Nokia 1520 invisible animals

For some time now I have been aware of a rendering bug affecting newer Windows 8 Phone devices. Definitely happening on Nokia 1520, maybe others as well. The problem is that all animals are invisible – the shadows are there, the animals will attack and make noises, you just cannot see them.

I have finally found the source of the problem – it was a skinning vertex format! I used byte sized values as matrix weights. Apparently this is not universally supported. I have switched to 4-byte floating point values and it seems to have fixed things, at a small memory cost. The fix will be out with 1.26 – once you get it and have one of the affected devices, please let me know whether the problem is gone.

Btw. in 1.25 and earlier versions there is a workaround that makes the problem go away – go to Settings/Compatibility and switch on “Invisible Models Workaround” option.

[EDIT]

I also increased the default resolution to “High” for all Windows Phone devices. The time of 1st gen Windows Phone 7 being the king of the hill is gone. According to my data less than a few percent of sessions are played on these. Most people play on WP8 Lumias, which can run at full res without breaking a sweat. At the moment only certain older Apple devices default to “Low” (iPhone 4 or lower, iPad 2 or lower, and iPod 4. iPod 3 plays at full res because it has low res screen anyway).

Btw. here’s what the three available resolution modes in the game mean: High – full native screen resolution, Medium – 3/4 of native screen resolution, Low – 1/2 of native screen resolution.

100 Comments

  1. Posted November 11, 2014 at 19:11 | Permalink | Reply

    Finally! A new post!

    • Posted November 12, 2014 at 00:47 | Permalink | Reply

      HOORAY!!!!

    • Posted November 17, 2014 at 19:23 | Permalink | Reply

      So after I was able to get the game to work for me,I played some cruel mode. I survived for 20 days, and I threw a snow ball in the air. I jumped and when the snow ball hit me it made me die. I was on full health and it killed me

  2. Posted November 11, 2014 at 19:24 | Permalink | Reply

    Reblogged this on Ultimate Survivalcraft Community.

  3. Posted November 11, 2014 at 19:46 | Permalink | Reply

    3rd…

  4. Posted November 11, 2014 at 20:10 | Permalink | Reply

    Hay kaalus someone is copping your game to exact on the windows phone store. But I’m shur alot of people are loyal to you

  5. Posted November 11, 2014 at 20:20 | Permalink | Reply

    I think that I have missed something.

  6. Posted November 11, 2014 at 21:49 | Permalink | Reply

    So…how does this apply to us?

  7. Posted November 11, 2014 at 23:38 | Permalink | Reply

    Yay

    • Posted November 11, 2014 at 23:40 | Permalink | Reply

      Wait lol I was just saying something well u should get rid of the copy guys if u can and this new update is prettt much everything ive ask thx man

  8. Posted November 12, 2014 at 00:21 | Permalink | Reply

    Hi Kaalus!

  9. Posted November 12, 2014 at 00:46 | Permalink | Reply

    When will the update be out?

  10. Posted November 12, 2014 at 00:55 | Permalink | Reply

    Can you give us a estimated ges to when you will up date??

  11. Posted November 12, 2014 at 00:55 | Permalink | Reply

    I’ve heard of these copies and that they just come out with the updated version quicker than kaalus

  12. Posted November 12, 2014 at 02:06 | Permalink | Reply

    Maybe Kaalus could sue

  13. Posted November 12, 2014 at 03:30 | Permalink | Reply

    The Sandbox 1.7 Theme.

  14. Posted November 12, 2014 at 03:31 | Permalink | Reply

    +1

  15. mrhow2s
    Posted November 12, 2014 at 06:42 | Permalink | Reply

    I hope thats not a issue or can be worked out easy enough..

    <3 SC.

  16. mrhow2s
    Posted November 12, 2014 at 06:59 | Permalink | Reply

    Off subject sry… :'( Need books or notebook/pad!! Vital for better adventure mode story line, hints, objectives, details etc.

