1.21.1 Is Coming

I’ve been monitoring your comments, emails and the forum after publishing 1.21.0. It’s great to have so many testers, thank you!

So far, I can see you found two serious issues with 1.21.0:

  1. Random freezes reported on multiple devices
  2. The fences bug is still there

#2, the fences bug. It’s really silly on my part. If you remember my old post, while working on coal blocks some time ago I found a lot of issues with terrain updates. These were causing random blocks disappearances, coal blocks would get put out, black lines would appear across the landscape, and (as I thought) the fences problem. Back then, I have drilled to the bottom of it and fixed the underlying cause. I was so happy about it (it was big) that I only tested it on coal blocks and ticked it off as done!

Now, after you told me 1.21 still has the fences issue, I had a second look and I found that, actually, the fences problem was caused by something else. Fortunately much more benign :-) It’s a single-line change to fix it. The issue must have been present since the fences were added, back in time immemorial.

One niggle is you will have to rebuild the glitched sections of fences – i.e. they will not get fixed automatically. But once you do it, they should no longer break. Alternative way to fix it is to place or remove a block next to the glitched fence. That should fix it as well.

Now for the #1, freezing bug. This is one of these nightmarish ones that will make me wake up in the middle of the night sweating. And get a lot of gray hairs. I can’t see anything that could cause it, neither have I come across it while testing on my 10+ different Android devices. It looks very much like the hardware-related random crash/freeze that used to occur on Nexus 10 only, but now extended to all devices. In short, a terrifying prospect! I have one backup plan – roll back one of the libraries I use to the previous version (as used in 1.20) and see if that helps.

I also found several small issues: wires sticking inside of lightbulbs, too frequent footstep sounds when walking and incomplete whistle description in Recipaedia.

I am now going to release 1.21.1, which contains all the above changes. Please keep testing!

55 Comments

  1. jriot10
    Posted April 18, 2013 at 03:24 | Permalink | Reply

    My Galaxy Note 2 has not frozen yet and i have played it for a while.

    • Posted April 18, 2013 at 21:03 | Permalink | Reply

      Why has It not come out on my kindle yet!!!!!!! The best game ever. Called survival craft

      • cole
        Posted April 19, 2013 at 08:14 | Permalink | Reply

        I can’t get the update either on my kindle:(

      • flora
        Posted April 23, 2013 at 18:45 | Permalink | Reply

        I no it has not come up on mine ether !!!!!

  2. Marlon Neveu
    Posted April 18, 2013 at 03:24 | Permalink | Reply

    Good job on the bug fixes Kaalus! Any news on Apple side?

  3. dante
    Posted April 18, 2013 at 03:25 | Permalink | Reply

    First, also kaalus will 1.21.1 come with Amazon next week, or much later?

  4. dante
    Posted April 18, 2013 at 03:26 | Permalink | Reply

    Make that 3rd lol

  5. Posted April 18, 2013 at 03:27 | Permalink | Reply

    Thanks kaalus. That fence bug is really bugging me. *no pun intended* also what about the water bucket not working?

    • Charity
      Posted April 18, 2013 at 07:47 | Permalink | Reply

      Did you use the bucket on the sorce block?

  6. felipe isidoro
    Posted April 18, 2013 at 03:29 | Permalink | Reply

    Never mind kaalus I think cause 1.21 came out and I got it early maybe was adaption to it so now doesnt crashes anymore is fine for my samsung galaxy attain

  7. scrafter
    Posted April 18, 2013 at 03:32 | Permalink | Reply

    kaalus this will fix also disappearing lamps?
    http://survivalcraft.lefora.com/2012/12/23/electric-elements-bug-lamplever-ang-graphic-glitch/#post2

    • scrafter
      Posted April 18, 2013 at 03:44 | Permalink | Reply

      i noticed actually they do not disappear, they detach from the block?

      http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/832/survivalcraft2013041804.jpg/

      this happend when i reload world

    • Posted April 18, 2013 at 03:55 | Permalink | Reply

      The disappearing lamps issue was most likely due to the massive terrain update bug – all fixed in 1.21.

