Memory Issues

I haven’t been writing for a while, but that does not mean nothing is happening in the world of Survivalcraft.

First of all, I am going to make another interim release in 1.25 series before 1.26 hits the headlines. The are many reasons for that, but the most important one are memory issues. I discovered a fairly nasty memory bug in the game that causes some serious leaks from time to time. I am aware that people have been reporting more frequent game crashes with the latest version, especially on memory constrained devices such as iPods and older iPads. As of today I stopped work on 1.26 features and applied myself to fixing that.

Another thing is a new blocks texture and icon:

Icon

When Survivalcraft was created in 2011, mobile devices were much slower and their screens much smaller than today. As a result, the game was designed for a 4 inch 800×480 screen, which was high end back then. Obviously, it’s no longer the case in 2014. Therefore, I decided to up the resolution of the default blocks texture to 512×512.

You can already find the new blocks texture in Amazon version of the game. Other platforms should receive it soon as well.

 

55 Comments

  1. Posted July 15, 2014 at 12:01 | Permalink | Reply

    First!

  2. Posted July 15, 2014 at 12:03 | Permalink | Reply

    I do really like the new textures, but I noticed it’s not complete.

    • Posted July 15, 2014 at 12:29 | Permalink | Reply

      True, some items such as chests and crafting tables are not yet converted.

      • Posted July 15, 2014 at 14:08 | Permalink | Reply

        @Kaalus What about the performance? With such resolution of textures it will probably noticably decrease on slower devices :(

        • Posted July 15, 2014 at 14:27 | Permalink

          You can always redownload the old one if you have to. Speaking of which, I think it would be a good idea to add the old textures just as an option for people with really old phones.

      • Posted July 15, 2014 at 15:20 | Permalink | Reply

        Funny, I noticed the crafting table and chest are finished but the furnace is not :-)

      • Posted July 20, 2014 at 22:41 | Permalink | Reply

        Please post, Kaaulus, please? Please? I’m dying to know what it is!

  3. Posted July 15, 2014 at 12:31 | Permalink | Reply

    Great to see the game is still alive and kicking always gets a bit worrying when it goes quiet for awhile.
    I don’t know what you have planed for 1.26 but my 2 biggest asks would be.

    Rotatable blocks have been wanting to do this with log blocks for ages would be great on other blocks too.

    The other would be more wood textures blocks (slabs, stairs, and standard blocks) would add a lot more variations to builds and roofs.

    Looking forward to 1.26 to get me building again.
    Thanks for all the work that has went in to this game. It is still one of my most played games on the ipad and should be higher in the charts in the App Store. Will continue to spread the word about it.

  4. Posted July 15, 2014 at 12:35 | Permalink | Reply

    Plows, Reapers, and goats would be cool.

  5. Duster
    Posted July 15, 2014 at 12:38 | Permalink | Reply

    We can wait for 1.26 version for Android, well take a rest fort.

    • Posted July 20, 2014 at 22:43 | Permalink | Reply

      I can’t.

      • Duster
        Posted July 21, 2014 at 11:12 | Permalink | Reply

        You can’t wait. You must wait for 1.26 features Kaalus is working hard so much. So wait for it.

  6. Posted July 15, 2014 at 12:54 | Permalink | Reply

    Right now minecraft has an advantage with the new things, but survivalcraft has less bugs and glitches and better movement. One last update and minecraft is dead.

    • Posted July 18, 2014 at 08:00 | Permalink | Reply

      Minecraft 0.9.0 copied some of survival craft feautures, like the caves, and it’s world size is not limited anymore, it is now infinite.

      • Posted July 19, 2014 at 22:43 | Permalink | Reply

        Well, actually minecraft PC already had that, so you can’t say they stole it. Still, survivalcraft is better. I do like that you like survivalcraft better. By the way, have you read Job in the Bible? If you have, it’s depressing, especially since he has your name.