    (3 months in on one adventure map, still not close to completion)

    • Posted November 12, 2014 at 16:11 | Permalink | Reply

      Hi, you could try to use external links like http if that helps.. You could link real pictures or more text that way… Just a thought

      • Mrjmb
        Posted February 22, 2015 at 16:18 | Permalink | Reply

        Love that idea I’ma check that out for sure. Thank you!

    • Posted November 12, 2014 at 16:15 | Permalink | Reply

      I’ve been working on my map well over a year now it’s up to 83.66mb and alive for 1239.6 days now

      • Posted November 12, 2014 at 20:27 | Permalink | Reply

        Whoa!! All I can say is, when you’re done YOU MUST GIVE US THE LINK!!! You have so much more patience than I do with these things…

      • Mrjmb
        Posted February 22, 2015 at 16:21 | Permalink | Reply

        Nice! Idk I think I’ve been working on mine for like6-8 months. I’m at 61mbs. Forgot about webpress there for a while. But I’m back promoting my world again even though it’s not done… Here is my other site for my world check it out.
        http://biggestbaddestscraft.lefora.com

  17. Posted November 12, 2014 at 14:32 | Permalink | Reply

    Thank you for fixing the game in my 1520, will inform you if fix works! I already reported one copy of the game a while back and it got removed.

  18. Posted November 12, 2014 at 20:30 | Permalink | Reply

    No rush, Kaalus, but there’s something I’d really like to see in 1.27:

    Rivers, waterfalls, and crocodiles that inhabit the rivers…and eat the fishies :-)

    That would be awesome!

  19. Posted November 13, 2014 at 01:35 | Permalink | Reply

    My city I have been working on for 6 months is 138.01mb

    • Posted November 13, 2014 at 01:51 | Permalink | Reply

      Well, if we’re all bragging, mine has sewers, castles, awesome electrics, two spaceships ( one that drops a bomb and blows up a ship and the other that you shoot ti gain access)… plus much more. Love this game!

    • Posted November 13, 2014 at 14:42 | Permalink | Reply

      +1

  20. Posted November 13, 2014 at 06:19 | Permalink | Reply

    Bonfire

  21. spm 2015
    Posted November 13, 2014 at 08:34 | Permalink | Reply

    added multiplayer

  22. spm 2015
    Posted November 13, 2014 at 08:36 | Permalink | Reply

    please added multiplayer>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>please added multiplayer>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

  23. Posted November 13, 2014 at 19:21 | Permalink | Reply

    where i can find the tamplate 1.25.15

  24. Posted November 13, 2014 at 22:43 | Permalink | Reply

    Visit my other blog at http://spacetitanstudios.wordpress.com/

  25. Posted November 13, 2014 at 22:54 | Permalink | Reply

    How will temperature work? If you build a house in the snow will the inside of the house be a controlled temperature?

  26. Posted November 14, 2014 at 02:49 | Permalink | Reply

    Spm2015,with all due respect, please shut up. We all know we want multiplayer. Kaalus will do it when SC is ready. At this time, it isn’t. At this point, by requesting multiplayer, your just annoying the TRUE survivalcraft fans. Thank you.

    • Posted November 14, 2014 at 05:16 | Permalink | Reply

      I second that ________________________________

    • Posted November 14, 2014 at 12:59 | Permalink | Reply

      That’s right

    • Posted November 14, 2014 at 20:56 | Permalink | Reply

      Lol, while I find it annoying. What I find even more ridicoulous is you blabbering about annoying the TRUE Survivalcraft fans. Now enlight us on what clarifies one to be a true Survivalcraft fan?

    • Posted November 14, 2014 at 22:14 | Permalink | Reply

      Hey he can ask for whatever he wants Kaalus has said he doesn’t like multiplayer but he didn’t know but now he might so I’m expecting him to not mention multiplayer anymore

  27. Posted November 14, 2014 at 12:07 | Permalink | Reply

    the day whend kaalus release SC for pc with his own web page and then release console edition :o i know he will be a must have, of course it still in beta if i compare with a 100% version but he point is i know he is from quality.

