1.23.4 Out For Android

I have just published 1.23.4, which contains iOS crash bugfix and some other improvements to Google Play. It should become available for update in a couple of hours, as always.

As I said before, the crash bug doesn’t only affect iOS. It’s present on all platforms, but iOS is somehow more vulnerable to it. The bug is now fixed, this should also hopefully fix related problems, such as this:

527ac73aca6ae0.43715342_r

 

In addition to the bugfix, there’s a bunch of other changes:

  • Fixed hitting animals in 3rd person mode
  • Reduce GPU stalling by not reusing vertex/index buffers immediately
  • Reduce memory usage by recycling geometry data more aggressively (maybe you’ll be able to run with higher vis range on some devices?)
  • Warning if too many worlds on device instead of disabled “New World” button
  • Reduced probability of horses going stubborn — remember there’s one horse color that never does it!
  • Potential fix for game not starting on certain devices (e.g. Galaxy Tab 3 P5210)
  • Some other small improvements

Please update and try it. If it works fine on Androids, I’ll update the remaining platforms.

Hope this build sticks, 1.23.4 is too good a version number to have to throw it away :-)

 

64 Comments

  1. Posted November 9, 2013 at 19:32 | Permalink | Reply

    Good job

  2. Posted November 9, 2013 at 19:43 | Permalink | Reply

    I will try it out! Never tought that this was a bug. I tought my device was too old!

    • Posted November 9, 2013 at 19:46 | Permalink | Reply

      btw kaalus please add an edit-option for comments. My english is bad and I want to edit my mistakes!

      • Posted November 9, 2013 at 20:26 | Permalink | Reply

        Actually kaalus can’t do that, cause wordpress is hosting this site and not kaalus.

  3. Posted November 9, 2013 at 19:49 | Permalink | Reply

    good news!

  4. Posted November 9, 2013 at 19:58 | Permalink | Reply

    Third!
    THis is very good news!

    • Posted November 9, 2013 at 20:33 | Permalink | Reply

      I have an ipad 2 and i had that bug too, i placed a block on the ground and it went back to normal.

    • Posted November 9, 2013 at 22:14 | Permalink | Reply

      Actually i can use 160 Blocks Render Distance without problem too, the sight is mindblowing.
      But the game crashes if i blow up gunpowder kegs.
      Device: Ipad 2 16 GB

  5. Posted November 9, 2013 at 20:02 | Permalink | Reply

    Thanks Kaalus will test this on my Galaxy Tab 3 hoping potential fix works :)

  6. Posted November 9, 2013 at 20:17 | Permalink | Reply

    The palomino is the horse that is never stubborn. Thank you for fixing those bugs.

  7. Posted November 9, 2013 at 20:17 | Permalink | Reply

    Cool. That bug pictured was rather annoying. Yet helpful because I could see where the caves were and if they had lots of good things to mine:-)

  8. Posted November 9, 2013 at 20:18 | Permalink | Reply

    Lol I just now realized the number:-)

  9. Posted November 9, 2013 at 20:19 | Permalink | Reply

    Is that daverave’s world?

  10. Posted November 9, 2013 at 20:23 | Permalink | Reply

    Lol sure it’s a good version
    Will try it tonight on my nexus 7 2013

  11. Posted November 9, 2013 at 20:25 | Permalink | Reply

    I accidentally hit my white horse and it ran away. Whilst chasing, it all of a sudden stopped and started running in circles. Waited a few days and it was still doing it. Are you aware of such a bug?

    • Posted November 10, 2013 at 02:27 | Permalink | Reply

      The horse was running in circles? Lol.. Try feeding him, his patching finding was jus a lil whacked at the time

  12. Posted November 9, 2013 at 20:49 | Permalink | Reply

    Hi Kaalus great job on the bug fixes .ps did you get my email

  13. Posted November 9, 2013 at 21:20 | Permalink | Reply

    This game is great in many ways but the boat should be a little faster and sturdier,if this game was really realistic in some ways piranhass shouldnt rlly be able to wreck it,atleast make it way sturdier than what it is because its not rlly worthit using one and no fun in it if it is just like that,I hope you fix that Kaalus,ty

    • Posted November 9, 2013 at 22:41 | Permalink | Reply

      I do wonder about how fast the boats should be myself but really they are only really intended for fishing or crossing fair sized lakes, not vast oceans even though you could, I guess what I’m saying is that the boats would be better if they were faster but they are really operational for what their purpose beholds!

