Bay Trail fix

Good news! I finally found a way to workaround the video driver bug on Intel Bay Trail Android devices.

To remind you, this bug caused instant application crash, usually when flying or moving fast, normally after a few minutes of the game. It has been in the game since at least 1.27, maybe even 1.26.

Bay Trail devices are becoming fairly common, especially in the low end segment of the market, so this is excellent news. Some Bay Trail devices:

  • Tesco Hudl 2
  • Acer Iconia Tab 8
  • Onda V819i
  • Asus ME176
  • Dell Venue 7 & 8
  • Doubtless many, many more…

I don’t know whether the latest Cherry Trail chipset is also affected by this bug. Anyway, the next release of 1.29 will have it fixed (or rather worked around – I can’t fix Intel’s buggy drivers).

I will be releasing 1.29.3 with all the bugfixes so far shortly.

41 Comments

  1. Posted January 13, 2016 at 17:12 | Permalink | Reply

    1st!

    • shez951
      Posted January 13, 2016 at 17:13 | Permalink | Reply

      Ooh i was so close!

      • Posted January 13, 2016 at 17:21 | Permalink | Reply

        When I saw no comments I was really excited!

        • Posted January 13, 2016 at 18:42 | Permalink

          once I got on and there were zero comments and I was excited but it wouldn’t let me post….:-(

  2. shez951
    Posted January 13, 2016 at 17:14 | Permalink | Reply

    I love it every time kaalus posts.

  3. Posted January 13, 2016 at 17:14 | Permalink | Reply

    Nice, cant wait for windows version (please, improve pc control)

  4. Posted January 13, 2016 at 17:38 | Permalink | Reply

    Yay! No more crashing. Will there be another features poll soon? I liked that.

  5. Posted January 13, 2016 at 17:39 | Permalink | Reply

    Hope not too many bug fixes before we get to the full release. Can’t wait to record episode’s in 1.29! I’d appreciate feedback on my Let’s Play series if anyone checks them out. My channel is Bard The Bandit and hope you enjoy :)

  6. Posted January 13, 2016 at 18:10 | Permalink | Reply

    I think i found bug, oak trees are spawning in snowy areas, they never used to do that.

  7. Posted January 13, 2016 at 19:24 | Permalink | Reply

    It’s kind of hard to do extensive testing on the demo, since it doesn’t allow you to import worlds and is limited to a few minutes a day :( I guess I’ll wait till it comes to the full version for more in-depth exploration.

  8. Posted January 13, 2016 at 19:27 | Permalink | Reply

    I don’t have 1.29.2 yet.

  9. Posted January 13, 2016 at 19:49 | Permalink | Reply

    I can’t wait!

  10. Posted January 13, 2016 at 19:51 | Permalink | Reply

    1.29 is close – I can feel it in my blocky fingers :-)

  11. Posted January 13, 2016 at 19:57 | Permalink | Reply

    he should add empty kegs and you can fill them with foods that your horse would eat so when it gets hungry over night it can eat till no longer hungry preventing your horse from refusing to run when you get chased by lions or something

    • Posted January 13, 2016 at 20:53 | Permalink | Reply

      Exactly! I always thought it would be cool to have an empty barrel to use for storage….that’s what I noticed about the video. Plus, it’d be nice to decorate ships and stuff with something less dangerous than gunpowder kegs…..:-)

    • Posted January 13, 2016 at 21:09 | Permalink | Reply

      I’ve made an automated feeder in a world recently… It was the first of its kind!

    • brythok
      Posted January 13, 2016 at 21:23 | Permalink | Reply

      Yo like +alot for barrel storage blocks. Id love that. Maybe make them with planks and iron and have them be more durable but hold less. Somethin like that.

    • MTB adventures/RCs to the limit
      Posted January 13, 2016 at 21:34 | Permalink | Reply

      What I did was I wired up a dispenser to my Barn, and have a button in my house so everyday I press it to feed them.

      • Posted January 13, 2016 at 22:21 | Permalink | Reply

        Mine fed my horse without any buttons! It uses a real time clock hooked up to a mem bank dispensing as many meals as I feel like programing into it! Its simplest form feeds once a day from two dispensers

        • Posted January 13, 2016 at 22:59 | Permalink

          I am what some would call a dedicated lazy survivor.. :-)

  12. brythok
    Posted January 13, 2016 at 21:21 | Permalink | Reply

    Bugs are always a real b**ch for me. Good find Kaalus! Keep on codin’ on

  13. MTB adventures/RCs to the limit
    Posted January 13, 2016 at 21:32 | Permalink | Reply

    Awesome! Will you release IOS too? Or are there still more bugs that need to be worked out?

  14. Posted January 13, 2016 at 22:54 | Permalink | Reply

    :D

  15. Posted January 13, 2016 at 22:58 | Permalink | Reply

    Minor glich! Interesting one too…… Grab a 4bit counter then place two wires above it hook one side of the end wire to a lightbulb then the other to a photodiode….. Increase the voltage to 9 this will create a clock flashing from 9 to b and back over and overuntil you remove the counter it would then shut off …. It is strange…. not supposed to do what it is doing…… Its the photodiodes fault it reads the light wrong…… And how it doesn’t stay at the highest voltage received is an interesting subject for further research into this Survivalcraft light physics/ electrical phenomenon…… What is happening!!!?!?! I must know!!! It…. It …. Is not natural! It should stay at constant voltage! A voltage saver! Not a fancy clock! What. Is. Happening!!!!! Help please!!! Gather the largest group of sc scientists possible! Investigat what is behind this madness

  16. Posted January 13, 2016 at 23:08 | Permalink | Reply

    Then this happens

  17. Posted January 13, 2016 at 23:09 | Permalink | Reply

    Kaalus… please add backpacks, or sacks, bags, its not very practical walking arround with all your items in your inventary.
    Could you also add some bigger boats, for exploring islands. Or if you want to a coach for horses, karts, we can use the horses or bulls to pull of them.
    What you sayyyyyyyy?

Leave a Reply. No swearing please.

