1.24.1 Bugfix Release

I’ve just published 1.24.1 to Google Play.

It contains the following fixes:

  • Ostriches drop lots of feathers
  • Using arrows as melee weapons only deals minimum damage (the same as using bare hands)
  • Fixed fogging of ivy when viewed from a distance
  • Small performance optimizations
  • Made reindeer sound louder

I’ve been trying, but I can’t reproduce the problem with game crashing and failing to autosave displaying error message “too many open files” :-(

Please keep testing. I want to release for the remaining platforms today.

102 Comments

  1. Posted December 16, 2013 at 11:03 | Permalink | Reply

    Keep’ em coming!

    • Posted December 17, 2013 at 00:07 | Permalink | Reply

      I haven’t noticed any crashes and kaalus should add multiplayer

      • patchyclaw
        Posted December 17, 2013 at 04:10 | Permalink | Reply

        It would be realy lagy if you got to far away from the othe player. Kaalus said that a while ago, besides, your stranded on a “deserted island”, where would multyplayer or even npcs fit in with that?

  2. Posted December 16, 2013 at 11:51 | Permalink | Reply

    Oh well i got the update!
    (2nd!!!!)

  3. Posted December 16, 2013 at 12:03 | Permalink | Reply

    Updates is coming too fast, living in challenging mode is short, because not all new features may work in old worlds. Updates should be more “full”, not little improvements.
    Sorry for my English

  4. Posted December 16, 2013 at 12:11 | Permalink | Reply

    Yay! Keep testing chaps!

  5. Posted December 16, 2013 at 12:12 | Permalink | Reply

    what about the community content error where it states that the string was not recognized as a valid date time….please fix this

    • Posted December 16, 2013 at 14:41 | Permalink | Reply

      Fix the date on your phone

    • Posted December 16, 2013 at 16:30 | Permalink | Reply

      Could you send me a screenshot with the error message?

      • Posted December 16, 2013 at 16:59 | Permalink | Reply

        I got Mega Shiny Apple YouTube videos! =)

      • Posted December 16, 2013 at 21:03 | Permalink | Reply

        never mind kaalus, apparently the update you released 1.24.1 must have fixed it! Castle World V. 6.7.3 is now out

  6. Posted December 16, 2013 at 12:23 | Permalink | Reply

    I don’t know about the damage for the arrows, I think they need to be stronger,

    I can understand that you made the arrows this way so people will still use spears but reality
    is that people will just get annoyed by the lack of damage arrows do.

    Thanks for listening

    • Posted December 16, 2013 at 22:10 | Permalink | Reply

      I think the arrows main attribute is the range.

      • patchyclaw
        Posted December 17, 2013 at 04:12 | Permalink | Reply

        I read on a previous post that arrows didn’t have much better range.

      • Posted December 17, 2013 at 08:04 | Permalink | Reply

        It took 7 full power diamond arrows to kill a rhino, i just think the arrows need to be a little stronger like 5 shots instead,
        Considering i use diamond arrows i hate to see how many iron arrows are needed.

  7. Marlon Neveu
    Posted December 16, 2013 at 12:33 | Permalink | Reply

    Yay!!!

    Sent from my iPod Touch 5th Gen. I’m awesomer then you. PLAY SURVIVALCRAFT!!

    >

  8. Marlon Neveu
    Posted December 16, 2013 at 12:34 | Permalink | Reply

    For the bug you can’t reproduce, is it something like where you have too many worlds? Or is it like your phone where you have too many apps running?

    Sent from my iPod Touch 5th Gen. I’m awesomer then you. PLAY SURVIVALCRAFT!!

    >

  9. Laurel Watts
    Posted December 16, 2013 at 12:51 | Permalink | Reply

    Coooooll. Ivy is good. You can make castles and mansions look better and older for maps.

    A burst of wisdom by Laurel Watts.😊

  10. Posted December 16, 2013 at 13:13 | Permalink | Reply

    Whos up at 7:31 Ian amazed not being sarcastic

  11. Posted December 16, 2013 at 13:48 | Permalink | Reply

    Good job kaalus

  12. Laurel Watts
    Posted December 16, 2013 at 13:59 | Permalink | Reply

    Can you make owls please?? And cats that you can tame to hunt for you, and there can be mice and owls to eat the mice. And the owls die unless you feed them mice every day and the owls only spawn in caves. And foxes could eat mice and spawn in bushes, but they will like ambush sheep from bushes. DO IT NOW.