      • scrafter
        Posted April 18, 2013 at 04:11 | Permalink | Reply

        not fixed, its still happen i tested this while ago. Replaced the lightbulbs, I flew a little around my world , restart level and lamps are gone… i have 1.21 :(
        but this happen only with those 2 lamps on my entire world

        i sent u my world so u can look at this yourself.

        i have this bug from begining since i bought the game(the version that you added electricity).

        • scrafter
          Posted April 18, 2013 at 04:41 | Permalink

          SORRY Kaalus.
          I replaced the entire block with lamps not lamp only and after several test its look like it doesnt disappear anymore! :)

        • scrafter
          Posted April 18, 2013 at 04:49 | Permalink

          ok UNFORTUNATELY I was wrong. Lightbulbs still detach the block but only when they are powered!

        • Posted April 18, 2013 at 04:57 | Permalink

          Thanks for the world. I can’t get the lamps to disappear yet, but using your map I found another problem with electricity that might be indirectly causing it and it’s 100% reproducible. So already something to do for 1.21.2. The problem is in the very bowels of the electricity code, I’ll look at it tomorrow. Time to go to sleep…

  8. dragon
    Posted April 18, 2013 at 03:37 | Permalink | Reply

    How much time until it comes out?

  9. Posted April 18, 2013 at 03:39 | Permalink | Reply

    THANK YOU! FINALLY I’LL BE ABLE TO FINISH THE MAP I’M MAKING!

  10. Posted April 18, 2013 at 03:43 | Permalink | Reply

    My Samsung galaxy tab 2 7.0 is having both the fence bug and the freezing bug, oh and sometimes when I go far away for a long Time, my animals (horses, camels and giraffes) disappear :-[

    • Posted April 18, 2013 at 03:47 | Permalink | Reply

      Maybe the animals were secret spies.And went on a mission when you left.. It might be A bug….I’m just using my imagination… -_-

      • crazy builder
        Posted April 18, 2013 at 04:00 | Permalink | Reply

        That is quite the imagination

    • Posted April 18, 2013 at 03:58 | Permalink | Reply

      1.21.1 is out, please download and check whether it freezes as well. It would be very useful if you could tell me where in the game is it freezing most often. Even better, if you could get a repeatable freeze (i.e. you know what to do to make it freeze 100% of the time).

      • julia
        Posted April 18, 2013 at 16:04 | Permalink | Reply

        I have a alarm that goes off if im playing while it goes offvit will interrupt the game so I can turn it off but when I go back to the game it blue screens and if I press the back button it brings me to the pause menu but then the pause menus black same with calls no big deal I just have to exit and re- enter

    • Charity
      Posted April 18, 2013 at 07:52 | Permalink | Reply

      Www man you just spoiled the new animal :(

  11. Posted April 18, 2013 at 03:45 | Permalink | Reply

    I cant find any bugs.I do not have it yet..But if there are more bugs when I get it.I will tell you right away….

    Sent from my Kindle Fire

    • Posted April 18, 2013 at 03:54 | Permalink | Reply

      Hi Olivia,

      Thank you, I hope you read my posts and understand why Google Play folks get it first. To get the game on the Kindle requires going through a lengthy certification process. Once I publish it there, I can’t change anything until it’s approved or rejected. With Google Play, I have full freedom of publishing at any time, and everyone can download it within hours.

      Don’t worry, Kindle will get it as well, and probably soon. 1.21 definitely works fine on my test Kindle Fire :-)

      • crazy builder
        Posted April 18, 2013 at 03:59 | Permalink | Reply

        That’s good news; I can’t wait much longer ;)

      • Posted April 18, 2013 at 03:59 | Permalink | Reply

        When will the update come for windows phone?

        • Posted April 18, 2013 at 04:09 | Permalink

          Roughly the same time as the Kindle. We had two certification races between Microsoft and Amazon so far. It’s 1:1 (Amazon won once and Microsoft once).

      • Posted April 18, 2013 at 22:35 | Permalink | Reply

        Thank you kaalus.You just made my day.I will be patient…And when I get the update.IL TELL U RIGHT AWAY!! I will do anything for you and Survivalcraft.

