Alpha 1.21.7

On certain Android devices the game takes extremely long time to load. Some people reported times of up to 10 minutes, which is just mad.

After collecting a number of such reports I finally pinpointed with some confidence one cheap device that reliably exhibits this problem: a Cyclone Voyager 7″.

CycloneVoyager

It must be said, it’s another cheap Chinese Android tablet, and I don’t recommend buying it. The worst part is the screen – viewing angles are so bad that even when looking straight on, one side of the screen is pink and the other green. It will kill your eyes. And it’s just 800 x 480, which is rather mediocre even on a 4 inch phone these days. Amazingly, it’s pretty fast – I don’t see much performance difference between this thing and Nexus 7, which costs twice as much. But that does not make the screen look any better.

Most importantly, it took good 3 minutes to boot the game! If you’re a dev, that makes you happy :-) Having a reproducible case is always the best.

Some time later I had it figured out. It’s the compilation of the shaders. Survivalcraft 1.21 needlessly compiles a large number of shader variants at startup, even though only a few are used. This is usually not a problem, because it takes just milliseconds on almost all devices (that’s why I haven’t noticed it). But some evil ones, like this Voyager, take a few orders of magnitude longer.

So I put in a fix, and the game now compiles the shaders lazily, only when they are actually needed.

I am now testing the fixed version, which is 1.21.7. I plan to put it on Google Play soon. If you have been experiencing long load times (or just black screen at startup if you’re impatient), please give it a try. One popular device that I suspect also has this problem is Samsung S3 Mini.

Note: this bugfix release will have none of the 1.22 features – 1.22 will arrive when it’s ready (farming is still in progress).

I will let you know when 1.21.7 is out.

 

 

65 Comments

  1. LarnaFox
    Posted June 10, 2013 at 21:40 | Permalink | Reply

    This is why you are a legend, you bother to test out your game on different devices and tell us what you have found. I have an HTC one x and have no trouble at all. Looking forward to the next non bugfix update.

  2. rhys
    Posted June 10, 2013 at 21:44 | Permalink | Reply

    Thank you I have a cyclone voyager and it I very annoying can’t wait to start playing again

    • Posted June 10, 2013 at 22:01 | Permalink | Reply

      No problem. Hope you didn’t take offence when I bashed your device in the post.

      • Hawk Boy
        Posted June 10, 2013 at 22:42 | Permalink | Reply

        Hey, Kaalus, in 1.21.7 are you adding more hearts? Becasue in the screen shot up there it has six heart, when my Survivalcraft on iOS has only four hearts.

        • nice nerdy girl
          Posted June 11, 2013 at 01:23 | Permalink

          That pic was from along time ago Alfa 17 maby

        • Hawk Boy
          Posted June 11, 2013 at 15:16 | Permalink

          Oh yeah. I realize the difference.

      • kylie
        Posted June 10, 2013 at 22:58 | Permalink | Reply

        Hey kaalus when is the next vid?

      • angelique
        Posted June 16, 2013 at 21:32 | Permalink | Reply

        On my kindle fire it wont let me update it any farther I’m stuck at version1.21 please help me Out!!!!!

      • Jonasgwapo15
        Posted June 21, 2013 at 14:58 | Permalink | Reply

        PLEASE make a FREE MODE OR DEMO MODE IN IPOD TOUCH MY CAUSIN SAID YOU HAVE A DEMO BUT HIS GADGET IS IPAD MINI SO HE GET A DEMO MODE BUT IN MY IPOD TOUCH DOESNT EVEN HAVE ANY ONE ONLY SEARCH FULL VERSION PLEASE MAKE A FREE MODE OR DEMO MODE IN IPOD TOUCH PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE

  3. me!!!1
    Posted June 10, 2013 at 21:44 | Permalink | Reply

    Thanks for all the hard work you do kallus. I really enjoy the game that you have made.

  4. Posted June 10, 2013 at 21:51 | Permalink | Reply

    3rd

  5. Iatethebones
    Posted June 10, 2013 at 22:18 | Permalink | Reply

    About when is 1.22 coming out?
    I need to know I am way to excited

    • Nicolas
      Posted June 10, 2013 at 22:22 | Permalink | Reply

      Just wait… Maybe in the end of this month… Or in the end of next month

      • Tastetherainbow
        Posted June 10, 2013 at 22:43 | Permalink | Reply

        Kaalus said that all he had left was farming so that means definitely by the end of this month

        • Tastetherainbow
          Posted June 10, 2013 at 22:44 | Permalink

          That is what I am hoping and depending on

        • Nicolas
          Posted June 11, 2013 at 19:17 | Permalink

          I think he said he left off the boat too, and he didn’t post anything abiut the 2 new animals, that means he is still working…

