1.27.1 bugfix release published

Ok, so there are audio bugs.

Unfortunately, Android audio API is a big, messy pool of goo, so it’s not easy to get anything working. Every device behaves differently and a lot of things don’t work as expected in fancy and inventive ways.

The new engine attempts to workaround certain problems. For example some devices leak file handles with every sound created (https://code.google.com/p/android/issues/detail?id=17995), so that you can only play a fixed number of sounds until your app dies. And about a hundred of similar issues.

Anyway, I think I tried to workaround audio problems too hard.

In 1.27.1 I removed some of these contraptions, so that the audio code is simpler and uses less tricks. While I am sure it will now start failing in yet unknown and wonderful ways, I hope it will work reasonably well across more devices.

1.27.1 is already published and should be available in a couple of hours. Please keep downloading and testing.

Big thanks!

88 Comments

  1. Posted March 25, 2015 at 00:11 | Permalink | Reply

    First! Finally love you kaalus!

    • Posted March 25, 2015 at 00:18 | Permalink | Reply

      Next update could you please add more types of horses, removable saddles,a rock polisher,backpack, and a search engine to community content? Thanks good work!

      • Posted March 25, 2015 at 01:54 | Permalink | Reply

        At least you don’t get called stupid when you give him ideas😪

      • Posted March 25, 2015 at 09:19 | Permalink | Reply

        i like the bag idea maybe make it a requirement. if the game is to be as realistic as he claims then we should only be able to hold two things at once in the start but later make bags to hold more stuff and each bag has a set number of quick slots that are found at the bottom so cotton bag gives 2 quick slots leather and fur give 4 slots and cotton should be able to hold half the amount leather or fur does. plus no bag no inventory

        • MTB adventures/RCs to the limit
          Posted March 25, 2015 at 10:34 | Permalink

          oh you 2.

  2. FutureUSMarine
    Posted March 25, 2015 at 00:12 | Permalink | Reply

    Great job Kaalus, keep up the good work

  3. Posted March 25, 2015 at 00:14 | Permalink | Reply

    When will it be out for the amazon app store?

    • MTB adventures/RCs to the limit
      Posted March 25, 2015 at 10:34 | Permalink | Reply

      when ever all the bug fixes are done with for Google play.

  4. Posted March 25, 2015 at 00:14 | Permalink | Reply

    That was quick.

  5. Posted March 25, 2015 at 00:17 | Permalink | Reply

    Kaalus I have a bug I had a chest full of ostrich eggs and the eggs turned into Moose spawners so I have a lot of nooses

    • Posted March 25, 2015 at 00:18 | Permalink | Reply

      *nooses btw it’s in my cruel world :(

      • Posted March 25, 2015 at 00:28 | Permalink | Reply

        Eminem this is as old as ostriches, if you want to see the new animals just save up on eggs. I once ended up with two stacks of donkey eggs

        • Posted March 25, 2015 at 01:17 | Permalink

          Lol if I could give you a moose I would I have a chest full haha

    • Posted March 25, 2015 at 00:26 | Permalink | Reply

      I know – this is because I changed egg ids. Sorry, I hope you can make use of the mooses. I don’t really want to mess with egg ids on top of all the issues.

      • Posted March 25, 2015 at 00:49 | Permalink | Reply

        Omg kaalus!!!!

      • Posted March 25, 2015 at 01:18 | Permalink | Reply

        It’s fine more of a joke than a worry, and I’m glad you’re not worrying about something so little and useless to fix. Plus the moose will give more food anyways.

      • Posted March 25, 2015 at 09:42 | Permalink | Reply

        DISCOVERED A NEW BUG!
        When You Trow a Spear In a chest, the spear will be multiplied!
        A similar thing appens when you shot an arrow in a chest…

        • MTB adventures/RCs to the limit
          Posted March 25, 2015 at 10:34 | Permalink

          that happened to me too in the last update. it turned my ostrich eggs into donkey spawners.

        • Posted March 25, 2015 at 11:14 | Permalink

          lol

  6. Luke18033
    Posted March 25, 2015 at 00:17 | Permalink | Reply

    3rd! I got the update and guess what? It is awesome! There are only two more things I would want: Community Content searchbar and multiplayer.

    • Luke18033
      Posted March 25, 2015 at 00:18 | Permalink | Reply

      Sorry 5th.

      • MTB adventures/RCs to the limit
        Posted March 25, 2015 at 10:38 | Permalink | Reply

        no 6th.

        • MTB adventures/RCs to the limit
          Posted March 25, 2015 at 10:39 | Permalink

          :)

  7. Posted March 25, 2015 at 00:22 | Permalink | Reply

    6th

  8. Posted March 25, 2015 at 00:26 | Permalink | Reply

    One step closer to release

  9. jbloggs99
    Posted March 25, 2015 at 00:29 | Permalink | Reply

    Carpet is colder than granite block?, body temp drops when standing on carpet block.

  10. Posted March 25, 2015 at 00:34 | Permalink | Reply

    Hey Kaalus, when will it release for amazon kindle fire HDX 8.9?

