I know what the problem is!

I am talking about the disappearing world names problem. It’s unbelievable. If you think of something long enough, eventually you’ll find the answer.

I could not reproduce it. The reports I had were scarce (massive thanks to everyone who took time to give me info, some of you even made videos – you know who you are). On the surface, nothing tied the reports together. It was hopeless. I tried it again and again on all my test devices (and I have a large box full of them) – could not reproduce it on anything, from ancient 2010-vintage phones to Nexus 5. The only difference my 1.26 changes made were to load world information on a separate thread, to let the UI display the “scanning worlds” dialog.

The screenshots and videos of the problem you sent me showed that sizes and dates of the worlds are determined correctly. Only names and game modes were screwed. This was some lead. I looked through the code and located a likely place where it must be going wrong to produce this exact effect.

The problem is, it had no right to go wrong in that place, or anywhere else. It was the same code as in 1.25.

Then it dawned on me, literally just minutes ago. For those of you who have no idea about programming, the below explanation will make no sense, but I have to write it anyway. Sorry :-)

It’s the thread locale. Old enemy. When creating the thread I forgot to set the locale to invariant. All string operations (e.g. parsing of numbers) are then done using the system’s locale. In some countries they use a comma (,) instead of a dot to separate fractional part of a number. Because all numbers in the project file are saved with dots, the parsing of numbers will fail. This will only happen if your device language is set to non-english, and your country uses commas.

I confirmed it by changing system language on my test phone. Immediately got blank names. Lovely :-)

Bug

Trivial to fix. Obviously, after the fact you can see that all the bug reports are from non-english people…

If anytime again I have a bug that I cannot fix, please remind me of thread locales. Lest we forget.

 

84 Comments

  1. Posted December 14, 2014 at 00:44 | Permalink | Reply

    Good

  2. Posted December 14, 2014 at 00:56 | Permalink | Reply

    I never like the Brits anyway. Lol:) I’m just kidding, simple things wow

  3. Posted December 14, 2014 at 00:58 | Permalink | Reply

    So if I under stand it right which I hope I am is that the mishap was created by a computer grammar mistake? O_O

  4. Posted December 14, 2014 at 00:59 | Permalink | Reply

    Kaalus, you are a god among men!!

  5. minerqueen
    Posted December 14, 2014 at 01:05 | Permalink | Reply

    Hallelujah!

  6. Posted December 14, 2014 at 01:07 | Permalink | Reply

    No kidding i thought all the people who post are Americans and i just got lucky

  7. Posted December 14, 2014 at 01:07 | Permalink | Reply

    Oh, thanks))) I’m waiting fix of this bug… And this is something like adding multiplier, isn’t it?

  8. Posted December 14, 2014 at 01:09 | Permalink | Reply

    That’s not true I’m in the USA have it set to English and I am still had the problem

  9. Posted December 14, 2014 at 01:12 | Permalink | Reply

    Don’t worry kaulus I have copied the (thread locales) information and put it into my notes and reminders

  10. Posted December 14, 2014 at 01:32 | Permalink | Reply

    Aha that makes absolute sense! In France for example they use commas instead of periods. Excellent find!

  11. Posted December 14, 2014 at 02:01 | Permalink | Reply

    Did you fix “leggins” typo yet?

  12. Posted December 14, 2014 at 02:03 | Permalink | Reply

    Arthur: Where hides evil in my kingdom, then?
    Merlin: Always… where you never expect it. Always.
    Gawain: I know where.

  13. Posted December 14, 2014 at 02:06 | Permalink | Reply

    You truly are a genius! Great work.I caint wait til it’s released to IOS!

    • Posted December 14, 2014 at 02:57 | Permalink | Reply

      I know, Apple is still reviewing it or in the midst of reviewing it.

  14. Posted December 14, 2014 at 02:19 | Permalink | Reply

    my device’s language always has been set as English and i sometimes have this problem. Of course restarting the game usually works…

  15. Posted December 14, 2014 at 02:35 | Permalink | Reply

    I’m not having this problem

  16. Posted December 14, 2014 at 03:15 | Permalink | Reply

    save the world again! 😂

  17. coolman103
    Posted December 14, 2014 at 03:42 | Permalink | Reply

    Kaalus, why isn’t pumpkin or bird egg in tue food section of the recipedia?

    • Posted December 14, 2014 at 09:00 | Permalink | Reply

      Because you can’t craft them

      • coolman103
        Posted December 14, 2014 at 16:12 | Permalink | Reply

        Oh.

        • coolman103
          Posted December 14, 2014 at 16:38 | Permalink

          Wait, cooking eggs and bread is the same principal as cooking bacon or fish. So back to my original question.
          Why isn’t eggs or pumpkins in the food section of the recording recipedia?

  18. Posted December 14, 2014 at 03:46 | Permalink | Reply

    I had that problem before but it’s only happened like 2 times but it wasn’t a big deal. I just clicked on it and played it and it was back to normal. I’m sorry Kaalus, I didn’t know it was that problem. I thought it was literally world names disappearing, like this: One day, World name was “Super”. Next day it was gone. (Like it was just a blank). That was just an example of what I thought you were talking about.

