Waiting on Apple

Amazon have approved the update which fixes world uploading. I do not need to submit to Microsoft, because Windows version does not use the buggy library and so does not have the zipping problem.

We are now only waiting on Apple to approve (or reject, as they often do) 1.29.

I am still receiving heaps of screenshots. This has become more popular than I thought. But keep them coming! We need to keep this open at least until Apple version is available to give iOS guys a fighting chance.

In the meantime I declare 1.29 free of catastrophic bugs (famous last words?), and so I’ve returned to work on 1.30.

 

170 Comments

  1. Posted January 20, 2016 at 02:10 | Permalink | Reply

    That’s cool!

  2. colbyfranknorth
    Posted January 20, 2016 at 02:14 | Permalink | Reply

    Can’t wait for 1.30!

  3. Posted January 20, 2016 at 02:15 | Permalink | Reply

    I use Google play so I dont worry

  4. brythok
    Posted January 20, 2016 at 02:29 | Permalink | Reply

    Nice. Cant wait to see what youve got planned! In the last post, i asked if it was possible to add a feature that allows you to load a world directly from dropbox and have it save there while exiting to allow playing on the same world across multiple devices. Could you add that, Kaalus? Thatd be crazy awesome.

  5. Posted January 20, 2016 at 02:33 | Permalink | Reply

    YES! THANK YOU SO MUCH KAALUS FOR CORRECTING THE WEAPON/TOOL POWERS! THANK YOU!!!!! I AM GOING TO 1.29!

  6. Posted January 20, 2016 at 02:34 | Permalink | Reply

    And Kaalus, did you fix the bug in which if you reach negative coordinates, you fall through the terrain?

    • Posted January 20, 2016 at 17:18 | Permalink | Reply

      There is no need for this fix. There is no reason for you to be out that far. The chunks out there aren’t even editable so it’s not like you could do anything useful out there anyways.

  7. Posted January 20, 2016 at 02:37 | Permalink | Reply

    Umm… I have a bug actually. Carpet doesnt get painted(both creative and challenging). Also the game seems to lag more after 1.29.12, which was supposed to make it less laggier…
    Device: samsung galaxy tab 7.0 (2.3.6)

    You can fix this in 1.30 though, since i play only creative these days and there arent a lot of gingerbread devices out there.

  8. cshels
    Posted January 20, 2016 at 02:49 | Permalink | Reply

    I’ve already purchased the game for Android, iPhone, and Windows 10(you deserve my money, good sir). I entered because I’d just really love to see some of my stuff on the Appstore/Google Play screenshots. Also, great job with the bug fixes man. You do good work, and you do it fast.

  9. Posted January 20, 2016 at 03:05 | Permalink | Reply

    Hey my sond goes off every 5minutes whats up with that. AmazonDevice. Plz fix it

  10. Posted January 20, 2016 at 03:57 | Permalink | Reply

    Kaalus
    please add multiplayer or support for other languages (preferably Spanish)
    :)

    • Posted January 20, 2016 at 14:20 | Permalink | Reply

      +1 for language support

      • Posted January 21, 2016 at 02:10 | Permalink | Reply

        I have a question
        if a person x send a (pdf, xlsx, docx) to the gmail of kaalus with the complete translation of the game in Spanish
        my question is…kaalus (the game developer) would agree with this ????
        if one or a group of fans of the game that are able and willing to translate
        kaalus would agree to add multilanguage??????
        that is my question

      • Posted January 21, 2016 at 03:03 | Permalink | Reply

        ignores this I was wrong of place

  11. Joseph GRIFFITHS II
    Posted January 20, 2016 at 05:15 | Permalink | Reply

    Not everyone has a windows pc, and ik survival craft is compatible with windows 8, but I think you got to have windows 10 now to download it, thing is, I really want survival craft on my windows 7 pc, it isn’t compatible with windows 10, and I don’t want to do anything illegal, it would be nice if you could set up an official pc version on steam or get a official site with the forums moved there/ game link to store downloads, and news ect

  12. Posted January 20, 2016 at 06:34 | Permalink | Reply

    If you haven’t already, vote on the poll:

    http://www.rkursem.com/poll/view.php?id=d6eaf39be002006ad

    • Posted January 20, 2016 at 06:50 | Permalink | Reply

      I took it, and the top three answers that people put down were (in the following order); Multiplayer, More generated structures, and NPC’s. Kaalus, please, at least make NPC’s.

