2.1 submitted to Google Play

Google Play should receive the update in a few hours. In the meantime, check the Updates History, all changes in 2.1 are already listed there.

As many of you are new here, I’ll outline the usual update process:

First, I release the update on Google Play. This is because it is by far the easiest platform to work with, with the quickest turnaround in case of problems.

Second, Google Play users act as testers. They play the game first, but also find the bugs I might have introduced. The bugs get fixed. This usually takes a few days.

Third, I release for the remaining platforms: Apple AppStore, Windows Phone, Windows Store, Amazon App Store.

Btw. did you know that in 2.1 you can cook pumpkins to get pumpkin soup?

Pumpkin Soup-0.png

Which after a few days will turn into a rotten pumpkin soup:

Rotten Pumpkin Soup-0.png

Looks delicious. Not :-)

I will upload 2.1 blocks texture and blocks data to Files/Technical page shortly.

You will also soon notice that I decided to change Surivalcraft 2 icon to a simpler version:

androidicon.png

 

71 Comments

  1. Franklin Yin
    Posted June 24, 2017 at 20:07 | Permalink | Reply

    First!

    • Franklin Yin
      Posted June 24, 2017 at 20:08 | Permalink | Reply

      Sorry I waited so long to say that I just had to :)

  2. Posted June 24, 2017 at 20:20 | Permalink | Reply

    Kaalus, It’s nice that the update is here, but I was expecting you to add ways to preserve food like drying racks, smokers and salt. Also, why didn’t you add the possibilitie to cook on campfires?

  3. Posted June 24, 2017 at 20:23 | Permalink | Reply

    Kaalus is there anyway i could get survivalcraft 2 for free ive had the first survivalcraft on 9/16/2013.I love the game and would love the second survivalcraft.

  4. g0reblast
    Posted June 24, 2017 at 20:50 | Permalink | Reply

    Charging my Nexus 7…. Cannot wait! Great work.

  5. Posted June 24, 2017 at 20:53 | Permalink | Reply

    5th :(

    • Posted June 24, 2017 at 20:55 | Permalink | Reply

      enjoying the update now. but still hoping for fishing rod.. Hehe

      • Posted June 24, 2017 at 21:06 | Permalink | Reply

        having trouble with my new control.. I usually jump with my right finger in lower right of my screen

  6. Posted June 24, 2017 at 20:58 | Permalink | Reply

    I love the update, but first thing that happened when starting a new game: got mauled by a bear.
    With the addition of all the new survival mechanics, I think the balance really needs to be addressed. Since food was already hard enough to come by in the previous updates and can now spoil, there needs to be a way to preserve food. Also because you can get sick from being wet, it really shouldn’t rain on the first day. Maybe besides giving the character clothes give them a machete and a piece of fish in the spirit of stranded pirate?

    Also I’d hoped the issue would be addressed with bigger biomes, but I still have lions wandering around on the top of cold mountains, and bears in field with no nearby mountains. Part of the issue is path finding, but I really don’t want to deal with all the biomes apex predators in one place. Wolfs and coyotes I can deal with, they’re trackers by nature, but I shouldn’t have tigers, lions, wolfs, coyotes, etc… all trying to maul me. Can you please restrict animals to not be able to go a certain distance away from their home biome?

    Further on animals a realistic balance has predators < prey. Right now it feels like there's no food except myself…

    • Posted June 24, 2017 at 21:31 | Permalink | Reply

      I agree with all you said. 2.1 unbalanced the game and animals should stay in their biomes.

    • Posted June 25, 2017 at 00:35 | Permalink | Reply

      Time for an “All in favor?”. Count my vote please.
      For consideration? How about half a chance to get away once you are mauled the first time. An adrenaline boost might be nice.

      • Posted June 25, 2017 at 06:23 | Permalink | Reply

        Actually pretty good idea because animals keep sneaking up on me. How does a bear sneak up on you?

