Aggresion Bugfix

Thank you for all the constructive comments on the permanent community content lock. I have not decided what to do yet, but indeed permanent lock requiring uninstall is a bit crude.

In the meantime, I have been fixing various bugs in the game. One of them is the long standing issue where an aggressive animal will permanently lose interest in you after you run away from it for a while. A silly bug – but it ruined a lot of maps where dangerous animals were not active enough to pursue player. This should be fixed in 1.23, which means the game in Challenging will again get a bit harder :-)

Another change is to make animals a little less restless. In 1.22 they are moving around a lot and bumping into things. In 1.23 they should do that less often.

I also want to step up hunger and sleep deprivation a little. To balance it out I’ll make fully grown rye produce 3 seeds instead of 2.

Still got a few bugs and features to work on for 1.23 before release. The complexity of the new terrain update engine worries me.

 

55 Comments

  1. Marlon Neveu
    Posted September 15, 2013 at 13:55 | Permalink | Reply

    First!

  2. Marlon Neveu
    Posted September 15, 2013 at 13:57 | Permalink | Reply

    Great KAALUS, but please add villagers.

    Sent from my iPod Touch 5th Gen.

  3. Posted September 15, 2013 at 13:57 | Permalink | Reply

    Lol second

  4. Posted September 15, 2013 at 13:58 | Permalink | Reply

    Plzz add this game to PC

  5. Posted September 15, 2013 at 14:05 | Permalink | Reply

    These are all good news !

    The fact that the new terrain update engine is very complex is a two-edged sword; but I know you’ll be able to make an Excalibur out of it :)

  6. Posted September 15, 2013 at 14:09 | Permalink | Reply

    Don’t worry Kaalus! We all know that you can do it! We love you!

  7. Posted September 15, 2013 at 14:12 | Permalink | Reply

    kaalus I used to have this on my kindle but it broke I am now on a Microsoft surface rt please add survivalcraft on to the store for this I have been reading your posts though seems like your doing good stuff

  8. Posted September 15, 2013 at 14:17 | Permalink | Reply

    Why you add where animals attack each other ,like in the real world :)

  9. Posted September 15, 2013 at 14:25 | Permalink | Reply

    How do you make Sky Block worlds? I really want to know how.:-)

    • Posted September 15, 2013 at 14:28 | Permalink | Reply

      Build a tower of blocks high up and destroy the blocks under the top block of the tower. Then start connecting blocks to that one floating block.

  10. Posted September 15, 2013 at 14:36 | Permalink | Reply

    How do you get rid of the land and water beneath it then?

  11. Posted September 15, 2013 at 14:41 | Permalink | Reply

    I want the land and water gone.

    • Posted September 15, 2013 at 17:34 | Permalink | Reply

      Go to the forums and search for void world or void and a post will come up with a link to a world with no water and one block of bedrock

    • Posted September 15, 2013 at 17:37 | Permalink | Reply

      i made the world called coyote.

  12. Posted September 15, 2013 at 14:42 | Permalink | Reply

    Hi Kaalus, with regards to your last point, what is worrying you about it?

  13. Posted September 15, 2013 at 14:50 | Permalink | Reply

    again can somebody please make a johnsmith texture pack because I don’t know how/device won’t let me

    • Posted September 15, 2013 at 17:57 | Permalink | Reply

      Someone has, go to community content, blocks textures, scroll down until johnsmith 1.22 appears

  14. Posted September 15, 2013 at 14:50 | Permalink | Reply

    Just a comment about the wolves. I play in harmless mode. I just want to explore and craft. The last three worlds I’ve started i end up with a pack of wolves at my front door. They don’t attack but they are in the way. In the real world wolves could not hang around a dwelling. I’m almost ready to give up.

  15. Posted September 15, 2013 at 14:50 | Permalink | Reply

    Painted cobble stond??????

  16. Posted September 15, 2013 at 14:51 | Permalink | Reply

    Hello everyone! Visit my blog by clicking my name :)

  17. 32qazwsx
    Posted September 15, 2013 at 15:27 | Permalink | Reply

    Hey crafter king nice blog, check mine out too. (Click my name) and I’m your first follower I also liked your second post.

  18. blindasascourge
    Posted September 15, 2013 at 15:50 | Permalink | Reply

    Now now Kaalus, why not tone down predator spawns and make it so predators do not attack unless you attack them or annoy them, as in reality.

    Also, please remove the bug where flower items cannot be picked up.

  19. dangercrafter
    Posted September 15, 2013 at 16:11 | Permalink | Reply

    9th

  20. taybloom567
    Posted September 15, 2013 at 16:17 | Permalink | Reply

    Thats awesome kaalus great job :)!!!

  21. Posted September 15, 2013 at 16:37 | Permalink | Reply

    i just updated amazing castle to V. 3.8. I got rid of the center tower and changed it to a king/queen room and added a trap, the king/queen presses the button and the person standing on the trap doors will plummet to their death via long fall into lava. enjoy.

  22. Posted September 15, 2013 at 16:38 | Permalink | Reply

    I still have houses up for grabs, just leave a comment saying you want one

  23. Posted September 15, 2013 at 18:09 | Permalink | Reply

    If you like to explore, the game just really lacks options. There are compasses and magnets of course, but once I have a solid supply of resources? What do I need to explore for? There is nothing out there to truly find; just more of the same rock, sand, and dirt that I already have chestfuls of. The idea of you putting in automatically generated structures really fills me with joy because I have something to go out and look for! Please focus on this! You’ve given the survival-mechanics fans a few things to crunch on…give the people who want to explore an infinite world a turn! Give us a reason to keep chasing the horizon!