  6. mark
    Posted June 10, 2013 at 22:19 | Permalink | Reply

    Great tell me when I come on everyday to post comments

  7. Charlie Woodrow
    Posted June 10, 2013 at 22:29 | Permalink | Reply

    Please would you be able to think about merchandise such as ipad/tablet/phone cases for survivalcraft. Would love one :)

  8. me!!!2
    Posted June 10, 2013 at 22:36 | Permalink | Reply

    Wow you are busy as a bee thanks for the work you do

  9. anteye5
    Posted June 10, 2013 at 22:38 | Permalink | Reply

    I admire your attention to problems and not just to complaints about difficulties it helps to better the game and to keep it realistic like. So if there’s a problem as I have yet to see you seem to get right on top of fixing it without a moments hesitation I respect that and hope that it is worth your time.

  10. ash
    Posted June 10, 2013 at 22:45 | Permalink | Reply

    Thanks kaalus. Also,I have a little problem. Ever since I got 1.21,it says I can only have a maximum of 20 worlds. I have about 70 worlds. But,sometimes,I can still download worlds! Also,I think u should put a button on the screen where u select worlds that allows u to delete multiple worlds at once,because it takes me like,5 minutes to delete 3 worlds. This way,with the tool,it’ll be faster to delete worlds. But,as I said in the beginning,it randomly allows me to download worlds,I think this is kinda odd. Do u know why it says I can only have 20 worlds?

    • kylie
      Posted June 10, 2013 at 22:55 | Permalink | Reply

      It does the same with me

    • ash
      Posted June 10, 2013 at 22:56 | Permalink | Reply

      Does this happen to anyone else?

      • nice nerdy girl
        Posted June 11, 2013 at 01:24 | Permalink | Reply

        Yes

  11. kylie
    Posted June 10, 2013 at 22:54 | Permalink | Reply

    Kaalus I know this is a lot of pressure but could u possibly try and get the update out this week , cuz I have to go on vacation for about a month with no WiFi to update it , and since this is literally the only game I play , I need something to do besides sit around and the new update sounds fun so it’ll tease me all month to not have the update. The

    • Cybershepherd
      Posted June 11, 2013 at 18:24 | Permalink | Reply

      Yes please, I can’t wate anymore! But do way u can. :)

      • Cybershepherd
        Posted June 11, 2013 at 18:26 | Permalink | Reply

        I mean wat u can.

    • Jerry Stanley
      Posted June 13, 2013 at 01:19 | Permalink | Reply

      If you don’t have wifi you can’t play anyway least not on my phone

  12. Chay
    Posted June 10, 2013 at 23:07 | Permalink | Reply

    You should be on E3 Kalus! good job!

  13. shadowguru
    Posted June 10, 2013 at 23:08 | Permalink | Reply

    My friend and I eagerly await the release of 1.22. Farming will definitely add a more interesting element to the gameplay, and so will the new animals.

  14. ike123
    Posted June 10, 2013 at 23:10 | Permalink | Reply

    For me it takes 5 seconds

  15. Posted June 10, 2013 at 23:18 | Permalink | Reply

    Hi please check out my forum post http://survivalcraft.lefora.com/2013/06/10/some-of-my-suggestions/

  16. Posted June 10, 2013 at 23:37 | Permalink | Reply

    Minecraft PE will get servers tomorow it will definitely get more players. Right now it has more players than SC. Online multiplayer for SC will take a long time to make so stop hoping. Just face it MCPE is the best. Yes, SC has more stuff but its online multiplayer that gives MCPE the huge advantage. Unless SC gets online multiplayer it will always be behind MCPE.

    • Posted June 11, 2013 at 09:30 | Permalink | Reply

      I’m afraid I have to agree with you there. Playing Multi-Player just makes MCPE so much better than SC.

      • Nicolas
        Posted June 11, 2013 at 19:28 | Permalink | Reply

        You both are wrong, Mcpe just sucks, online multiplayer will change nothing. You have to buy a expensive game wich have nothing to do and after you have to pay for a crap server, to do nothing e.e, why pay for that… We have World of Cubes hahaha. And many players from minecraft just bought it thinking it was like PC version. Now they are angry, cause they see mojang spending 6 months working on an update that add nothing useful, this happen in 0.6.0 too. 4 months to add only the armor and clouds. If you go to comments you can see people saying, “buy the game called survivalcraft, it’s just like the pc version”.

    • Posted June 11, 2013 at 14:45 | Permalink | Reply

      Excuse me, i have both and mcpe are the sh*t.
      The multiplayer didn’t work.

