More bugz

Next batch of bugs you spotted:

  • Corner stairs leave gaps in the world when placed next to a block
  • Thermometer, hygrometer cannot be broken once placed
  • Controls stopping working from time to time
  • Truth table inputs are in wrong order

Good job and please keep testing!

The way the inventory works in 1.23 is not a bug. Although, because it is causing a lot of confusion I may try to do some changes for 1.23.1.

I also see you like the far visibility range. I like it too. It was a lot of work, because terrain update engine is now threaded and uses multiple cores. Without that it would be too slow to update so much visible terrain.

Has anyone built anything grand out of the new electrics yet? For example hex to dec converter so that the 7-segment displays count in decimal?

89 Comments

  1. Posted October 25, 2013 at 20:33 | Permalink | Reply

    Good job Kaalus!

  2. Marlon Neveu
    Posted October 25, 2013 at 20:33 | Permalink | Reply

    I came up with the third bug. An do don’t even have 1.23. It was there in 1.22.

    Sent from my iPod Touch 5th Gen.

    >

  3. Posted October 25, 2013 at 20:36 | Permalink | Reply

    The new electrics are so confusing. Could you please explain the sound generator again in another video? I find that both the sound generator and memory bank are highly confusing.

    • Posted October 25, 2013 at 22:01 | Permalink | Reply

      Hey jriot! I loved your bids! Why did you stop?

      • Posted October 26, 2013 at 14:02 | Permalink | Reply

        I mean vids

        • Posted October 26, 2013 at 19:25 | Permalink

          I dont really have enough time to do the videos anymore :(

        • Posted October 26, 2013 at 22:34 | Permalink

          Awww they were awesome

  4. Posted October 25, 2013 at 20:37 | Permalink | Reply

    3rd, also kaalus i don’t know how i could make any thing grand from electrics, i plain don’t understand it, in fact it took me three test worlds and alot of replays on the happy birthday video just to get the sound generator to make noise, also i can’t make anything grand even if i knew how to because i’m using the demo………….lol

  5. Posted October 25, 2013 at 20:47 | Permalink | Reply

    Here’s a bug that’s been around for awhile:

    When you place a photodiode or led light on the wall then place any logic gate on it the gate is in front of it and appears to be floating.

  6. Posted October 25, 2013 at 20:50 | Permalink | Reply

    Can’t wait for the new update!

  7. Posted October 25, 2013 at 20:54 | Permalink | Reply

    The second one happened to me In 1.22

  8. Posted October 25, 2013 at 20:55 | Permalink | Reply

    If toy happens to you just place another block in its place and it will brake

  9. Posted October 25, 2013 at 21:24 | Permalink | Reply

    One situation that I have experienced in both 1.22 and 1.23 is that you can’t destroy a boat without having to burn it, and even then, in the water it puts the flame out. Is this on purpose, or is it a bug?

    • taybloom567
      Posted October 25, 2013 at 22:03 | Permalink | Reply

      You cant hold down on the boat to destroy, it you have to hit it repeatedly until it is destroyed.

  10. Posted October 25, 2013 at 21:33 | Permalink | Reply

    I have a issue since 1.21 Sneaking is usually for not falling dawn. But when I sneak by a trapdoor the sneakmode disabled itself and I fall dawn the trapdoor.
    1.23 is runs great on my 1gig ram galaxy note1. As you predicted I can play a few minutes with x2.5 view distance but then the game crashes.
    No problems with x2 distance view.
    Thank you alot!

  11. Posted October 25, 2013 at 22:00 | Permalink | Reply

    I think it’s a bug because why wouldn’t it let you

  12. Posted October 25, 2013 at 22:21 | Permalink | Reply

    Hey Kaalus,I would like you to make a mascot for survival craft like herobrine but different,it will be super rare and it will hold a diamond machete and it will only attack if you attack it.I don’t know, just an idea.

