Nexus 5

I just got my hands on the greatest and latest from Google, the long-awaited Nexus 5.

I want it to serve as my main phone, replacing Nexus 4 which was truly a great device. And until a few weeks ago you could pick it up for peanuts at Google Play, as they were selling off the stock.

Here’s the new little guy:

Nexus 5

Survivalcraft 1.23.2 on Nexus 5 – taken by Nexus 4 camera :-)

I must say I am a little underwhelmed with Nexus 5. The looks are definitely inferior to the beauty that was Nexus 4. It doesn’t hold in hand so well and it looks longer and narrower, much like iPhone 5 vs iPhone 4s. I don’t like it, but I may accept it if the rest lives up to its promise.

The screen is definitely a step up though. 5 inch vs 4.7 inch, 1080p vs 720p. At over 400dpi you’d need a microscope to spot the individual pixels. Are we coming to the end of anti-aliasing in 3D graphics? Looks good to me!

The reason I want to replace Nexus 4 is battery life – it isn’t good enough. Nexus 5 has a slightly bigger battery, and better, more optimized hardware under the hood. Google promises longer standby and active time. We’ll see.

So far the only real niggle with Nexus 5 is that the camera application suddenly started crashing on me. Restart seems to have fixed it, but sour taste remains.

Android 4.4 KitKat looks slightly different from 4.3, but the differences are rather cosmetic, at least after a few minutes of playing with it. I am sure there’s some new stuff in it, but I haven’t found it yet :-)

As you can see above, the game runs perfectly fine on it. This is what I wanted to confirm. The looping audio bug is gone – good job Google. Rain and fire sounds work as they should, unlike on 4.3 devices. The framerate is buttery smooth even on largest view distance, apart from some 40-50ms hiccups from time to time, but that’s just animals spawning and terrain update thread stalling the rendering thread. One day I might fix it.

On the Apple front, still no news. Tomorrow will be a week since submission. If past reviews are anything to judge by, the verdict shouldn’t be far off.

If you’re Russian and want something to keep you entertained, there’s a nice website about Survivalcraft in Russian. Check it out: http://survivalcraft.ru

If you don’t speak Russian, check out latest daverave40 video instead: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ksy6zgvJyVY

78 Comments

  1. Posted November 4, 2013 at 16:16 | Permalink | Reply

    first

  2. Posted November 4, 2013 at 16:16 | Permalink | Reply

    First

  3. Posted November 4, 2013 at 16:17 | Permalink | Reply

    Could someone please make a titanic texture pack

  4. Posted November 4, 2013 at 16:17 | Permalink | Reply

    Cool

  5. Posted November 4, 2013 at 16:18 | Permalink | Reply

    I found a bug. I keep finding dead animals stacked on top of each other. They are in groups of two or four.

    • Posted November 4, 2013 at 17:20 | Permalink | Reply

      I noticed that too. I meant to post something. For me it’s usually as I’m flying around, the dead animals come into focus.

      • Posted November 4, 2013 at 18:29 | Permalink | Reply

        I see them when I am flying too

        • Posted November 4, 2013 at 21:29 | Permalink

          Bears used to spawn in walls and drop food

    • taybloom567
      Posted November 4, 2013 at 22:14 | Permalink | Reply

      That bug happened to me in 1.22 when i am flying around. It was usually one horse from a group of them as they started to appear

  6. cursedth
    Posted November 4, 2013 at 16:19 | Permalink | Reply

    Congratulations with your new Nexus. Hope you enjoy it.

    But what I actually came here to post was that I had restored the ‘Tutorial for making your own Texturepack’ topic.
    The move from lefore to Yuku had reversed the pictures to attachments only.

    So for who ever is interested in making his or her own Texturepack. Give it a read. :)

    http://survivalcraft.lefora.com/topic/18115438/Texturepack-Tutorial-from-an-amateur

  7. Posted November 4, 2013 at 16:20 | Permalink | Reply

    I found a second bug. I keep finding bouts in trees. Also corner stairs do not work

    • cursedth
      Posted November 4, 2013 at 19:50 | Permalink | Reply

      What are bouts, Nate?

    • Posted November 6, 2013 at 00:55 | Permalink | Reply

      Hi Nate, I’m still running 1.22 (ios) and I’m curious about the corner block not working, could you please give me more detail on how it’s not working? I ve read this from numerous people so far.

      • Posted November 6, 2013 at 14:30 | Permalink | Reply

        When I am trying to build a a pyramid or something like that the stairs on the corners do not turn into corner stairs.

