Community Content Issues – Continued

Ok, I start to get the big picture. It seems that the problem is limited to Windows Phone 7 devices. Windows Phone 8, Androids, Kindles are fine. of course, you may have different issues on these, but they are something else and don’t affect all of the downloads all of the time.

Please keep letting me know whether you cannot download any community content (worlds or block textures), even though your phone has a working internet connection. Please try downloading several items before posting a comment, preferably from the top of the list. If you get the same error “cannot open as zip file” for all worlds it’s this problem.

I have traced the issue to the fact that several days ago Dropbox servers have silently changed the way they are handling public links. Instead of giving you the resource, you are getting a HTTP 302 response (redirection), and have to download from another address. Network stacks on Android and Windows Phone 8 seem to handle this redirection OK, as it’s supposed to be. But on Windows Phone 7 the stack is flaky and redirections don’t work. Instead of the resource (i.e. the world or blocks texture data), the game gets some HTML with human readable text. It then tries to unpack it (thinking it’s a scworld file), but of course this fails. That’s why you’re seeing these errors.

If this turns out true, I will have to make a special workaround for WP7 in 1.21.

 

72 Comments

  1. Ethan
    Posted April 13, 2013 at 17:39 | Permalink | Reply

    Yes. I have a windows 7.5 lumia 900 and have this problem. Kaalus, what do you use to code the game?

    I need it for a game in making

    • nosyrbllewe
      Posted April 14, 2013 at 00:20 | Permalink | Reply

      He uses XNA /C# and then MonoGame to port the game. I don’t advise making a new game in XNA though, because Microsoft is starting to abandon it and moving on to other engines. What is your target platform? I would advise moving on to WP8 / Windows 8 if you don’t plan to already, but that is just my opinion.

    • jamall
      Posted April 14, 2013 at 10:19 | Permalink | Reply

      Probably a sandbox engine like the rest

  2. Posted April 13, 2013 at 17:39 | Permalink | Reply

    I don’t have it on my Kindle Fire.

  3. Schazam!
    Posted April 13, 2013 at 17:41 | Permalink | Reply

    Any news from apple?

  4. Marlon Neveu
    Posted April 13, 2013 at 17:41 | Permalink | Reply

    Okey Kaalus!! I’ll ask AGAIN! HAS APPLE SUBMITTED SURVIVALCRAFT YET??????

    Sent from my iPhone

    • Schazam!
      Posted April 13, 2013 at 18:12 | Permalink | Reply

      If not I’m going to march to Cupertino and make them review it

      • Posted April 13, 2013 at 21:37 | Permalink | Reply

        IF not I will Destroy apple store until they Say “Survivalcraft is a good game.Who cares if its alpha its not an illegal copy of Mcpe..we’ll release it right away”..then Everything is back to normal except for Sc Cause ITS 1.21 WOO HOO…What..I know it sounds crazy but at least. 1.21 will come

  5. Arch-Vile
    Posted April 13, 2013 at 17:52 | Permalink | Reply

    On my Nexus 7, I haven’t got this problem…

  6. Robofighter1000
    Posted April 13, 2013 at 17:58 | Permalink | Reply

    Why wait for apple if you are done 1.21 I gave to agree with marlon

  7. liam
    Posted April 13, 2013 at 18:00 | Permalink | Reply

    Its because the new update has just come out and they need to update and it will work again

  8. Benjamin Scantling
    Posted April 13, 2013 at 18:02 | Permalink | Reply

    sometimes my game crashes right after I download a map. But when I restart the game I’m fine and the map is avalible on my worlds. I am running on a Samsung Galaxy s3 Jellybean 4.1.2

  9. Goran Josic
    Posted April 13, 2013 at 18:26 | Permalink | Reply

    I hope this problem will not extend the release of version 1.21??! :D :D

  10. hunter
    Posted April 13, 2013 at 18:32 | Permalink | Reply

    I have a Wp7 focus original.

  11. Link
    Posted April 13, 2013 at 18:46 | Permalink | Reply

    Thanks kaalus

  12. Ellie Von Sweetz
    Posted April 13, 2013 at 18:49 | Permalink | Reply

    About how long till the update? It looks awesome!!! You’ve do a fantastic job on the game!!! Thanks!

    • Kitkat the Kittycat
      Posted April 14, 2013 at 00:53 | Permalink | Reply

      As soon as Apple accepts SurvivalCraft my friend. ;) And if Apple doesn’t accept soon, they will be welcomed by a hoard of SurvivalCraft fans holding clubs and torches. In other words, ACCEPT APPLE!!!

  13. blob10
    Posted April 13, 2013 at 18:53 | Permalink | Reply

    Ok, thanks kaalus

  14. ash
    Posted April 13, 2013 at 18:55 | Permalink | Reply

    Can u make a copper whistle?

