Happy Birthday

Here’s a new video for you showing a few of the new electric elements at work.

http://youtu.be/M9aDWAq08rA

The new elements used are memory bank, 4-bit counter and a sound generator.

I will try to explain the new electrics in more detail in this and the upcoming posts. Of course, in-game there is help text associated with each of the blocks, but because of screen space shortage only a brief description is possible there.

HiResScreen

 

First of all, I want to explain how the analog electric signals work.

Analog Signals

In 1.22, all signals were digital, which means they had only two possible values. Let’s call these two values 0V and 1.5V (V stands for volts).

In 1.23, all the values between 0 and 1.5 volts (in 0.1V increments) are available as well. That is, a signal can have a value of 0.5V or 1.1V, for example. 16 different signal values are possible.

The key to understanding is the fact that such a signal can be interpreted in three different ways by various electric devices:

  1. As a one-bit digital signal, with values between 0V and 0.7V meaning “low”, and 0.8V to 1.5V meaning high. For example a lightbulb or a diode will use this interpretation to switch itself on or off. This interpretation was the one used in 1.22, so it should be familiar to you.
  2. As a continuous analog signal. Motion detector, photodiode, thermometer, hygrometer, pressure plate will all output this type of value, signalling by “how much” they have been activated. For example a pressure plate signal value will depend on weight of the item placed on it. Photodiode will tell you how much light there is, not just whether there is any light at all. Motion detector will tell you how close to the detector a moving object is. Et cetera.
  3. As a four bit digital signal. 16 possible values mean there are really 4 bits of information being passed. Certain electric devices will interpret the signal as four separate bits. For example, a 4-pixel LED will display state of each of the bits separately. 7-segment display uses the values of the bits to produce a hexadecimal character to be displayed. All the logic gates (AND, OR, NOT, XOR, delay) will act on each bit separately if fed an analog value.

It’s important to remember that the signal in all cases is the same, and can be carried by a single wire. What is different is how various devices react to it.

Finally, one great thing about the new system is that it is backwards compatible with the old one. All existing electric devices will continue to work as if nothing has changed. If you prefer, you can ignore the analog and keep thinking of signals as digital (i.e. using #1 interpretation above exclusively).

It’s easy to see why this must be so. The old-style circuits only really use the highest bit of the 4-bit signal. If this bit is set, the signal is interpreted as high, if it’s not set, it’s low. The remaining 3 bits are ignored. These extra bits only come to life when some new electric device is fed the signal and can make use of them.

Next time I’ll try to talk more about the new devices themselves.

83 Comments

  1. Posted October 12, 2013 at 17:16 | Permalink | Reply

    1.23 For the win!

    • Posted October 12, 2013 at 19:05 | Permalink | Reply

      I hate when people reply to the first post saying they are second.Anyway,post your ideas here!Same rules from the forum.

    • Posted October 13, 2013 at 19:16 | Permalink | Reply

      can’t wait till 1.23!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    • Posted October 14, 2013 at 01:15 | Permalink | Reply

      HELP!!!! KAALUS KNOWS MY BIRTHDAY!!!!! PROBLY BECAUSE I’VE BEEN SHOUTING IT OUT ALL OVER THE INTERNET!!!! Ooo…

      So I guess he’s not a stalker. *sigh of relief* but thanks for celebrating it kaalus!!! U rock!!!!!!!

      • Posted October 14, 2013 at 01:19 | Permalink | Reply

        Wait, SC and I SHARE BIRTHDAYS?!?!?! I’m going to go into a panic attack in a second, let me just post this comments.

  2. Posted October 12, 2013 at 17:20 | Permalink | Reply

    And also, happy birthday survivalcraft!

  3. Posted October 12, 2013 at 17:22 | Permalink | Reply

    Yes!!! Can you ad horse ropes? Or to tie to a cow or a fence post!!

  4. Posted October 12, 2013 at 17:29 | Permalink | Reply

    Feel proud that I have played this for 2 years from my nokia lumia 710 to nexus 7 and now my xperia SP

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY SURVIVALCRAFT
    and well done kaalus for 2 grand years of contiuous development!!!

    • Posted October 12, 2013 at 17:36 | Permalink | Reply

      Also well done 23 major updates in 2 years
      Thats roughly an update every month i really dont think even large game dev studios can top that!!

  5. Posted October 12, 2013 at 17:39 | Permalink | Reply

    Kaalus what about Alpacas you’re gonna add?