      • Posted January 20, 2016 at 17:19 | Permalink | Reply

        Animals are NPC’s. Just pointing that out.

        • Posted January 20, 2016 at 20:52 | Permalink

          Probably referring to human NPCs

        • Posted January 20, 2016 at 21:23 | Permalink

          Yeah exactly, it should just be more specific since we technically already have NPC’s.

        • brythok
          Posted January 21, 2016 at 15:46 | Permalink

          NPC = Non-Player Character

        • Posted January 21, 2016 at 17:44 | Permalink

          @brythok: Actually it’s Non-*Playing* Character. And that’s exactly what animals are.

        • Posted January 21, 2016 at 17:47 | Permalink

          @brythok: Scratch that, it is *Player*. My statement still stands.

        • Posted January 21, 2016 at 19:09 | Permalink

          Actually you guys, I think NPC means, non playable character, I think…..I’ll have to check for sure though…..

        • Posted January 21, 2016 at 22:03 | Permalink

          @Nathan’: It’s definitely Non-Player, and as a game designer I should know.

        • brythok
          Posted January 21, 2016 at 22:10 | Permalink

          @Crayder i never disagreed with u

        • Posted January 22, 2016 at 17:21 | Permalink

          @brythok I never suggested you did, I was just clarifying.

      • Posted January 22, 2016 at 05:19 | Permalink | Reply

        I have an idea for a new npc and new generated structure.

        Cannibals

        Huts or camps

  13. Posted January 20, 2016 at 10:01 | Permalink | Reply

    I did find another bug. When you caught fire, you kept burning forever until you died or extinguished with water. No<w the fire goes out on its own after 7 seconds or so. You can now survive catching fire and if you set animals on fire, they don't die anymore! It's REAALY annoying, if you want to get rid of an unwanted guest animal, you HAVE to attack it with weapons.

    Plz fix this for 1.30.

    • Posted January 20, 2016 at 12:00 | Permalink | Reply

      Indeed

      • Posted January 20, 2016 at 12:34 | Permalink | Reply

        As I understand that change was deliberate. I for one am glad I won’t burn to death anymore…..

    • Posted January 20, 2016 at 13:16 | Permalink | Reply

      I too am glad I don’t burn to death any more. This morning I had just collected 30+ diamonds and struck lava. I thought I was doomed but suddenly quit burning. Whew.

    • Posted January 20, 2016 at 17:20 | Permalink | Reply

      I love this new fire thing. It’s a lot more realistic.

  14. Posted January 20, 2016 at 10:47 | Permalink | Reply

    Hallo .. I bought SurvivalCraft on my new Apple Mac Pro Laptop but i cannot play it .. seems i need an iPhone or iPad, is this true? if so how can i run it on the Apple laptop? I tried bluestacks but the keyboard buttons WASD etc. do not work :-(((

  15. Posted January 20, 2016 at 10:52 | Permalink | Reply

    Hi, I bought SurvivalCraft on my new Apple Mac laptop. Problem is I cannot run it from iTunes – seems as though I need an iPad or iPhone? I tried emulating via bluestacks and can run SurvivalCraft on the Apple Mac Laptop – but i cannot use WASD keyboard buttons . please help …

    • Posted January 20, 2016 at 14:05 | Permalink | Reply

      Unfortunately Survivalcraft only runs on mobile devices and Windows 8.1/10. How did you buy it on a Mac?

    • Posted January 20, 2016 at 14:23 | Permalink | Reply

      Ian Coetzer, that is kind of your fault for using a hack-related mechanism to play Survivalcraft on a different device. It probably does not work because it was not meant to be played on a Mac.

      • Posted January 20, 2016 at 16:25 | Permalink | Reply

        ok just checking i am using my windows 10 laptop and windows 8.1 phone quite happily – just wondered if it was support on apple laptop as well.
        i bought it on iTunes which is possible to do on the Apple Mac laptop. just not playable unless you own an iPad from what I have learnt.