  8. Posted November 4, 2013 at 17:03 | Permalink | Reply

    kaalus What do you think will be better for survivalcraf?
    LG g2 or nexus5? or maybe is worth to wait for phones with intel bay trail inside?
    I ask because I have to change my nexus4 for something faster :)

  9. Posted November 4, 2013 at 17:32 | Permalink | Reply

    survivalcraft.ru not the best russian website for SurvivalCraft. More information can be found on 4pda.ru .
    I also would like to ask you. Kaalus, arranged with the 4pda.ru that there never post a pirated version SurvivalCraft

  10. Posted November 4, 2013 at 17:36 | Permalink | Reply

    And vk.com/survivalcraftpublic (SCP) everyday loads interesting facts, guides, and more in russian…

  11. Posted November 4, 2013 at 17:59 | Permalink | Reply

    Thanks for advertising the nexus 5 but kaalus the next update you should work on animal interactions maybe lions eating cows and can you add seasons like winter and regions some places get more rain some don’t, also make the desert and other places affect the player like rain makes puddles and slows down the player, snow makes the player get cold if there in the snow to long. Thank you and keep up the hard work

  12. Posted November 4, 2013 at 18:21 | Permalink | Reply

    The bass are a bit too much like a catfish, real bass are not tube like

  13. Posted November 4, 2013 at 18:21 | Permalink | Reply

    Good phone but lumia 1520 is better

  14. Posted November 4, 2013 at 18:25 | Permalink | Reply

    Could someone please make a titanic texture pack. Because I am building a giant titanic ship and would a texture pack for it.

  15. Posted November 4, 2013 at 21:13 | Permalink | Reply

    kaalus i was wondering how much the nexus 5 cost because it looks really nice and i think it would be optimal for someone like myself, apple just doesn’t impress me and almost seems like a scam.

  16. Posted November 4, 2013 at 22:18 | Permalink | Reply

    Cheers kaalus :)

  17. Marlon Neveu
    Posted November 4, 2013 at 23:03 | Permalink | Reply

    Come on freaking apple.

    Sent from my iPod Touch 5th Gen.

    >

    • Posted November 5, 2013 at 00:44 | Permalink | Reply

      You mean crapple? Lol apple may not be the best with updates but I like the PCs that they make

  18. Posted November 5, 2013 at 00:34 | Permalink | Reply

    Kaalus, what mobile phone would Survivalcraft work best on? I’ve been considering a new one, and want it to be able to have the longer range viewing distance and not much lag.

  19. Posted November 5, 2013 at 00:40 | Permalink | Reply

    Um, a few pictures of bugs…




  20. The Pokemon Miner
    Posted November 5, 2013 at 00:57 | Permalink | Reply

    Kaalus there is a bug that no one has reported and its been around forever
    If a sign is hooked up to an electric,your world freezes for a second and then it says what’s on the sign
    I think it’s only on download worlds

  21. Posted November 5, 2013 at 06:05 | Permalink | Reply

    i just publish fanver fancy 1.23.by wow

  22. The Pokemon Miner
    Posted November 5, 2013 at 11:47 | Permalink | Reply

    Kaalus there is a bug that no one has reported and its been around forever
    If a sign is hooked up to an electric,your world freezes for a second and then it says what’s on the sign
    I think it’s only on download worlds

  23. The Pokemon Miner
    Posted November 5, 2013 at 11:48 | Permalink | Reply

    And it does it multiple times
    But then your world acts normal

  24. Posted November 5, 2013 at 14:20 | Permalink | Reply

    Kaalus, i found offensive/bad texture pack.

    Its name is Awesome.

    Some blocks has bad words: F-Word* and poo* and butt*. *I can’t say those words, ’cause of kids who reads this.

    I sent a report.

    Everyone, if you see it, report it. And if you know who made it, reply it.

  25. Posted November 5, 2013 at 18:04 | Permalink | Reply

    any news on apple kaaluus

  26. Posted November 5, 2013 at 20:02 | Permalink | Reply

    if anyone have a request for a texture to be updated let me know . am the one who does the wow textures .

  27. The Pokemon Miner
    Posted November 5, 2013 at 20:03 | Permalink | Reply

    Kaalus there is a bug that no one has reported and its been around forever
    If a sign is hooked up to an electric,your world freezes for a second and then it says what’s on the sign
    I think it’s only on download worlds
    It’s really weird

  28. Posted November 5, 2013 at 20:04 | Permalink | Reply

    did apple reject the update?? why? they allowed it in the store now they don’t approve it…well even if they ever do remove it from store if it’s still on the device we still get to keep it.

  29. Posted November 5, 2013 at 20:09 | Permalink | Reply

    what are u talking about apple have not rejected it have they?

  30. Posted November 5, 2013 at 20:45 | Permalink | Reply

    Hey kaalus! Great job on the graves, could you post pics of each one? I know some are different but I can’t find all of them. Also, what are you planning for the new update

  31. Posted November 5, 2013 at 21:03 | Permalink | Reply

    Found my first graveyard! But there wasn’t any treasure in any of the graves :(

  32. Posted November 5, 2013 at 21:43 | Permalink | Reply

    Kaalus,it might be a little too soon to talk about 1.24,but,i want two things.
    (1) Were you can go through leaves. The reason is leaves arent really solid,the most they can do is slap you in the face :-P
    (2) Animated leaves/grass. I like seeing it sway back and forth,it makes everything more peaceful…..
    Thanks for listening to my ideas! Keep up the great work!

