Don’t Forget Backups

This is just a reminder post: keep your valuable worlds backed up!

The easiest way to do it is to upload them to Dropbox. Android users can also upload to SD card (or internal storage), which does not require setting up an online account.

I put a lot of work in the save system to make it resilient. On top of that it keeps 2 copies of the most important data. Once the worst happens, the game tries its best to recover corrupt saves.

However, once in a while a bad crash happens or your battery runs out and the game dies in the middle of writing something important. Survivalcraft autosaves every 20 seconds, so the risk is real. If you’ve worked for a long time on something, back it up, or you’re tempting the fates.

78 Comments

  1. Posted September 25, 2013 at 18:52 | Permalink | Reply

    first!

  2. Posted September 25, 2013 at 18:54 | Permalink | Reply

    thoughtful Kaalus :З

  3. Marlon Neveu
    Posted September 25, 2013 at 18:54 | Permalink | Reply

    Great idea kaalus, but I ready do that.
    Plz respond KAALUS, what are you going to do about multiplayer?

    >

  4. Marlon Neveu
    Posted September 25, 2013 at 18:54 | Permalink | Reply

    Second. :-(

    >

  5. Posted September 25, 2013 at 19:06 | Permalink | Reply

    I do this

  6. Posted September 25, 2013 at 19:23 | Permalink | Reply

    Again. I think if the motion detector will react to the sand, it will be a great addition.
    And so are you, Kaalus, said that doing shaders, but in the video they do not, why?

  7. Posted September 25, 2013 at 19:37 | Permalink | Reply

    Just an idea – replace buckets with iron and wooden buckets. Iron hold all liquids, wooden hold only water and milk.
    Also changing water in the sea to salt water and having different water health depending on enviroment (like grass colour) and you have to filter or boil salt water and dirty water.

  8. rosslynb
    Posted September 25, 2013 at 20:46 | Permalink | Reply

    I can’t do that. I have an iPad. iPads don’t have SD cards!

    • Posted September 25, 2013 at 22:18 | Permalink | Reply

      I uploaded a world to dropbox,i accidentally deleted survivalcraft (i was in my own world,i didnt see my finger pressed the delete button!),when it reinstalled,i still had that one world! Wall-ah! Magic! :-)

      • Posted September 25, 2013 at 22:18 | Permalink | Reply

        I dony have an SD card either

        • rosslynb
          Posted September 25, 2013 at 22:20 | Permalink

          I’m just trying to get the pictures you take in SurvivalCraft into WordPress, so I can post pictures about my adventure map.

        • Posted September 25, 2013 at 22:24 | Permalink

          When making a post on blog (u have a blog!?!) ,click insert photo.

  9. Posted September 25, 2013 at 20:54 | Permalink | Reply

    Things will not be lost when we update right? I had an instance when my phone force closed the game while I was playing and when I got back on the world was entitled ???? Has that happened to anyone else?

    • rosslynb
      Posted September 25, 2013 at 22:21 | Permalink | Reply

      My tablet kicks me out a lot. But that hasn’t happened to me.

    • Posted September 26, 2013 at 22:52 | Permalink | Reply

      It’s happened to me, I think it’s because the game crashed.

      When I start load my game and quit, it comes back. I assume its nothing permanent, just something that may or may not happen when the app closes abruptly.

  10. mrdxn
    Posted September 25, 2013 at 20:57 | Permalink | Reply

    This is something I’m guilty of not doing as often as I should. Thanks for the reminder kaalus!

    On another note…I just saw that daverave40 is currently out of commission on his survivalcraft video’s. makes me sad :-(

  11. Posted September 25, 2013 at 21:35 | Permalink | Reply

    Good news everyone along time ago I (SC#1Fan) made a titanic map that a lot of people seemed to enjoy, but I stopped working on it…..well Im working on it again and will start posting more updates soon………

  12. Posted September 25, 2013 at 22:15 | Permalink | Reply

    Cant wait untill 1.23!!! :-) Mr.Hee Haw is funny!!!!! “HE HAW! GIMME YOUR RYE! HEE HAW!”

  13. Posted September 25, 2013 at 23:46 | Permalink | Reply

    Did anyone know how to save world to SDcard? I lost my world thrice and I don’t want the same thing happen again ><

  14. Posted September 26, 2013 at 00:11 | Permalink | Reply

    I would prefer if kaalus could give us smaller/more frequent updates instead of big updates but not as many

    • Posted September 26, 2013 at 02:09 | Permalink | Reply

      Hmmm idk about that

    • mrdxn
      Posted September 26, 2013 at 02:35 | Permalink | Reply

      I like exactly how he does it. While he’s ironing out bugs on one thing he’s adding another. And it keeps me in suspense. While I’m enjoying the last new items I’m reading about the new stuff to come.

  15. Posted September 26, 2013 at 02:42 | Permalink | Reply

    -_- you know now that I think about it, I don’t think I ever backup my phone…well I might has well right now. I’ll see y’all pplz later! :D

  16. Posted September 26, 2013 at 02:47 | Permalink | Reply

    Kaalus what do you have in mind for generated structures.

