1.28 is coming

I took a break from working on Survivalcraft. Most recent update was in July and last post in April. That’s 5 and 8 months ago.

However, that does not mean I will not come back :-) It’s all about getting burnt out and waiting for the spark to return. If you work on the same thing for several years, this sometimes happens.

I have been busy on 1.28 for some time now, slowly getting up to speed. First thing I want to show you are the proper digging cracks. No more progress circle!

Cracks

Digging cracks

I always wanted to do it, but I was afraid on small screens your finger will cover the block you are digging, and you won’t see digging progress. As the screens are getting bigger and bigger this is no longer such an issue.

There’s more interesting stuff to come, I’ll let you know soon!

 

 

103 Comments

  1. jonathanfelix123
    Posted December 3, 2015 at 14:49 | Permalink | Reply

    Seriously thought you died. Welcome back!

  2. Posted December 3, 2015 at 14:50 | Permalink | Reply

    OMG!!!

    • jonathanfelix123
      Posted December 3, 2015 at 14:51 | Permalink | Reply

      My reaction when I got the email 😂😂

      • Posted December 3, 2015 at 15:01 | Permalink | Reply

        Same here

        • MTB adventures/RCs to the limit
          Posted December 3, 2015 at 20:38 | Permalink

          Yep.

      • chester05
        Posted December 4, 2015 at 23:18 | Permalink | Reply

        Yeah.

  3. Posted December 3, 2015 at 14:50 | Permalink | Reply

    Wow, great

  4. Posted December 3, 2015 at 14:52 | Permalink | Reply

    Hi Kaalus, we’re happy to ear ya.

  5. Posted December 3, 2015 at 14:53 | Permalink | Reply

    This means that the next time kaalus doesn’t post we’ll have to wait a year and a few months before assuming he’s gone XD. Awesome though! Can’t wait to see what you got going on. Keep up the excellent work :-)

  6. Posted December 3, 2015 at 14:58 | Permalink | Reply

    Great! Kaalus is still Alive! Welcome back!

    No Worries about that “break”… Thanks always for your hard work!

  7. Posted December 3, 2015 at 15:11 | Permalink | Reply

    OMG kallus, tell us next time. Glad you are back though, new feature looks nice, especially for when I use my tablet

    • Posted December 3, 2015 at 15:13 | Permalink | Reply

      Honestly telling us when you are taking a break from this would be helpful, I’m sure members of the community would send support, give ideas, and wouldn’t abandon the game but continue to try to get their friends in the game

      • Posted December 3, 2015 at 19:28 | Permalink | Reply

        Yeah, I know. A “I am taking an SC break, back in December” post would have been helpful, no offense.

        • Posted December 3, 2015 at 22:11 | Permalink

          Yeah, that would have been really good and would have stopped people giving up. Heck, if kaalus doesn’t want to I’d make posts for him, kinda like a community manager for free

  8. Posted December 3, 2015 at 15:15 | Permalink | Reply

    This is great you are back kaalus!

    However I would appreciate some notice of your leave next time. It will help keep the fanbase faithful.

  9. Posted December 3, 2015 at 15:20 | Permalink | Reply

    Chinese people send a a congratulatory telegram

  10. Posted December 3, 2015 at 15:30 | Permalink | Reply

    Paging scneophyte, you still alive? :D

  11. Posted December 3, 2015 at 15:40 | Permalink | Reply

    Is the forum still around? I can’t seem to get it to work

    • MTB adventures/RCs to the limit
      Posted December 4, 2015 at 00:59 | Permalink | Reply

      Yes it is. Or come to gosurvivalcraft.com

  12. Posted December 3, 2015 at 15:53 | Permalink | Reply

    Awesome!
    Shared this on http://www.gosurvivalcraft.com/

  13. Posted December 3, 2015 at 15:57 | Permalink | Reply

    YOU’RE ALIVE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! welcome back :)

  14. Posted December 3, 2015 at 15:58 | Permalink | Reply

    Now, I wonder if all the immature kids have given up forever and wont be back until they realize there is an update

  15. Posted December 3, 2015 at 16:07 | Permalink | Reply

    I’m happy to know you’re back :)

  16. Posted December 3, 2015 at 16:14 | Permalink | Reply

    1.28 and Winter are coming.