  11. Posted March 25, 2015 at 00:43 | Permalink | Reply

    I am using BlueStacks App Player and have been enjoying the game a lot, until now. I just got on and couldn’t control my guy with the arrow keys on my keyboard anymore. Although the button setup says “w,s,d,a” there is no response when I try using either those keys or the arrow keys. I’ve also tried the key pad but nothing seems to work except for manually clicking on the screen with the mouse. I know this isn’t originally designed for a pc, but if there’s a fix for this I would greatly appreciate it. Thank you.

  12. Posted March 25, 2015 at 00:45 | Permalink | Reply

    Everything good on my Lenovo s860 1gb ram (4.2.2) and Lenovo Yoga Tablet 2 Pro (4.4.2) except saddle bug. Overall it’s ok. Full screen? I love it.

  13. Posted March 25, 2015 at 00:46 | Permalink | Reply

    in creative mode i couldnt get the squishy water sound to go away even when i lit myself on fire

  14. FutureUSMarine
    Posted March 25, 2015 at 01:12 | Permalink | Reply

    I miss being on android just because android gets the updates first…

    • Posted March 25, 2015 at 02:26 | Permalink | Reply

      Not really missing much. They all complain about tons and tons of bugs.

      • viper
        Posted March 25, 2015 at 08:52 | Permalink | Reply

        Not complain. Its more like report.

    • Posted March 25, 2015 at 12:41 | Permalink | Reply

      Does anyone know when it will release for amazon kindle fire HDX 8.9? Amazon App Store still has not updated yet.

      1 Mobile Market has updated
      Google Play Store has updated

  15. Posted March 25, 2015 at 01:23 | Permalink | Reply

    Kaalus I did find a bug of huge worry though when I play most the time about a fourth of the blocks are invisible. I have a RCA tablet Android version 4.2.2 also, the moose never attack except 1 every 8 times I attack it and thye take half hearts damage to me. I don’t know if that is a bug though.

    • Posted March 25, 2015 at 01:35 | Permalink | Reply

      If you have the view set too high it will make some blocks be invisible, I sent this bug into kaalus a while ago, but he hasn’t addressed it as far as I’m concerned

      • Posted March 25, 2015 at 01:50 | Permalink | Reply

        Do they disappear near you? But how far away is too far? I have it set to 64 blocks

  16. Posted March 25, 2015 at 01:38 | Permalink | Reply

    My sound is working much better on my 5.0 samsung gaxaly s5

  17. Posted March 25, 2015 at 02:24 | Permalink | Reply

    Just got the new version. Went to update my 1.26 worlds, and the skies are glitching. They are cubic.

    • Posted March 25, 2015 at 02:30 | Permalink | Reply

      How does that work?

    • DrSmCraft
      Posted March 25, 2015 at 03:11 | Permalink | Reply

      I have the same problem. But it also applies to chunks on my device.

  18. Posted March 25, 2015 at 02:57 | Permalink | Reply

    Hey Kaalus! The arrow keys on the keyboard doesn’t work anymore.

  19. DrSmCraft
    Posted March 25, 2015 at 03:09 | Permalink | Reply

    I love the fact that when you tap on a campfire with wood logs, planks, stick, or other campfires , it grows. But I wish we could make use of the ash of the burnt out fire. Maybe as fertilizer.

  20. Posted March 25, 2015 at 03:38 | Permalink | Reply

    My cooked ostrich eggs are now coojed moose spawners… I can’t even use them…

    • Posted March 25, 2015 at 04:01 | Permalink | Reply

      *cooked

      • MTB adventures/RCs to the limit
        Posted March 25, 2015 at 10:37 | Permalink | Reply

        it happens every update, the eggs get turned into some animal spawner.

  21. mrdxn
    Posted March 25, 2015 at 04:10 | Permalink | Reply

    Migration Failed….. Invalid Fath (gives me the option to click “ok)

    I am using a Galaxy S4 and also a Nexus 7 (1st Gen). I get this error message at the Main Minu. Clicking OK removes the message and allows me to continue… however, it allways pops up if I leave the main menu and come back. Can’t tell if there are any other effects, As far as I can tall…gameplay isn’t effected.

  22. Posted March 25, 2015 at 04:25 | Permalink | Reply

    Any plans on putting screen rotate option back in game???? my device wont work without… :*(

  23. Posted March 25, 2015 at 04:53 | Permalink | Reply

    Wish I kept my android.. But atleast im getting a somewhat polished version woo

  24. Posted March 25, 2015 at 05:15 | Permalink | Reply

    sry i wasn’t clear it’s just my defective device… (and i found an app that rotates screen for me so it’s fixed)

  25. Posted March 25, 2015 at 06:02 | Permalink | Reply

    How long is the campfire suppose to last? Mine lasts about 30-35 seconds. This game is awesome kaalus!!

  26. Posted March 25, 2015 at 06:23 | Permalink | Reply

    Worlds become transparent. If you look at the ground, you can see everything that’s inside.
    I hope this bug will be fixed.