  7. Posted June 24, 2017 at 21:05 | Permalink | Reply

    Finally :P

  8. Posted June 24, 2017 at 21:15 | Permalink | Reply

    So far everything seems fine (I’ve noticed Iron Ore Chunks too BTW)

    I did only a quick test, game menus are smother and faster too, but seems that my tablet is “overheated” after only 8 minutes of Gameplay

    (XPERIA tablet Z3 Compact)

  9. Posted June 24, 2017 at 21:18 | Permalink | Reply

    Pretty sure this is a bug, but germanium crystal has semiconductor block texture, and looks hideous. Need to have same colour as it did before in my opinion.

    • Posted June 24, 2017 at 21:23 | Permalink | Reply

      I don’t think that is a bug since now uses a new 3D model

    • Posted June 24, 2017 at 21:27 | Permalink | Reply

      Only from creative inventory btw, looks normal coming from mined ore apparently.

      • Posted June 24, 2017 at 21:37 | Permalink | Reply

        They are different items called Germanium Ore Chunks

        Now there is Iron ore chunk too

        • Posted June 24, 2017 at 22:36 | Permalink

          Grab a germanium crystal from creative inventory, then grab a germanium ore and break it. You will notice two textures on the germanium crystal chunks.

    • Posted June 24, 2017 at 23:41 | Permalink | Reply

      With my texture pack (Johan real hd) it looks really ok, but I’ll try to get a better one later.

  10. Posted June 24, 2017 at 21:20 | Permalink | Reply

    Sweet!!!

  11. Posted June 24, 2017 at 21:21 | Permalink | Reply

    Wonderful! Can’t wait to test it!

  12. Posted June 24, 2017 at 21:22 | Permalink | Reply

    Thank you Kaalus!
    It’s been an amazing update!

  13. Posted June 24, 2017 at 21:22 | Permalink | Reply

    Also, gravel no longer drops just gravel blocks, sometimes it drops nothing at all in challenging. Please fix this, i use gravel blocks in a lot of builds!

  14. Posted June 24, 2017 at 21:26 | Permalink | Reply

    Please, Kaalus. Don’t increase lightning frequency! If you striving for realism, lightning is already too destructive.

    It reduces entire forests to nothing and trees do not regrow. This is not realistic!

    If a player stays in one place long enough there are no trees left!

    It adds modified chunks to the chunks file thus bloating the game!

    Lightning strikes that result in terrible fires is not common!

    We already struggle with this. Please don’t make it worse!!

    • Posted June 24, 2017 at 22:01 | Permalink | Reply

      Since lightning normally happens when it rains, maybe have rain be able to put out fire. More lightning, less fire.
      (Side note: Can my creative player please have an option to not become a human torch whenever building tall structures?)

      • Posted June 25, 2017 at 01:54 | Permalink | Reply

        That’s a really great idea!

      • Stanimus
        Posted June 25, 2017 at 17:08 | Permalink | Reply

        Lightning is already the most destructive force in these worlds. I spend far too much time reseeding the local forests. Either have rain extinguish fires, have forests respawn naturally or both – in the name of realism. And/or reduce the ability of fire to spread. In reality lightning only rarely causes forest fires. At least in the current geological era!

  15. Posted June 24, 2017 at 21:27 | Permalink | Reply

    Yay!!!! But sadly I can’t upgrade now due to low space…

  16. Posted June 24, 2017 at 21:27 | Permalink | Reply

    I was not close at all about the bucket of cheese!!! I should’ve known it would’ve been pumpkin soup. Yes Hypixelofsurvivalcraft said that its my other account.

  17. Posted June 24, 2017 at 21:28 | Permalink | Reply

    Wait isn’t there some features that only pc can only test? Bc there could be bugs with that.

    • Posted June 24, 2017 at 21:30 | Permalink | Reply

      Like with the splitscreen function. Bc I don’t think that has been done be4 on pc. Atleast idk of any other game that does splitscreen.