    • theuserofallusers
      Posted October 12, 2013 at 17:53 | Permalink | Reply

      According to Kaalus

      It’s still on the list:)

  6. Posted October 12, 2013 at 18:02 | Permalink | Reply

    Happy birthday!!!!

  7. Posted October 12, 2013 at 18:07 | Permalink | Reply

    Minecraft is going to have SERIOUS competition now. So many possibilities with these new electronics! I can’t wait kaalus! :D

    • Posted October 13, 2013 at 09:48 | Permalink | Reply

      Hi Numberunofan – I think it will be SC that is about to face some serious competition from MCPE. For the last 2 years SC has quietly ruled the mobile block building world and MCPE hasn’t even tried to catch up. Until now. Mojang are throwing a lot of time and resources at MCPE, a lot of which we don’t see because it’s in closed testing. Once Realms hits the game next year, we will also sit it using resdstone power, infinite worlds and generated structures at that point MCPE will have taken a huge leap past SC in terms of features and I’m not sure SC will be able to keep up, let alone regain the lead. For my part, I’d like to see Kalus now devote himself to two things: 1) fleshing out the game mechanics to add more functionality (moving blocks, generated structures, etc.) and 2) opening the game up to modders. I tryly beleive that if SC is to survive the oncoming tidal wave of MCPE’s updates then it needs to evolve more rapidly than one man can hope to achieve.

      • Posted October 13, 2013 at 14:31 | Permalink | Reply

        Sc updates faster than even mc PC so we should be fine as long as kaalus opens up to modders and adds something mindblowing

      • Posted October 13, 2013 at 17:41 | Permalink | Reply

        I was telling kaalus that my friend wants to help him create the game because kaalus can’t do it all by himself. He is a professional coder not the best at java but he got some knowledge. He can create you a website at no cost he even has his own chatting website. Lol kaalus, the future of the game depends on what you will add. Make surprises that make us wonder and want to discover the surprise like hungry shark evolution. While I was upgrading my hammer head shark, a new locked shark came out that we didn’t know what was the name of it nor how it looked like and it said ‘experience the great white shark first to save this ancient shark’ or something like that and well it motivated me to keep on playing because I want that shark its like an achievement saying good job kiddo. Kaalus if you like I could ask my friend to help you. He could save the game from mcpe’s wrath. You’re #14 in the top paid apps kaalus. Almost there but it only has 100,000 downloads and mcpe has 1,000,000 or so downloads because the game feels alive it feels like if you do have a point. you could add fishing as a simple game? Just for right now so we wouldn’t get bored of this game. First fishing, then in the other update after fishing add leader boards. Just use fishing as a game while you create a story for the game. You could use a killing game where you have to kill animals under a certain time. With leaderboards! It’ll feel like multiplayer!

  8. Posted October 12, 2013 at 18:17 | Permalink | Reply

    Does everybody realize we can make music in survivalcraft! That’s awesome for a disco. That’s so GG man. :D

  9. Posted October 12, 2013 at 18:34 | Permalink | Reply

    ADD AN DISCO BALL!

  10. Posted October 12, 2013 at 18:45 | Permalink | Reply

    Am I the only one not thrilled about all this new electric stuff? it seems complicated and unneccessary. I barely used all that stuff as it is. unless your an electrician some of this is over the top…I think there is way too much hype about electrics and nothing else. how about glass panes?

    • Posted October 12, 2013 at 19:41 | Permalink | Reply

      I really do not understand it at all either

    • Posted October 12, 2013 at 20:00 | Permalink | Reply

      I think he is improving it for creative mode people. For discos and stuff. Plus it will be cool with a music player in your house on challenging if you mine alot of stuff for electrics.

      • Posted October 12, 2013 at 22:12 | Permalink | Reply

        I can create a alarm now when the sun is down to remind me to go home after a long day of mining. :D hmm then a clock to create me a eating schedule! Or a clock to tell me when’s my rye is ripe! When a animal lands in a trap! A new lock code for a door using the motion detector! And once I enter my room in my house, I’ll place that detector near me so when it senses me it’ll turn off all the lights in my house! Kaalus, you just opened up BILLIONS of possibilities! :D

    • Posted October 12, 2013 at 22:18 | Permalink | Reply

      I’m in the same boat with you. All these electronics could have been blocks, items, animal drops etc. a plethora of things. These will have to collect dust with the rest of my electronics unfortunately… I consider this a electronics update so it’s all good, but in the future I would hope to see real game improvements, specifically a animal update or a weapons and tools update or a block and items update. If you actually youtube survival craft electronics you will come up with very, very little videos… Hence, people really don’t use it, hence is it really all that useful? I know people will say and will use it for their creative aspect, that’s fine. But go ahead Kaalus, get this outta your system.. Then please go back to the “Survival” aspect of the game… That’s why I got this game… “Survival craft” not Radio Shack Craft.