  17. Posted September 26, 2013 at 03:00 | Permalink | Reply

    Thanks for the reminder! It’s been a while since my last backup.

  18. Posted September 26, 2013 at 07:25 | Permalink | Reply

    Can you put in support for iCloud/iTunes backup?

  19. Posted September 26, 2013 at 08:18 | Permalink | Reply

    Add cat and dog!!! :-(

    • Posted September 26, 2013 at 08:27 | Permalink | Reply

      add colers to put on wolves and coyotes so you can take them on walks and when you put them on grey wolves they do not turn into werewolves

      • Posted September 26, 2013 at 11:49 | Permalink | Reply

        And they will maul you in your sleep thats a great idea

  20. Posted September 26, 2013 at 09:40 | Permalink | Reply

    How do you guys make a backup of your world? Please help me I really2 didn’t know how to

  21. Posted September 26, 2013 at 11:46 | Permalink | Reply

    You should add Bigfoot make it incredibly rare. Plz do it for funziez kaalus

  22. Posted September 26, 2013 at 11:48 | Permalink | Reply

    Also kaalus do you think its possible to add seasons in the game like in forestry biomes it snowes in the winter and stuff like that.

  23. Posted September 26, 2013 at 19:12 | Permalink | Reply

    Heyy kaalus after a recent sytem update on my samsung galaxy tab 2 7.0 I been experiencing an issue, it has been crashing when I select the icon on my home screen I have to put it in sleep mode and the put it back on to get it to work.i also noticed that the gameplay is less smoth I know it’s not the memory as I have a 16gb memory card in my device.so I was wondering if theres anyway to fix it or prevent it from happening thanks :)

  24. Posted September 26, 2013 at 19:47 | Permalink | Reply

    hey kaalus, could you add thick, jungle biomes?

    -giant trees with multiple leaf levels
    -vines (act like ladders)
    -different wood types
    -large biome

    • Posted September 26, 2013 at 20:00 | Permalink | Reply

      kaalus can you add cobwebs that grow in the corners of rooms and spiders but not giant spiders like minecraft.

  25. Posted September 26, 2013 at 21:04 | Permalink | Reply

    Hello Survivalcraft fans. Please check out my blog by clicking on my name. I just published a new world only available to those who come to my blog. It is a Mario Kart track.

  26. Marlon Neveu
    Posted September 26, 2013 at 21:11 | Permalink | Reply

    Hey guys. Just found a white horse.

    >

  27. Posted September 26, 2013 at 22:52 | Permalink | Reply

    When is the update coming out?

  28. Posted September 26, 2013 at 22:58 | Permalink | Reply

    Deductive reasoning tells me this:

    Premise: Kaalus makes a post about backing up our worlds.

    Premise: You lose your saved world when updating to a newer version.

    Conclusion: 1.23 version is coming soon.

  29. Posted September 27, 2013 at 01:14 | Permalink | Reply

    Can you add locust I love them thay look awesome ps tree

  30. Posted September 27, 2013 at 01:17 | Permalink | Reply

    how are the wooden spike traps holding up are they lagging up the game, and Kaalus please add the music from the video See Far and Wide into in game music or tell me what song it was ill put it on my tablet and listen to it while playing Eminem doesn’t really match SurvivalCraft.

  31. rosslynb
    Posted September 27, 2013 at 15:36 | Permalink | Reply

    Kaalus, we really need multiplayer! With chat. And profiles. We just use our WordPress profiles for our SurvivalCraft profiles.

  32. dragonmaster7000
    Posted September 27, 2013 at 21:20 | Permalink | Reply

    And I’m back check out my blog dragonmastersblogofdragons.WordPress.com

  33. Posted September 27, 2013 at 22:28 | Permalink | Reply

    IMPORTANT: Please move the “suicide” button so it’s not in the same place as the graph/info button. Ideally, I’d want a “back” button to take me back to the eatting/wardrobe screen. But I hate looking to see what my hunger is and then clicking again and hurting myself.

    That’s just a bad place to put such an important button.

    • Posted September 27, 2013 at 23:15 | Permalink | Reply

      Fail

    • Posted September 28, 2013 at 00:31 | Permalink | Reply

      I do that all the time man, no worries.

    • Posted September 28, 2013 at 03:35 | Permalink | Reply

      I second the motion on this one…I’ve hurt myself too many times on this button, and it’s in the place the back button should be. I also think that there are a few other buttons that could’ve in more useful places. Recipaedia is many clicks when you are crafting. Further than it needs to be.

  34. Posted September 27, 2013 at 22:31 | Permalink | Reply

    JUNGLE BIOMES PLEASE ADD JUNGLE BIOMES!!!!!!!!!!