      • Posted November 10, 2013 at 02:26 | Permalink | Reply

        I thi nk the boats are fine, they are faster than swimming and take damage like armor would

        • Posted November 10, 2013 at 10:48 | Permalink

          i agree completely because I do not think you need to cross an ocean, just a lake of some sort!

  14. Posted November 9, 2013 at 21:30 | Permalink | Reply

    1234, I just got chased br a wild boar!

  15. Posted November 9, 2013 at 21:30 | Permalink | Reply

    I’m glad that the picture was helpful that I took. I still have the pictures on my device. Lol. I hope this update will truly fix this problem.It’s a kinda cool bug too.

    Derp! :P

  16. Posted November 9, 2013 at 21:32 | Permalink | Reply

    YES! freeze/lag and crash is gone when I blast the biggest powder keg, even when there is more than 10 … is fast as on the iPhone 5 now! .. finally :) before this update, blowing up one biggest keg took 2 -3 seconds on my n4 ^^. more kegs -freeze or crash ^^
    now I blew up half of my world and nothing happened.
    thank you :)

  17. Marlon Neveu
    Posted November 9, 2013 at 22:18 | Permalink | Reply

    Oh. Btw in survival on harmless mode my hearts won’t regenerate unless I sleep. I’m on iOS 7.3. And I found 2 graves on survival. First grave contents- a whistle and… A… Diamond Edge Pickax. Woohoo! Second grave- only the stuff that made it. :(. I got a jack-lantern, and some basalt stairs. Boring.

    Sent from my iPod Touch 5th Gen.

    >

  18. Posted November 9, 2013 at 22:25 | Permalink | Reply

    Dear Kaalus!

    If that can be helpful, I still have the bug on a map created on previous version. (bug from picture on fews blocks)
    I don’t know if your patch will work only on maps created from now, or if it should fix also previous maps.
    I’m using a asus transformer 300 under android. (let me know if you need more info)

    As it’s my first post, I take opportunity to thank you so much for your game and work. It’s amaizing!!!
    I’m playing a lot, having a lot of fun, and really appreciate your reactivity, and all updates you have done.
    About your game, simply the best!!!!

  19. Posted November 9, 2013 at 22:54 | Permalink | Reply

    Apart from minor glitches due to extreme rendering it runs smooth and stable on my droid RAZR m

  20. The Pokemon Miner
    Posted November 9, 2013 at 23:03 | Permalink | Reply

    Since your working on a new update plz add multiplayer if not too much trouble,I don’t want to bother you,it’s just,almost vital.
    And people allowed to program mods like citycraft,and upload them on community content

    • Posted November 10, 2013 at 01:55 | Permalink | Reply

      I agree multiplayer is a great feature but would take a whole update in its self and may just lag the game down unbelievably, the multiplayer may be extremely laggy so maybe in the future but it is highly doubted that multiplayer will be instrumented in survivalcraft very soon.

  21. The Pokemon Miner
    Posted November 9, 2013 at 23:20 | Permalink | Reply

    Hey Kaalus should we report worlds with inappropriate seeds?

  22. Posted November 9, 2013 at 23:28 | Permalink | Reply

    Can someone please tell me how to get horses and donkeys moving, they keep shacking their head and its really annoying.
    Plus, if your able to make hostile mobs despawn after you die from them because i had my ass kicked in from 5 wear wolfs who were inside
    my house and kept killing me.
    Thanks if you can help

    • Posted November 10, 2013 at 01:53 | Permalink | Reply

      to get the donkeys and horses to stop shaking their heads throw some flowers in front of them, they will eat the flower and be less reluctant to follow your commands although i suggest using a horse! hope this helped, btw idk of a way to despawn the wolves sorry.