      • Posted October 12, 2013 at 22:28 | Permalink | Reply

        Honestly, this stuff does not belong in this game….this coulda, shoulda or woulda belong or be great in another type game Kaalus… I dunno, call it “Space Craft” ?? You know all these electronics belong in a DIGITAL age game… In a game where you can fully appreciate electronics in a digital medium, like on the moon or on mars, in space SURROUNDED by electronics…..Not in a game where you stranded on a island.

        • Posted October 12, 2013 at 22:51 | Permalink

          Please don’t get offended but there are actually civilizations that started out with no electricity until it was discovered. So electricity was discovered by benjamin franklin who lived in the woods in pennsylvania. He had a house on a hill in the woods and he made lightbulbs from the terrain he lived in.

        • Posted October 12, 2013 at 22:54 | Permalink

          I don’t mind them, but I’m not sure what the big focus on them is – how do they extend or improve the current gameplay? Unless you are in creative for adventure I don’t think they do. When we can’t effectively use gunpowder to mine for resources, I’m not sure how a ‘on hold’ music system from the 80s helps. Now if the game was open to modders, I’m sure they could use this for some cool things, but right now it’s just a lot of blocks I’ll never make or use because I don’t know how, haven’t got the time to learn how and can’t see what benefit knowing how would bring, which is a real shame.

        • Posted October 12, 2013 at 22:59 | Permalink

          Please don’t get offended but there are actually civilizations that started out with no electricity until it was discovered. So electricity was discovered by benjamin franklin who lived in the woods in pennsylvania. He had a house on a hill in the woods and he created lightbulbs from the terrain he lived in. There are many people who have conducted electricity while stranded. Please don’t get offended but that’s my opinion.

        • Posted October 13, 2013 at 01:24 | Permalink

          Thanks for the history lesson bro… I’m quite aware of history… So did you originaly sign up for “Survival Craft” or a electronics crash course?

        • Posted October 13, 2013 at 01:25 | Permalink

          I swear, this game almost feels like fraud now…. Like a bait and switch.

        • Posted October 13, 2013 at 09:37 | Permalink

          Hi David – I’m not offended at all, mate. Everyone has their opinions :) I love the electricity system in SC – it is better than the redstone system in MCPC if you ask me and with MCPE not even having redstone (yet) it just proves that Kaalus’ SC is more than a simple clone – it’s a game stamped through with his own vision. My worry is that complex logic development isn’t all that useful, especially when moving blocks such as pistons or even engines would be more useful. Now it could be that Kaalus is moving on to those next and that would be great but until we have some engineering applications for all this electricity I’m not sure what I can do with it (doorbell aside – after all, it’s a single player game so who would ring that doorbell?)

        • Posted October 13, 2013 at 16:18 | Permalink

          Yes I agree, the electronics in SC I much better than minecrafts red stone, which looks like garbage… I dunno, don’t get me wrong the electronics in SC are sick no doubt, I’m into the survival, building part of the game I guess…Happy Birthday Survival Craft and great work Kaalus.

    • Posted October 12, 2013 at 22:49 | Permalink | Reply

      Hi – I’m not over the moon either – I think the electrics need moving blocks, machine blocks and engine blocks to make then useful. This is just… well, I don’t really know.

      • Posted October 13, 2013 at 01:28 | Permalink | Reply

        Yes, I agree, I can swallow down these electros if they did have more to them than numbers and letters…only a~ f? Wth

  11. Posted October 12, 2013 at 18:46 | Permalink | Reply

    What does real time clock mean? The new electric element, can someone please tell me. Thanks!

  12. Posted October 12, 2013 at 18:51 | Permalink | Reply

    He should make armour and back packs for more inventory also did you know you can use the 4v4 box as inventory

  13. Posted October 12, 2013 at 18:56 | Permalink | Reply

    Happy birthday survival craft, with many more years of updates. :)

  14. Posted October 12, 2013 at 19:19 | Permalink | Reply

    So true

  15. mrjustplaying
    Posted October 12, 2013 at 19:19 | Permalink | Reply

    Hurray!!! That’s fantastic! :)
    I wish SC to have even more awesome updates!