    A burst of wisdom by Laurel Watts.😊

    • Posted December 16, 2013 at 16:23 | Permalink | Reply

      He should add Dogs before cats.
      Cats don’t hunt for ppl so that will be unrealistic.

  13. Posted December 16, 2013 at 14:11 | Permalink | Reply

    click here to see how to make table and chair in survivalcraft

  14. Posted December 16, 2013 at 14:13 | Permalink | Reply

    click here to see how to make a motorcycle in survivalcraft

  15. Posted December 16, 2013 at 14:13 | Permalink | Reply

    and finally my survivalcraft electrics guide

    • Posted December 17, 2013 at 02:00 | Permalink | Reply

      Please this is a place for bugs not videos

      • Posted December 17, 2013 at 05:57 | Permalink | Reply

        Mikayla nobody didn’t say that only bugs can be posted here. People have their rights to post.

  16. Posted December 16, 2013 at 14:14 | Permalink | Reply

    kaalus when are u releasing this update for ios

    • Posted December 16, 2013 at 14:42 | Permalink | Reply

      After he fixes the bugs,don’t you read what he says?

      • Posted December 16, 2013 at 15:36 | Permalink | Reply

        These kind of people are annoying…

        • Posted December 16, 2013 at 19:28 | Permalink

          Lol yeah

        • patchyclaw
          Posted December 17, 2013 at 04:23 | Permalink

          And the people that keep asking for the same things every time theres a update. Minecarts! Npcs! Multyplayer! (Just saw that one earlyer.) Etc.

  17. Posted December 16, 2013 at 14:26 | Permalink | Reply

    Survivalcraft for psvita?

    • patchyclaw
      Posted December 17, 2013 at 04:26 | Permalink | Reply

      And 3ds.

  18. colepanzer
    Posted December 16, 2013 at 15:17 | Permalink | Reply

    yes! release the remaining platforms today plz!

    • Posted December 17, 2013 at 04:20 | Permalink | Reply

      Looks like not today:( but there’s always tomorrow!

      – Think outside the cube

  19. Posted December 16, 2013 at 16:08 | Permalink | Reply

    Dang, i liked wacking the birds with arrows good news is now my ostritch farm is now even more useful! I love ostritch eggs.

    if you didnt know, you can use dropped bird eggs(any eggs) you can hatch bird types on the survival modes

    • Posted December 16, 2013 at 22:15 | Permalink | Reply

      Yes ostriches are the best animal. You can procure meat, feathers, eggs to eat and eggs to reproduce. It wouldn’t surprise me one day if they don’t produce meat anymore. … Maybe I shouldn’t have posted this:/

  20. Posted December 16, 2013 at 16:18 | Permalink | Reply

    Nice fixed!

  21. Posted December 16, 2013 at 16:21 | Permalink | Reply

    Hyenas!! Yayy! Can’t wait to see them.

  22. Posted December 16, 2013 at 16:27 | Permalink | Reply

    “error saving world” message is not corrected … bad .. very bad … but we hope you and believe in you. You still get a fix in the next update. Thank you for your work.

  23. The Pokemon Miner
    Posted December 16, 2013 at 16:42 | Permalink | Reply

    I am reposting something spottedcloud said:

    Posted December 15, 2013 at 00:40 | Permalink | Reply
    Dear kaalus,

    Be prepared because im about to give a world with a bug that makes my head spin. https://dl.dropbox.com/s/fbnh57atd3l42pm/ultimate%20survi.scworld?dl=1
    After admiring the views and cheeking it out, you may want to cheek your inventory. I just played this game for the first time in 1.23 and noticed a vary odd thing in my inventory. A cooked donkey spawner egg. But, donkeys werent around in 1.22 and i havent found a way to cook a donkey spawn egg (or any other spawner egg). So how did this happen?