  18. Posted June 24, 2017 at 21:30 | Permalink | Reply

    Thanks a lot by the update, Kaalus….I was waiting for a “survivalist update”……what do you think about a reach in the survival worlds? Something like reach in a civilization, a tribe, something that we long for (like mcpe to reach in nether or end)
    Thank you

  19. Posted June 24, 2017 at 21:37 | Permalink | Reply

    In first person, if you use a custom skin your hand will appear black.

  20. Posted June 24, 2017 at 21:42 | Permalink | Reply

    I think I found a minor bug:

    In the main menu there is a message: “welcome to survivalcraft 2.0” should be “2.1”

    Split screen is great but I need more testing!

    No problems so far on honor 7.

  21. Posted June 24, 2017 at 21:46 | Permalink | Reply

    Just tried it with a Xbox one controller blue tooth to my phone and these are the responses I got right Joy=nothing , left joy = walk, R & L d pad select active inventory , a = jump , y= full inventory , b= back , select = crouch , d \/ = camera angle , LB = body inventory , RB = ? , LT =rotate Right and left ,RT= look up and down the last to need moved to the joy because after the first time you look you are looking up spinning the only way to stop is hold RT and LT half way down

  22. colbyfranknorth
    Posted June 24, 2017 at 21:54 | Permalink | Reply

    Download pending…

  23. Posted June 24, 2017 at 22:42 | Permalink | Reply

    Awesome! Already updated it… Glad to have the update.

  24. italopaulo
    Posted June 24, 2017 at 22:42 | Permalink | Reply

    This is all incredible , Kaalus adds online multiplayer mode I know you’re struggling even though this version is spectacular

  25. Posted June 24, 2017 at 22:56 | Permalink | Reply

    I’ll update my texture Johan Real HD

  26. Posted June 24, 2017 at 23:25 | Permalink | Reply

    Hello there, I’m so happy to see that update is now ready to test.
    First thing I tested was a gamepad compability. Sadly it works only partialy. I can use sticks and D-pad function but that’s all. square/triangle/cross/circle and all other buttons do not respond.
    Technical info: Gioteck VX-2(wired) through OTG. Non-rooted phone, Android 6.0 Redmi note 4.
    Little suggestion: Maybe we could use our keyboards and mouses to control the character on Android? Thanks to the OTG(or Bluetooth) we can connect multiple components to phone/tablet.

    • Posted June 25, 2017 at 00:33 | Permalink | Reply

      Update.
      I checked the pad with another phone and it still don’t work well. Maybe I’ll buy something else, hope it’ll work.
      OH and the Ps3 pad works well through OTG with Zenfone 5. Unfortunately “he don’t like redmi”.

  27. Posted June 24, 2017 at 23:35 | Permalink | Reply

    Great update, just one thing, you get flu way too quickly. This should take quite a bit longer. This is too severe. Rain is going to be like lava in some places.

    • Stanimus
      Posted June 25, 2017 at 17:14 | Permalink | Reply

      It would be quite helpful here if we had a poncho… full rain protection but reduced mobility, ranged weapon effectiveness and vision. No chance to use melee weapons. Seems like a good tradeoff to me…

  28. Posted June 24, 2017 at 23:37 | Permalink | Reply

    My previous world, Logic City no longer works.

    I have updated my texture pack. The bread is a bit funny, otherwise OK

  29. Posted June 24, 2017 at 23:46 | Permalink | Reply

    Please give us the high speed flight option with panning like a plane as in your video.

  30. Posted June 25, 2017 at 00:08 | Permalink | Reply

    Of all the times for my Google device battery to be dead! Come on, charge!

  31. Posted June 25, 2017 at 00:10 | Permalink | Reply

    “Fixed aiming circle offset for left-handed setup” Thank you !