        • Posted July 26, 2014 at 12:30 | Permalink

          Woops, forgot that Minecraft PC already have caves before than Survival Craft. But they still don’t remove the Far Lands, though. I want multiplayer now, though.

  7. Phoebe Browning
    Posted July 15, 2014 at 13:40 | Permalink | Reply

    Do I have to?! I don’t want to lose my favorite worlds!!!!

    Sent from my iPod

  8. Posted July 15, 2014 at 14:08 | Permalink | Reply

    @Kaalus What about the performance? With such resolution of textures it will probably noticably decrease on slower devices :(

  9. Posted July 15, 2014 at 14:13 | Permalink | Reply

    So Kaalus is here, working. Monthly posts is the pattern. That’s not bad when he’s doing it all. Our part could be to pester him less, let go of the need for handholding, and go enjoy SC _as it is_.

  10. Cody McQueen
    Posted July 15, 2014 at 14:31 | Permalink | Reply

    Kaalus what will be added in 1.26

  11. Posted July 15, 2014 at 14:49 | Permalink | Reply

    Kaalus is alive! Can’t wait to get the new texture

  12. Posted July 15, 2014 at 15:13 | Permalink | Reply

    Wow! I’ve been wanting a texture like that forever! David if you are reading this,please pass the city to the next person,I had some crashy issues with it

  13. Posted July 15, 2014 at 15:19 | Permalink | Reply

    Thats awesome

  14. Posted July 15, 2014 at 15:22 | Permalink | Reply

    Oh a few days ago i got a random sc update for 1.25 was that this resoulotion update

  15. Posted July 15, 2014 at 15:23 | Permalink | Reply

    That’s cool! Glad to know that your still working, and do you think you could make new textures for the animals? Like (example) the horses could have flowing manes/tails when cantering or galloping.and the coyotes could be significantly smaller than the wolves and look skinnier (idk if coyotes are skinny)

  16. Posted July 15, 2014 at 15:31 | Permalink | Reply

    Kaalus can you please make it like before where you can choose the texture packs in the pause menu settings that was really usefull because its annoying to have to quit your world then go to world setting choose it apply changes then quit then start ur world again

  17. Posted July 15, 2014 at 15:35 | Permalink | Reply

    So. Cool. Textures. You know, it’s okay to forget things…… But at one point you should go back and finish those things…… What I’m saying is, when will alpacas be coming?

  18. Posted July 15, 2014 at 15:37 | Permalink | Reply

    Let’s Play House Fortify SC part 4 watch here, http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=hfvf58Et1aE please, I am just trying to increase publicity of SC!

  19. Posted July 15, 2014 at 15:37 | Permalink | Reply

    I understand the long post periods. I hit a brick wall on my medieval game making a third person character. Ouch. Here is the battle horn finished for the game. It is a tripod horn. Kind of the same horn the aliens used in the movie “War of the Worlds”. I am changing the game to first person. Its easier to create a right hand instead of an entire body. Visit my blog and comment
    [audio src="https://www.dropbox.com/s/p3g4nqxg0mben0b/Battlehorn.mp3" /]

  20. Posted July 15, 2014 at 15:50 | Permalink | Reply

    Will this fix the stutters?

    There is a sound stutter issue whenever a sound is loaded to be played for the first time. Ie. Hitting a bird for the first time since loading up the game.

    Then there is the stutter from loading a new area and blocks as soon as you walk in to a new scene. Never had these issues originally, but it started after a couple of updates ago.

  21. Posted July 15, 2014 at 15:56 | Permalink | Reply

    Tommy? I didn’t look at your name, so I was thinking that this person has my own mind!

  22. Posted July 15, 2014 at 15:58 | Permalink | Reply

    And Tommy? You commented past your bedtime! Shame!

