Thanks for the skins!

Please keep them coming. I’ve got many already, but with each new one there’s some fresh ideas.

Yes, I will probably modify female model slightly to better differentiate it from male. It’s probably best to avoid long hair – there’s no good way of making it properly animate (currently it will just look stuck to the back of the body and not rotate with the head).

Please remember: no clothing other than boxer shorts/bras. File format must be PNG (potentially renamed to .scskin), size 64×64.

human11.pnghuman9.pnghuman12.pnghuman4.png

Thank you!

56 Comments

  1. Posted February 18, 2017 at 21:23 | Permalink | Reply

    Nice

  2. Posted February 18, 2017 at 21:30 | Permalink | Reply

    Cool! I think that this may just make my brother play again, so we can compare worlds together :D

  3. Posted February 18, 2017 at 21:34 | Permalink | Reply

    The skins seems fine… Well done!

    But I hope that we have a couple of days left to send some skins to you… I cannot do it in less than 48 Hours… I’m busy IRL…

  4. Posted February 18, 2017 at 21:56 | Permalink | Reply

    4th!!!!!!!

  5. Posted February 18, 2017 at 21:57 | Permalink | Reply

    The skins are good

  6. Posted February 18, 2017 at 23:00 | Permalink | Reply

    Looks good 👍

  7. Posted February 18, 2017 at 23:04 | Permalink | Reply

    Keep up the good work!

  8. Posted February 18, 2017 at 23:27 | Permalink | Reply

    I don’t like the skins… But i can’t make a own skin i am so bad making skins…

  9. Posted February 18, 2017 at 23:31 | Permalink | Reply

    I’ll try some soon.

  10. Posted February 19, 2017 at 00:37 | Permalink | Reply

    I hate that Girl need to use Underwear… .Can you just use boxer? And I think kaalus, (For Girl and Boy that has a long hair ) you should make hair that like “come out” from the skins, if you wear armor, the hair is outside instead of inside the armor .. It might looks a bit realistic and the character will be more cute! =D and the beard of the Character (the hero) should be “come out” too. It is not stick to the skin but it outside the skin…it is like “float”..

    I hope you understand…..I’m not really good in english because I’m from Malaysia

    P/S : Secret Admire =3

  11. Posted February 19, 2017 at 01:05 | Permalink | Reply

    I may be English, but a lot of paying customers and fans aren’t, can you please add at least basic support for some other languages?

    • Posted February 19, 2017 at 18:37 | Permalink | Reply

      I have to agree!
      Languagepacks should be no problem to implement. The community would make sure the translations are well done.
      You have many young non-english-speaking players. Consider doing them a favor.

      Make at least basic translations for menu and UI possible. Reciptpaedia can be another milestone for future updates!

      • Posted February 19, 2017 at 18:59 | Permalink | Reply

        I can make spanish translate, my mother language is spanish and not english ;)

    • Posted February 20, 2017 at 15:29 | Permalink | Reply

      Yup, idea is good, but there is many hacks with other languages:^)

  12. Posted February 19, 2017 at 02:39 | Permalink | Reply

    Ooh, nice. And it’s cool to know of a possible different model :)

  13. Posted February 19, 2017 at 05:27 | Permalink | Reply

    I can’t believe that there is a separate version for 2.0 that is kinda a rip off,

    • Stanimus
      Posted February 20, 2017 at 04:33 | Permalink | Reply

      Just how much do you expect to get for free? He’s been giving free upgrades for 5 years, now.

  14. Posted February 19, 2017 at 08:00 | Permalink | Reply

    Hey I just found at tree made of dirt! Kaalus, weren’t u looking for it?

    Will post pics soon

    • Posted February 19, 2017 at 19:02 | Permalink | Reply

      I have also found earth trees in my world, I have sent e-mails to Kaalus with images and I had no answer. Leave me your e-mail and I will send the link with my world where there are some earth trees, here I can not put a link, since it marks it as spam

      • Posted February 19, 2017 at 19:03 | Permalink | Reply

        *Dirt trees

        • Posted February 20, 2017 at 03:58 | Permalink

          dude, I have the same problems which is dirt on trees. It make sense.

        • Posted February 20, 2017 at 18:46 | Permalink

          I think I already know what the problem is, since the dirt trees appeared in my world: If there is a big explosion nearby (that is on a surface of dirt), but the surrounding chunks that are not loaded, when loading them game confuses the blocks that exploded (blocks of dirt) and places them by mistake in the trees.
          This is how the dirt trees appeared in my world
          Is a chunk load error

  15. Posted February 19, 2017 at 10:53 | Permalink | Reply

    Can you give some aproximated date for the update?

