iOS submitted

iOS is submitted, now we just have to wait. I will start working on other platforms.

I noticed that some of you are using furniture items as floors and walls instead of regular cube blocks. While it is possible to do so on a small scale, please keep in mind that furniture was not designed for this use. You will get edge artifacts on borders between furniture items, plus it will use excessive amount of geometry and kill the performance. It will also trigger the dreaded “disappearing blocks” problem much sooner (you exceed 64k triangles/chunk limit much more easily with furniture).

In general, while testing I found out that it is not a good idea to use furniture as building material for walls, ceilings or floors – despite the temptation. Use regular blocks. This is a blocky world game. Furniture is for decorations and special items, not for bulk filling.

The reason for that is because cube blocks use a heavily optimized generation and rendering paths. All invisible faces are removed, the geometry is split into subchunks for fastest rendering etc. This is why the engine can handle millions of them even on a lowly mobile phone. All of that is impossible with furniture.

If you fill a mountain with furniture, your device will die. It’s perfectly fine when filled with cubes.

74 Comments

  1. Posted December 12, 2016 at 20:03 | Permalink | Reply

    Good! Thanks for the information.

  2. Posted December 12, 2016 at 20:04 | Permalink | Reply

    First

  3. Posted December 12, 2016 at 20:10 | Permalink | Reply

    Very nice! Kaalus, will iOS app still get the discount?

  4. Posted December 12, 2016 at 20:14 | Permalink | Reply

    Probably my biggest desire for furniture was to have roof tiles. Now I see that it is not possible at all. This is devastating news to me. Kaalus is there a possibility that you could give us standard roof tiles blocks as the one in my world that I have uploaded in a previous post. This is really very disappointing to me. Is there no way to overcome this. I had no problems with performance at all, just the corruption in rendering.

    • Posted December 12, 2016 at 20:53 | Permalink | Reply

      I know many people like the game to be more like an 8-bit gameand hope that it stays that way. For me, I like new higher resolution texture maps, better graphics etc. Why is it so bad if one day SC will no longer be a blocky game? The reason why it is a blocky game is mainly because of hardware restrictions, not just design. The very fact that you stairs in the game is an advancement from just blocks. Worldcraft does not have stairs and your steps are just blocks. Is that better? Minecraft has window panes and SC (still my favourite game ever) only has glass blocks. Which is better? This is one of the few things MC was better than SC and I thought this was now solved.

      I understand that furniture has restrictions and there is no way I can teach you how to program, but if there is nothing to be done about this, please hear our cry to at least give us some roof tiles and window panes. My dream still for these survival games is to one day move away from the blocks to vector graphics. If SC and MC does not do, somebody else will! It is technically possible to have a vector based game and have the same game mechanics as SC and MC. I am not asking for this at all, because I understand that something like that is still way off in the future. But it would be great to have at least some things that give us some eye candy.

      One guy said that he liked the default texture pack the best of all. Well I respect his choice. Please respect ours as well.

      So basically he is saying the following:

      The default objects are preferred to something that looks a bit more realistic. Does this even make sense?

      Sorry for sounding a bit negative. I love the update. It is the best that ever happened to any blocky game and in itself it is overcoming the blocky limits. Thanks again 100 times.

      • Posted December 13, 2016 at 02:34 | Permalink | Reply

        I feel like I am that “one guy” so I’ll explain why I personally like the less realistic look. Some games look better when they aren’t great graphics and high resolution because it just fits the game better. Ex. Zelda: Breath of the Wild is by no means a realistic looking game, but I think the graphic style does the game very well. To me high resolution blocks like you’ve shown look odd and out of place. Great graphics and high resolution games tend to be very restricting, or like I said they will just look out of place. Ex. Uncharted 4 has amazing graphics, but the restrictions… It’s just a interactive movie. If you like it go for it, but that’s why I don’t like high resolution for SC2. I feel like Survivalcraft shouldn’t be too realistic in the graphics aspect I guess…

        I do think roof tiles and window panes would be cool though, as Cruel players have no way to get either.