    • Posted October 26, 2013 at 10:00 | Permalink | Reply

      Did you there is NO herobrine in normal minecrap? But notch said he will maybe add it. I HATE MINECRAP AND MINECRAPFORUMS!

      • dragon master an awesome dragonologist
        Posted October 26, 2013 at 14:46 | Permalink | Reply

        Minecraft is not bad and notch doesn’t own minecraft anymore Jeb owns it dingis.

  13. Posted October 25, 2013 at 22:27 | Permalink | Reply

    Hey Kaalus, i dont know what really is hex to dec converter ( :P ) but I’ve done something like this:
    http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/542/29rv.jpg/
    http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/36/x8tr.jpg/

    on the right is the clock which sends a signal to 4-bit counter(+). Signal from counter goes to analog/digital converter then to truth table.
    Thrut table, when recive 1001 (9) from A/D converter, sends a signal to the NOT gate on the front, to cut off the clock from the counter.
    The same signal from the truth table, along with the clock,(AND gate) reset the 4-bit counter to 0.
    and so on…

    im working on smaller design:
    http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/809/j7dn.jpg/

    i want connect 6 “modules” together and create 24h clock :P

    also i love the batteries! Now they are not useless
    http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/819/dtuy.jpg/
    I have a few ideas to open the door using a few batteries with different value settings :D

    Also im bit confused with this feature:
    -Made pressure plates emit analog signal indicating weight-

    I built something like this
    http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/43/obas.jpg/
    http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/812/9gch.jpg/
    http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/14/ovzv.jpg/

    its pressure plate connected to the display.
    when I will stand on this plate, display show 9, when i drop any item from inventory, the display shows 8
    I thought that different objects have different weight so we can create some neat puzzle/games with this. Like put 2 fish on this plate, 3 stone on another and then door are open.
    But this doesnt work that why.
    my point is, i dont see how to use this feature. i can take only 3 values from pressure plate, 0.8.9 .. :)

    btw I rebuilt your music machine:
    http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/23/dhtc.jpg/
    but I completely do not understand the memory bank. I just typed something random and it generates some sort of music lol :)

    sorry 4 my english :)

  14. Posted October 25, 2013 at 23:41 | Permalink | Reply

    Loveb the far distance phew is like sou interesting explore, make homes and watch mountains, animals, nature both also I find losted homes I leave on my first times travels, I make a way with lava from the main land to an island :o

  15. Posted October 25, 2013 at 23:42 | Permalink | Reply

    Increasee visibility has made a world of difference (literally), my favorite part of the update! Might I suggest a new block item? Some sort of medical item to craft. fighting werewolves is a challenge to do without damage now and recovering is slow and hard to rebound from during exploration. Or at least crafting a potion out of herb to speed up recovery.

  16. Posted October 26, 2013 at 00:06 | Permalink | Reply

    Kaalus do you think its possible to create a logic calendar using this code:

    var day=new Date().getDay();
    switch (day)
    {
    case 0:
    x=”Today it’s Sunday”;
    break;
    case 1:
    x=”Today it’s Monday”;
    break;
    case 2:
    x=”Today it’s Tuesday”;
    break;
    case 3:
    x=”Today it’s Wednesday”;
    break;
    case 4:
    x=”Today it’s Thursday”;
    break;
    case 5:
    x=”Today it’s Friday”;
    break;
    case 6:
    x=”Today it’s Saturday”;
    break;
    }

    Using in-game time? It would be helpful to plan out events or to get my schedule organized like hunting day, relax day, etc.