  17. Posted December 3, 2015 at 17:08 | Permalink | Reply

    You’re Alive!! :D
    Welcome Again :)

  18. Posted December 3, 2015 at 17:58 | Permalink | Reply

    Oddly, this morning I fired up SC for the first time in ages. Well, welcome back amigo!

    • Posted December 3, 2015 at 19:14 | Permalink | Reply

      I’ve been playing recently too, to see how someone solely focused on food does in food production. The answer is you get alot. This means if you had a group of five people you could have one man do all the food work, while the rest do other jobs. Since I have made a walled fort before, this would have cut the time down by alot, allowing me to build and mine while the other guy makes food.

      If i had a third man do the mining, we would be able to build a fort very quickly.

      Even making a compound using stone fences takes a while(though when you do make a stone fence compound it means you can have huge amounts of farmland without worrying about predators trampling it)

    • Posted December 3, 2015 at 19:16 | Permalink | Reply

      I’ve also been focusing on wall designes. Very interesting what a wall can survive.

      Several designs, very expensive, were able to stop a large amount of large kegs, needing upwards of 10 large kegs to cause a breech

      • Posted December 3, 2015 at 19:25 | Permalink | Reply

        Cheaper designes were very effective as well though. I’ve found that warfare in sc should be fought as it should have been in ww1. Crossbows are very deadly and fast firing. Bows have fire arrows that catch people on fire even if they have full armor

      • Posted December 3, 2015 at 22:25 | Permalink | Reply

        Would love to see some pics, maybe over on the forum?

        • Posted December 4, 2015 at 15:24 | Permalink

          I could make a world showcasing defenses, and post the link here, I’ve forgotten what my account was on the forum

        • Posted December 4, 2015 at 16:07 | Permalink

          I’ve made a world but cannot upload it from a windows phone, i will post the link in the forum

  19. Posted December 3, 2015 at 18:06 | Permalink | Reply

    I’m so glad to see that you’re coming back! I hope you had a great hiatus 😆

  20. Posted December 3, 2015 at 18:21 | Permalink | Reply

    OMG!!!! I cant believe your back! I was just expecting to see the article from April again! Welcome back! :D

  21. Posted December 3, 2015 at 18:40 | Permalink | Reply

    Kaalus!! I’m so happy to hear from you. Can’t wait.

    SC 4 LIFE!

  22. Posted December 3, 2015 at 18:54 | Permalink | Reply

    https://www.dropbox.com/s/nto6fxwuuxvg55m/Yolo%20McSwaggin.scworld?dl=1 this is a map I made enjoy

  23. Posted December 3, 2015 at 18:55 | Permalink | Reply

    I think it would be a good idea to add cheetahs, and wild cats you can tame, and you could tame the wolves. And you should be able to remove the saddle. Those are my ideas. Go SC!!!

  24. Posted December 3, 2015 at 19:17 | Permalink | Reply

    I am so happy! Survivalcraft is the best game ever! Much better than Minecrap Bug Edition

    • MTB adventures/RCs to the limit
      Posted December 4, 2015 at 01:01 | Permalink | Reply

      Yes!

    • Posted December 15, 2015 at 16:39 | Permalink | Reply

      Seriously? Don’t be ignorant, Kaalus is inspired by Minecraft!

  25. Posted December 3, 2015 at 19:24 | Permalink | Reply

    Woooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo!

    At last! I just noticed in my emails, “Survivalcraft.” ? … ! … !!!!! … [type type] kaalus.wordpress.com “I wasn’t imagining it!’

    • MTB adventures/RCs to the limit
      Posted December 4, 2015 at 01:02 | Permalink | Reply

      Me too!

  26. DrSmCraft
    Posted December 3, 2015 at 19:47 | Permalink | Reply

    Kaalus, You made my Day!

    • DrSmCraft
      Posted December 3, 2015 at 19:48 | Permalink | Reply

      Oh and Welcome Back! Glad to see you back in action!