        • Posted December 13, 2016 at 06:31 | Permalink

          That is your right to like the game anyway you want to I will not bash you for it. The thing though that makes SC for me stand out from MC is the very fact that it is more realistic in all respects. Look at all MC’s animals, except for the bats. Everything looks so extremely blocky. Compare that with the animals from SC, they are much more realistic, using the very vector graphics I am hoping for. Yes they still use a lot less vectors than I would like, but they do use vectors. MC is just using block vectors to draw animals. Maybe the horses has a few triangles and even the ender man.

          I think my points is just that Kaalus said we must remember that this is a blocky game after all, yet he himself uses vector graphics for his animals. There is a disparity in that statement. Why Kaalus, did you not make the animals blocky blobs like with MC? The reason is that you also like things to look nice and realistic. Why are the clouds so very realistic and not blocky like in MC? Because you like realism! Why do you not have a square sun? Because you like realism as well!

          Maybe I can ask you Praise the Sun, would you prefer the animals, clouds and sun to rather be blocky like in MC without nice sunsets? I am just trying to understand you, not bash you. If you answer is yes, then I understand. For many, maybe most, the answer will be no.

      • Posted December 13, 2016 at 23:03 | Permalink | Reply

        I think is Kaalus wanted the game to be realistic he’d do so.

        To answer your question, no I wouldn’t rather have animals be blocky but the animals are still far from realistic looking just like the textures which like I said fits the game really well. A half realistic and half unrealistic game. Of course the sky is the realistic part.

        Remember when Kaalus changed the looks of water a few updates ago? He said he made the water look realistic and have reflections but he strictly said himself that he didn’t think it looked right so he kept a cartoony look instead. I think Kaalus understands what I mean when I say the games graphics fit it well. (Of course that is if he saw my comment)

        I think realistic isn’t always better. I even believe since Minecraft is even more of an unrealistic game the graphics look great for it.

  5. Posted December 12, 2016 at 20:23 | Permalink | Reply

    I was expecting that filling a world with furnitures could kill performance…

    I’m fine with it, furnitures are awesome, sure they have some limits, but they still have an unbelievable potential…

    • Posted December 13, 2016 at 06:32 | Permalink | Reply

      I also expected that this might happen, but hoped I was wrong. The thing is though that on my phone (Note 4), performance was not an issue at all, just the rendering.

    • Posted December 13, 2016 at 06:52 | Permalink | Reply

      I think what I am worried about a bit, is there are guys that want to fill big buildings with furniture and this will have the same effect. One guy was excited to fill a hotel with new furniture he is going to make. Now imagine his disappointment after he works on his furniture for many weeks and then begins filling the building and viola, the rendering goes haywire. I think Kaalus needs to give a very clear warning in the game about this. It is not only if you use the furniture for walls or roofs that you are in danger, it is the concentration of furniture that will cause problems.

      Otherwise, the best update ever, the best game ever, even with these shortfalls!

  6. Posted December 12, 2016 at 20:33 | Permalink | Reply

    Woo Hoo!!! 👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻

  7. Luke18033
    Posted December 12, 2016 at 20:42 | Permalink | Reply

    That’s good to know. Now I know that I should only use floor/wall/ceiling tiles where panels need to pop out of the wall in my Portal map. Everywhere else I will use normal blocks.

  8. blockcraftfan
    Posted December 12, 2016 at 20:43 | Permalink | Reply

    a bit quick you sure everything is good to go?

  9. Posted December 12, 2016 at 20:48 | Permalink | Reply

    If you use the windows pc version, and you have a good computer, could you use furniture as walls and floors?

  10. Posted December 12, 2016 at 20:50 | Permalink | Reply

    When will it be on Windows Phone 8.1? And one question, if I upload my world from v1.29, will I be able to load it to Survivalcraft 2?

  11. Posted December 12, 2016 at 20:56 | Permalink | Reply

    please release it to amazon!!

  12. Posted December 12, 2016 at 20:59 | Permalink | Reply

    I was testing out pistons today

    God! You guys dont know the potential of pistons. Im already getting goosebumps. You could create jigsaw puzzles! Traps! Yes! Attach a spike in the piston! Moving maze! You could click a button and your requested “Chest” will be transported to you by the piston! Woooow

    • Luke18033
      Posted December 12, 2016 at 21:18 | Permalink | Reply

      Actually you can’t transport chest or other block entities. This needs to be added in 2.1. Everything else could be done.