    • Posted October 26, 2013 at 01:45 | Permalink | Reply

      That’s why I think there should be agendas

    • Posted October 26, 2013 at 03:24 | Permalink | Reply

      Actually, this code could create a time system in survivalcraft. Like years, days, and months. I was thinking, what if you implement this code into this game and as the years go by more things will be discovered. Its like leveling up. Every time a year passes, some new things will be discovered. We can use this to make the game feel more alive feeling like if there is a goal out there and that goal is to see what is in the future. Because when ever I look at the terrain I always tell myself,”wouldn’t it be nice to have a city here?”. You start out lonely, the recipedia makes the game so easy. The only things you may know at start is how to dig, punch, sneak, break wood, eat, and dig. As time passes by, randomly, a piece of a page from the recipedia will be picked up from the player. The scrap of paper will have information on how to craft tools. Then, from that little scrap, the player gets the idea how to craft weapons. Its like evolution. Then again 5 months later or another time, you find another piece of paper telling you how to create other items and so on. This would really help the game develop since its going to be kind of long for the player to understand all the items. While their player is developing, you could be updating the game adding more and more to the time system. The downside of this is that you will have to work a lot on this. But I offer you help Kaalus. I want to help you develop this game. By giving you ideas and codes to create them. To find a code to patch a bug somehow. I’ll try Kaalus. If you don’t trust me, you can always talk to my 18 year old friend kitsune. He knows TONS about coding. He said he could link up his live chat to your game. Talk to one of us Kaalus. We want to help.

      • Posted October 26, 2013 at 12:39 | Permalink | Reply

        Well yah If your looking at it in a time calender and seasons kind of way

        • Posted October 26, 2013 at 14:48 | Permalink

          Actually you can’t do it with that code. Lol that is JavaScript and the program Kaalus uses for Survival craft is java. They’re two completely different programs and the code for a calendar might be really complex and is totally different than the JavaScript time code. So java is for games and programming and JavaScript is for websites.

  17. Posted October 26, 2013 at 00:07 | Permalink | Reply

    Kaalus.
    Im building a 8 bit computer that will use little bit from new electrics.
    Im currently completed rom(3kbit) and alu with comparator.

  18. Posted October 26, 2013 at 00:13 | Permalink | Reply

    Or use this code :
    var day=new Date().getDay();
    switch (day)
    {
    case 6:
    x=”Today it’s Saturday”;
    break;
    case 0:
    x=”Today it’s Sunday”;
    break;
    default:
    x=”Looking forward to the Weekend”;
    }

    To store like an update on the server when you have time so you don’t have to stress on completing the server update on time or something. You could use ‘x’ as the date you want the update to be released. I don’t think its possible but it may be.

  19. Posted October 26, 2013 at 00:40 | Permalink | Reply

    Kaalus!! I need help! I’ve been looking at the same worlds in the community content for a month!!

  20. Posted October 26, 2013 at 01:24 | Permalink | Reply

    Hi guys! Check out my new gaming blog!

  21. Posted October 26, 2013 at 01:32 | Permalink | Reply

    Not so much a bug as an observation: making the food both harder to find (by making it scarce) and harder to kill (by changing combat) food is much harder to come by. I have starved to death twice because I couldn’t get my hands on food.

    I think the changes to combat went a little too far. I can’t kill anything now. Either I get killed or it gets hurt and then runs away… faster than I can follow. A little more tweaking might be needed. And thanks for turning down the number of wolves that spawn when you sleep. In 1.22 I felt like they had taken over the world.

    • Posted October 26, 2013 at 03:35 | Permalink | Reply

      Lol … And you liked the changes to no shark and piranha meat… How bout them 2 types of bass? Pffft… You guys have zero idea how to balance and play this game… Like I said before… We lost two types of meat and gained only one, on top of the combat changes. I’ve been restraining myself from posting on here about the bugs and such.. I know more than half of these people on here are merly kids… But Wow guys, pay attention to the game, half the things you guys think are bugs aren’t, they have always been there or Kaalus had already mentioned the add on’s or changes… Why are there 8 types of head stones? Why not make only two types, use the other data for different jack o lantern faces and other Halloween features… this became a Halloween update late in the 1.23 update when it was previously titled a electronics update. Future request for 1.24. … Blocks. Items. Useful animals. That’s the core of the game.