  15. a fan
    Posted April 13, 2013 at 19:54 | Permalink | Reply

    Can you try getting survival craft updates int the yandex app store because I realy like this game but can’t get any major apstores that might have this on my device

  16. big fan
    Posted April 13, 2013 at 20:27 | Permalink | Reply

    i dont hef that problem

    • Carson
      Posted April 13, 2013 at 21:42 | Permalink | Reply

      BIG FAN learn how to spell

      • A Girl named Kennedy
        Posted April 14, 2013 at 04:20 | Permalink | Reply

        Stfu

  17. candyrufusgamermaster
    Posted April 13, 2013 at 20:30 | Permalink | Reply

    I HAVE THIS PROBLEM ON MY KINDLE AND YOU SAY ITS FINE!?!?!?

    • ausome guy
      Posted April 14, 2013 at 00:28 | Permalink | Reply

      I have this problem on my android.

  18. chawas survivalover
    Posted April 13, 2013 at 20:54 | Permalink | Reply

    I just realized that if I have that problem with my lumia 610 with Windows Phone 7.5 but do not understand if a week ago download several worlds and then delete them because I did not like.
    kaalus incidentally, apple accept the game?

  19. Posted April 13, 2013 at 21:24 | Permalink | Reply

    On a different note, how/where can you make a texture pack?

  20. Posted April 13, 2013 at 21:24 | Permalink | Reply

    On a different note, how/where can you make a texture pack?

    • Posted April 13, 2013 at 21:25 | Permalink | Reply

      Sorry, didn’t mean to post it twice. :-I

    • Posted April 13, 2013 at 21:31 | Permalink | Reply

      You go to Files/tenical something…And you go to Texture packs.You might find something that brings you up to a photo of the Default Texture.You can edit it…Hope this helps..WARNING: THIS ONLY WORKS ON A LAPTOP OR A COMPUTER..DOES NOT WORK ON PHONES,IPADS,KINDLES OR ANY TRAVEL DEVICE..!! Sorry if it looks like I’m yelling

  21. blob10
    Posted April 13, 2013 at 21:51 | Permalink | Reply

    Blob was here

    :P

  22. Posted April 13, 2013 at 22:02 | Permalink | Reply

    Hi kaalus I have this problem ,it’s says “cannot read that as a zip file ” .for textures and worlds ,I have a HTC Titan windows 7 :(

  23. Cruse
    Posted April 13, 2013 at 22:23 | Permalink | Reply

    Can u please release the update already. Its driving me crazy. It seems like months scince the last update……wait it was

  24. ET
    Posted April 13, 2013 at 22:34 | Permalink | Reply

    i was wandering around in a snow biome and i found a bull that had a white body with grey horns. it acted like a normal bull by attacking me when i hurt it and when i killed it it gave me raw bacon like a normal bull. is this a glitch? if so please look into it kaalus. anyone else seen this?

    • Schazam!
      Posted April 14, 2013 at 01:26 | Permalink | Reply

      Yes, there is an extremely rare chance of finding a white bull very far from the spawn point. Count yourself lucky you’ve seen one, as you can’t spawn them:)

  25. pamparampam
    Posted April 13, 2013 at 23:03 | Permalink | Reply

    kaalus i just want to say that i love those blue particles showing up when wolves are changing at full moon. Please use them more somewhere in the game!

  26. caitlin
    Posted April 13, 2013 at 23:36 | Permalink | Reply

    Sometimes when.wolves are captive and they turn into WEREWOLVES, one of them acts like a ghost and goes through then solid wall. My Kindle keyboard is so annoying.the grammar mistakes are the kindle’s fault.

  27. daniel
    Posted April 14, 2013 at 00:13 | Permalink | Reply

    would you just get that over with and release it, I dont have anymore patience.

  28. Preston
    Posted April 14, 2013 at 00:25 | Permalink | Reply

    And another u should add some portals and other worlds like nether on minecraft, I like how u take our suggestion to judgement but I do not want to see u fail trust me at this rate minecraft would be begging you to buy them but just listen to this advice

  29. Jarrod Deathclap
    Posted April 14, 2013 at 00:32 | Permalink | Reply

    Please add vampires and people whenever you can.

  30. felipe isidoro
    Posted April 14, 2013 at 00:56 | Permalink | Reply

    To tell kaalus everything is working fine on my samsung galaxy attain I can donwload both items like worlds and block textures everything is perfect

  31. felipe isidoro
    Posted April 14, 2013 at 01:00 | Permalink | Reply

    Hey guys if u want to support kaalus tell him about issues that u have and share this game with people so this game will get popular and beat minecraft pocket edition

    • MusicFamily
      Posted April 14, 2013 at 01:33 | Permalink | Reply

      Agree ;-)

    • pamparampam
      Posted April 14, 2013 at 03:33 | Permalink | Reply

      i post about this game everywhere when i can lol :D
      i made a topic on toucharcade in upcoming game section

  32. Flavioso
    Posted April 14, 2013 at 02:03 | Permalink | Reply

    No problem on my Nokia 920 :)

  33. ssolrac
    Posted April 14, 2013 at 02:37 | Permalink | Reply

    Using my HTC Arrive (Windows 7.5) I’m getting the “cannot open as zip file” error for worlds and then “an unexpected error has occured” for block textures

  34. Kitkat the Kittycat
    Posted April 14, 2013 at 03:56 | Permalink | Reply

    “The server returned an error (500) Internal server error. 500 internal server error
    The server has either been erred or is incapable of preforming the requested operation.”
    This appeared when I tried to go to the community content area. This isn’t the first time its happened, and I’m on android phone, so I’m kinda confused. Has anyone else been having this problem? Also, after a while it stops for a bit, but the error is quite frequent.

