Various tree types

A quick screenshot with various tree types in 1.29:

Trees.jpg

91 Comments

  1. Posted January 9, 2016 at 20:26 | Permalink | Reply

    FIRST! AWESOME ADDITION BTW

    • Posted January 9, 2016 at 20:29 | Permalink | Reply

      I have a question, the trees look preety similar to me, i thought the only trees were birch, tall spruce, spruce and oak, im confuzzled xD

      • Posted January 9, 2016 at 20:30 | Permalink | Reply

        I think that when the terrain generator decides to place a tree it first chooses the type based on location and then randomly chooses one of these options.

        • Posted January 9, 2016 at 20:31 | Permalink

          ahh ok because the radius of the leaves did look somewhat different

        • Posted January 9, 2016 at 22:17 | Permalink

          This way, every tree generated (of the same wood tyoe) does not look exactly the same

  2. Posted January 9, 2016 at 20:29 | Permalink | Reply

    Cool! Did you design these individually by hand?

    • Posted January 9, 2016 at 21:11 | Permalink | Reply

      No, they are designed with the random tree generator…

  3. Posted January 9, 2016 at 20:29 | Permalink | Reply

    cool, kaalus thanks for all, BUT, there a bug,with the snow block,don´t there snow block, don´t there

  4. Posted January 9, 2016 at 20:29 | Permalink | Reply

    Would it be possible to add shrub’s, or wide trees without a trunk

  5. Posted January 9, 2016 at 20:32 | Permalink | Reply

    Awesome..
    Liking all these posts! Thx Kaalus.

  6. Posted January 9, 2016 at 20:32 | Permalink | Reply

    Dispenser is still missing from the updates history.

  7. Posted January 9, 2016 at 20:37 | Permalink | Reply

    “When I’m finished with this tedium, I have plans for a new grand feature that will need every single one of these new bits. It has been long postponed, because the bits were not there. Now is the time. I never talked about it, so you have no idea what it is. Still, I think you’ll love it — if I can only pull it off :-)”

    Anybody got any more ideas?

    • Posted January 9, 2016 at 22:28 | Permalink | Reply

      Paintable stuff

      • Posted January 10, 2016 at 00:15 | Permalink | Reply

        Ike tell me what you think about my pictures that I spent all day perfecting…… I feel like no one is really interested….. It makes me feel weird when no one tells me what I can improve on……

        • ro ba
          Posted January 10, 2016 at 01:05 | Permalink

          Maybe more realistic tree felling.
          With the new tree type that would be really nice.

        • ro ba
          Posted January 10, 2016 at 01:08 | Permalink

          Sorry I wanted to answer to Tom Fryer’s post.

    • Posted January 9, 2016 at 23:03 | Permalink | Reply

      Something with dowsing/fairies?

    • Posted January 10, 2016 at 13:41 | Permalink | Reply

      OMG, I WANTED CIVILIZATION BUT…
      The bits one, it’s probably painting stuff….. ;(

  8. Posted January 9, 2016 at 20:47 | Permalink | Reply

    Neat : )
    I like the snapshot.

  9. MTB adventures/RCs to the limit
    Posted January 9, 2016 at 20:54 | Permalink | Reply

    Awesome! So can you grow them differently?

  10. Posted January 9, 2016 at 20:54 | Permalink | Reply

    Is that Kaalus’ guy on the right side? Well, somewhat right.

    • Posted January 9, 2016 at 20:58 | Permalink | Reply

      In the semi-middle of the forest there is a figure or something.
      Kaalus’s guy is in the sky taking the snapshot of the forest.
      So what is that thing.

      • Posted January 9, 2016 at 21:07 | Permalink | Reply

        Idk can’t really see it on my phone. :\

      • Posted January 9, 2016 at 21:10 | Permalink | Reply

        He’s using orbit camera; that is his character.

        • Posted January 10, 2016 at 13:24 | Permalink

          Oh, I think your right.
          I didn’t realize that you can zoom out so far.
          But my dad told me that he can do that because he is using a computer.

  11. Posted January 9, 2016 at 21:09 | Permalink | Reply

    Also is that I haven’t been this excited for an update since you added clothes! Man I love the fact that your back and with tons of ideas now!! 😊😆

  12. Posted January 9, 2016 at 21:13 | Permalink | Reply

    With all this new tree types I bet in 1.30 Kaalus will finally add fruity trees :D

  13. Posted January 9, 2016 at 21:19 | Permalink | Reply

    That is awesome!!! :)

  14. Posted January 9, 2016 at 21:40 | Permalink | Reply

    Warning: Ideas approaching. :)
    Iron/copper plated boats, gloves, thirst, animal off-spring, taming of wolves, hawks, RIVERS, and salmon. :D

  15. Posted January 9, 2016 at 21:40 | Permalink | Reply

    Can we please have more creative options and tools, for example, more customisable options when creating a world. Be able to create much larger islands and adjust sea level / average land level without only using stupid flat terrain option. And faster / better creative tool options for building ( plenty of ideas in forum ) saves me going on and on..

