Why Microsoft constantly shoots itself in the foot?

When I write a program in C++ I am reasonably sure that even in 20 years time I will be able to use the latest and shiniest compiler to compile it.

Not so with Microsoft technologies.

Survivalcraft on Windows Store is a “Windows 8.1 Store App”. I just downloaded Visual Studio 2017RC and lo and behold – you can no longer build Windows 8.1 store apps with it! You need to use old Visual Studio 2015. You can only build “Universal Windows Platform” (aka Windows 10) apps.

This leaves me with two options:

  • Keep using VS 2015 and give up all the new shiny features and performance of VS 2017
  • Upgrade Survivalcraft project to Universal Windows Platform. This is not an option, because UWP runs only on Windows 10, so Windows 8.1 users would be left out. Plus, UWP will certainly be obsoleted in turn too (as many others before it, vide DirectX SDK, XNA, Windows 8 Apps, Windows 8.1 Apps).

None of these two options is good. What I would like to do is to develop Windows 8.1 apps in the new shiny VS 2017. But, alas, some grand genius business manager up in Seattle rules my and your life. He made a decision and he won’t give us VS 2017. I hate that.

Microsoft has a horrible history of obsoleting technologies for no reason, and suddenly leaving developers out in the cold.

So, back to VS 2015. Oh how I wish a proper open source ecosystem similar to C#/.NET/Visual Studio existed. I would kiss Microsoft goodbye in no time (C# and .NET are kind of open source these days, but Visual Studio is not and will likely never be).

60 Comments

  1. colbyfranknorth
    Posted February 28, 2017 at 00:02 | Permalink | Reply

    I hate visual studio too, for many reasons. At least in my experience, you could only make sprites in-game, and could not import them. It was awful. Which is why we moved to unity.

  2. Posted February 28, 2017 at 00:29 | Permalink | Reply

    Oh yes, Visual studio can be a pain in the arse, but why not you x code? by apple don’t use it where you come from?

  3. Posted February 28, 2017 at 00:30 | Permalink | Reply

    Hmmmm, Move to Florida? we have many of indie game developers here.

  4. Posted February 28, 2017 at 02:49 | Permalink | Reply

    I have very little knowledge on game development. No idea how to help… All i can do is tell you that the game is bada$ and well-built you will overcome this obstruction. I wish you good luck in the near future.

  5. Posted February 28, 2017 at 02:49 | Permalink | Reply

    Please do not stop using VS 2015 because most WP users use WP8.1 ‘THIS WOULD BE HORRIBLE HAVING GREAT LOSS OF CREED’

  6. Posted February 28, 2017 at 03:25 | Permalink | Reply

    Dam big business ruining creative design to make even more money 😡 they do this technique with all sorts of technology now and it’s sad. Steve jobs was the worst culprit, need a new charger for every phone upgrade, etc. I’ve got windows 10 on my daughters laptop and with limited use I’ve not been able to even find YouTube app on Windows store. I grew up using DOS and watching Microsoft slowly remove user permissions such as now having to access DOS through Windows and no way to boot around it. I mean come on Windows runs on DOS and now I have to use Windows to run DOS? Are you kidding me?!

    This is just another step closer towards commercial globalisation. I feel your pain 😕

    • Posted February 28, 2017 at 09:41 | Permalink | Reply

      I don’t know how you came to that conclusion but Windows said goodbye to DOS for many now. Since XP there’s no DOS under Windows
      About the youtube app on Windows (10): Google won’t allow a YT-App but luckily there are many alternative apps for youtube which can be used

      • Posted March 2, 2017 at 08:07 | Permalink | Reply

        Windows xp was just the last version of Windows that you could choose to bypass windows launcher and run DOS and BiOS outside of the windows environment. DOS is still apart of your PC, what do you think cmd.exe is.

        • Posted March 2, 2017 at 09:41 | Permalink

          There is quite a difference. With Windows 3.1 and 95 and 98, DOS was the main operating system on which Windows ran. You could actually exit windows and go to DOS. DOS was the main controller. With Windows XP that changed. The Operating system was now Windows itself. If you run cmd.exe, you go into a shell mode. It is now something running inside the Windows OS, not the other way around.

        • Posted March 4, 2017 at 05:38 | Permalink

          In fact, Windows NT 5.2 runs under Windows XP as the kernel. The cmd.exe is just a Win32 application that reads and executes .bat scripts. It is not really a part of the system, and can be deleted if you do not run .bat scripts.

  7. Posted February 28, 2017 at 03:57 | Permalink | Reply

    Do enough people use 8.1 to make it a huge deal?

    I use 8.1 on my mobile but I use 10 for my tablet. So its not a big deal whatever happens.

  8. Posted February 28, 2017 at 04:22 | Permalink | Reply

    Is there anyway you could just make a regular desktop application instead of a Windows Store App? It sure would be nice to play on my Win 7 desktop instead of my tiny tablet.