      • Posted January 20, 2016 at 17:23 | Permalink | Reply

        Bluestacks is not a hack. It is an Android emulated OS. It’s an entire virtual OS. Bluestacks will only support what your computer can give it so if you don’t give it the right Linux drivers (as in the ones on Android devices) it won’t run correctly.

        By the way, I’ve ran Survivalcraft on the Android-x86 OS (which is an entire OS itself, not emulated at all and not virtual) a while back. However my PC sucks and is very low spec so it didn’t run very well.

  16. MTB adventures/RCs to the limit
    Posted January 20, 2016 at 10:55 | Permalink | Reply

    Yay! I can’t wait!

  17. Posted January 20, 2016 at 12:08 | Permalink | Reply

    Finally–IOS.

  18. Posted January 20, 2016 at 12:34 | Permalink | Reply

    Please make a miner cart in 1.30

  19. Posted January 20, 2016 at 12:49 | Permalink | Reply

    In challenging the green land doesn’t grow back when dug the land and put it back is doesn’t grow any more

    • Posted January 20, 2016 at 14:25 | Permalink | Reply

      Are you in living mode?

      • Posted January 20, 2016 at 19:40 | Permalink | Reply

        He has to be in living, it’s impossible to switch to static on challenging. I’ll test this bug myself….

  20. Posted January 20, 2016 at 13:06 | Permalink | Reply

    I found a bug on 1.29… And it seems to be mostly a really bad one…

    When I reset an adventure world (its a large map), the loading goes forever until I close the game, then if Im lucky, everything gets back to normal as I come back, or, the world breaks and it tells me “the file is damaged and can not be repared” so yeah, lost a world :/ should have saved, but anyway, sometimes, when I’m on adventure too, there is just no reset button… Those bugs happens like maybe 1/2 times when going in adventure mode, thank you for checking this (I have an Alcatel Onetouch Idol 3, android, most recent version, fast device)

  21. Posted January 20, 2016 at 17:26 | Permalink | Reply

    Kaalus, can you split the development of Survivalcraft for mobile and pc? It is not fair for PC users to be held back by the restraints of mobile devices. On PC the players could really use 10 to 15 times more vertical space: sorry, but legitimate mountains do not exist in the current game. A lot more graphics options would be helpful; some of us would like to have 1024 or 2048 block view distance.

    • Posted January 20, 2016 at 20:12 | Permalink | Reply

      I strongly disagree with this. SC has always been a mobile game. It is unfair for mobile users to be neglected in favour of pc-only features. Why not instead add features that can be used for both? If you increased the world height then worlds would not be compatible between the two games. What I would agree with, though, and want anyway myself anyway is a universal increase in max visibility range.

      • Posted January 20, 2016 at 20:42 | Permalink | Reply

        I agree with you Tom

        • brythok
          Posted January 20, 2016 at 21:08 | Permalink

          Yeah Tom IS right. Even though i have switched to PC myself, mobile should come first or have it divided evenly.

      • Posted January 20, 2016 at 22:56 | Permalink | Reply

        I honestly don’t see this game becoming a massive behemoth among blocky sandbox games if the PC version is under utilized and just a mobile port, which is what SC pc currently is. Console games hold back pc, and apparently mobile games do too. sigh.

        • brythok
          Posted January 22, 2016 at 03:11 | Permalink

          I play console, so i dont care

    • Posted January 20, 2016 at 22:02 | Permalink | Reply

      There is a 1024 block view distance on PC if I am correct It requires a fast computer and a lot of RAM

      • cshels
        Posted January 20, 2016 at 22:21 | Permalink | Reply

        I play on PC and max view distance is 256 blocks.

        • Posted January 20, 2016 at 22:31 | Permalink

          You are correct. I also dislike that there is no screen resolution option, only low-high

      • Posted January 20, 2016 at 22:32 | Permalink | Reply

        That was a demo Kaalus did with an nvidia gtx 970

    • Posted January 20, 2016 at 23:11 | Permalink | Reply

      I must sheepishly admit that 10-15 times more vertical space seems very difficult. the height of current SC is about 180. 180 x 13= 2340. modded minecraft lags with 2048 altitude, I don’t know if SC PC would handle that well even though optimized 100 times better. But thats what graphics sliders are for: to be able to choose how to optimize the game for one’s pc.