  28. Posted November 14, 2014 at 13:36 | Permalink | Reply

    Hey KAALUS if there is any time left in this update can you some how add a boat the you can make from iron or copper so that it can float on lava?

    • Posted November 14, 2014 at 22:12 | Permalink | Reply

      Lava melts iron and copper

      • Posted November 15, 2014 at 19:39 | Permalink | Reply

        Ok…dumb moment..lol I guess I should stop typing ideas I get when I’ve been up 26 hours lol

        • Posted November 19, 2014 at 21:55 | Permalink

          Haha don’t worry man we all have said ideas that don’t make sense. I’ve been on here since 1.17 so when I look back at old comments I hate myself because how stupid I was

  29. Posted November 14, 2014 at 13:37 | Permalink | Reply

    Oh and a chest that you need a key to open

  30. Posted November 14, 2014 at 13:39 | Permalink | Reply

    Sorry last time… A padlock and key so that you can lock doors in adventure modes

  31. Posted November 14, 2014 at 13:39 | Permalink | Reply

    Thanks for all the hard work

  32. Posted November 14, 2014 at 16:48 | Permalink | Reply

    any eta of release?

  33. Posted November 14, 2014 at 23:36 | Permalink | Reply

    When the tegra bug 2 work around is ON it creates a new bug for my Samsung galaxy s4. Does this happen with everyone

  34. Posted November 16, 2014 at 00:27 | Permalink | Reply

    I can’t get into game, Nokia 920

  35. Posted November 16, 2014 at 06:30 | Permalink | Reply

    The

  36. Posted November 16, 2014 at 19:34 | Permalink | Reply

    Hay i have idea… so far there have mostly just been large animals, like lions, reindeer, and giraffes.. but i think that adding smaller creatures such as rabbits, squirrels, or even lizards would make the game feel more realistic.

    • Posted November 17, 2014 at 14:41 | Permalink | Reply

      I agree, also nature sounds would make the game seem more realistic like crcket sounds at night, frog sounds near water, small bird sounds in trees

    • Posted November 18, 2014 at 21:44 | Permalink | Reply

      I also agree with this idea

  37. Posted November 17, 2014 at 18:53 | Permalink | Reply

    ……no comment…..anyway, change of subject! Do you think 1.26 will come out within the month?

  38. Posted November 18, 2014 at 04:57 | Permalink | Reply

    Won’t the new clothes update make all custom skins look retarted because all custom character skins have clothes on already. So that means for now on people that make skins will half to make them in there underwear

  39. Posted November 18, 2014 at 05:01 | Permalink | Reply

    Ps this is emoderp115 I had to Change my email 📧

  40. Posted November 18, 2014 at 09:37 | Permalink | Reply

    Lol, ima brag about my world file too xD

    http://survivalcraft.lefora.com/topic/19405601

    Derp :p

    Been so busy with life still no closer to epic x6. Sorry ppl. For some reason and I’m guessing file size / excessive server load, when I upload Elswyr EPIC HF to the in game server it gets deleted in a matter of minutes :( hopefully kaalus can give me an exact reason for this. ;)

  41. Posted November 18, 2014 at 21:37 | Permalink | Reply

    I hope he makes it so lions wolves and bears dont spawn by you when you sleep I hate haveing to go outside my house then get killed by 20 lions and wolves

    • Posted November 18, 2014 at 22:40 | Permalink | Reply

      Yea I agree, if we are talking about realism then the spawn rate for lions and wolf’s are just ridiculous, I find myself just playing on harmless just so I don’t have to worry so much about losing all my gear when exploring and sleep in some random tree then get mauled by 20 aggressive animals.
      It’s probably the only disappointing aspect of this game. Sometimes maybe have a few wolf’s spawn when your asleep but not every day.

      But then wait for all the cool kids to disagree.