  16. Posted February 19, 2017 at 15:42 | Permalink | Reply

    I wish we could have default higher res skins, the low res ones really look terrible.

    Here are my first try at skins. The dark haired one is on community. These are 256×256, not 64×64:

    This is the 64×64 version:

    I suppose there are the few that will claim this to be preferred…

  17. Posted February 19, 2017 at 16:54 | Permalink | Reply

    Please someone do some skin tone variations? They all look like members of the same tanning salon 😝.

    • Posted February 19, 2017 at 17:20 | Permalink | Reply

      I have planned to make some, that is if you do like my skins.

      • Posted February 19, 2017 at 17:56 | Permalink | Reply

        Awesome, send them in! :)

        • Posted February 19, 2017 at 19:05 | Permalink

          Does this help?

          When it is down sampled it does not look so good. Do you know how to import it into SC?

          What colour skin do you want, or rather, which race?

        • Posted February 19, 2017 at 19:12 | Permalink

          These skins won’t be accepted by Kaalus. he only wants low res ones and the down sampling destroys these skins.

        • Posted February 19, 2017 at 19:57 | Permalink

          While I’m ignoring some people, here is another option for you:

          Kaalus if these can be used, it would be great.

        • Posted February 19, 2017 at 20:20 | Permalink

          The textures makes it difficult to know how things will look like. This is better:

      • Posted February 22, 2017 at 19:59 | Permalink | Reply

        These have fantastic detail but you are right they will not downsample well. Also to be used by Kaalus probably need to be in same cartoon style as existing default skin – but that’s just an assumption.

    • Posted February 19, 2017 at 19:33 | Permalink | Reply

      I did already.
      human1
      Native American human.png
      African human.png
      Oriental human.png
      Middle Eastern human.png

  18. Posted February 19, 2017 at 19:07 | Permalink | Reply

    Well at least Kaalus was nice enough to thank people that did bother sending in skins. Now to go back to using that other skin I downloaded 3 years ago, and pretend that the last two posts had something to do with cruel mode … food, shelter, or tools…

    • Posted February 20, 2017 at 14:31 | Permalink | Reply

      Wow your comment style has Changed to serious! Better than before. Lol

      • Posted February 20, 2017 at 15:26 | Permalink | Reply

        Of course, when there are no stupid or “begging” comments I have to get more serious. Also I thought the quality of my comments has remained pretty consistent.

  19. Posted February 19, 2017 at 21:46 | Permalink | Reply

    Kaalus, I cannot help but to wonder, what is structure of a game engine?
    Thus far, I have the following in my engine:

    Mouse and keyboard input
    A basic game loop
    An integrated Back buffered graphics system
    A custom built in monospace font ( massive amounts of time to implement 3 or 4 times over)
    An Expandable built in custom icon library (an extension of the custom font classes)
    A Custom text/icon based on screen button system
    And an isolated class outside of the main sting that all code required for the game
    Itself requires to run

    This represents about a month and a half of work, intense mind numbing work that, without God’s constant help, would not be done by now

    Is my structure sufficient?
    What I really mean is what have I left out?
    Any ideas, suggestions, help, and support is a major conference boost and much appreciated :-)

  20. Posted February 19, 2017 at 23:19 | Permalink | Reply

    I’m sure this has been asked a lot but do you think you’ll make Survivalcraft for Consoles? I’m asking this because of the Nintendo Switch and it being supposedly being easy to develop for and port games over. (Especially mobile games)

  21. Posted February 19, 2017 at 23:36 | Permalink | Reply

    Why were my skins deleted? Were they regarded as nudity or something?

  22. Posted February 20, 2017 at 04:00 | Permalink | Reply

    whoaaa!!! :D nice skins! cooool man! I’m so excited right now.

  23. Posted February 20, 2017 at 11:05 | Permalink | Reply

    I’ve made a Skin and I’ve already sent it to Kaalus via mail, but in case if you guys are interested… Here we go…

  24. Posted February 20, 2017 at 17:29 | Permalink | Reply

    I have made a booboo with my firs skin. i have fixed it now and improved it a bit:

  25. Posted February 20, 2017 at 18:54 | Permalink | Reply

    I cannot upload all to CC because of the community content limit. Maybe some of you can use your slots to do so:


    https://www.dropbox.com/s/bcr2agowdze42it/Real%20man%20tan.scskin?dl=1


    https://www.dropbox.com/s/sdkulflodm6x94f/Real%20boy%20tan.scskin?dl=1

    Let me know what you guys need. If I get time I’ll try some women.

Leave a Reply. No swearing please.