    • Posted November 10, 2013 at 02:22 | Permalink | Reply

      Try feeding them:) also try to keep weapons near by in your home so when you re spawn you can try to access them quickly to fight them off.

  23. The Pokemon Miner
    Posted November 10, 2013 at 00:02 | Permalink | Reply

    Remember no cursing

  24. Posted November 10, 2013 at 00:46 | Permalink | Reply

    This post is for Tom345. The way I would like the texture pack to look is to have it make the structures in the game to look like ships, in this case the ship is the titanic. For example: a copper block would look like a reflective bronze colored block. For a ship’s bell.

    • Posted November 10, 2013 at 02:51 | Permalink | Reply

      You’ll never believed what happened! I was on my house roof and I fell off ONTOP OF A RHINO. He threw me far in the air almost in the trees. I had barely a heart left and I killed it before it hit me. I used five hits with an iron machete. Then a bear came after me I got on the roof and it tried to get on but I used a machete from a grave to hit it off. I used snowballs from the tudra biome I used to live in to hit him when my machete broke. So to explain I fell off my house on a rhino,had half a heart, killed the rhino,
      fought off a bear with snowballs and half a heart in one minute. That was alot. :)

  25. Posted November 10, 2013 at 01:41 | Permalink | Reply

    Sweet

  26. Posted November 10, 2013 at 02:24 | Permalink | Reply

    Will the ios update appear in the App Store or will it automatically update?

  27. Posted November 10, 2013 at 04:57 | Permalink | Reply

    Hey kaalus two good ideas. Phiodiode releases a larger signal the brighter it gets, you know analog signals. Also a mirror block would be cool or some kind of reflecting block

  28. Posted November 10, 2013 at 07:19 | Permalink | Reply

    What about wp i have same issues with my lumia 520

  29. Posted November 10, 2013 at 08:10 | Permalink | Reply

    I thought Kaalus gonna add corner stairs to work inwards when I saw ‘do some more quick fixes’ on the last post that Kaalus wrote.

  30. Posted November 10, 2013 at 08:33 | Permalink | Reply

    Kaalus can you please see the second last statement on this wiki. It has something offensive and please remove it. http://survivalcraftgame.wikia.com/wiki/Donkey

  31. Posted November 10, 2013 at 10:09 | Permalink | Reply

    one crash so far on my n4… couple second after i opened my world(1.8mb flatland with mostly electrics element.)

    i think my next phone will be iphone 6 if apple will do 4.7 inch screen or larger.
    Im tired of this android piece of crap, only problems with it.

  32. Posted November 10, 2013 at 10:15 | Permalink | Reply

    Also my things from community content still disappear, everything i share througt community content is there maybe 1 – 3 days and then it gone!
    This happens all the time after you have updated the server – before 1.23 comes out…

    anyone have this problem too or im alone with this?

    can you look a this kaalus?

    • Posted November 11, 2013 at 17:05 | Permalink | Reply

      That happens to me too ,but the content I upload only stays for about a day then disappears. I have a iPhone 4S. Your not the only one with that problem.

  33. Posted November 10, 2013 at 14:40 | Permalink | Reply

    That happens on Amazon

  34. Posted November 10, 2013 at 22:03 | Permalink | Reply

    I have a bug that needs fixing. I can only play survivalcraft after it updated for about 5-6 minutes before it shuts down my entire kindle. Like, it will suddenly change from survivalcraft to the screen you get when you turn on your kindle after shutting it down. I have kindle fire and full version of survivalcraft. I also have the new version.(not 1.23.4) please fix

  35. Posted November 11, 2013 at 09:37 | Permalink | Reply

    It wouldn’t be bad to make game in Russian. Because I that understand English a little, and here my sister isn’t present. And me too it will be easier.
    With big respect from Russia

  36. Posted November 11, 2013 at 16:05 | Permalink | Reply

    Thank you for fixing the bug which prevented you from using a weapon in third person mode. It makes a huge difference, you da man Kaalus.

  37. Posted November 15, 2013 at 03:39 | Permalink | Reply

    Add fishing poles please.

Leave a Reply. No swearing please.

