 at 07:48 | Permalink | Reply

    I use x360ce instead of inputmapper and have found it much more intuitive

    http://www.x360ce.com/

  18. g0reblast
    Posted July 2, 2017 at 09:55 | Permalink | Reply

    BUG with Windows Phone. Unable to verify app so that I can login to Dropbox. Always when a new release is made, for example 2.0 to 2.1 you are required to reverify access to Dropbox. When I select Allow it directs me to the Windows Store saying I need an App to complete the verification. Hit NO and nothing happens, hit YES and it searches for COMCANDYRUFUGANES.SURVIVALCRAFT2 which it cannot find. One od the internal version numbers not updated possibly?

    It is as though the game is not report the correct version number to Dropbox.

    • g0reblast
      Posted July 2, 2017 at 09:57 | Permalink | Reply

      Typo in the windows store search string. It is COM.CANDYRUFUSGAMES.SURVIVALCRAFT2

    • Posted July 3, 2017 at 14:03 | Permalink | Reply

      Thanks for the bug report – this is indeed broken. Fix already underway.

      • g0reblast
        Posted July 3, 2017 at 21:10 | Permalink | Reply

        Thanks Kaalus

  19. Posted July 5, 2017 at 04:30 | Permalink | Reply

    Hi Kaalus. So I recently got myself an Xbox 360 Wireless Controller and tried to play Survivalcraft 2 on Windows 10.

    I am not sure this is a bug or it’s just my controller. It’s about the thumb sticks deadzone. As you may know, these thumb sticks are not perfect. It can be a bit loose in the center. So my right thumb stick does that. And because of that, my player’s view on SC2 rotates on it’s own. I can just realign my thumb stick and center it but it’s a bit f a hassle.

    Is adding a deadzone (sensitivity) on the controls something you can do? Or do we have to get XInput wrappers and adjust deadzones ourselves?

    • Posted July 5, 2017 at 04:31 | Permalink | Reply

      PS. It doesn’t happen on other games. I was playing The Witcher 3 and even with my slightly loose right thumb stick, my camera don’t wander around on itself.

Leave a Reply. No swearing please.