    • Posted November 5, 2013 at 22:25 | Permalink | Reply

      Hi, I must admit I do not like the idea of passing through the leaf block, I personally find them useful, making cheap scaffolding or structures.

      I like the idea of animated grass or leaves though, but this could exacerbate slow down.

      • Posted November 6, 2013 at 00:48 | Permalink | Reply

        I don’t think you should go through leaves because in survival I use leaves to pillar up and escapes wolves and other animals when I have no weapons

        • Posted November 6, 2013 at 01:01 | Permalink

          I concur, I use leaves often, cheap structures and scaffolding, I had used them for a “Elven Sky walk” a pathway that is off the ground and travels from one side of a map to the other to name a few…

    • Posted November 5, 2013 at 22:26 | Permalink | Reply

      …And it’s never too soon to talk about 1.24. I’m looking very foward to it.

      • Posted November 6, 2013 at 00:11 | Permalink | Reply

        But,in real life,leaves arent solid like bricks. You can easily move them aside. Bricks,are heavy. Leaves,light. Bricks,unbendable,leaves,VERY bendable. It gets kind of annoying,when your riding a horse (la-de-da-de-da) you come to a tree, your like “Oh look,nice pretty leaves i can pasd through!” Then,WHAM! Your dead,the leaf has murdered you,yet again. Unless you live where leaves are solid bricks,i think you should be able to pass through leaves.

        • Posted November 6, 2013 at 00:29 | Permalink

          I hear ya, but the leaves block represents many leaves… Hence it is possible irl to pile up some leaves and stand high on them..making them more dense if you will…. So I dunno .. It’s prob. Already to late in the game to change something that drastic… Nonetheless I see where your coming from

        • Posted November 6, 2013 at 00:35 | Permalink

          Actually,you’d just sink down most of the way.

        • Posted November 6, 2013 at 00:42 | Permalink

          I believe you have to treat riding horses and leaves like this… Irl… Riding a horse, you would avoid leaves let alone a tree of couse… Irl, you wouldn’t pass through leaves from a tree, let’s say over your face… This is very dangerous… There has been countless incidents where riders would pass through leaves only to find out that there was a branch or limb there and then striking it, causing serious bodily harm or death…so leaves represent this aspect I believe… the moral to the story Is I guess… is to avoid trees and speed kills..

  33. Posted November 5, 2013 at 22:47 | Permalink | Reply

    Kaalus,can you tell me if you plan on adding a purpose to zebras,it would be awesome if they were like donkeys

  34. Posted November 5, 2013 at 23:19 | Permalink | Reply

    hey Kaalus check out this :)

    http://survivalcraft.lefora.com/topic/19403912#.Unl8qD4uEzc

    • Posted November 6, 2013 at 01:56 | Permalink | Reply

      Amazing! I knew it is possible, this is the reason I added memory banks :-) Never done anything like that myself.

  35. Posted November 6, 2013 at 00:22 | Permalink | Reply

    I think we should spawn people or villagers it would be awesome

    • Posted November 6, 2013 at 00:34 | Permalink | Reply

      Im not sure about people or villagers…. But I believe more generated structures will be coming.. I believe the randomly generated grass traps and graveyards are the “beta” or first steps to larger structures… Not to say Kaalus can’t design a structure but he has to build ones that he deems suitable for the game… Then those could be implemented for random structures.

      • Posted November 6, 2013 at 00:36 | Permalink | Reply

        It would be awesome if there were,like,remains of a castle generted.

  36. Posted November 6, 2013 at 00:49 | Permalink | Reply

    Abandon and regular castles

  37. Posted November 6, 2013 at 01:55 | Permalink | Reply

    können Sie fügen Sie bitte Multiplayer in 1.24

  38. Posted November 6, 2013 at 02:37 | Permalink | Reply

    And you still can’t put upside-down stairs to where it will connect to another upside-down stair. Plus the dirt trees are that the terrain tried to generate there when there’s a tree there anyways. Or it’s a code within the code. Can someone make a map of electricity fd but explaines the memory bank? Please. Even though I’m 14,I still need some help with somethings.

  39. Posted November 6, 2013 at 15:23 | Permalink | Reply

    Can you fix that by Apple falling all time the game away foam the screen

  40. Posted November 6, 2013 at 20:15 | Permalink | Reply

    what is the world seed for this map interested because i cant find a meadow like that at all ?

  41. Posted November 13, 2013 at 19:13 | Permalink | Reply

    As of the latest version, machetes can break anything that needs the hack method. (leaves, wood, ect.) This ruins adventure maps.

    • Posted November 14, 2013 at 08:31 | Permalink | Reply

      If I am not mistaken, I think it’s always been like that, but you are right – this is a bug. Will change.

Leave a Reply. No swearing please.