      • Posted January 22, 2016 at 17:29 | Permalink | Reply

        180? No, 128. Changing this height will remove cross-platform support, multiply the world sizes, and cause the current requirements to blast. Even with the current requirements I can barely run the game on my PC, which isn’t the best of all gaming PC’s but has higher specs than my phone that runs SC smoothly.

        So, I agree it could probably be a bit more optimized on PC and we could have more options and I disagree that the worlds should be different across platforms.

        • Posted January 22, 2016 at 19:12 | Permalink

          127/128 is the last place to put a block. There is still room to fly from 129-179. 180 is death. At least according to the wikia on altitude. What are your PC specs?

  22. Posted January 20, 2016 at 17:57 | Permalink | Reply

    file:///C:/Users/knigh_000/Pictures/Survivalcraft/Survivalcraft%202016-01-19%2018-17-51.jpg This is my first pic sorry its bad :(

  23. Posted January 20, 2016 at 18:31 | Permalink | Reply

    What do u think?

    • Posted January 20, 2016 at 19:25 | Permalink | Reply

      Wow! The attention to detail is incredible. Reminds me of an old game Battleship Craft.

      • Posted January 21, 2016 at 09:34 | Permalink | Reply

        Thanks! Yes, i played battleshipcraft. But its not aviable anymore. But there is another game called warshipcraft. Its a copy of the game :D

    • brythok
      Posted January 20, 2016 at 19:26 | Permalink | Reply

      Badass…just badass.

  24. Posted January 20, 2016 at 20:07 | Permalink | Reply

    I feel like Android approves of pretty much everything! Lol! And I use android!

  25. Posted January 20, 2016 at 20:39 | Permalink | Reply

    Loving the battleship smak 15 great details. Have a couple of pics I want to upload when ever Apple decides to approve this. Hope it’s soon. I will update my med creative texture pack to 1.29 when I can check how it looks in the latest update.

    • Posted January 21, 2016 at 09:36 | Permalink | Reply

      Thank you :D If some peaple rate it good when i uploaded it you can vote for the next build (Ship or whatever)!

  26. Posted January 20, 2016 at 20:55 | Permalink | Reply

    Kaalus do you accept pics on your blog as contest entry?
    If not I have wasted time…… :-(

  27. Posted January 20, 2016 at 22:14 | Permalink | Reply

    I find it easy to find iron but hard to find copper

    • Posted January 20, 2016 at 22:57 | Permalink | Reply

      Its the color its hard to see now… He should make the green darker or make more green onto it

    • Posted January 21, 2016 at 19:46 | Permalink | Reply

      That will be true in any 16 by 16 vertical shaft that has already been edited.

  28. Posted January 20, 2016 at 23:00 | Permalink | Reply

    Let’s see how this pic turned out…

  29. colbyfranknorth
    Posted January 20, 2016 at 23:37 | Permalink | Reply

    Nice work!

    • Posted January 20, 2016 at 23:53 | Permalink | Reply

      Thanks what do you think of this one. :-D

      • Posted January 20, 2016 at 23:59 | Permalink | Reply

        New version!!! Just finished it! What do you think

        • Posted January 21, 2016 at 00:30 | Permalink

          I like the first one, but I kinda think the second is a little plain….maybe add an odd bear or two? :-) And can u make one of the player, but as the headless horseman, holding a jack o lantern! Lol

        • brythok
          Posted January 21, 2016 at 16:18 | Permalink

          Maybe stop faking pictures? That would help a LOT.

        • Posted January 22, 2016 at 00:26 | Permalink

          Pictures must be unedited to be submitted

        • Posted January 22, 2016 at 03:46 | Permalink

          Your editing skills are awesome my friend. Maybe some day your name will be on some of the biggest game titles for graphic artistry. Keep editing buddy.. you’ll go far.

        • Posted January 22, 2016 at 21:02 | Permalink

          Tanks allot :-)

      • colbyfranknorth
        Posted January 21, 2016 at 00:53 | Permalink | Reply

        I like both of them! What app do you use?

