iOS screen capture bug

There is a bug in the latest iOS release. It crashes whenever you try to capture a screenshot.

This is so refreshing. At least a bug that I can claim responsibility for and feel guilty myself! I am sorry. I am just allocating too small an array for the screen data.

It took me all of 33 seconds to find and fix it.

I love bugs like that. Compare this to botched OpenGL ES implementations that have clipping problems or miscompile shaders.  Weeks of trying to obtain the offending device and then weeks of searching for viable workarounds. Compare this to stupid touch sensors that lose touches or duplicate them. Weeks and weeks of testing whether the latest workaround improves input on the bad devices without destroying it on good ones. Horror!

However easy the fix was, Apple will take a week to review another submission. Therefore I think I will wait a couple of days, just in case some other bugs turn up. If they do, I hope they will be as good as this one!

95 Comments

  1. Posted April 24, 2015 at 18:40 | Permalink | Reply

    Is this my first first?

  2. Posted April 24, 2015 at 18:44 | Permalink | Reply

    May i ask why do lions spawn in my house’s room when i go to sleep? I ended up dying…

  3. Posted April 24, 2015 at 18:51 | Permalink | Reply

    third

  4. MTB adventures/RCs to the limit
    Posted April 24, 2015 at 18:54 | Permalink | Reply

    Thanks for responding to my email with this post! keep up the good work!

  5. Posted April 24, 2015 at 19:20 | Permalink | Reply

    Kaalus I can’t copy paste links from my private drop box

  6. MTB adventures/RCs to the limit
    Posted April 24, 2015 at 19:24 | Permalink | Reply

    it is great that you fixed it so easily

  7. Posted April 24, 2015 at 19:42 | Permalink | Reply

    Still can’t use the game on my Samsung Note 4. It pegs the CPU even if I have the game’s specs set very low

  8. Posted April 24, 2015 at 19:57 | Permalink | Reply

    I now is a bit off-topic…
    I’ve tried Survivalcraft on PC… Is good… Really good…
    But I don’t understand how to reload bow without opening the inventory or Crafting menu…
    There is a better way to reload Bows?

    • Posted April 24, 2015 at 20:04 | Permalink | Reply

      +1 about the bows!!!!

    • Posted April 24, 2015 at 22:20 | Permalink | Reply

      Place the arrows in a quick slot and simply drag the stack accross onto the bow, which should also be in a quick slot.

      Works fine for me on a 3.5′ touchscreen, haven’t tried SC on a PC.

    • Posted April 25, 2015 at 06:07 | Permalink | Reply

      Yep, I top face the issue on PC. Kaalus, we should be able to choose between split touch and normal touch even with only a mouse and keyboard. Currently if you only have a mouse and keyboard, the game only allows you to use split touch

  9. Posted April 24, 2015 at 20:30 | Permalink | Reply

    There is also a glitch, in my iOS device, that when you place stairs or slabs by each other, there is a very thin invisible gap in the corners… I hope this makes sense.

    • Posted April 24, 2015 at 20:35 | Permalink | Reply

      Well, happens with any kind of stairs, exept cobblestone or sandstone.

      • Posted April 24, 2015 at 20:39 | Permalink | Reply

        Heres the link to image of bug:

        • Posted April 24, 2015 at 21:32 | Permalink

          I found some other bugs on iOS (I have an ipad mini retina, ios 8.3)
          – the reset option in adventure mode does not work anymore…
          – When I try to upload my word to dropbox, the game crashes… (Its a 380 mb world, I’ve been building it since 2 years…. Now I want to upload it or just save it in my dropbox but the game crashes when I do, or it says “out of memory” in 1.26 I was still able to upload this same world… Please fix :/)

          Thanks kaalus keep the good work! (If you ever see this post)

        • Posted April 24, 2015 at 23:08 | Permalink

          That has happened to me too :/. A simple reboot fixes it though and that’s amazing! What’s the world like :D

    • Posted April 24, 2015 at 23:08 | Permalink | Reply

      Yes, I have been getting that as well in Cerralian Empire. I built a Dragon head prison and its annoying that I can see that.

  10. Posted April 24, 2015 at 22:13 | Permalink | Reply

    Hey KAALUS PLEASE READ THIS:

    Bug report:

    1) the Lightning summoned by the new lightning button does not destroy blocks on early end devices. Tested on ground and on tall trees. Will not burn them.

    iOS version:6.1.2 (or newest one an iPod 4 can handle)

    Device:iPod 4 only (from my experience)

    2)I have recently sent you an email about this (from awood3195@gmail.com) bug :

    So far I have found texture ‘lines’ on the canvas and doors (when in inventory). The lines are found vertically on the most left side of the item. It kinda bugs me (no pun intended)

    Version: 6.1.2 (iPod) and 8.3 (iOS)

    Devices: iPod touch 4 and iPad 2

    • Posted April 24, 2015 at 23:10 | Permalink | Reply

      Well the iPod touch have around 256 megabytes of RAM which is horrible for a heavy intensive game like SC plus is your worlds in Static Creative mode? It must be in Creative living in order to the strikes to work

      • Posted April 24, 2015 at 23:21 | Permalink | Reply

        The first top bug is in creative the second in survival.