  35. mrdxn
    Posted September 28, 2013 at 01:14 | Permalink | Reply

    Henry Padilla is gonna start thinking I’m a stalker but once again I have to agree with him here. I don’t know how many times I’ve done this and thought the exact same thing. started to post about it on a few occasions but never have. I suppose one option is to slow down and pay more attention but when you are on a role trying to get done before dark and you pop in to check your vitals and accidentally hit the suicide button. it would

  36. Posted September 28, 2013 at 02:03 | Permalink | Reply

    Kaalus is slenderman a good boss or the devil

  37. Posted September 28, 2013 at 03:26 | Permalink | Reply

    Hey everyone! No one is on my blog right now so now I’m just here ._.

  38. Posted September 28, 2013 at 03:30 | Permalink | Reply

    I like all the hard work you do however too many people are publishing useless maps so I ask u mr kaalus to allow only 2000 KB + to publish which means he did real hard work not just wrote some stuff or ideas he would write in a forum this would much fair and great for all :D

    • Posted September 28, 2013 at 20:07 | Permalink | Reply

      His new rating system may be a solution for that. If they didn’t put much effort, rate it one star and then it will sink to the bottom and the quality worlds will stay.

  39. Posted September 28, 2013 at 07:48 | Permalink | Reply

    ! BUG!
    Any block that falls (sand, gravel, ect.) will fall through a cultivated dirt block.

    STEPS TO REPRODUCE:
    * Cultivate dirt block (near or away from water does not matter)
    * Place a sand or other “falling”block on top of the cultivated block

    The falling block will destroy the cultivated block and fall into the newly emptied space.
    Non-falling blocks (dirt, cobblestone, ect.) will sit atop the cultivated block and revert the cultivation improvement. I would think this should be the expected result from falling blocks as well.

  40. Posted September 28, 2013 at 08:21 | Permalink | Reply

    Please add toilet!!!!

  41. Posted September 28, 2013 at 17:56 | Permalink | Reply

    Hello. A few of us Survivalcraft fans are organizing a big project called Survivalcraft Racers. It is basically Mario Kart tracks built into Survivalcraft. If you would like to participate in building, or just want to find out some more information about this, just click on my name.

  42. rudedog69
    Posted September 28, 2013 at 18:54 | Permalink | Reply

    Kaalus, WE NEED a tool for major quarrying projects. Anyone who is a serious builder in creative mode knows how soul destroying it is using the limited destruction that the TNT barrels offer right now. I’ve only just started playing again after 4 months because I couldn’t bare how slow it is to remove vast quantitys of terrain.

    Plaese make a tool to help us builders, Bigger explosives or what ever u think is best. But please add it in next update. I want to keep playing but as things stand building on my scale is to work intensive.

    Thx if you read this and address it ;D

    • Posted September 28, 2013 at 20:15 | Permalink | Reply

      but weve already got big gunpowder kegs but it would be good to have bigger ones

  43. Posted October 1, 2013 at 17:23 | Permalink | Reply

    Hello Kaalus :-) I came up with one idea for SC. Column. They with different radii actions. To enable music, will have to rename format songs (any) in mp2 and throw in a folder SC and install it via Private. On the map click on the column, and select a song. Well, as an idea?

  44. Posted October 4, 2013 at 04:28 | Permalink | Reply

    Have it to whet you can tame wolves ride zebras and add elephants that you can ride too.

  45. Posted February 15, 2015 at 01:02 | Permalink | Reply

    Can anyone please give information as to how to back up a survival craft game that we have made? We signed into dropbox of course, but the folder is empty. Where can you see your own game files, and how can you move them to drop box? We are using the game on iOS and can find no options of any kind to see or back up a world. My daughter lost a world that was precious to her, and I’d just like to find a way to back up in the future. Should I assume that your own worlds are supposed to automatically appear in DropBox, since no one ever mentions how to do it? Thanks for any advice.
    – Jeff

  46. Posted April 13, 2015 at 18:42 | Permalink | Reply

    NEED HELP!

    Sorry for the all caps but my son who spend untold hours working on his SC worlds lost them all in a botched iOS8.3 upgrade that required restoring the iTunes backup taken right before the upgrade. Unfortunately he never understood he was supposed to upload his worlds to dropbox. He was devastated to when he saw all his worlds were gone. Every other game had their save game data properly restored with the iTunes backup restore. Only SurvivalCraft, his by far favorite game, didn’t recover.

    Question are the internal save games files backed-up by iTunes backups? If not why not? If so it is it possible to extract a .scworld file from the backup or to extract the individual files that comprise a .scworld (really a renamed zip file)?

    This sort of stuff is quite doable for a lot of iOS games. On occasion my children have wanted to move a save game to one device to another and so in the past I’ve copied the save game files from the iTunes backup or (using apps like iExplorer) and copied the save games to the other device using iExporer.

    • Posted July 30, 2015 at 13:06 | Permalink | Reply

      I second this comment! When I restored my iPad from a backup, I did not have any of my worlds. I have semi-recent Dropbox backups (thankfully), but not nearly as recent as the iTunes backup from the day before the phone dies. I have tried to find the world data in the iTunes backup, but I do not see anything. Would be awesome if they were in there somewhere!!

Leave a Reply. No swearing please.