      • Posted October 26, 2013 at 04:46 | Permalink | Reply

        Actually, to that point, I haven’t seen any fish yet. Not piranha nor shark nor bass. Either they are not spawning or I simply can’t see them under the water. Therefore, your “fishy” math has nothing to do with my feelings of imbalance.

        • Posted October 26, 2013 at 04:53 | Permalink

          Yes thank you someone else who noticed

        • Posted October 26, 2013 at 04:53 | Permalink

          Not so much a bug as an observation: making the food both harder to find (by making it scarce) and harder to kill (by changing combat) food is much harder to come by. I have starved to death twice because I couldn’t get my hands on food.

          I think the changes to combat went a little too far. I can’t kill anything now. Either I get killed or it gets hurt and then runs away… faster than I can follow. A little more tweaking might be needed. And thanks for turning down the number of wolves that spawn when you sleep. In 1.22 I felt like they had taken over the world.

          Feelings of imbalance?? Do you read what you post?

        • Posted October 27, 2013 at 13:34 | Permalink

          Do you?!? I said nothing about fish. As a general rule I don’t subsist on fish in my games so there absence, while troubling and worthy of note, has no impact on my feelings of imbalance

          Look, if you dislike the game so much, why are you still here? What do you hope to accomplish by disrespecting the game like this? Go play GTAV.

  22. Posted October 26, 2013 at 01:41 | Permalink | Reply

    why is it that when you filter the community content to “top ranked” I find 1 and 2 star worlds at the top? is the a bug? I hope you fix this and make the order from 5 stars going down top to bottom.

  23. Posted October 26, 2013 at 02:37 | Permalink | Reply

    SQUISH THEM BUGZ! :-)

  24. Posted October 26, 2013 at 02:51 | Permalink | Reply

    **ISSUE**

    I have noticed that custom textures, while centered perfectly, display off centered when viewing in game. So far I have noticed this on a 64 texture pack, and only with the new addition of electronics. items like 4/led, number display, and motion sensor display fine. however, items like the a/d, d/a, m, speaker, etc are off center. maybe me?

    Other than that, this update is brilliant. It runs very well on my Nexus 7 32gb and Samsung galaxy s3. I only notice a bit of lag with 1024 hi-res textures at full performance settings. Using 512 textures and below, there is virtually no lag.

    • Posted October 26, 2013 at 09:01 | Permalink | Reply

      I have managed to adjust the custom tiles to display correctly.

  25. Posted October 26, 2013 at 03:03 | Permalink | Reply

    great job Kaalus on the update surprisingly to me I have no lag whatsoever having the view distance set to max where it says not recommended. I have a nexus 7. could you possibly update it again and add the original 3x view….I would like to see how smooth it is on my device.

  26. Posted October 26, 2013 at 04:04 | Permalink | Reply

    Can’t wait!

    • Posted October 26, 2013 at 04:05 | Permalink | Reply

      –Swordmaster

      • Posted October 26, 2013 at 04:27 | Permalink | Reply

        Great job kaalus. Don’t listen to those haters about 1.23. Have you all tried designing a game at ITT techinical college. Its not easy. :)

        • Posted October 26, 2013 at 04:47 | Permalink

          Get off of his nuts kid, and grow a pair of your own.

        • Posted October 26, 2013 at 13:57 | Permalink

          And this is coming from a grown man on a blog about a video game

  27. Posted October 26, 2013 at 04:52 | Permalink | Reply

    Using the sound generators someone smart make a song out of many different sounds

  28. Posted October 26, 2013 at 06:44 | Permalink | Reply

    I have found a new bug. When you play on a world with lots of buildings and stuff it kinda all the sudden change and look like this

  29. Posted October 26, 2013 at 06:50 | Permalink | Reply

    It is like the blocks are all jagged and stretched out and thin but the wall is still there but invisible and all the rest of the walls colours is stretched out and concentrated on one area. Not on the wall.