  13. Posted December 12, 2016 at 21:07 | Permalink | Reply

    are you talking about my cabin mega pack?

  14. Posted December 12, 2016 at 21:11 | Permalink | Reply

    Darn, so much for my rope bridges.

  15. Posted December 12, 2016 at 21:16 | Permalink | Reply

    Kaalus! When you will post the version 2 for iOS?

  16. Posted December 12, 2016 at 21:21 | Permalink | Reply

    My main reason for wanting furniture was so that I could have smaller walls. If this isn’t possible could you please make a wall block that is half thickness, something akin to a slab on it’s side.

    • josmile
      Posted December 13, 2016 at 05:57 | Permalink | Reply

      As in a vertical slab, Good idea.

  17. Posted December 12, 2016 at 21:32 | Permalink | Reply

    Just realized that because I use Bing as a search engine I can get SC2 fr both of my windows devices for free.

    I can redeem a 5$ gift card for the windows store, and use that to buy it

    • Posted December 13, 2016 at 00:08 | Permalink | Reply

      Haha. So true, personally though, I get that 5 dollar Amazon Gift Card Code :)

    • Posted December 13, 2016 at 15:42 | Permalink | Reply

      what has it come out?! I love sc pc

  18. azkampfen
    Posted December 12, 2016 at 23:23 | Permalink | Reply

    Now i know how elevator work ,check this out for tutorial

    https://dl.dropbox.com/s/tg7y4e0yppi9qmg/elevator.scworld?dl=1

  19. Posted December 13, 2016 at 00:00 | Permalink | Reply

    Hey guys check out my piston elevator ! :)

    Download:
    https://dl.dropbox.com/s/6j2hbhfpoxcn9o4/pistons%20elevat%20%281%29.scworld?dl=1

  20. Posted December 13, 2016 at 00:51 | Permalink | Reply

    When is it on PC? I make let’s plays of it on youtube.. I want it on PC… here is my channel (https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCAMVjpi2OYmD5F2G-ySw_lw) I love your work:) keep it up:)

  21. Posted December 13, 2016 at 02:15 | Permalink | Reply

    YAY! IOS DESERVES IT!

  22. Posted December 13, 2016 at 02:34 | Permalink | Reply

    Survivalcraft 2. The future of blocky games is NOW!

  23. Posted December 13, 2016 at 02:47 | Permalink | Reply

    Hello There, I can’t wait for new updated, I loved the new functions and furniture and pistons, it bring new ideas for used any new ways of at the more modern way of looking at, And saying “I can implement in this wonderful amazing game from looking at real world things and make a replica and create to the game, Now that pure smart in my book.” I found way to enjoy this game, Then minecraft, I find minecraft too unrealistic to world which I personally do not get at all, Why would need change my character or my block texture for $12.99 when I can browser for free of the community serve in Survivalcraft, Which it make it so much easier then every before. I personally want to thank you for making a game that really put the in R in Realistic.
    Signature
    Joseph Rogolino
    Kindle Fire

  24. Posted December 13, 2016 at 02:52 | Permalink | Reply

    Pistons are pointless to build in Cruel mode, 45 Germanium … No thanks. Also furniture that would take hours to design, tons of resources, and a large designated “safe” area to build them all in… too costly. I look forward for more helpful updates though. Only wish we could block all the kids on here begging for stuff.

    • Posted December 13, 2016 at 05:27 | Permalink | Reply

      Not like germanium really has any other good uses. In cruel mode especially when I dont like to mess with electronics that much.

    • Posted December 13, 2016 at 15:28 | Permalink | Reply

      I’ve been thinking about this too. I think the only solution for is cruel players is to make the furniture pack first then use it in cruel.

      Is that possible? (I’m iOS)

  25. Posted December 13, 2016 at 03:03 | Permalink | Reply

    When will we have a Windows 10 version?

  26. Posted December 13, 2016 at 05:32 | Permalink | Reply

    Furniture is good for making adventure maps. Below is the furniture pack I’m making for an adventure map ( https://www.dropbox.com/sh/6i08imfe8n3e56i/AABKuTr6R4QDz4gMb6PU9lQ8a?dl=0 )

  27. Posted December 13, 2016 at 05:46 | Permalink | Reply

    I have an ipad 2 mini.Will it still work on that?my mom’d kill me if i asked for a new one.