  24. Posted December 16, 2013 at 16:58 | Permalink | Reply

    Check out Mega Shiny Apple channel videos. When you leave a comment to me, no swearing!

  25. cursedth
    Posted December 16, 2013 at 18:47 | Permalink | Reply

    Somebody on the forum had a similar issue of Ostrich eggs spawning in Gnu-spawners.
    You can read it here: http://survivalcraft.lefora.com/topic/19404221/v124-Upgrade-Bug-upgrade-stored-Ostrich-eggs-turned

    I bet if you count three eggs to the left, in the itmes window in creative you, and up with the eggs that you had originally had in your inventory. :) That’s because three new animals were added. I wrote a more detailed answer there.
    It’s something Kaalus forgot to have updated in the save files when updating the worlds.
    I think it’s called an ‘Oosp’

    Btw Kaalus, why is there a Werewolf spawner?

    • cursedth
      Posted December 16, 2013 at 18:49 | Permalink | Reply

      edit : uh I meant: …. Ostrichs eggs changed into gnu-spawnes.

      • Posted December 16, 2013 at 20:40 | Permalink | Reply

        No they didn’t. Not on mine. They just moved down a couple of eggs. They didn’t change.

    • cursedth
      Posted December 16, 2013 at 18:51 | Permalink | Reply

      edit: uhurm…So if you count 3 eggs to the left you end up…. yup

    • cursedth
      Posted December 16, 2013 at 18:58 | Permalink | Reply

      Uh that could also be one or two eggs to the left depending of how many new creature spawn eggs were inserted in front of the egg that changed mysteriously into another egg.
      btw

      With the Ostrich egg there are three new spawn eggs inserted in front of it. – -d

      • Posted December 16, 2013 at 21:06 | Permalink | Reply

        God I wish I knew what you guys were talking about it sounds like serious nonsense no won can understand

  26. Posted December 16, 2013 at 19:33 | Permalink | Reply

    Ok I give up how do you load an arrow into the bow?

    • cursedth
      Posted December 16, 2013 at 20:31 | Permalink | Reply

      Hey Aesopredux,

      Put both in your 4 slots below or only the bow then drag an arrow over the bow.

      • Posted December 16, 2013 at 21:37 | Permalink | Reply

        Thanks! Hmm I can hardly see the arrows fly on my Droid 3, 3 inch screen. It’d be nice if they stuck in the ground or wall. I like you can reuse them.

  27. Posted December 16, 2013 at 20:19 | Permalink | Reply

    Kaalus I have a question I want to make a texture pack and I have a kindle fire hd what app should I use?

    • cursedth
      Posted December 16, 2013 at 20:35 | Permalink | Reply

      Hope yo don’t mind me doing a little moderating here, Kaalus.

      Andy Rahn.
      In the forum either in the texture packs section or tips and guides section I think I once saw a topic about how to make texture pack using a hand held. but remember exactly what device. sorry. Might wanna take a look in the forum.

      Link is on top of Kaalus’ Blog.

  28. Posted December 16, 2013 at 20:37 | Permalink | Reply

    When are you bringing out the update for iOS!!!!!!!!!????????

  29. Posted December 16, 2013 at 20:38 | Permalink | Reply

    Please hurry up and bring out the iOS update!!!!!!!!!

  30. blindasascourge
    Posted December 16, 2013 at 20:51 | Permalink | Reply

    Kaalus, I’ve noticed that Lions are spawning naturally in cold biomes. Lions, not tigers. I am not sure if this is supposed to happen, and I’m playing on survival, so I didn’t spawn them myself.

  31. Posted December 16, 2013 at 21:07 | Permalink | Reply

    Hay whoever made the survivalcraft guide app can you make it free I wanna see the tips and tricks I didn’t know about

  32. Posted December 16, 2013 at 21:12 | Permalink | Reply

    Hello! I am a producer of content to youtube and do a lot of their game videos with commentary in Portuguese because I’m Brazilian (I believe is the Brazilian who has more videos of your game and more views) and would like to leave a doubt and also a suggestion.
    would it be possible to make an adjustment to the unit Gamepad R800a Xperia Play? since it is the device that I use in the videos and it would be much more practical and comfortable use it to play,
    Thank you for your attention and here is my channel if you want to take a look at the videos

  33. gnashy
    Posted December 16, 2013 at 21:46 | Permalink | Reply

    Could you make vines climbable but only if its attached to a block

    • Posted December 16, 2013 at 22:19 | Permalink | Reply

      That would be awesome, perhaps he could modify the ivy to do that in 1.25 if he feels the want to. As for 1.24, I don’t think so.