  16. Posted October 12, 2013 at 19:40 | Permalink | Reply

    Yay!!! Now we can make cool stuff like doorbells

  17. Posted October 12, 2013 at 19:59 | Permalink | Reply

    Kaalus I have an idea you should make an in game video tutorial about electronics since some people don’t get including me. The electronics seem cool and helpful but I don’t get it

    • Posted October 12, 2013 at 20:04 | Permalink | Reply

      Real time clock is a clock that will move as survivalcraft time goes I guess. So if it is afternoon the clock will say 12:00 PM. If it is evening it will be 6:00 PM. Dawn 6:00 AM 12:00 AM. There will be some cool maps witgh these.

      • Posted October 12, 2013 at 20:06 | Permalink | Reply

        I’m just guessing about the clock. I wonder can you set a time for explosives to blow up.

        • Posted October 13, 2013 at 01:32 | Permalink

          Nice work David, the only idea so far to use electros with for me

  18. Posted October 12, 2013 at 20:51 | Permalink | Reply

    I think changing seasons would be über cool on 1.23 or 1.24

    • Posted October 13, 2013 at 09:54 | Permalink | Reply

      Destructive weather would be nice – tornadoes, tsunamis, bush fires, earthquakes. Things that make you fear the environment and make surviving more than just building a house and planting crops.

      • Posted October 13, 2013 at 22:03 | Permalink | Reply

        Yes, I love how lightning already works, keeps me on my toes repairing my structures.

  19. Posted October 12, 2013 at 22:02 | Permalink | Reply

    Can you add a picture slot in the community content uploading thing so people can get a preview of the world before they download ( somehow make it so they can only choose pictures from there survival craft folder) and make a picture frame item wear you can also put pictures from your survival craft folder :) this would be cool

  20. Posted October 12, 2013 at 22:30 | Permalink | Reply

    So it is going to be people in 1.23 because of the random traps kaalus added.

  21. Posted October 12, 2013 at 22:41 | Permalink | Reply

    FOR THOSE PEOPLE WHO DON’T LIKE THE IDEA OF SHARKS AND PIRAHNAS NOT SPAWNING FOOD AFTER THEY DIE, FOLLOW KAALUS ON TWITTER. IF YOU FOLLOW HIM YOU WILL KNOW THAT HE PLANS TO MAKE FISH SPAWN MORE. THUS THAT MEAN THEIR WILL BE ALOT OF BASS. SO YOU WILL HAVE ALOT MORE FISH TO EAT ON SURVIVAL. SO THERE WILL BE MORE FISH TO EAT NEXT UPDATE. SO IT WONT MATTER IF SHARKS AND PIRAHNAS ARE NO LONGER FOOD. THERE WILL STILL BE ALOT OF BASS THAT SPAWN IN LAKES. Hope that helped people frustrated about it. Fish and birds will spawn alot more in 1.23. So more easy food than 1.22.
    :)

    • Posted October 12, 2013 at 22:45 | Permalink | Reply

      Also for people who don’t like the update so far kaalus isn’t yet done with 1.23 so there will still be more suprises besides electrics he will add. Like generated structures maybe like mineshafts and villages.

    • Posted October 13, 2013 at 01:34 | Permalink | Reply

      Thanks for the info David, I appreciate it.

    • Posted October 13, 2013 at 01:54 | Permalink | Reply

      Ok, so I just read candy Rufus tweets, reduction on land animals is fine, I can live without 10 wolves camping out on me.. And it didn’t sound like he’s adding anymore fish than the bass’es .. He said more kinds meaning to me one specie, two types….

  22. Posted October 12, 2013 at 23:16 | Permalink | Reply

    I finally got what the things in the video were. I thought it was extremely complicated. The pvo is sound generator and the m genorator is memory bank for the music player’s memory. The 8 bit does something Idk. :D

  23. Posted October 13, 2013 at 03:09 | Permalink | Reply

    continue the good work Kaalus, never mind these nay-sayers and there total ignorance on the concept of electronics, you go with what you know,THEN the mechanical aspects can be implemented

    • Posted October 13, 2013 at 04:45 | Permalink | Reply

      Agreed.

    • Posted October 13, 2013 at 04:54 | Permalink | Reply

      I have the concept of these electronics, that’s not the problem.. The problem is I don’t want to make a clock, electro sign, a disco or whatever… That dosent say survival to me bro… So go build your clock, your big sign, your disco with little chirps and beeps songs for your door bell… No thanks.