  27. Posted December 3, 2015 at 20:27 | Permalink | Reply

    We arnt mad at all. We understand. But next time could you give us a heads up? :D

  28. MTB adventures/RCs to the limit
    Posted December 3, 2015 at 20:37 | Permalink | Reply

    Great Job Kaalus, I know who that feels! Good luck on 1.28!

  29. Posted December 3, 2015 at 20:46 | Permalink | Reply

    por favor la siguiente vez avisar, please the next time you will say

  30. Posted December 3, 2015 at 20:55 | Permalink | Reply

    YES !!!YEAH!!! SC UPDATE!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  31. Posted December 3, 2015 at 21:47 | Permalink | Reply

    Finally! : )

  32. Posted December 3, 2015 at 21:55 | Permalink | Reply

    YOUR BAAAAACK! *Does a happy dance*

  33. Posted December 3, 2015 at 22:05 | Permalink | Reply

    Glad to have you back, Kaalus! Just tell us next time; I was becoming worried!

  34. Posted December 3, 2015 at 22:07 | Permalink | Reply

    Hehe welcome back Kaalus. I understand, mate. I’ve reached that burnt out phase with playing the game. If you have a secret to getting inspired again, I’d like to know. Time’s running out for me to get a spark back as far as my possible career goes lol!
    :-D

    Anywho, I’m glad you’re back. Good luck to you with this next update. Can’t wait to see what else is in store.

  35. chrisitdeveloper
    Posted December 3, 2015 at 22:31 | Permalink | Reply

    Hey Kaalus, welcome back! Fully respect the burnt out feeling mate, this last year I had exactly the same feeling, spent two years doing 18 hour days coding on a startup… Only after a year did the ‘spark’ finally come back.
    Any way as you can see by the comments in your last post we missed you mate…

    Good to see you alive and well 🙂

  36. Posted December 3, 2015 at 23:12 | Permalink | Reply

    Lol, I’m definitely not saying I have anything to do with it, but it’s funny I quit Youtube a little after Kaalus quit posting and now I made a video last week and he’s back. We follow the same routine. But, all jokes aside, glad to see ya back. I knew you’d be back.

  37. Posted December 4, 2015 at 00:56 | Permalink | Reply

    OMFG you’re back! I understand your feeling of being burnt out, drawing is my favorite thing to do, but I can’t always have the drive to do so. Well, I’m very pleased to see you back and running!

  38. MTB adventures/RCs to the limit
    Posted December 4, 2015 at 01:00 | Permalink | Reply

    Thank you Kaalus again!

  39. Posted December 4, 2015 at 03:47 | Permalink | Reply

    Any recommendations of maps for me to play that you would recommend or that you made? I made a parkour map of you would be willing to play it. Please reply with improvements for my mail or recommendations for new maps for me to play… The link below is my map if you could download that would be great :-) by the way glad to see you back Kallus I actually had quit on Survivalcraft for a while but got back into it about a week ago. So I am glad to be playing again and I am glad to see you are working on Survivalcraft again keep up the good work and I hope you enjoy it :-)

    My link \/

    https://www.dropbox.com/m/browse?path=%2FApps%2FSurvivalcraft#

  40. Posted December 4, 2015 at 05:39 | Permalink | Reply

    My god he isn’t dead! Also, I liked.that circle…

  41. Posted December 4, 2015 at 09:10 | Permalink | Reply

    Kaalus is alive and working on an update, yay! :)
    I understand you mate, but you could have informed us about it earlier ;)
    The email really surprised me, but all the time I’ve been waiting I was hoping that the dev won’t abandon working on the game as he just created a new Engine for it :)

    The feature isvcool, I prefer cracks than the circle.

    @Kaalus Can I contact you directly by email / Skype / whatever?

  42. Posted December 4, 2015 at 10:20 | Permalink | Reply

    i am so glad to hear that sc is updating now,but there’s still some serious bugs to be repaired.for example,if there are a lot of blocks or electronics in a limit place,bugs will come that texture will come out and cover the screen.😖

  43. Posted December 4, 2015 at 10:52 | Permalink | Reply

    That’s great!!! Thank you Kaalus!!!