  34. Posted December 16, 2013 at 22:05 | Permalink | Reply

    Still wish arrows did more damage, I will probably stick to machete unless the bows damage is more. I think for all the work you put into the bow, you should at least get more out than a machete. In the real world bows can easily do more damage than a machete.

    • Posted December 16, 2013 at 22:21 | Permalink | Reply

      The arrows are for a ranged attack. Like I’ve posted before, nothing can beat a good old fashioned machete;)

  35. Posted December 16, 2013 at 22:09 | Permalink | Reply

    Hi guys I have a question, some one had posted that ostriches dropped no feathers, but Kaalus had posted they dropped lots of feathers… So does this mean he made them drop feathers now or does this mean he took away them dropping lots of feathers?

  36. Posted December 16, 2013 at 22:34 | Permalink | Reply

    I’ll post this now and repost it on the next blog, ok so we now have string I guess? I’m on ios so I’m not 100% what the bow string is exactly called or look like, and we now have feathers… Ok, with those things being said… Kaalus had recently increased the snowy environment for update 1.23, and in 1.24 he had made a snowy tiger, a reindeer and a new Christmas tree to follow suit… Now in 1.24 he has tweaked the spawning code to produce more fish… Hmmm could Kaalus be possibly setting up for a fishing rod in 1.25? ;) all we need is a rod, we have a string…. We could use a feather for a “fly” lure…after all, the best way to catch a bass is fly fishing;)

    – think outside the cube:)

  37. Posted December 16, 2013 at 22:52 | Permalink | Reply

    Hey could you please make it an option to have a finite world so you could have the possibility of maps

    • Posted December 17, 2013 at 02:33 | Permalink | Reply

      no because then it would be like MCPE and that game sucks, so no. if you want finite worlds then play MCPE

  38. Posted December 16, 2013 at 23:30 | Permalink | Reply

    Kaalus i have idea for next update :)
    can u make that solid coal block react to electricity?
    would be nice if we could place it on “wire through block” or connect wire to it and start/stop fire by using lever or connect some more complex circuits to this:P just imagine the possibilities :)

    coal block should work normal when no “electric block” is connected to it so u can normal start fire using a match

    sorry 4 my english :)

  39. Posted December 17, 2013 at 00:15 | Permalink | Reply

    I am no longer getting a ‘too many open files’ bug but the Error Saving World bug is still there. I took a screenshot right before the game crashed. Here’s the link. https://db.tt/mCSGZrNs

  40. Posted December 17, 2013 at 00:22 | Permalink | Reply

    https://db.tt/E64vN8Ae
    This is a new one I’ve never seen before. It happened on the loading screen. The game is completely unplayable now:-( I know you can fix it though, Kaalus.

  41. Posted December 17, 2013 at 00:46 | Permalink | Reply

    Feathers?

  42. sims3broski
    Posted December 17, 2013 at 00:50 | Permalink | Reply

    Multiplayer, It would be fun. Imagine playing a map with a friend. That would be fun

  43. Posted December 17, 2013 at 01:15 | Permalink | Reply

    Kaalus, I don’t know if you’ve heard this before, but you could make ELEPHANTS in SC. You could also make them mountable. :)

  44. Posted December 17, 2013 at 01:49 | Permalink | Reply

    Kaalus, before I updated, my survival/creative world crashed. It was creepy, it was chopped up all weird. It spawned me right where I started the world in survival, probably 700 blocks away from where I started building. Anyways, by chopped up I mean my mountains were cut in half, like clean cut, then I had squares of land. I don’t know, it was the exact same world that I had (can’t find my house and farm, too far) but it had was all broken into pieces. I have screenshots of it. When I logged in there was no longer a name on my world, now it says “RECOVEREDWORLD”. Even after the update, it’s still messed up. I will try to send screenshots. Please reply Kaalus :0

  45. Posted December 17, 2013 at 02:04 | Permalink | Reply

    Dear kaalus the Lions in my world are spawning every where including the snow biome and they spawn in usually groups of 2 they won’t let me do anything.!