  32. hanaa12
    Posted June 25, 2017 at 00:52 | Permalink | Reply

    I’m so happy to hear that you still make Survivalcraft for Windowsphone platform. You are the best, Kaalus!

  33. Posted June 25, 2017 at 01:39 | Permalink | Reply

    So here it is, the update everybodu was *SOOOO* excited about. And all of a sudden people are saying it’s unbalanced and *not fun*? Huh… too bad nobody saw that coming.

    I’d really like to enjoy the expanded biomes and new LEDs, but until he fixes the rotting food and illness BS, I’m done with this game.

    Where do I go for my refund?

    • Posted June 25, 2017 at 02:33 | Permalink | Reply

      @none1808: I’m reserving judgment until I’ve played it (I’m iOS). Have you had a chance to check it out yet?

      I play Cruel exclusively, so I’m not a wuss, but I am quite worried that this is a very skewed release..someone else here said “oh great, all new ways to die!”…when Kaalus said this was a “survival” release I thought for sure we would be getting some new features for…survival…such as fishing, backpacks or something else big and creative.

      The puking especially, really what is that for?! What’s next, diarrhea? Will we have to relieve ourselves behind trees soon (very tough for me, being female).

      Okay, I meant to write a post to be positive and buoy the position of “wait and see” but it’s turned quite negative. I’m really burned by release notes: flightless egg-layers’ productivity has been reduced, lightning is more frequent, mineral frequency is reduced and cannot eat the same food all the time. Not to mention flu, puking, etc.

      sigh.

      • Posted June 25, 2017 at 02:54 | Permalink | Reply

        No, I haven’t tried it, and I have no intention to either. All you have to do is look at the release notes and you can see it’s not going to be fun.

        You’re right, there is *nothing* in this release about survival – it’s all about new and annoying ways to kill off the players.

        As the crude saying goes “I don’t have to try eating sh* to know I’m not going to like it, it’s sh* after all.”

    • Posted June 25, 2017 at 06:25 | Permalink | Reply

      This is just negative. Despite my issues about game balance, I’m still playing. Besides, if it’s seriously too difficult to survive, start the game mode in creative ad give yourself some extra items… not a big deal.

  34. Posted June 25, 2017 at 01:59 | Permalink | Reply

    FINALLY! Thank you Kaalus! I’ve been waiting for this for what seems like forever!

  35. Posted June 25, 2017 at 07:06 | Permalink | Reply

    OK Kaalus and fellow complainers:

    First off, don’t despair, this is the place to tell Kaalus about your experience. The Android version is like a beta test.

    I think the following :

    You get flu way too easily
    The eating the same food is too drastic, maybe make this over a longer period. You can actually survive long just on pumpkins. Also, maybe at least give other vegetables or fruit as an option. You do not need meat to survive, you know that.
    Lightning not great idea, too severe.
    Tone down the difficulty a bit. It is OK to increase it, but not all at once. It discourages people.
    Maybe bring in a new level, intermediate.
    Minerals should not be too rare please.
    Make pistons cheaper

    Ok, my two cents…

    • Posted June 25, 2017 at 08:22 | Permalink | Reply

      Yes, another level!!!
      Harmless is boring and stupid. I just want the ability to say I’m not going to starve before the first day is over because the only animal near me are wolves and lions. :( I miss the days where wolves dropped meat. Maybe have predators drop meat of low nutritious value.

      Your points are quite accurate. We need more veggies and other food to grow. I guess that with mineral frequency decreasing I’ll never find saltpeter.

  36. hkarta
    Posted June 25, 2017 at 11:54 | Permalink | Reply

    Does it work? Just wrote a comment and cannot see it anywhere around.

    • hkarta
      Posted June 25, 2017 at 11:56 | Permalink | Reply

      It seems its gone, great. Anyway, lets write it again. I belive that what this game really needs is more difficulty options. In my opinion its important to let everyone set their game to their liking. Just the fact that YOU like or prefer something, doesnt guarantee that OTHER people feel it the same way. Given tha fact that OTHER people paid for the game as well, it should be possible to turn off features they dont enjoy. Playing a game that forces you to certain thing you wind not fun is – guess what – not fun.