    • firewolfiegames
      Posted April 14, 2013 at 04:26 | Permalink | Reply

      Oh I get that and my internet is fine,

  35. samuel
    Posted April 14, 2013 at 04:11 | Permalink | Reply

    I keep getting international server error it says my device is android Acer 500

  36. maddieboo
    Posted April 14, 2013 at 04:18 | Permalink | Reply

    When I try to download community contert it says error on it and nothing will show up!!!!!!!

  37. firewolfiegames
    Posted April 14, 2013 at 04:25 | Permalink | Reply

    Hey anyone else building roads and stables for horses?

    • MusicFamily
      Posted April 14, 2013 at 04:43 | Permalink | Reply

      I had build a house with a ranch and an another world with a training track, but I can’t upload it because it doesn’t work :-( I am using galaxy 3, but I can’t submit or download the scworld file to my device….

    • hugzandsnogz
      Posted April 14, 2013 at 10:18 | Permalink | Reply

      yeah I have built a stable and for the new fishes I’ve built an aquarium

      • maddieboo
        Posted April 14, 2013 at 19:37 | Permalink | Reply

        I’m building a whole zoo with all the new creatures

    • Lowel
      Posted April 14, 2013 at 20:28 | Permalink | Reply

      I built a Stable with everything from Roping to Racing. I can’t publish it yet, After 1.21 it will be my 3rd Update :D

  38. no name
    Posted April 14, 2013 at 05:26 | Permalink | Reply

    When going on the community content thing, I get a pop up that says “internal server error”. It hasn’t worked since I checked up on it today.

  39. dani boros
    Posted April 14, 2013 at 08:00 | Permalink | Reply

    I can not enter community content because ther is something error: the remote server returned an error:Not found

    It is on my lumia 800

    • hugzandsnogz
      Posted April 14, 2013 at 10:17 | Permalink | Reply

      My problem is ‘cannot read as a zipfile’ on my Nokia luma 900 please sort it out soon! :D

  40. Kevin
    Posted April 14, 2013 at 10:19 | Permalink | Reply

    Yes I go to the download and I click it and nothing happens :/
    I am on an Andriod

  41. Posted April 14, 2013 at 13:06 | Permalink | Reply

    I am having the same troubles with my kindle Fire

  42. mantonio55
    Posted April 14, 2013 at 17:41 | Permalink | Reply

    My Samsung Focus S is doing the zip file thing

  43. Lowel
    Posted April 14, 2013 at 20:24 | Permalink | Reply

    I’ve tried 8 Times and I was only able to download 1 texture pack.
    – Nokia Lumia 900

    • Posted April 14, 2013 at 21:47 | Permalink | Reply

      The 1 texture pack you downloaded was probably hosted outside of Dropbox

  44. Posted April 14, 2013 at 22:56 | Permalink | Reply

    please kaalus can u adminecarts and boats? please respond i dont care ifu dont add it your game your choice

    • scott
      Posted April 20, 2013 at 03:04 | Permalink | Reply

      Ya I really want those to!!!!!!

  45. fej
    Posted April 16, 2013 at 01:49 | Permalink | Reply

    thanks kaalus for the work on the wp7 problem. cant wait for the fix

  46. kylie
    Posted April 16, 2013 at 02:12 | Permalink | Reply

    Hi kaalus I have an issue on my kindle fire which is when I turn the game on the notes that say welcome to survival craft 1.20 are all black and there’s no letters. Also, it happens when I go to community content and I can’t see the names of the world’s. Thanks

  47. tyler tom
    Posted May 31, 2013 at 21:23 | Permalink | Reply

    Hey, i have a problem with the game, when i start up everything is alright, until i look at the letter and numbers about my inventory items. They are boxes like the sprite is missing or something, i cant tell how much i have left of any items, or the name of them, when i reinstalled its fine, but if i restart the game and begin, the letters and numbers disappear into those boxes…whats going on here? Im on a galaxy tab 10.1

  48. Distressed gamer
    Posted June 18, 2013 at 22:34 | Permalink | Reply

    Is there something I’m missing? I downloaded Survival Craft for the Kindle but can’t apply any of the video instructions to my world. I’m not sure if I just have a different version or what. I need help.

Leave a Reply. No swearing please.