    • Posted December 17, 2013 at 02:17 | Permalink | Reply

      i have had this problem too i cant do anything without dieing

  46. Posted December 17, 2013 at 02:21 | Permalink | Reply

    is there anyway you could add breeding

  47. Posted December 17, 2013 at 02:23 | Permalink | Reply

    you should add elephants and make them rideable also reptiles and amphibians

  48. Posted December 17, 2013 at 02:36 | Permalink | Reply

    kaalus, there is a bug in community content….it won’t tell me how many people downloaded my map and it doesn’t show an rating either

  49. xxxatlantaxxx
    Posted December 17, 2013 at 03:11 | Permalink | Reply

    Awesome! Hey I am building a house that has 4 rooms in it. Any ideas what I should use the rooms for? So far I have the kitchen, and chest room. I also have a bedroom but I want to put more stuff in it. Any ideas?

  50. trinbos
    Posted December 17, 2013 at 03:30 | Permalink | Reply

    Have you decided to put it out today on Amazon or not? I think I’m too excited, I find myself on this site every 3 minutes seeing if you’ve said anything ;)

  51. Posted December 17, 2013 at 03:35 | Permalink | Reply

    I’m going to repost this for some one just because I HAVE TO SHARE INFO OR I WILL EXPLODE check out this map with a cooked donkey spawner, made in 1.22, donkeys were not even out during 1.22 and u can’t cook a spawner!

    https://dl.dropbox.com/s/fbnh57atd3l42pm/ultimate%20survi.scworld?dl=1

  52. Posted December 17, 2013 at 04:04 | Permalink | Reply

    Mayby for your next update you could add baby animals not breeding but them spawning them selfs like let’s say there’s a group of horses in the forest why can’t there be a small horse in the group that spawned its self

  53. Posted December 17, 2013 at 04:08 | Permalink | Reply

    Maybe for you your next update there could be baby animal spawning them selfs you won’t be able to breed them just find them Okay let’s say there’s a group of lions why can’t the group of lions have like 2 little cubs (without hair) in the group.i hope you read this and think about it

  54. Posted December 17, 2013 at 05:30 | Permalink | Reply

    Elswyr EPIC V Hellsfire out now!!

    In-game link:
    https://dl.dropbox.com/s/2xgq4dflcuoraho/Elswyr%20EPIC%20HF.scworld?dl=1

    Dropbox link :
    https://db.tt/8fMPVA2S

    Enjoy playing, tell your friends.
    The outdated Elswyr is still being uploaded by someone else and it’s #8 in rank so don’t accidentally download the old one.

  55. Posted December 17, 2013 at 06:09 | Permalink | Reply

    Please add elephants,dogs, pigs alligators,eels,snakes,seahorses,dolphins,turtles, that would be kool and underwater caves with diamonds and stuff in them

  56. Posted December 17, 2013 at 07:15 | Permalink | Reply

    The screen acts like a stroblight and I can’t move ; but all have to do is close and reopen the app, and its all good , this happens about evertime I play the game .

  57. Posted December 17, 2013 at 11:05 | Permalink | Reply

    Posted Error description in another area of the blog. https://kaalus.wordpress.com/2013/12/17/1-24-for-ios-in-review/#comment-49704
    Anybody else having a similar experience?

  58. Posted December 18, 2013 at 19:10 | Permalink | Reply

    I predict the Target is going to have a major impact on the game – remote activated electrics! Here’s how to trap any number of animals, safely: http://aesopredux.wordpress.com/2013/12/18/remote-trapping-in-1-24/

  59. Posted December 21, 2013 at 21:07 | Permalink | Reply

    ★BUG REPORT★
    Animals don’t hurt by spiked plank when one animal is on another animal.

Leave a Reply. No swearing please.