  23. Posted July 15, 2014 at 16:54 | Permalink | Reply

    Kaalus I am starting to move on with stuff in life, and SC won’t be going with me, but I can honestly congratulate you more than any other person, I’ve played this since 1.13 (almost three years) and I have really come to appreciate the great changes in the evolution of this game. Craft on, Kaalus!

  24. Posted July 15, 2014 at 18:14 | Permalink | Reply

    Serious problems with new update 1.25.15.0 . The Nexus 7 crashes dramatically when flying or moving since this new update.. Even when everything is set to lowest. I know its not the device! used to comfortably handle 160 blocks on high res in living world. Device is running latest KitKat 4.4.4 and running ART. Appears to be some serious memory issues in the programming!! Hope this gets fixed soon as I can no longer play! :-(

    • Posted July 15, 2014 at 18:24 | Permalink | Reply

      Just to add to the comment above! My world is quite large, I’ve also downloaded other peoples like Fancy city with still lagging problems.. So hopefully its not just my world effected and will correct itself with a updated fix!!

    • Posted July 15, 2014 at 21:00 | Permalink | Reply

      Hm, I have been testing it on Nexus 7 with 4.4 for a while and no problems, although without ART.

      • Posted July 15, 2014 at 21:59 | Permalink | Reply

        Hmmm!! Thank you Kaalus for replying! I’ve switched back to Dalvik.. It appears to be much more stable! Even back at 160 blocks :-) Think I will stick with this method until any bugs get ironed out in the future!!

      • Posted July 28, 2014 at 03:44 | Permalink | Reply

        Please post on July 28, 2014 at 10:00 a.m. central time. Now that I’ve given a formal reply, please follow my advice. We are all dying to know, and if you do post, I’ll tell my friends and they may buy survivalcraft, plus I’ll play it to prepare for whatever it is.

  25. Posted July 15, 2014 at 18:18 | Permalink | Reply

    Nice, can’t wait for the new textures it’ll make the game more detailed

  26. Posted July 17, 2014 at 18:11 | Permalink | Reply

    Hey David if you are reading this I am Tiger is the best this is my real name and nope i am not that ishan tiwari who used to fight with dangercrafter lol

  27. Posted July 18, 2014 at 17:01 | Permalink | Reply

    Reblogged this on smexykitty2's Blog and commented:
    Survivalcraft is amazing in so many ways! But could it be free?

  28. Posted July 20, 2014 at 20:58 | Permalink | Reply

    Are u working on getting multiplayer?

  29. Posted July 21, 2014 at 16:33 | Permalink | Reply

    It will probably be fruits, look at the FAQ, the multiplayer question :P I’d love it to be a multiplayer tho. Please work on multiplayer :(

  30. Posted July 24, 2014 at 21:40 | Permalink | Reply

    Really kaalus im trying to be nice to you and the doors look plan ugly the looked better before but I been looking through community content texture packs and I didn’t find a texture pack for the old 1
    P.s I have really good ideas for new animals and other things to 👍👍👍 but the new texture pack👎👎

  31. Posted August 6, 2014 at 00:43 | Permalink | Reply

    Please add wolf taming

  32. Posted August 9, 2014 at 02:30 | Permalink | Reply

    Kaalus, I love your game. But recent updates have brought me away. The new stamina, swimming, and hunger mechanics have made the game near impossible to get started for me. My request is to maybe add a toggle to turn each of these off for more casual players, or maybe make them take longer to run down. I love adventuring, but having to stop every 5 minutes to catch my breath makes it hard to enjoy. Hopefully you understand my request and take it into consideration.

    Thanks,
    Jake

  33. Posted August 18, 2014 at 21:03 | Permalink | Reply

    The new texture Is so annoying! Please fix the bug. Id love if you did it soon!

  34. Posted September 9, 2014 at 05:32 | Permalink | Reply

    Wait… I didnt see Survivalcraft on Google play, so I decided to delete it and then reinstall it again, but then it said device not capable! I want my money back!

Leave a Reply. No swearing please.