  30. Posted October 26, 2013 at 07:05 | Permalink | Reply

    Hello there Kaalus, I know I’ve said this already on another post, but I don’t think it will be looked at, so I was wondering if bugs(insects) could be taken into consideration? Like nats, beetles, centipedes, small dangerous spiders like black widdow, or brown recluse, mothes, butterflies? It would , ake the game more realistic, I hope you like this idea! c:

    • Posted October 26, 2013 at 08:35 | Permalink | Reply

      OMG YES!!! Insects are an amazing idea. BEES!!!! please! That allow for plants to grow faster/more abundant. or not. but please let there be bees and honey, I love bees. and we should have mosquitoes and ticks, near standing water and tall grass, respectively; they would occasionally make you sick when you’re near them.

  31. Posted October 26, 2013 at 07:07 | Permalink | Reply

    That could be a good idea

  32. Posted October 26, 2013 at 10:06 | Permalink | Reply

    Kaalus big bug on a world called 7star hotel on my android.

    • Posted October 26, 2013 at 13:29 | Permalink | Reply

      That is also what is happening with me ! I downloaded it to see what you meant it is also quite like mine !

  33. Posted October 26, 2013 at 12:46 | Permalink | Reply

    I think the insect idea is really cool for 1.24

  34. Posted October 26, 2013 at 12:58 | Permalink | Reply

    Oh there is a bug with trying to switch category on the download area. When I press the … it sends me back to the menu and if I keep trying again it just keeps sending me back. Fix that bug asap

  35. Posted October 26, 2013 at 13:54 | Permalink | Reply

    I built a disco.

  36. Posted October 26, 2013 at 13:55 | Permalink | Reply

    There was a bug on this one skydiving world,a tree off in the distance about a chunk away from the main map had no leaves on it, and I’m still on 1.22 and it looked really creepy

  37. Posted October 26, 2013 at 14:02 | Permalink | Reply

    I have noticed many major bugs with big worlds…..the texture gets skewed and it seems to stretch in a wide length and through the world…..please fix this major bug kaalus.

    • Posted October 26, 2013 at 14:09 | Permalink | Reply

      have you done something to the visibility range that might be your problem

  38. Posted October 26, 2013 at 14:12 | Permalink | Reply

    kaalus I found a bug or something…..I get a 500 error message every time I try to filter community content to either world only or texture pack only and recently uploaded textures and worlds.

  39. Posted October 26, 2013 at 14:14 | Permalink | Reply

    check out my blog

  40. Posted October 26, 2013 at 14:32 | Permalink | Reply

    When will the update be out for iOS
    ????

  41. Posted October 26, 2013 at 14:36 | Permalink | Reply

    i spotted a dirt tree its like a normal tree it just has a few dirt blocks in it hope this info is useful kaalus

    • Posted October 26, 2013 at 19:03 | Permalink | Reply

      I use a android device.I wish Klaalus would reply to this bug

  42. Posted October 26, 2013 at 15:14 | Permalink | Reply

    So how do I feed horses or donkeys in non creative mode? In creative mode you have access to grass but in any other mode only grass seed.

  43. Posted October 26, 2013 at 16:10 | Permalink | Reply

    eagerly awaiting the iOS release. wish I could help with bug testing! but the App Store has so many requirements, dangit.

    I’m a builder, but I like to go into survival in-between builds. I’m really hoping for more survival content such as armor, food combo recipes that add up to more health, archery and so on. the electrics sound interesting, but it’s Survivalcraft not Electricraft ;)
    – mandalamama @ lefora

  44. Posted October 26, 2013 at 20:57 | Permalink | Reply

    The screen freezes every now and then so do the controls when on buttons not on touch.

  45. Posted October 26, 2013 at 20:58 | Permalink | Reply

    Tom 345 I use a android device

Leave a Reply. No swearing please.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 44,348 other followers