      • Posted November 19, 2014 at 04:18 | Permalink | Reply

        I agree, also the spawn rate of bears needs to go down or almost any animal it needs to because when I go outside I might see one rabbit or one deer maybe a few snakes

    • Posted November 19, 2014 at 12:14 | Permalink | Reply

      Pretty sure it’s not really possible without getting rid of some parts of the AI like I’ve said before spawn rate isn’t the problem he just made th AI system so that they come from long distances and when you sleep everything speeds up if you haven’t noticed do by morning they are outside your house

      • Posted November 20, 2014 at 10:57 | Permalink | Reply

        Even then there are to many that spawn in the world to start with, Wether they travel to your sleeping location or not. Just Dosnt seem realistic to have so many predators in the world. Besides changing anything to the game involves rewriting scripts. So it makes little difference Wether the ai needs to be modified or not. I know some people like the game harder and I’m not complaining about that just the fact that everyone wants realism and that amount of predatory animals is by far from realistic.

        • Posted November 20, 2014 at 21:26 | Permalink

          I like the spawn rate because with how many animals there are if he makes animals less common it may be almost impossible to find a horse

  42. Posted November 18, 2014 at 22:49 | Permalink | Reply

    What’s the go with lefora?? Spam adds that keep redirecting over and over. Bs. Very annoying and ruins the site completely.

  43. Posted November 19, 2014 at 00:43 | Permalink | Reply

    !sdrawkcab siht depyt I taht sseug reve liiw eno on ahaH

  44. Posted November 19, 2014 at 01:18 | Permalink | Reply

    What’s leforas purpose anyway?

    • Posted November 19, 2014 at 10:34 | Permalink | Reply

      A forum community to talk about and share things survivalcraft related such as world files, texture packs and ideas. Got check it out if you want to learn more.

  45. Posted November 19, 2014 at 08:38 | Permalink | Reply

    Hi im a huge fan of your work and I was just wondering with the new animal behavior can you add sleeping to animal ai. Which would be awesome because
    – easy to get prey
    – can only sneak and cant put block down while in a certain radius of the animal or animal will wake up

    It would be very useful if you also add in backpacks made from leather that have 3d model on back of player

    It would be awesome you also add knees and elbows to animals and players

    • Posted November 19, 2014 at 08:51 | Permalink | Reply

      I also it would be awesome if there were in were wolfs thanks

      These is just my opinions and some feedback. Please don’t think I’m a jerk
      Or annoying

  46. viperserpent
    Posted November 19, 2014 at 14:21 | Permalink | Reply

    Kaalus, can’t you make a New feature Request page? And you can write down things you shouldn’t ask for(stuffs that you won’t add or planning to add) in that page. I think it will be great to stop the requests about things like multiplayer and organize the wanted features.
    Thanks for the great games!

    • Posted November 20, 2014 at 00:47 | Permalink | Reply

      He hates multiplayer that’s why he ignores it. Have you ever played terraria multiplayer online? It last 2 minutes before someone griefs your world I think it would be a waste of time… Local would be fine though or worlds with codes but that’s it he’ll get lots of greifing complaints otherwise.

      • viperserpent
        Posted November 20, 2014 at 06:43 | Permalink | Reply

        He dosen’t hate multiplayer. He can’t add it yet because it’s a difficult job.

        • Posted November 20, 2014 at 21:25 | Permalink

          Trust me in an old post he said he did but I don’t remember which I’ve been on here since v.1.17

  47. Posted November 20, 2014 at 02:16 | Permalink | Reply

    Hey guys, do you think it would be a good idea if we started the game with an item? Like a tool or something otherwise unattainable in the game? Idk just curious

    • Posted November 20, 2014 at 11:01 | Permalink | Reply

      Starting with a wooden axe makes sense, you could easily be carrying one when the ship abandons you and would take away the “let me just punch a tree in half” moment in the beginning of the game.

      • Posted November 20, 2014 at 13:03 | Permalink | Reply

        I think it should stay starting out with nothing. If someone wants something change the world in creative and drop a ax on the ground change it back to challenging and pick it up ________________________________

Leave a Reply. No swearing please.