  27. Posted March 25, 2015 at 06:46 | Permalink | Reply

    I still have crashes on Android 5.0, and 5.1. Galaxy Note 3

  28. Posted March 25, 2015 at 07:09 | Permalink | Reply

    I crash after about 5 minutes of gameplay, 49 fps and 50%cpu. Asus MeMo Pad hd7

  29. Posted March 25, 2015 at 08:41 | Permalink | Reply

    Hi Kaalus, thanks for this audio-update.

    Audio working flawlessly now ingame afaik and not dropping ; also audio works correctly in main menu ( can hear clicks as usual ).

    Great job !

    N7 2013 / Lollipop 5.0.2 / CM 12

  30. viper
    Posted March 25, 2015 at 08:50 | Permalink | Reply

    When you hit animals or vice versa, the hitting sound is kind of metalic, like coming out from a bad speaker. Is this the mentioned audio bug?

    Ps. I love the new water sound! But can you maybe make it so it will sound like waterfall when the water flows at steef angle? Maybe some water particles where the water meets too. That would be beautiful :)

  31. Posted March 25, 2015 at 09:01 | Permalink | Reply

    Thank you for the update!
    This annoys me: The carpet is useless on slabs.
    I use to build my houses with slabs floor and slabs roof. It is cheaper and looks better then a full block.
    So there is no place to put a carpet on it.
    Can you make it compatible with slabs?
    And putting things on carpets would be great eg. ladder, wicker lamps, crafting table or chests.

    • Posted March 25, 2015 at 09:20 | Permalink | Reply

      i agree with the carpet

    • viper
      Posted March 25, 2015 at 11:13 | Permalink | Reply

      I dont think its possible. That means fitting two blocks in a space for one block.

    • Posted March 25, 2015 at 11:18 | Permalink | Reply

      Are you able to make upside down slabs in the game yet?

  32. Posted March 25, 2015 at 09:05 | Permalink | Reply

    I also have a sky render bug with galaxy tab 3 (sm-t110) android 4.2.2.
    There are white stripes left and right.
    If you are interested I will make some screenshots. Let me know.

  33. Posted March 25, 2015 at 09:24 | Permalink | Reply

    I confirm there is still Horse-Saddle bug!
    Hopefully there is no more Audio Problems for me…
    Xperia Tablet Z3 Compact. Android 4.4.4

  34. Posted March 25, 2015 at 09:34 | Permalink | Reply

    DISCOVERED A NEW BUG!
    When You Trow a Spear In a chest, the spear will be multiplied!
    A similar thing appens when you shot an arrow in a chest…

  35. MTB adventures/RCs to the limit
    Posted March 25, 2015 at 10:36 | Permalink | Reply

    oh well i will never get 1st. And apple will wait and wait and wait……..

  36. viper
    Posted March 25, 2015 at 12:36 | Permalink | Reply

    Just found out that the new water sound is NOT all right. Now i cant make a lake or a river more than a block deep without having the gurgling noise. This REALLY SUCKS. now my world is full of the watery sound…..

    But its really nice feature….. Shame. :(

  37. Posted March 25, 2015 at 13:55 | Permalink | Reply

    Good morning Kaalus. Amazon App Store is still listing v1.26.8. Is there any way your team can update the version to the latest for that distribution outlet? Would be most appreciative and will let the rest of us who purchased SC through Amazon be able to enjoy the new fun features. Thanks!

  38. Posted March 25, 2015 at 14:09 | Permalink | Reply

    Kaalus, please fix the horses. They won’t movw while riding them!

  39. Jordan Applegate
    Posted March 25, 2015 at 14:09 | Permalink | Reply

    All I want to know how are the cavalry boots work in out (I have a kindle fire so it has no come out for us yet) :(

    • Jordan Applegate
      Posted March 25, 2015 at 14:13 | Permalink | Reply

      Kallus if u know when the update will come out for Amazon plz tell me my little 5 year old brother wants to know:)

  40. Posted March 25, 2015 at 14:13 | Permalink | Reply

    Error when throwing spears chest multiply …. lanze January 1 in few seconds had the chest full of spears

  41. Posted March 25, 2015 at 14:15 | Permalink | Reply

    I do not speak English
    sorry .. ( google translator )

  42. Posted March 25, 2015 at 14:18 | Permalink | Reply

    Please,add more weapons.

  43. Posted March 25, 2015 at 14:27 | Permalink | Reply

    ¡¡¡¡plis for bluestacks or pc ………

  44. Posted March 27, 2015 at 08:32 | Permalink | Reply

    Great update. Please fix community download options. It is my main frustration with the game.

    – Water sounds are much better, but initially still too loud.
    – Game still stutters when many electronics are used even if you have a high end device. Even if you downscale your quality settings. Maybe you can rather have the electronics stutter than give it preference over game play. Please!!! I use a lot!!!

    You can see it in my world: https://www.dropbox.com/l/jlOICMgchtgRvNzwnHz7Qo

    Unfortunately it is too difficult to find it on the community content. It keeps on disappearing because of the faulty rating system and lack of retention. I suppose for many this is not important, but d=frustrates me a lot. Sorry for sounding negative.

  45. Posted March 29, 2015 at 00:42 | Permalink | Reply

    hey Kaalus why is the new update 1.27.3 not available at the Amazon app store?

Leave a Reply. No swearing please.