  9. Posted February 28, 2017 at 06:23 | Permalink | Reply

    Just move to UWP, how many people using Survivalcraft are still on 8.1? It was pretty to hard to avoid Windows 10 with the free upgrade push.

  10. Posted February 28, 2017 at 09:46 | Permalink | Reply

    About the topic: UWP is microsofts baby now, so of course they don’t take Win8(.1) apps with them. I mean, it’s already 4-5 years now so it’s kinda explainable. Of course it’s somewhat bad that MS decided to drop support for Windows 8 in VS2017 but for me it would be no problem as I only develop UWP apps now
    Maybe it’s a good time to look how much users are still using Windows 8.1 and probably move to UWP? It’s extra hard to decide because you “rebooted” SurvivalCraft as SurvivalCraft2 so dropping support for Windows 8 now would hurt many people. I think you should take your time, maybe do a poll and look what the users say.

  11. Posted February 28, 2017 at 10:28 | Permalink | Reply

    Never liked Microsoft, I Don’t like any of its products from softwares (Windows) to hardwares (like XBox) but I wasn’t aware of this…

    Makes me wonder how Microsoft became what we know today, a successfully corporation even if their “products” aren’t that great…

  12. Posted February 28, 2017 at 16:19 | Permalink | Reply

    Then there’s just me here in the back with my mac and iPhone :D

    • Posted February 28, 2017 at 19:33 | Permalink | Reply

      I’m with you. :D

      • Posted March 2, 2017 at 08:03 | Permalink | Reply

        * I’m not a hipster* lol heres your new technology we stole from someone else and released it as new technology 12 months later and we will just throw in a few compatibility and user access issues to make sure you spend as much money as possible on this paper bag rapped in plastic. Lolol

  13. Posted February 28, 2017 at 19:52 | Permalink | Reply

    Windows 8 was more like a trial run for Windows 10. I do not anybody that hasn’t upgraded to Windows 10 from 8, except maybe for business reasons, which should not affect your game anyway.

    I propose an interim upgrade for Windows only, but this will impact permissions. This upgrade will then check Windows version, report it back to you and then you’ll know how great this issue really is.

    • Posted February 28, 2017 at 23:32 | Permalink | Reply

      I know someone who has an older computer that won’t even install Windows 10

      • Posted March 1, 2017 at 03:29 | Permalink | Reply

        Is it even windows 8? I know I have an old win 7 PC that wouldn’t install it, then one day I got the notification to install it from when they decided to push it even more (my parents and my sisters were tricked into forcibly upgrading). It locked as if I’d be able to install it and was excited so when along with it but ended up having to downgrade do to outdated hardware and the updater trying to update all my drivers. All videos lagged, couldn’t even play Minecraft and windows apps lagged so I decided with huge disappointment to downgrade (wanted SC on PC)

        I’m sure your friend was in a similar situation if he had win 7. Most win 7 and 8 PC’s were able to update however.

      • Posted March 1, 2017 at 04:14 | Permalink | Reply

        That is not the point. If a computer cannot install Windows 10, Windows 8 won’t either. So this won’t affect him anyway.

      • Posted March 1, 2017 at 04:36 | Permalink | Reply

        O, OK. I have not heard of a computer that could not update from Windows 8.

        I would actually then try to upgrade RAM or something. That should do the trick, even though Windiws 10 can install with only 1G. I would also try a clean install. You can download the ISO from the Internet and make your own DVD disk.

        • Posted March 22, 2017 at 22:15 | Permalink

          Windows 10 took up 5GB on my computer after the upgrade from Windows 7, that could fix some issues

  14. Justin Briggs
    Posted February 28, 2017 at 22:01 | Permalink | Reply

    my question is what is going to happen to Survivalcraft?
    is this detrimental to SC in the long run, or worse, right now after so many long months of immense work…

    Kaalus, what will happen to this game?

  15. Posted March 1, 2017 at 00:04 | Permalink | Reply

    Honestly in my opinion, Windows 10 is the worst thing Windows OS Microsoft has come up with and Windows 8/8.1 is the next worst.
    I still use Windows 7 and still prefer Windows XP as my second choice and will always.
    Even Windows Vista is better than Windows 10 in my opinion.
    Besides, Windows 2000 and XP have better icons than Windows 10.
    Microsoft ruins things when they go in and mess with things.
    In fact, they are ruining Minecraft with all the updates they are putting out.
    It’s just my opinion though!

    • Posted March 1, 2017 at 04:28 | Permalink | Reply

      OK, Windows 7 is fantastic. I must however say that Windows 10 is actually better. Yes I prefer Windows 7’s interface, but Windows 10 is growing on me. I actually began using the tiles in the startup. I just hate the settings etc. What makes windows 10 great, is the fact that you can run Apps from it. This is huge. This is the benefit of Windows 8 as well. I used windows 8 with a shell ,which made it very much like windows 7.

      windows vista was a disaster. I still have one computer with it and I would love 10 on it.

      The convergence MS brought was great.

      I agree, MC is getting worse every day.