    • Posted September 15, 2013 at 18:52 | Permalink | Reply

      Hi Harrison, I totally agree and I’ve written quite a bit over on my blog about the difficulties faced by explorers in SC. Essentially it’s too hard for too little reward and what that leads is exactly what you describe; as soon as you have have a base and a stable flow of resources there is little reason to keep playing which is a huge shame.

      • Posted September 15, 2013 at 19:11 | Permalink | Reply

        Well, I have found the basic “counter” is to simply ALWAYS have a machete handy, and to always check your blind spots before you engage. If you always pick the fights and make sure there aren’t a few wolves behind you? Getting around isn’t too hard…just somewhat involved.

        There still isn’t a reason to do it, however. You CAN do it…but it’s extremely unrewarding. I think this is why so many people are clamoring for NPC, multiplayer, or random buildings…

        This is a great game with a lot of potential…but that potential isn’t being helped by donkeys, boats, and hungrier players.

        • Posted September 15, 2013 at 19:22 | Permalink

          Yup, I can’t agree with you more. Of course this will call down the wrath of the kids upon us as they will see our comments as explicit hatred of Kaalus and all his work, but rising above that it’s important for Kaalus to hear from folks who aren’t clamouring for tamable pets. Villages will be good, as will NPCs if they are ever added but I’m coming to the belief that multiplayer is what the gave needs. MCPE is finally gearing up and will match SC in terms of features in the next few months and then the only thing that will separate them will be the ability to play across the web with friends.

        • Posted September 15, 2013 at 20:00 | Permalink

          For me, I don’t think MC:PE is going to ever be worth it; at seven dollars on the mobile market? They are charging for a name. When I saw how stripped down their mobile offering was, I immediately looked for an alternative. Survivalcraft was the better value by far, and I still stand by that.

          I’d like to see multi, but I can imagine the technological limitations might just be more than a one man team can reasonably deal with; I can respect that. If he’s working towards random buildings and such? I am cool to wait; it’s still the game I use to wind down with while I go to sleep. For that purpose? It’s amazing.

          In the mean time, can’t say I’m looking forward to donkeys, random grass traps, or a more aggressive hunger/sleep system. When an update is coming down the pipe and it will do nothing but worsen my play experience? Can’t say that I’m happy.

        • Posted September 15, 2013 at 20:32 | Permalink

          MCPE is a fiver over here and yeah, that ain’t exactly cheap but in its defense my lad has had a huge amount of fun in it both on his own and, more importantly for us I feel, over Wi-Fi with me. In fact I would gladly ditch every other mobile game I’ve bought for the enjoyment playing MCPE with him (and now my 3yo girl too) has brought. The thing with SC is that it offers a deeper, richer play experience in many ways, but we can’t hook up and build together.

        • Posted September 15, 2013 at 20:47 | Permalink

          I am VERY critical of mobile app prices. With the large number of titles at cheap prices, I pretty much ignore anything that costs more than five dollar.

          I suppose having other people to play with (my and my daughter play Wii games together) would enrich things for me…but this is a solo game for me, so that doesn’t bother me much.

  24. Posted September 15, 2013 at 18:10 | Permalink | Reply

    You know, I really wanted a video showing the grass traps. Well kaalus you are an awesome programmer I hope that this game will keep getting upgrades for a long time

  25. Posted September 15, 2013 at 18:33 | Permalink | Reply

    In the next update please add villagers and villages

  26. Posted September 15, 2013 at 19:46 | Permalink | Reply

    Kaalus, if you are going to make animals more aggressive, can you also make them spawn less frequently? My home is currently surrounded by 30 or more wolves and coyotes. The howling at night is making me crazy, and it’s impossible to go outside after dark. Wolves are fairly rare in the wild, and I feel they should be equally rare in the game.

  27. Posted September 15, 2013 at 23:31 | Permalink | Reply

    Work on structure like: river in midle two mountain and then you need a leader rope for travel that, a waterfall,more creature with diferent roll should be a perfect way of feel a mix.yes the word improvement andadvance litle details gonna expand all more and more! Just a coment!

  28. josmile
    Posted September 16, 2013 at 12:54 | Permalink | Reply

    Fully grown fertilised rye should drop 4-6 pieces. Unfertlised drop 2-3. Only revert to wild rye if the block turns to dirt. I also want the rye to be able to be picked up at a greater. Distance. Single wolf should not attack an animal as big as a cow, perhaps at least four. Collision system needs tweaking,I keep
    hitting cows and horses when taggeting blocks, a few, blocks.

    • Posted September 29, 2013 at 23:22 | Permalink | Reply

      Wow do I agree with this. There is no way that farming is usable or time efficient if you _must_ have a lot of rare resource in order to grow enough to eat.

  29. mrdxn
    Posted September 16, 2013 at 19:24 | Permalink | Reply

    I personally think the hunger and sleep deprivation is perfect like it is. It is just enough to add that challenge without becoming annoying. Right now, if you already start getting sleepy after one night, by the second evening you are screaming to sleep and running the danger of passing out. You HAVE to sleep the second night. I think that is a perfect and realistic balance.

    That being said, I personally love the farming concept but I find it almost more trouble than it’s worth to make a loaf of bread. By the time you do all the soil preparation, bring in water by the buckets,mine the saltpeter to fertilize, plant the rye and let it grow, then all the steps for cooking, including bringing in more water to cook with (which uses a bucket of water for each cook) then after all that you get one loaf of bread, which doesn’t fill you up. I still do most of my food gathering via hunting. Much easier to kill and cook a bird and you get full with just one.

    I do wish pumpkins would drop seeds which could be planted. Then you could either just eat pumpkin (which would take two or three to fill you up) OR you could go to the trouble of cooking them which would produce a pie that would fill you up with just one.

  30. Posted September 30, 2013 at 15:59 | Permalink | Reply

    Add pistons PLEASE!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply. No swearing please.