    After all creative mode players make a lot of worlds for survival players. So please help make our job easyer and make an update about this. So many players have quit great worlds because the work load becomes to boring and tedious. We need to speed up creative building to make it more enjoyable and keep the interest in a world a player is building alive.

    You know it makes sence Kaalus.

  16. Posted January 9, 2016 at 22:05 | Permalink | Reply

    This is treetastic! (Yeah… thats not funny)

  17. Posted January 9, 2016 at 22:13 | Permalink | Reply

    Kaalus. It’s looking pretty great. And those tall tree forests have added something very cool to the game. I think you definitely have your mojo back ;)

    I have a question. How hard would it be to make trees fall down to the point you cut? As if cutting a tree down in real life. Could this technically be done in Survival Craft?
    It always seemed as though in Survival Craft, being just that touch more of a realistic sim. One would be able to lumber jack these trees. Have you ever looked into this idea?

    • Posted January 10, 2016 at 00:13 | Permalink | Reply

      Yeah, it’s a nice idea! I’ve been thinking about it for a long time actually. Jumping on the trees when cutting them down is quite tiring (for me at least). He could add a saw that would make trees fall when cutting them down and axes would remain unchanged so they would break only one block of the fallen (as well as the standing) trees at the time.

  18. Posted January 9, 2016 at 22:20 | Permalink | Reply

    Found a glitch in survivalcraft that is very commonly used in minecraft. I figured out how to make a B.U.D (Block Update Detector). These BUDs are usually used in minecraft, but I found a way in survivalcraft. In a while, once I figure out the exact preliminaries to building a BUD, I will make another comment showing how to make one and what it is useful for.

    • Posted January 10, 2016 at 13:30 | Permalink | Reply

      You are aware that hacking the game and adding to it without Kaalus’s permission is illegal, right.

      • Posted January 10, 2016 at 13:46 | Permalink | Reply

        That is not considered hacking… Is just a glitch…

        • Posted January 10, 2016 at 14:14 | Permalink

          He said, “I figured out how to make a B.U.D,” and, “I found a way in survival craft.”
          Now I think you will agree that B.U.D.s do not exist in SC.
          And, furthermore, the item would have to be in the original coding for a “glitch” to make the item usable.
          If there is such a “glitch” that will allow me to get the B.U.D. without altering the game, please tell me how to repeat it.
          To alter the game code in any way is illegal, simple as that. :-(

      • Posted January 10, 2016 at 14:10 | Permalink | Reply

        Well…I guess THAT isn’t hacking.

        • Posted January 10, 2016 at 14:17 | Permalink

          I take it back.
          As you can see above, a B.U.D. is not a “glitch” it is an illegal code change.

  19. Posted January 9, 2016 at 22:21 | Permalink | Reply

    By The Way,

    I just want to say how happy I am as a fan, and I’m sure the community as a whole, that you are back. More than that, posting and showing us your ventures again.

    Not going to lie, was a little worried. Even tried to track you down. Was happy to not find a single death certificate. I did find some suggestive bronie content though, with your name one it ;). Not saying it’s yours.

    Anyhow it is quite enjoyable to see the new features, and hear your thoughts on, and for your game. Good luck bud,

    • Posted January 10, 2016 at 13:33 | Permalink | Reply

      I also tried to track him down (The things that the internet knows is creepy).
      But all that I discovered is that his real name is Igor Kalikinsci.

  20. Posted January 9, 2016 at 22:25 | Permalink | Reply

    Is it just me or is that tree on the bottom left quite bushy

  21. Posted January 9, 2016 at 22:35 | Permalink | Reply

    Kaalus another poster design just for you!

    Spent all day working on it!

    And this one !

    Tell me what you think
    I want to someday try to make merchandise and give some money to support our hero…. Or at least the one making our hero. :-)

  22. Posted January 9, 2016 at 22:38 | Permalink | Reply

    Kaalus another poster design just for you!

    Spent all day working on it!

    And this one !

    Tell me what you think
    I want to someday try to make merchandise and give some money to support our hero…. Or at least the one making our hero. :-).

  23. Posted January 9, 2016 at 22:39 | Permalink | Reply

    Kaalus, there is an annoying bug!
    The “click” sound in the options is way too loud. I play with headphones and it hurt my ears when I go to the options.
    Would you please consider to make the sound more “dumb” or give an option to turn it off?
    Thank you very much!