    • Posted October 13, 2013 at 09:57 | Permalink | Reply

      Also agreed… as long as there are going to be mechanical additions. So far I’ve seen no proof of this and without them all the logic circuits in the world aren’t going to move blocks out of mine shaft. As I’ve said on my blog and in the comments here I love the electricity system in SC but without practical applications other than squeaking out some terrible music it’s not going to all that useful in surviving..

  24. Posted October 13, 2013 at 03:24 | Permalink | Reply

    I wonder if Kaalus can add fuses for the electrics,crossbows,and key pads. You walk up,and tap the key pad,and a menu will pop up labled with your device’s keyboard to make a password. Might take a while to do,and think about.

  25. Posted October 13, 2013 at 06:18 | Permalink | Reply

    I think the backpack idea is stellar, it would make good use of leather especially on horses, or improved use for diamond items like dig speed. Or at the very least allow chest combining so more can be acquired and stored. I read the “analog” bit from the last post, it sounds very confusing at best…I’m just happy wiring light bulbs. did someone request these additions? I have been really happy with all the updates thus far so I’m hoping to hear the other highlights of this one. Electrics do not need this over haul in a game called survivalcraft…

    • Posted October 13, 2013 at 09:59 | Permalink | Reply

      Yup, that a that’s a fair assessment Jay. I’m hoping that this update is a step in a path towards mechanical blocks such as pistons and engines.

  26. Posted October 13, 2013 at 06:21 | Permalink | Reply

    Hey there! I think you should let the zebras, giraffes and rinos be rideable. Also, in the deep sea, there could be sea monsters. Or mermaids. Or atlantis! :D costumes for halloween and other celibrations. Cake. Deer.dragons. tameable pets.and magic powers like telaportation, elemental spells, and other fun stuff

  27. Posted October 13, 2013 at 12:49 | Permalink | Reply

    Hi Kaalus can you add a portable torch ,so when you walk around the place with a torch in your hand it will light up your surroundings , and when axe a tree at the bottom you will get all of the blocks of the tree not one block :)

    • Posted October 13, 2013 at 14:14 | Permalink | Reply

      Yeah I like that idea of all the tree blocks falling and a handheld torch.

    • Posted October 13, 2013 at 16:23 | Permalink | Reply

      I like the idea of the torch in hand, trees blocks falling might make it to simple to log trees, but good idea

  28. Posted October 13, 2013 at 16:21 | Permalink | Reply

    Hello Survivalcraft fans. I have changed my blog website to include the new Survivalcraft Racers project- Mario Kart tracks built in Survivalcraft. The new website includes a blog, forum, videos, descriptions and pics of Mario Kart maps, and even an online games store. If you want to check it out, or want to take part in this project, please click on the link below:

    http://survivalcraftlo.ucoz.com

  29. Posted October 13, 2013 at 18:43 | Permalink | Reply

    Yayah can’t wait if u have time add ropes for the horses…. :) can’t wait till it’s out!

  30. Posted October 13, 2013 at 19:15 | Permalink | Reply

    look at my blog

  31. Posted October 14, 2013 at 01:13 | Permalink | Reply

    HOW THE FUDGE DID U KNOW IT WAS MY BIRTHDAY YESTERDAY!?!?!?!!!?!!!

    0o0

  32. Posted October 14, 2013 at 20:55 | Permalink | Reply

    Lightning isn’t harmful if you build a cobblestone roof

  33. Posted October 14, 2013 at 21:01 | Permalink | Reply

    He should make books and maps to keep track of where you have hunted and explored and books so you Prendergast you were doing before you slep.and to remind yourself to farm and alarm clocks to wake you up at specific times of day

  34. Posted October 16, 2013 at 03:52 | Permalink | Reply

    Hear is a good idea for a trap using the music. a wolf gets to close to the house, an alarms goes off, not a text on a sign, An alarm, how cool would that be.

  35. Phoebe Browning
    Posted November 1, 2013 at 23:07 | Permalink | Reply

    Hi again Kaalus, it’s Phoebe, again. I don’t understand how to do this. Can you help or give more examples how to do this? Thanks :) Anyways, bye – Phoebe

    >

2 Trackbacks

  1. […] traps and puzzles and transport and all sorts of clever, labour saving fun things. In SC we have an electricity and logic system that is far superior to what the PC version of Minecraft can offer but unless, for some reason, you want to build a […]

  2. By invertir en bolsa on July 14, 2014 at 21:28

    invertir en bolsa

    Happy Birthday « Survivalcraft

Leave a Reply. No swearing please.