  19. Posted December 14, 2014 at 05:04 | Permalink | Reply

    If the update doesn’t come out for iOS by the end of tommorow I’m gonna be so damn mad

  20. Posted December 14, 2014 at 08:59 | Permalink | Reply

    Kaalus strikes again!

  21. Posted December 14, 2014 at 09:42 | Permalink | Reply

    I’m really starting to get impatient. Damn it hurry up apple!

  22. Posted December 14, 2014 at 10:37 | Permalink | Reply

    Guys! JUST IGNORE THIS BUG, IT IS SINGLE! Idk about all devices, but I fixed it by launching any world

    • Posted December 14, 2014 at 10:41 | Permalink | Reply

      Really, just restart any world and DADA! it fixed.
      P.S. I don’t know about all devices, my SC fixed like that

  23. rc8ightdesigning4you
    Posted December 14, 2014 at 12:35 | Permalink | Reply

    Nice job. No one knows if ios will ever come out………………………………………… Darn you apple.

  24. Posted December 14, 2014 at 13:16 | Permalink | Reply

    JUST CLICK THE GODDAMN APPROVE BUTTON APPLE! DARN U!

    • rc8ightdesigning4you
      Posted December 15, 2014 at 14:51 | Permalink | Reply

      Please don’t God’s name like that.

  25. Posted December 14, 2014 at 13:18 | Permalink | Reply

    WHY DO YOU HAVE TO GIVE YOUR MILLIONS OF USERS A HARD TIME APPLE?!?!?

  26. Posted December 14, 2014 at 14:03 | Permalink | Reply

    Cotton is so common. :) And pumpkins, you can finally farm them. There is a piranha lake under my house so whenever a predator goes there, it dies.

    Kaalus I have a suggestion. Can you make an option when you die you wont lose all your stuffs?

    Also, all people who are suggesting him to add bananas: You know that the bananas you eat are not wild bananas? Wild bananas are small and full of seeds. The bananas you eat are big and without seeds, they are human made. So unless the SC character knows how to breed bananas, then they can be added. But adding human made bananas to a place where there are no people is not realistic.

    • Posted December 14, 2014 at 16:29 | Permalink | Reply

      It isn’t realistic to keep your stuff when you die, also it gives a challenge

  27. Posted December 14, 2014 at 15:45 | Permalink | Reply

    Phew! It should’ve taken forever to notice that tiny error. :P

  28. Posted December 14, 2014 at 18:44 | Permalink | Reply

    Kaalus you should add land with people if you go so far and you could live there, even in flat mode.

  29. Posted December 14, 2014 at 18:45 | Permalink | Reply

    The glitch never happened to me anyway.

    • Posted December 14, 2014 at 20:20 | Permalink | Reply

      It’s because you speak English.

      • Posted December 15, 2014 at 09:00 | Permalink | Reply

        “It’s because you speak english.” False. I speak english and I had that problem too.

        • Posted December 15, 2014 at 11:48 | Permalink

          Well you’re not supposed to have it then.

        • Posted December 16, 2014 at 02:11 | Permalink

          Dude. Clearly you speak English to.

      • Posted December 16, 2014 at 20:15 | Permalink | Reply

        Its not about what language you speak, its about what language you have chosen for your phone.

  30. Posted December 14, 2014 at 19:08 | Permalink | Reply

    please add in 1.27 shaders (water, sun, leaves, glass and other). Yeah that update can be very hard, but it will be ”The Grand Update”. Do you like that idea? I dreamed about it a lot.

  31. swordmaster57
    Posted December 14, 2014 at 19:33 | Permalink | Reply

    Kaalus, I have recently discovered a bug where I would be playing survivalcraft for 5-10 minutes and the words KINDLE FIRE would display just like if it’s rebooting or updating, but it my kindle freezes on that screen so I have to hold in the power button for fifteen seconds, then it reboots. This has happened to me twice and only while playing survivalcraft. It was on the normal kindle fire.

    ———————————–this is to get your attention of the bug

  32. Posted December 14, 2014 at 21:55 | Permalink | Reply

    Kaalus people r hacking survivalcraft here http://m.vk.com/scmods

    • Posted December 14, 2014 at 22:04 | Permalink | Reply

      There is a difference between hacking and modding.
      1. Hacking is illegal
      2. Modding is your choice not forced upon your game

    • Posted December 15, 2014 at 00:41 | Permalink | Reply

      Modding isn’t illegal, people have made thousands of mods for all kinds of different games. So…

      • Posted December 15, 2014 at 03:59 | Permalink | Reply

        That’s my point -_- hacking is Illeagal though

        • Posted December 15, 2014 at 09:55 | Permalink

          listen EMIN3M dude. David did not reply on your comment, he replied on Owen.