      • colbyfranknorth
        Posted March 1, 2017 at 20:45 | Permalink | Reply

        I’m not sure MC is getting worse, just think there’s almost no way they can make it better at the state it’s in. In a bad way.

    • Posted March 1, 2017 at 09:46 | Permalink | Reply

      I personally prefer Windows 7 over Window 10…

      However I find Windows 10 better than 8(.1)…

      But I said “prefer” but I still don’t like it…

  16. Posted March 1, 2017 at 12:41 | Permalink | Reply

    Windows 10 is a virus not an update, and Windows wants everyone to have it. >.<

  17. Posted March 1, 2017 at 15:26 | Permalink | Reply

    If you want to do what Microsoft did, they discontinued updates to Minecraft Pocket Edition for Windows Phone and now the game only updates on Windows 10 Mobile devices. Although that might not be a good idea for you, considering you have a small number of WP users who bought Survivalcraft 2.

    • Posted March 1, 2017 at 15:29 | Permalink | Reply

      Yeah, this would be a tough one. Although to be honest, Windows on phones is dying anyway. I only used to have a Windows Phone because it was so cheap, but lack of developers’ interest in the platform has pushed me back to Android.

  18. Posted March 2, 2017 at 18:42 | Permalink | Reply

    Steam Version

  19. Posted March 2, 2017 at 20:07 | Permalink | Reply

    I hate Windows 8. 10 is OK. 7 and XP were good. I find GNU/Linux is far better.

  20. Posted March 3, 2017 at 14:50 | Permalink | Reply

    That’s all well and good, but all I want and those like me is proper left handed aiming, I don’t ask for the impossible, I don’t ask for MP, All I ask for what is deserving of left handed control, and that is left handed aiming, I also posted on the blog linked from this page, and am told you hardly go there , why have bug reporting there if the dev does not take the time to visit said page ? this is a post directed to Igor Kalicinski I.E. Kaalus ,all others will be ignored(as you already know)

  21. Posted March 3, 2017 at 18:37 | Permalink | Reply

    Heeeeeem… I can actually say three words- NEWER USE UNITY!
    It’s AWFULLY BAD OPTIMISED, AND TOO MANY P.O.S. (PIECE OF S…) GAMES MADE ON IT.

    • Posted March 12, 2017 at 19:35 | Permalink | Reply

      But… the reason those P.O.S. games were made on it in the first place is because those devs saw how other big name games use it. There are tons of POS games on PC in general, but does that make people say PC games are all sh*t?
      It is extremely extremely rare for a first time dev to create an amazing game… usually it takes several tries to make a good one…. so obviously, that means theres bound to be crap games floating around out there(btw, the easiest way to find them is to search for “free games” in the app store :P)
      For example, GTA absolutely SUCKED when it was being made. All the testers HATED it. Now its one of the most popular game franchises there is.(though tbh, it was actually a glitch in the police AI that ended up making the testers love it after the devs did a sh*t ton of update to try and make it better. If you wanna know more, google it, cause im not gonna explain)

  22. Posted March 4, 2017 at 01:19 | Permalink | Reply

    How many sleeps until easter?

    4 on meth

  23. Posted March 4, 2017 at 05:41 | Permalink | Reply

    Hey kaalus, maybe you can develop the game using VS 2017 and then backport it to VS 2015.

  24. shez951
    Posted March 4, 2017 at 14:25 | Permalink | Reply

    Can’t you release survival craft for Steam? this will allow you to in the future develop a survival craft version for Linux (I hate Spywar…cough….cough Windows!!!)

  25. Stanimus
    Posted March 6, 2017 at 23:03 | Permalink | Reply

    Microsoft would have died a deserved death ages ago, if it wasn’t for their evil alliance with IBM and the government. We are still feeling the effects of that today… I am often forced to work on windoze machines and laugh/cry every time. So painful to see how stupidly they make users do some things and so hilarious knowing how easy it could be.

  26. Posted March 11, 2017 at 01:19 | Permalink | Reply

    Or rather “Why Microsoft constantly shoots Kaalus in the foot?”

  27. Posted March 12, 2017 at 19:28 | Permalink | Reply

    I personally love Microsoft(because i love Windows)… but im not a dev of anything(yet)… so i don’t really know all that much to make proper recommendations about this kind of stuff… but iv seen a lot of games in the past few years switch to Unity, so im suggesting you should consider that too.
    In the past 4 years or so, basically every one of my favorite games switched to Unity, or they already were using it, so obviously there’s something special about it. Not sure what it it, but its there nevertheless

    Note: Btw, i did see a few other people above me suggest unity too, but i figure the more people say it, the better the “idea” will seem :P

  28. Posted May 12, 2017 at 00:46 | Permalink | Reply

    Can you do a flashlight and flashlight batteries please on tools

  29. Posted May 21, 2017 at 04:48 | Permalink | Reply

    This multiplayer feature will help Survivalcraft compete with Minecraft. Survivalcraft has advanced features like furniture and compact electronics. 2.1 will fill the gaps and also add color customization.

Leave a Reply. No swearing please.