        • Posted April 24, 2015 at 23:46 | Permalink

          I guess for the first the iPod touch can’t handle it. Like I said it only has 256 megabytes of RAM and it’ll be way to intensive for the iPods 5 year old Apple A4 chip to handle and the tiny 256 megabytes of RAM

        • Posted April 25, 2015 at 00:40 | Permalink

          Yeah but how would that stop destruction of blocks. It doesn’t lag at all. Well if lightning won’t destroy blocks then TNT shouldn’t either bc I believe they’re both the same situation. I believe it’s just a bug.

        • Posted April 25, 2015 at 00:42 | Permalink

          Probably but I don’t see no problems on my iPad Air. Plus I have a iPod 4 still, don’t use it, it’s just their and its not lag free at all. It’s a horrible buggy device. Games are hardly playable and supported. Once again, that measly 256 megabyte of RAM and old cpu. The device came out in 2010 after all.

      • Posted April 27, 2015 at 13:55 | Permalink | Reply

        The ipod 5 has 512 mbs of ram and runs great. hes talking about the 4, hater.

        • Posted April 27, 2015 at 21:28 | Permalink

          I know you dumb dumb. Did you even read what I said. And yes I know that, God people these days.

        • Posted April 27, 2015 at 21:28 | Permalink

          I think the heater and confused individual is you confusing the iPod 5 for the 4.

        • Posted April 28, 2015 at 05:30 | Permalink

          That’s what I said you idiot. I was also talking about the 4 instead of hating you should ask and assume it was about the 4 and not the fifth which I also have

    • Posted April 25, 2015 at 02:23 | Permalink | Reply

      The reason the “bug” is only in creative is because natural stuff can’t effect blocks in static, making lightning not destroy stuff, just turn static off.

    • Posted April 27, 2015 at 04:58 | Permalink | Reply

      You have it on “Static” mode. You must change it to “Living” in the settings for the lightning to have effect.

  11. Posted April 24, 2015 at 22:57 | Permalink | Reply

    How do I find the “Publish Link” dialog to upload my world??????

  12. Posted April 24, 2015 at 23:10 | Permalink | Reply

    This is a bug I’ve found on my Nexus 5 running 5.1 Lollipop for the technical purposes. Whenever I try to download or even upload a skin like I once tried to, I always get an error.

    • Posted April 24, 2015 at 23:11 | Permalink | Reply

      Which is error 429. And I’ve been getting that the last few days

  13. Posted April 24, 2015 at 23:37 | Permalink | Reply

    Thanks for fixing it kaalus that is the only bug I’m getting

  14. Posted April 25, 2015 at 00:35 | Permalink | Reply

    Im first and btw ios sucks

    • MTB adventures/RCs to the limit
      Posted April 25, 2015 at 12:41 | Permalink | Reply

      oh gosh.

    • Posted April 25, 2015 at 12:43 | Permalink | Reply

      I ahouldnt do this but what the heck
      iOS: android
      Android:yes?
      iOS: I am your father!
      Android:hi dad

      • Posted April 25, 2015 at 12:44 | Permalink | Reply

        And android fan be like : Noooooooooooo!

        • MTB adventures/RCs to the limit
          Posted April 25, 2015 at 12:46 | Permalink

          HAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!!!!!!!!! that is funny!

        • Posted April 25, 2015 at 12:51 | Permalink

          Ilr what you think of glass stairs?

        • Posted April 25, 2015 at 12:57 | Permalink

          Ikr*

        • MTB adventures/RCs to the limit
          Posted April 25, 2015 at 13:01 | Permalink

          I think it is a good idea. but they need to have an iron frame like most glass stairs.

        • Posted April 25, 2015 at 13:02 | Permalink

          I agree the whole idea is to see what is under them wether a city water or lava

        • Posted April 25, 2015 at 13:14 | Permalink

          So the craft would go like
          I
          GI
          GG
          Where g ia glass and i is iron rod

        • Posted April 29, 2015 at 11:54 | Permalink

          But the kid (android) is still better than his daddy (ios) so you still get rekt bye have a nice not day

  15. Posted April 25, 2015 at 01:04 | Permalink | Reply

    I feel your pain in a way – I work with CSS.

    • Posted April 25, 2015 at 02:47 | Permalink | Reply

      Lol, I spent over 4 hours last night trying to figure out why a menu I coded was all screwy. Turns out I had simply forgotten to capitalise a letter. 4…flipping…hours…for that! I’m sure it’s nothing compared to the stuff Kaalus goes through. If I’ve learned anything in my short 16 years of life, it’s that nothing can make you more angry at your stupid self than programming :-D

      • Posted April 25, 2015 at 04:44 | Permalink | Reply

        It is another separate language haha. Love HTML and CSS <3

        • MTB adventures/RCs to the limit
          Posted April 25, 2015 at 12:43 | Permalink

          Ouch! Well at least Kaalus fixed it in 33 seconds!