  44. colbyfranknorth
    Posted December 4, 2015 at 15:07 | Permalink | Reply

    No…We forgive you!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  45. Posted December 4, 2015 at 15:37 | Permalink | Reply

    … :-( no…. No… Multiplayer noooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooohoho

    • colbyfranknorth
      Posted December 4, 2015 at 17:23 | Permalink | Reply

      Well, that’s for another update…or this one. He said he’s been working on 1.28 for a while, so I am very happy. :-)

  46. shez951
    Posted December 4, 2015 at 19:17 | Permalink | Reply

    Wow!! Welcome back kaalus! Me and my lil siis’s reaction. 7 months! Checking every day. My patience paid off! I am looking foreword to the future

  47. Posted December 4, 2015 at 20:16 | Permalink | Reply

    Glad you took a break, you deserved it! Also happy to see work on 1.28 underway, those cracks in the block look cool. :D

  48. Posted December 4, 2015 at 21:32 | Permalink | Reply

    Please kaalus, add smoke on 1.28 please. Then ill be able to make smoke signals, when i get lost I think thats easy for you so please.

  49. Posted December 4, 2015 at 21:35 | Permalink | Reply

    Kaalus you inspire me:-) I know you probably don’t have the time but if you read this comment just say hi… Your my hero it would mean the world to me for you to say something to me please… I believe in you kaalus and know you will impress us again as you always have.😅

  50. Posted December 4, 2015 at 22:03 | Permalink | Reply

    OH MY GOOOOOOOOOD, KAALUS, YOU ARE NOT DEAD, THAT’S SO GREAT, YOU HAVE NO IDEA HOW HAPPY AM I. KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK MAN, YOU ARE AWSOME.

    … YAAAAAAAHOOOOOOOOOOO :D

    • Posted December 4, 2015 at 22:15 | Permalink | Reply

      I know this sounds a bit inconvenient but a quick suggestion for 1.28: Saddle bags and tents. Thank you :)

  51. Posted December 4, 2015 at 22:09 | Permalink | Reply

    Hey we missed you!

    I was wondering if adding Flashlights is a good idea, it will definetly help when youre in caves with no torches

    • Posted December 4, 2015 at 22:27 | Permalink | Reply

      I posted about lanterns a little while back and miner helmets to make the helmet you would make an iron helmet then on a crafting table you would put a light bulb next to it. to put batterys in it you would drag a. battery to it the same way you would load an arrow into a cross bow or regular bow whatever seems best. The battery would last at least 4 sc days before dieing forcing you to change it. The miners helmet would last just as long as an iron helmet would if you where very careful and did not get hit in the head with it on. I love this idea how about everyone else?

  52. Posted December 4, 2015 at 23:14 | Permalink | Reply

    I like the idea of a bag especially the idea of a burlap sack made of bulap obviously. How do you make burlap? By placing one string in each spot of a crafting table . it would be poor man’s canvas. Useful but would not make warm clothing instead cheap undieable non durable clothing for poor people the sack would need to be in your hand to be opened and would have an edit button so you could get into it. It would only have 4 inventory slots and sertion items like weapons would not fit. The burlap would also be good for making a shepherds robe which I think everyone would love

    • Posted December 4, 2015 at 23:53 | Permalink | Reply

      I personaly liked this idea, maybe kaalus will add it in the future.

  53. Posted December 5, 2015 at 01:00 | Permalink | Reply

    Good idea for what the sack and shepherds robe or the miners helmet? I like boath

  54. ayeaye7
    Posted December 5, 2015 at 01:13 | Permalink | Reply

    Kaalus! You’re back!… All Glory to you, I always believed that you would return

  55. Posted December 5, 2015 at 03:19 | Permalink | Reply

    Hey guys im starting a new series soon on survivalcraft, ive been a fan ever since 1.21 and never gave up on the game and now im going to persue my long time goal to start a youtube channel and start a series! check out my channel and sub to see the first episode starting in christmas! Thanks!

    https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCBgMb9Ef6i1rOMjnFzeKC1Q