      • Posted April 18, 2013 at 22:37 | Permalink | Reply

        Ps..I’m sorry but when you explain the fixed bugs I ignore it.And skip it.. :(

        I’m sorry

  12. Vitneskja
    Posted April 18, 2013 at 03:54 | Permalink | Reply

    I really like the new update. Its quite a blast riding on a horse in creative. I have noticed something else, however. The first time I put my saddle on a horse and killed the horse (I found one the color I actually wanted), I got the saddle back. The second time, I didn’t. Was this meant to be? I don’t really know. So I’ll leave that to the rest of the commenting community… :)

    • julia
      Posted April 18, 2013 at 15:55 | Permalink | Reply

      yeah once I put a horse in a small fenced in area and it died right away and gave the saddle back

  13. jahreek clarke
    Posted April 18, 2013 at 03:54 | Permalink | Reply

    When is window phone getting the update?

    Sent from my Windows Phone ________________________________

  14. Liza
    Posted April 18, 2013 at 03:59 | Permalink | Reply

    Whew, was that record comments in 1.21 is Coming?

  15. wes
    Posted April 18, 2013 at 04:02 | Permalink | Reply

    hey there. i have a galaxy tab 2. i have had freezing issues with 1.20 and 1.21 in fly mode while coming up out of water. any ideas?

  16. Michael
    Posted April 18, 2013 at 04:05 | Permalink | Reply

    The frezzing part that I in counter was just it took about min and sum seconds to open the new 1.21 up but after that everything was fine :-) . Though the stares still makes the survival man jerk when stepping up to many in a roll.

  17. AK
    Posted April 18, 2013 at 04:08 | Permalink | Reply

    When is the update gonna be released for wp8

    • Posted April 18, 2013 at 04:19 | Permalink | Reply

      By the end of the week probably

      • AK
        Posted April 18, 2013 at 07:38 | Permalink | Reply

        Sweet!! Thanks for the info

  18. Posted April 18, 2013 at 05:48 | Permalink | Reply

    Hi Kaalus. Do you know what day the update for kindle comes out. Thanx.

  19. lolmoth
    Posted April 18, 2013 at 08:02 | Permalink | Reply

    Why don’t u bring it out for kindle all ready

    • julia
      Posted April 18, 2013 at 15:52 | Permalink | Reply

      HE GAVE IT TO KINDLE BUT AMAZON IS TESTING TO SEE IF THEY WANT IT

  20. Matthew
    Posted April 18, 2013 at 10:08 | Permalink | Reply

    Hi kaalus how do I use photodiode I put it connected to a bulb but it never works lol

  21. Posted April 18, 2013 at 13:43 | Permalink | Reply

    Theres a bug where sound will dissapear and i have to restart my phone..android samsung galaxy w i8150

  22. julia
    Posted April 18, 2013 at 15:50 | Permalink | Reply

    the buckets only work in survival

  23. ET
    Posted April 18, 2013 at 20:01 | Permalink | Reply

    How do I make my own texture pack?

  24. horses
    Posted April 20, 2013 at 22:50 | Permalink | Reply

    When will the new version of survival craft come out on the kindle fire HD

  25. Posted April 22, 2013 at 22:55 | Permalink | Reply

    when is the new version for kindle fire????? i want to no please tell us.

  26. Posted April 22, 2013 at 23:00 | Permalink | Reply

    when is it coming for kindle fire what day 23 tell me what day please

  27. Tia
    Posted June 11, 2013 at 04:10 | Permalink | Reply

    I can’t use spawn eggs in creative! How am I suppose to finish my zoo??!!!

  28. angelique
    Posted July 6, 2013 at 20:30 | Permalink | Reply

    Hey I haven’t been able to update Survivalcraft 1.21 on my kindle fire! O_O for like days. So I am gonna say this nicely.
    Please make the update of Survivalcraft 1.22 work on all kindle fires. I’m speaking for the kindle fire people here. :) Please reply if u get this message.

  29. angelique
    Posted July 6, 2013 at 20:38 | Permalink | Reply

    Oh I for got and on my kindle fire kaalus I Am EAGER to have version 1.22 of survivalcraft on my kindle fire….. HAVE U FORGOTTEN ABOUT THE KINDLE FIRE’S? ??? Just sayin……. ok just please Kaalus make version 1.22 work on kindle fire’s that also means mine ok. Ive been trying sence april 2013 btw. Ill be waiting for the update in July 8 2013. Thanks buh bye. :) :) :)

Leave a Reply. No swearing please.