        • Posted April 25, 2015 at 13:15 | Permalink

          That is true lol…

      • Posted April 25, 2015 at 15:44 | Permalink | Reply

        Arrrgh!! Been there too amigo! :)

      • brythok
        Posted April 26, 2015 at 21:25 | Permalink | Reply

        Lol ikr, I had a problem for like an hour because i accidently capitalized a folder that shouldnt have been so i couldnt run my code. Never make that mistake again XD

  16. Posted April 25, 2015 at 01:10 | Permalink | Reply

    Anyone notice predators can now hurt you when you are in hole below them. Sigh I knew that loophole wouldn’t last forever.

  17. Posted April 25, 2015 at 01:58 | Permalink | Reply

    Noooo!!

    • Posted April 25, 2015 at 07:37 | Permalink | Reply

      Yeah they can atack you when your standing on there backs to. I wish that is would go back to the old way..lol

  18. Posted April 25, 2015 at 08:59 | Permalink | Reply

    Hey, has anyone else found that the animal spawners have disappeared? I really miss them as the animals are one of my favourite aspects of the game.

  19. Posted April 25, 2015 at 09:51 | Permalink | Reply

    Hey kaalus can you pls add eagles that attack

  20. Posted April 25, 2015 at 12:46 | Permalink | Reply

    Kaalus one quick request required for the world im working on
    Glass stairs
    Reason: im making a building with glass as the floor and lava under it so for it to seem like a natural clim i need glass stairs

  21. Posted April 25, 2015 at 14:44 | Permalink | Reply

    Kaalus you still have bot fixed this bug; in 1.27, when I go to my dropbox and find a world and press ‘copy link’ it does not copy the link, just says it did.

    WP 8.1
    Lumia1520

    • Posted April 25, 2015 at 16:03 | Permalink | Reply

      This is true and sadly unfixable. Microsoft does not let apps put anything in clipboard on WP81. Don’t know why, WP7 could do that. Shame, but can’t help it.

      • Posted April 25, 2015 at 18:03 | Permalink | Reply

        That sucks… Is it possible to provide the text alone, so we can copy it ourselves?

        I don’t like dropbox links, they take ages…

        • Posted April 26, 2015 at 04:38 | Permalink

          Happens on iPhone. I paste link to a note, then copy that and it pastes ok for some reason.

      • Posted August 10, 2015 at 10:59 | Permalink | Reply

        Kaalus can you add orca, beluga and white tiger spawners

  22. Posted May 10, 2015 at 00:05 | Permalink | Reply

    excuse me,Mr kaalus,i am one of the survivalcraft lover in China.and,i am the organizer of a big influencial group in China.i want to get along with you , ok?please send message to 331970035@qq.com or reply me here,thank you.

    • MTB adventures/RCs to the limit
      Posted May 10, 2015 at 00:14 | Permalink | Reply

      Wow! talk about spam. 2 rules i follow in life: 1. NEVER DO BUSINESS WITH ANY ASIAN COUNTRIES (except south Korea). 2. NEVER LET ANYONE FROM CHINA HELP YOU WITH COMPUTER STUFF!!!!!!!!!!!!

      Go back to your slum and have fun!

      • MTB adventures/RCs to the limit
        Posted May 10, 2015 at 00:15 | Permalink | Reply

        Oh, and great email! WTS?

      • Posted June 8, 2015 at 04:41 | Permalink | Reply

        what do you mean?racism?

        • MTB adventures/RCs to the limit
          Posted June 8, 2015 at 19:42 | Permalink

          nope. Look at china. Can you trust them?

        • Posted June 14, 2015 at 09:02 | Permalink

          well,i dont mean commercially.i just want to pull together with you and some people else to make a better future for survivalcraft.you know how many people are playing sc now?——over 130000.and if you cooperate with me, i would like to show you the way that could make more sc lovers.and all i do is free,without anything.

        • Posted July 13, 2015 at 04:59 | Permalink

          so?didn’t you see my reply yet or you are busy with something that you have no time?

  23. Posted May 26, 2015 at 23:34 | Permalink | Reply

    What happened to kaalus? Did he die…Again.

    • MTB adventures/RCs to the limit
      Posted June 8, 2015 at 19:41 | Permalink | Reply

      no

  24. Posted May 31, 2015 at 07:02 | Permalink | Reply

    Its ok if i cant, i have siri to do it anyway for me

  25. Posted June 14, 2015 at 00:06 | Permalink | Reply

    In still having problems with the screenshot picture button, still crashing! I have a iPhone 5s and its IOS 8.3. Please help! I would like to be able to use this feature

    • Posted June 17, 2015 at 03:48 | Permalink | Reply

      You have trouble with effective power to. Don’t ya?

      • Posted June 17, 2015 at 16:12 | Permalink | Reply

        Umm no, I’ve been sent hat several times, never worked… What does that have to do with this?

  26. Posted September 8, 2015 at 14:49 | Permalink | Reply

    Almost 5 months. No posts. Kaalus, you need a team. You can program, and have another guy give updates.

Leave a Reply. No swearing please.