        • Posted January 21, 2016 at 00:59 | Permalink

          I looked up picture editer and the first thing that came up is what I am using…
          I don’t know the name

        • colbyfranknorth
          Posted January 21, 2016 at 02:20 | Permalink

          OK

  30. Posted January 21, 2016 at 03:10 | Permalink | Reply

    I have a question
    if a person x send a (pdf, xlsx, docx) to the gmail of kaalus with the complete translation of the game in Spanish
    my question is…kaalus (the game developer) would agree with this ????
    if one or a group of fans of the game that are able and willing to translate
    kaalus would agree to add multilanguage??????

    • Posted January 21, 2016 at 03:17 | Permalink | Reply

      PS: If kaalus likes the idea of translating the game
      who would be willing to form a translation Group!

    • Posted January 21, 2016 at 22:31 | Permalink | Reply

      This is a great idea. I tought about it too.
      I volunteer for the german translation!

      • Posted January 21, 2016 at 22:33 | Permalink | Reply

        Translations could be used as community content files. So adventure maps builder can rename blocks for deeper immersion and usage of custom textures.

  31. Posted January 21, 2016 at 05:29 | Permalink | Reply

    Hey here r some pics lol… wait how to u post pictures…..

  32. Posted January 21, 2016 at 12:33 | Permalink | Reply

    You should be able to edit gravestones like signs and you should be able to place buckets and when it rains it fills the bucket

    • Posted January 21, 2016 at 19:13 | Permalink | Reply

      I actually thought of both those features as well…great minds think alike….XD

      • Posted January 21, 2016 at 21:19 | Permalink | Reply

        Yeah xD the reason I want gravestone edit is because I woke up and a hyena got in my horses fenced in arena and killed it so I wanted to edit it say R.I.P. Jasper and put his saddle in a chest near it….Plus when you find random names on gravestone it makes it more creepy

        • Posted January 22, 2016 at 02:47 | Permalink

          I know, right! RIP Minecraft January 25’th, 2016 –destroyed by SC XD

        • Posted January 22, 2016 at 02:48 | Permalink

          And this is Nate but I have two accounts XD How about iron boats?

    • Posted January 21, 2016 at 22:29 | Permalink | Reply

      I like the idea of empty buckets getting full when trowing into water.

  33. Posted January 21, 2016 at 16:02 | Permalink | Reply

    Could we get wolf taming sometime soon plz :)

    • Posted January 21, 2016 at 21:13 | Permalink | Reply

      Ehh… idk about that one. It would seem too similar to Minecraft.

      • Posted January 22, 2016 at 01:31 | Permalink | Reply

        To be honest, I think that if it is something that wasn’t though up by another game (in this case, Minecraft), then it’s not copying. I do see your point, though.

    • HechoEnM3xico
      Posted January 22, 2016 at 17:45 | Permalink | Reply

      No

  34. Posted January 21, 2016 at 17:19 | Permalink | Reply

    BeautifulQuotes you can use Dropbox aswell which I find very simple to use :-)

    1. Get Dropbox (if you haven’t already).

    2. Take a screenshot in Survivalcraft.

    3. Go to Camera (app) and select image

    4. Press the square with an arrow coming out of it.

    5. Press ” Save to Dropbox “.

    6. Go to Dropbox and select the picture you want to post.

    7. Repeat instruction 4 and press ” Copy Link “.

    8. Lastly, copy the link into the comment box and voila!

    Quite simple really.

  35. Posted January 21, 2016 at 17:21 | Permalink | Reply

    daviagonzal that’s a good idea and it has been requested many times before.

  36. Posted January 21, 2016 at 18:03 | Permalink | Reply

    kaloo pongan lo o traduscanlo a español porque no entiendo ni pio,así entender lo que uno hace con la electricidad.porque no se para que sirven muchas cosas eléctricas.

  37. GarfieldFinJ J
    Posted January 21, 2016 at 18:04 | Permalink | Reply

    hurry up apple

    • Posted January 21, 2016 at 18:34 | Permalink | Reply

      It’s so tough to wait for the update :D

    • Posted January 21, 2016 at 21:14 | Permalink | Reply

      Yeah Apple always takes a while

    • MTB adventures/RCs to the limit
      Posted January 21, 2016 at 23:00 | Permalink | Reply

      Like they are going to you say this. :/

  38. Posted January 21, 2016 at 21:15 | Permalink | Reply

    Anyone have any ideas about 1.30?