    • azkampfen
      Posted December 13, 2016 at 06:55 | Permalink | Reply

      buy android ,above 4.2 problem solved,, ,no more os problem

  28. Posted December 13, 2016 at 05:52 | Permalink | Reply

    Am I the only one? Played cruel +16 sea level +16 temp +16 humidity
    piranha almost killed me, attacked me instead of boat.

  29. josmile
    Posted December 13, 2016 at 05:55 | Permalink | Reply

    I’d like a new block, it will make up shortfall in the like of slabs and stairs, it is to make up the other quarter of the stair – a quarter block: (width, depth, height) 1.0, 0.5, 0.5.
    Half of a half slab, not a quarter slab (that would be 0.25 high by 1 by 1)

  30. Posted December 13, 2016 at 06:00 | Permalink | Reply

    Kaalus, Did you make the Killer Whale Bigger? I saw it in the middle of ocean and it is very big… i don’t know if it a new or old

  31. azkampfen
    Posted December 13, 2016 at 06:53 | Permalink | Reply

    Oh my,,,,when you tap tap tap you get lag lag lag ,but the game says ny device is fast!? What ? I dont understand

  32. azkampfen
    Posted December 13, 2016 at 06:53 | Permalink | Reply

    Oh my,,,,when you tap tap tap you get lag lag lag ,but the game says my device is fast!? What ? I dont understand

  33. Posted December 13, 2016 at 07:59 | Permalink | Reply

    what if you make blocks of furniture? like a 4×4 block, would that still smash up the game? also I’ve made stairs of unstairable Items (sand, Gravel, Diamond, coal, copper and malachite)… would these crash the game as much as much as normal stairs? and would default stairs crash it more than default blocks?

    • Posted December 13, 2016 at 14:42 | Permalink | Reply

      Its mostly just if you use them extensively in the same chunk I think.

      There is a world limit, but if you put them in the same chunk together, you are rendering loads of things, and that can tank performance.

      Just dont make too many stairs, and you will be fine

  34. Posted December 13, 2016 at 09:09 | Permalink | Reply

    I have some useful info here! Better check it out!

    http://aminoapps.com/p/ttsrs

    It is about my quick review about Pistons!

    I will send this to kaalus for further review.

  35. Posted December 13, 2016 at 09:36 | Permalink | Reply

    Please add option “disable autosave”. My device is still powerful, but old, and I worried about flash memory.

  36. Posted December 13, 2016 at 12:03 | Permalink | Reply

    I don’t know where I posted this somewhere, but I informed kaalus about this one.

    http://aminoapps.com/p/ttsrs

    This is a link for my review about pistons. You can read it here now.

  37. Posted December 13, 2016 at 12:10 | Permalink | Reply

    I’m so exited

  38. Posted December 13, 2016 at 14:42 | Permalink | Reply

    Is the complexity of the “furniture” an issue, or the mere existence of a “furniture” block? That is, is there a render load difference between a simple 8x1x1 stick inside a 8x8x8 cube and some more intricate shape filling the same space?

  39. Posted December 13, 2016 at 15:39 | Permalink | Reply

    You need to add a list of unfurniturable items like dirt and stuff like that but I don’t think that wood logs should be unfurniturable.

  40. Posted December 13, 2016 at 16:31 | Permalink | Reply

    I primarily play on iOS

  41. Posted December 13, 2016 at 17:03 | Permalink | Reply

    Kaalus, I noticed that Pistons aren’t able to move chests, crafting tables, furnaces, dispensers or any block that carry items inside them, I’m not sure if this is a bug or if it is intended, but consider making us able to move chests and those other blocks with pistons.

  42. Luda Zaitsev
    Posted December 13, 2016 at 22:30 | Permalink | Reply

    Can anyone please respond to this?
    Ok so I’ve had the first survivalcraft on my kindle fire for like three years, and I was just wondering is Kaalus has said anything about it being released on the Kindle app store? because I really want to get it before it goes back up to 3.99 lol

Leave a Reply. No swearing please.