  17. Posted June 10, 2013 at 23:44 | Permalink | Reply

    Thats why Mcpe is 2nd paid on the app store and SC is 6th (as of now)

  18. Posted June 10, 2013 at 23:45 | Permalink | Reply

    Also SC only has a rating of 4/5 stars MCPE has 4.5/5 stars

    • Sir Knight
      Posted June 11, 2013 at 19:21 | Permalink | Reply

      Indeed, the start-up game being developed by one man as a hobby project when he is out of his day job, which started out in the little known platform known as Windows Phone, has equaled the venerable multiplatform franchise with its large development team known as Minecraft. Thank you for reminding us how great Survivalcraft is. Now go back to eating your virtual MCPE cake.

  19. Survivalcraft girl
    Posted June 11, 2013 at 00:02 | Permalink | Reply

    Loading is fine on the Kindle Fire HD. Though I’ve noticed that for a while now the black screen that appears when I open the app is there longer. Not much longer, but long enough to be a little bit annoying.

    P.S.Kaalus you are awesome! I absolutely love the game! Can’t wait for the update!

    • Jack
      Posted June 11, 2013 at 03:01 | Permalink | Reply

      I have this problem with the lite version on my Galaxy Tab 7.7 (GT P6810) with Paranoid Android 3.56. 2+ minutes… I’m going to buy the premium version of it still though. I can test bugfixes if you need…..

      Jack

  20. Posted June 11, 2013 at 00:06 | Permalink | Reply

    No online multiplayer? Back to Mcpe..

  21. Cybershepherd
    Posted June 11, 2013 at 05:57 | Permalink | Reply

    Hay Kaalus I hope u r reading this. I love this game, I ply it everyday. I think it would be awesome if u add a new weapon in this update, I was thinking a bow. I would love that, it’s something I would use alot. So if u can that would be cool. P.s nice work, u are doing a great job so far with this game keep it up, overall this is my favorite game.

    • chris
      Posted June 13, 2013 at 02:35 | Permalink | Reply

      I can t deny that I love this game

  22. me!!!2
    Posted June 11, 2013 at 15:05 | Permalink | Reply

    A bow would be cool

  23. chris
    Posted June 11, 2013 at 23:49 | Permalink | Reply

    Hey kaalus I have a request. In alpha 1.22 can you also add dolpins please

  24. jujuhi
    Posted June 11, 2013 at 23:56 | Permalink | Reply

    for some reason every time I go on my dads windows phone 7 it takes a long time to load and one world just shows generating terrain
    was up with that?

  25. Cool beans
    Posted June 12, 2013 at 08:55 | Permalink | Reply

    Is their anyone you can contact to build multiplayer? Why not spend some time to find someone or do you not trust anyone with your game?

  26. Molly Burdett
    Posted June 12, 2013 at 18:43 | Permalink | Reply

    So glad I don’t have one of them lol I have a samung galaxy tab 2 it only takes a minute to load so how the next update going (the one with the orca’s in :) )

  27. vinzswell
    Posted June 14, 2013 at 10:13 | Permalink | Reply

    my cousin shouldn’tbhavr bought it

  28. sirt
    Posted June 18, 2013 at 18:25 | Permalink | Reply

    Is 1.22 for kindle Fire out yet????

  29. Posted June 20, 2013 at 11:51 | Permalink | Reply

    I hope they add an item that when you have equipped emits light instantly not like torches that needs to be put .
    I need that kind of item cause i like playing with 0 brightness .

  30. Posted June 23, 2013 at 19:31 | Permalink | Reply

    PLEASE MAKE THE SKY’S MORE INTERESTING PLEASE. LIKE ,PUT IN DRAGONS AND BIRDS OF PREY.

  31. me
    Posted June 25, 2013 at 06:34 | Permalink | Reply

    Hey Kaalus, any chance you could rope so we could rope the wild horses instead of having to put a saddle or pester them into a pen or in the direction you want to go.

    • whitestripe
      Posted June 27, 2013 at 04:54 | Permalink | Reply

      Hey kaalus can u by any chance think about making the game for ps3?

  32. Cameron Moses
    Posted June 26, 2013 at 17:44 | Permalink | Reply

    You guys should really put some type of mechanical car in Survivalcraft. It takes a while to move around on foot and on animals.A car that we can either build or use would really help us get around. Please, Please, Please!!!!!!!!!!!!

  33. Sinester
    Posted July 5, 2013 at 11:47 | Permalink | Reply

    Optimize controls for Xperia Play,Sony ericsson.Maybe?…..

Leave a Reply. No swearing please.