    • Posted January 21, 2016 at 21:22 | Permalink | Reply

      If I remember correctly, Kaalus said the main feature for 1.29 was moved to 1.30, and that the blocks needed 32 bits, so painting wasn’t the main feature of 1.29/1.30. Maybe pistons? More gravity? NPCs?

      • Posted January 21, 2016 at 22:23 | Permalink | Reply

        We don’t need more gravity. Kaalus has already made the gravity more realistic than minecraft’s

        • Posted January 21, 2016 at 22:44 | Permalink

          I don’t see how trees levitating when the trunk is gone is realistic.

        • Posted January 22, 2016 at 17:37 | Permalink

          @Jon you do realize trees do the same thing in MC right? And in both games the trees dissipate in time after the trunk is gone.

        • Posted January 22, 2016 at 18:58 | Permalink

          @Crayder You do realize I wasn’t stating that Minecraft doesn’t have that?

      • Posted January 21, 2016 at 22:28 | Permalink | Reply

        More gravity would be epic! I dream about a mode where I can construct realistic buildings and then watch them collapse! *evilface*

  39. Posted January 21, 2016 at 21:44 | Permalink | Reply

    Hey kaalus do you have like a predicted time or eta of when a 1.30 post comes out because I’m super excited to figure out what this big feature is

  40. Blocky Warrior
    Posted January 21, 2016 at 23:26 | Permalink | Reply

    Apple… gah.

  41. Posted January 22, 2016 at 02:34 | Permalink | Reply

    Kaalus, I have an idea for a new weapon you may like. My idea is a slingshot. Slingshots are very cheap , this goes for the ammo and the weapon itself. The recipe for the weapon will be 4 sticks and a string, and the ammo can either be stone chunks or maybe you craft the ammo from stone chunks; maybe you could get 3 pebbles from stone chunks and use that for ammo. Since it is a cheap weapon it would be good for early game players, but it would be a very weak weapon and a little inaccurate. You would load it the same way you load the bow. Thank you for taking your time and here is a picture of what the recipe may look like.

  42. Posted January 22, 2016 at 04:29 | Permalink | Reply

    And thanks for all the help from those of u on Twitter who saved me from commiting suicide u saved me and I can never repay u :)

  43. Posted January 22, 2016 at 04:43 | Permalink | Reply

    Kaalus, how is the reviewing from Apple going so far?

  44. Posted January 22, 2016 at 04:49 | Permalink | Reply

    .

  45. Posted January 22, 2016 at 06:20 | Permalink | Reply

    Give us a sneak peak at just one feature coming in 1.30 please

  46. Posted January 22, 2016 at 07:50 | Permalink | Reply

    Testing non dropbox image URL https://aesopredux.files.wordpress.com/2016/01/sushi-for-breakfast.jpg?w=440

    • Posted January 22, 2016 at 07:54 | Permalink | Reply

      • Blocky Warrior
        Posted January 22, 2016 at 15:27 | Permalink | Reply

        What is that supposed to be? : )

        • cshels
          Posted January 22, 2016 at 16:16 | Permalink

          It looks to be sashimi.

  47. MTB adventures/RCs to the limit
    Posted January 22, 2016 at 13:13 | Permalink | Reply

    Oh man, I can’t wait for 1.29! I need to give Kaalus some pics!

  48. Posted January 22, 2016 at 15:37 | Permalink | Reply

    Please add fishing rod

  49. GarfieldFinJ J
    Posted January 22, 2016 at 17:51 | Permalink | Reply

    is ios out yet?

    • Posted January 22, 2016 at 19:55 | Permalink | Reply

      Of course not, it’s been only 2 days since it was submitted. It can take up to 2 weeks. Once I waited 2 months for one game to be updated :D

  50. Posted January 22, 2016 at 21:39 | Permalink | Reply

    Five? Kaalus posted at January 20. Today it’s January 22. Is there something wrong with my math? O.o

Leave a Reply. No swearing please.