    • hkarta
      Posted June 25, 2017 at 11:58 | Permalink | Reply

      And finally, example of how such menu should look like: https://image.ibb.co/hcHvJQ/sc_difficulty.png
      Feel free to add more settings as more freedom of choice equals better game.

  37. Stanimus
    Posted June 25, 2017 at 16:41 | Permalink | Reply

    Hoo aaah! Finally we’ll get an update to the blocks data. We’ve needed it at the wiki for like 2 years, now! But that means I’ll be working overtime there. (No more sleep for me…)

  38. Posted June 25, 2017 at 17:17 | Permalink | Reply

    My texture pack (Johan Real HD 2.0 fixed) is finally updated and sorted out. I think my meat looks very good. The rotten egg looks a bit odd, but then I have to change my torche texture. By the way Kaalus, can you rather give it its own texture? I kind of like the texture I’m using for my torches as it is and don’t care too much for the rotten eggs.

    Also, I was right back then that the mystery item had the torch texture.

    I am not going to rename my texture packs and will update the others as well, like the survival one I used the most.

    Now we must just hope the difficulty will be toned down a bit. I’m quite sure it will follow as many has complained.

    • Posted June 25, 2017 at 18:09 | Permalink | Reply

      Nice texture pack

      • Posted June 25, 2017 at 18:36 | Permalink | Reply

        Thanks. I made some more small changes just now. I have finally dropped my coloured windows. If anyone wants them back, let me know. A few other changes as well. Johan Survival Real HD also updated.

  39. Posted June 25, 2017 at 18:04 | Permalink | Reply

    Im an apple user and i can’t wait for the update!
    And im expecting it to run just fine on my device

    (Ipad Air)

  40. ajadetherrien
    Posted June 25, 2017 at 20:56 | Permalink | Reply

    I think I found a bug. I don’t know if it’s just on this map or not, but anyway; I was playing a map called Stallion Stables that I got from the CC. I found a stray horse and I was riding it, but once I got in a certain radius of the barn, the horse would gallop to the barn and get stuck there. I thought maybe it was just that horse, but I found another one and it did the same thing. It’s possible that the map was made on another version and posted to the CC, since it was posted today and I’m on Android, so I have the update (which is awesome, BTW). Any ideas on how to fix it? I would try it on my world, but I don’t know how it happened.

    • Posted June 25, 2017 at 23:00 | Permalink | Reply

      Just as I submitted 2.1.2 I see this comment. Sigh. I know what it is. The changes to herding AI. The horse is running back to rejoin the herd and it won’t listen to the rider :-) Need to fix this for 2.1.3.

      • Posted June 26, 2017 at 00:45 | Permalink | Reply

        I hope you will listen to Johan and others who are saying it’s not playable. Okay, you added flu and vomit, and some things people wanted like rivers, and more interesting terrain. But if hunger, rotten food, and insanely hard animals are killing players before they can last one night, it sound like you destroyed the balance in the game that players loved. (At least let them turn off the enhanced survival bits.)

  41. Posted June 26, 2017 at 18:00 | Permalink | Reply

    I have a windows 10 laptop and for some reason, the update still has not come out on my play store, yet somehow the update came out on my phone already, I am a little confused. How much longer?

  42. josmile
    Posted June 27, 2017 at 10:39 | Permalink | Reply

    What happens when you mix fresh food, with few day old food that is still fresh when it comes to going rotten?
    Example pumpkin is 8 days. So you stack together 1 day pumpkin with 8 day pumpkin, only the 8 day pumpkin should go bad the following day, but they are together, you can’t have off and good pumpkins in the same stack, so what happens?

    What happens in harmless? I think in harmless food should not go bad – ever.

Leave a Reply. No swearing please.