  56. Posted December 5, 2015 at 05:42 | Permalink | Reply

    Hey guys I have a blog if you want to check it out it is called survivalcraft14.wordpress.com

    Please comment any suggestions you have there

  57. Posted December 5, 2015 at 10:14 | Permalink | Reply

    Thank goodness, you’re okay!!! Well, even I was worried for a moment! (-: (Normally I know everything is fine.)
    Indeed, next time we’ll be more patient, we know everything is fine then. (-:

  58. Posted December 5, 2015 at 10:54 | Permalink | Reply

    Welcome back!
    A burnout can be crippling and depressive, I know the feeling myself… )-:
    I’m glad you got better! (-:
    It can be harsh to have suddenly thousands of fan posts on mail, the forums and more, and so many people to support and trying to keep them all happy… But don’t worry, you don’t have to anwser everyone or anyone at all, you are possibly a one-man developer, you are already busy enough, we understand that, we just want a happy Kaalus, then we are happy too, and this way and only this way we have the old Kaalus back!
    Perhaps you can leave the forum responses and email to other admins, and concentrate on what you like best; developing, that is what you always liked to do, and has proven to work well without too much stress.
    When you do not visibly see the fans, then you don’t have to or worry and you can become your old self again for a distarction-free developer. (Even though it is hard to ignore the fame everywhere.)
    It is good you took a break. (-:
    Through this burnout and absence you already expressed your care about your fans, otherwise you wouldn’t have so much stress in order to keep working and would not end up in a burn out, so please do it for you, not for us, we’ll be fine, don’t worry! (-:

  59. Posted December 5, 2015 at 11:37 | Permalink | Reply

    Yesss!!!

  60. colbyfranknorth
    Posted December 5, 2015 at 14:31 | Permalink | Reply

    I feel like it’s been another 8 months since he posts this post! :-p

  61. Posted December 5, 2015 at 19:57 | Permalink | Reply

    Please let there be multiplayer!!!

    I have been playing the free ADD version of MCPE with my boys, but then removed the game because of all the monsters etc and unrealistic elements. The main drawing point was multiplayer and rails as well as rotatable logs for log cabins.

    Thanks for the new enhancements, but MP is 1000 times more important.

  62. Posted December 5, 2015 at 20:07 | Permalink | Reply

    Oh, please give an option to disable just lightning and not all weather effects (lightning destroys my buildings and forests). Also option to disable werewolves, I like it realistic.

  63. Posted December 6, 2015 at 16:22 | Permalink | Reply

    Woah tryin not to swear here. My friend told me about this on the bus. while i was catching up on missed maths homework on the computer I searched it up and I was so happy my teacher came over to see what was happening. anyway, Next time maybe drop us a note saying: ‘hi i will gone for 8 months. I’m not dead, seriously ill, injured, I have not: been hacked, been arrested, fallen down the stairs and broken my leg, dropped my computer or quit so dont worry. oh please dont quit enjoy survivalcraft 1.27 for almost a year
    Kaalus :P’ It may have helped but anyway welcome back. I thought you were dead so i held a funeral for you on the last post and built a shrine in sc to you
    but, hey don’t worry
    I will party all night
    for good news has come
    KAALUS IS ALIVE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Bluestripe

  64. Posted December 9, 2015 at 05:33 | Permalink | Reply

    Been waiting for Kaalus to come back for a long time. Thank you Kaalus!!

  65. Posted December 9, 2015 at 06:05 | Permalink | Reply

    Welcome back mate! Missed you

  66. Posted December 11, 2015 at 01:17 | Permalink | Reply

    YAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-)

  67. Posted December 15, 2015 at 16:40 | Permalink | Reply

    KAAAALLUSSSSSS!!!!!!!! WELCOME BACK!!! 😃😃😃🎆🎊🎇🎉🎂🎈

  68. Posted December 15, 2015 at 22:34 | Permalink | Reply

    Thank you for coming back Kaalus! I thought you were dead😓. Keep up the good work on v1.28!

One Trackback

  1. […] has announced that he has resumed work on Survivalcraft development. Although the wait for anything new has been […]

Leave a Reply. No swearing please.