  24. Posted January 9, 2016 at 22:42 | Permalink | Reply

    Kaalus another poster design just for you!

    Spent all day working on it!

    Tell me what you think
    I want to someday try to make merchandise and give some money to support our hero…. Or at least the one making our hero :-)

  25. Posted January 9, 2016 at 22:43 | Permalink | Reply

    And this one!

    • Posted January 9, 2016 at 23:58 | Permalink | Reply

      Tell me what I can do next!

      • Posted January 10, 2016 at 11:44 | Permalink | Reply

        I really like all thes posters of urs, sorry i couldnt comment on these earlier XD I really like the bottom one and also the clouds in the top one… Is our hero holding a stick in the bottom pic? And when i say hero i mean character, not Kaalus… Although Kaalus is still a hero, dont get me wrong!!! XD

        • Posted January 10, 2016 at 13:39 | Permalink

          Your right it is a stick! He is a thug in this one! :-)

        • Posted January 10, 2016 at 13:45 | Permalink

          Wth Kaalus? Check these out! The poor guy puts so much effort in these! Amazing posters man.

  26. colbyfranknorth
    Posted January 9, 2016 at 22:51 | Permalink | Reply

    Wait…growing trees?

    • DOG0fWAR
      Posted January 9, 2016 at 23:18 | Permalink | Reply

      @Justin Briggs, I think you SC Posters are Amazing even if no one else gives you credit due. Keep the great work up mate.

  27. Posted January 9, 2016 at 23:00 | Permalink | Reply

    Got wood

  28. DOG0fWAR
    Posted January 9, 2016 at 23:26 | Permalink | Reply

    @Justin Briggs, why don’t you make a portfolio of your posters on your Google+ Profile account. For all to see. Also I would like to see a samurai and ninja one ;D

    • Posted January 10, 2016 at 01:55 | Permalink | Reply

      Honestly I don’t know how to do Google + so I think that all my posts ( I started 20 minutes ago) are only visible to me …..:-\ I need hellllllp!

      • colbyfranknorth
        Posted January 10, 2016 at 16:43 | Permalink | Reply

        Do you need help with signing in, posting pictures, or anything else?

  29. Posted January 9, 2016 at 23:52 | Permalink | Reply

    Kaalus, With bigger caves I would like it if you were to add a new cave dwelling animal. My suggestions is a bat or a rat. They could drop food, but their main purpose would give life to caves.

  30. Posted January 10, 2016 at 00:04 | Permalink | Reply

    This is an old one that started me on all the sc art….. Still waiting for kaalus to tell me what he thinks….. :-D

  31. Posted January 10, 2016 at 00:33 | Permalink | Reply

    Please kaalus adds particles to trees (leaves of trees ) and also the majority of blocks falling on them

  32. Posted January 10, 2016 at 05:20 | Permalink | Reply

    I feel it Kaalus! New Biomes!!

  33. Posted January 10, 2016 at 06:28 | Permalink | Reply

    …tear in my eye…. Great work k man

  34. Posted January 10, 2016 at 09:31 | Permalink | Reply

    They look fantastic. I am curious though, will there ever be inclusion of more tree varieties like palm trees for example and biomes than simple tree types varied on height of the norm Birch, Oak and Spruce? And will there ever be trees that spawn with larger trunks

  35. Posted January 10, 2016 at 09:40 | Permalink | Reply

    Kaalus can you update the ‘Blocks data and icons’ in the Files/Technical section. Maybe increased resolution as well…

  36. Posted January 10, 2016 at 09:50 | Permalink | Reply

    I’ve made a quick wallpaper reflecting the new malachite in granite.

  37. Posted January 10, 2016 at 11:58 | Permalink | Reply

    Add geckos that climb trees,chameleons,alligators,rattlesnakes,cobras,pythons,owls,binoculars,map,and ambience sounds.

    • Posted January 10, 2016 at 14:23 | Permalink | Reply

      I guess you’ve never made a program before, have you?

      • Posted January 10, 2016 at 20:06 | Permalink | Reply

        I mean, he doesn’t NEED to add all of that in just one update. As time goes on, things will change.

  38. Posted January 10, 2016 at 13:47 | Permalink | Reply

    WOW, ANYONE ELSE SEE THE CHARACTER IN THIS PICTURE? LOL!
    So small, hard to find!

  39. Posted January 10, 2016 at 14:14 | Permalink | Reply

    Anyone! How do I post a picture or video
    Please help me!!!!!!!!

    • Posted January 10, 2016 at 14:28 | Permalink | Reply

      If you have Dropbox, which I presume you do as a survivalcrafter then copy your image into your Dropbox/Public folder. Right click/copy public link. Paste the link onto here and it should turn into a picture.

Leave a Reply. No swearing please.