  33. Posted December 14, 2014 at 22:24 | Permalink | Reply

    Great job Kaalus! This update was amazing. A few suggestions:
    *smaller animals like rabbits, squirrels, or lizards
    * lightning rod prehaps?
    *More adornments such as flower pots, curtains, and maybe even the ability to place buckets on the ground
    * stained glass
    * Other crops such as rice, tomatoes, watermelon, corn
    *toast!
    *Mushrooms- most poisonous unless cooked!
    *Mud?
    *More biomes would be nice, likr flower fields/hills and very thick forests with larger than normal trees

    You dont need to add these things though just suggesting :)

  34. Posted December 14, 2014 at 22:53 | Permalink | Reply

    I had 1.26.2.0 installed and noticed an update on google play but didnt found any changelog so can somebody tell me whats new from 1.26.2.0 to 1.26.7.0 which is the latest version
    Big or small changes i love to read the changelog specially in games like this 1 which got thousands of content

  35. Posted December 14, 2014 at 23:21 | Permalink | Reply

    I second the smaller animals idea…and has any one herd anything about iOS’s approvall,I’m dieting to try it!

  36. Posted December 15, 2014 at 00:06 | Permalink | Reply

    I really want to play the update! Apple is taking to long! It looks awesome. But, A few suggestions to put in the game might be: •owls(a predator that can hunt birds) •Rideable ostriches •A search bar in community content •maybe llamas or alpacas please at least consider adding some of these. This game is awesome!

  37. Posted December 15, 2014 at 00:39 | Permalink | Reply

    Does anyone know somebody that works for IOS? If so can you ask them to please pull some strings? LoL

  38. Posted December 15, 2014 at 01:18 | Permalink | Reply

    the problem is there is no option for left handed controls, that is the up,down,left,right control pad/buttons on the right side, as it is and an option on minecraft PE

    • Posted December 15, 2014 at 01:30 | Permalink | Reply

      thank for the reply, sorry for the post on the 15th did not know I got a reply from you on this page, just saw a red reply notification box and am use to one with numerical digits as an notification, will stop my seemingly endless spamming Thanks again for the reply, LAST ONE !

  39. Posted December 15, 2014 at 01:31 | Permalink | Reply

    Kaalus you need to look at this http://itr4611.wordpress.com/2014/12/15/possible-bugs-in-survivalcraft/ go to my new blog

  40. Posted December 15, 2014 at 04:06 | Permalink | Reply

    I littaratly want to send a complaint to the apple company to yell at them for sitting around being lazy and not reviewing the update for survival craft… I want them to get there facts right and review it

    • Posted December 15, 2014 at 04:41 | Permalink | Reply

      Haha I know they’re getting on my nerve I’m so close to buying a Nextbook

      • Posted December 15, 2014 at 04:41 | Permalink | Reply

        Btw not just because the update but that is one reason

      • Posted December 15, 2014 at 07:09 | Permalink | Reply

        If you mean those crappy Walmart Netbook tablets i’ll stay clear. Apple products are excellent

        • Posted December 15, 2014 at 11:50 | Permalink

          I’m sorry but like I say I hate apple they do everything differently in a way I hate last time I had a nextbook it could handle 160 viewing distance no problem.

        • Posted December 15, 2014 at 20:46 | Permalink

          Well I’m sorry to hear that you don’t like Apple differences. Sure it could handle that distance so so can my iPod touch 5 and so can my iPad Air without problems. I’ve seen that tablet up and personal and the performance is awful with horrible build quality, screen resolution and dead pixels everywhere. Just because it’s cheaper doesn’t mean it’s better. Especially in the android world where in that price I would just get a moto g which is a nice phone in that price range or a nexus 7 2013 tablet which is excellent

  41. Posted December 15, 2014 at 04:29 | Permalink | Reply

    Can we add ropes for the horses that we don’t have shelters for? It would be a nice feature, so is firewood! It would be such a help to have fires not use so much wood.
    Ropes are great for stopping horses from running off. If they aren’t killed by a tiger, then at least you still have your saddle!

  42. Posted December 15, 2014 at 08:56 | Permalink | Reply

    Check this out and kaalus plz watch it buddy its just around 2 minutes guys watch it too

    http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=5DPqH087pic&feature=youtu.be

  43. Posted December 15, 2014 at 09:56 | Permalink | Reply

    So kaalus, you can burn – while freezing? wth!

    • Posted December 15, 2014 at 09:59 | Permalink | Reply

      You can be on fire during freezing.

    • Posted December 15, 2014 at 10:02 | Permalink | Reply

      Bug spotted :
      1. Disappearing world names
      2. Be on fire while freezing
      3. “Make armor leggins from iron and fur leggins”? im not sure with this, someone told me about this. will check out

  44. hod42
    Posted December 15, 2014 at 11:15 | Permalink | Reply

    If it’s any consolation we’re constantly tripping ourselves up when we find servers with the O.S. default locale settings. Affects time zones too! One to watch out for ;-)

    Regards, Ian.

  45. Posted December 15, 2014 at 11:28 | Permalink | Reply

    Also fun: Character encodings. ;) Congrats on tracking the bugger down!

  46. Posted February 1, 2015 at 03:10 | Permalink | Reply

    Can you make it multiply player

Leave a Reply. No swearing please.

