Signs bug

I am getting reports that sometimes it’s not possible to type text on signs.

I have never seen that happen on any of my devices, and the reports I’ve seen are too vague so far for me to identify the issue.

If you experienced this problem, can you please tell me (via email or in the comments):

  • What device do you have and which version of Android is it running?
  • What exactly happens when you click on the sign and try to type some text?

I want to fix that for 1.21.

I will also soon have a look at the stairs sticking bug, someone mentioned that in only happens below terrain level, never above. This rings a bell, I’ve fixed a similar bug about a year ago, maybe it’s come back?

[EDIT]

Thank you for all the replies – these bugs are now fixed :-)

72 Comments

  1. rockgod420
    Posted February 25, 2013 at 16:39 | Permalink | Reply

    Can you please fix the bug with fence sections disappearing. Other members have now also reported it in the bug section.

    • Nicolas
      Posted February 25, 2013 at 18:13 | Permalink | Reply

      I have this bug too

      • Mag
        Posted February 25, 2013 at 21:07 | Permalink | Reply

        Me three.

        • shaun
          Posted February 26, 2013 at 04:26 | Permalink

          As do i

        • Posted March 14, 2013 at 08:48 | Permalink

          Minecraft

    • Posted February 26, 2013 at 07:57 | Permalink | Reply

      Me 100
      I experienced this bug for a long time,replacing the fence or puttong torch,lightbulbs,spiked planks,etc should fix it

    • andythomma11
      Posted March 23, 2013 at 11:30 | Permalink | Reply

      Yeah that is a bug however I can NEVER write on signs NEVER !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
      And I’m p!ss3d off by it !

      • andythomma11
        Posted March 23, 2013 at 11:33 | Permalink | Reply

        Its not sometimes its all the time ALL the time.
        When I click line one or any line it just doesn’t work

  2. SCRAFTER
    Posted February 25, 2013 at 16:59 | Permalink | Reply

    i have this bug

    how to reproduce:
    click the sign
    click line 1 (or2.3.4..)
    ENTER SIGN LINE WILL POP UP
    click to write something
    write something and pressback

    Now if u click “ok”, evrything will be normal
    but if u dont click “ok” or “cancel” and use “device (or onscreen) android BACK” button, then u cant write no more on the signs

    im on htc one x, android 4.1.1 stock unroteed

    • Sancroff
      Posted February 25, 2013 at 17:27 | Permalink | Reply

      Reproduced on Nexus 7 running 4.2.2 (stock). Quitting and reloading the world doesn’t restore text entry but fortunately swiping Survivalcraft out of the task list does (full app restart).

      • a6809936
        Posted February 25, 2013 at 17:55 | Permalink | Reply

        The same on my HTC DESIRE VC Android4.0.3 ,but it will be fixed when i restart the game.

        • Willem
          Posted February 26, 2013 at 19:40 | Permalink

          Same here on Medion Lifetab P9514 ICS 4.0.3 . Bug occurs when text on sign is cancelled instead of ‘ok’ at the first time. After that screen for sign-text input will not show text. Restarting game and enter text –> Ok in one go saves text on sign properly.

    • crc1985
      Posted February 25, 2013 at 19:36 | Permalink | Reply

      Same as above to reproduce. HTC vivid
      Android 4.0.3

    • Robofighter1000
      Posted February 26, 2013 at 15:58 | Permalink | Reply

      I have the same problem but if I don’t type any thing and hit ok it will not let me edit any signs.
      I have the Kindle Fire First Generation

  3. Sancroff
    Posted February 25, 2013 at 17:35 | Permalink | Reply

    Kaalus, let me know if you need more details about the stair-climbing bug. Sounds like you already have a grasp on it.

    • Sancroff
      Posted February 25, 2013 at 18:33 | Permalink | Reply

      For easy reproducibility of the stair-climbing issue, use 30 fps. At least that’s true on my Nexus 7. It doesn’t seem as common with unlimited frame rate as it was in previous releases (before you added the rate limiter).

  4. Mag
    Posted February 25, 2013 at 18:33 | Permalink | Reply

    I’ve had the stair bug happen to me, but not the sign bug. I’m on a WP7.

  5. zach
    Posted February 25, 2013 at 18:50 | Permalink | Reply

    Cant wait for the update. Well obviously i can because im waiting, but that’s not the point.

  6. Runesten
    Posted February 25, 2013 at 20:03 | Permalink | Reply

    Maybe it lag.

  7. Dave
    Posted February 25, 2013 at 21:07 | Permalink | Reply

    Hi Kaalus,
    I get this problem too, but only sometimes. And it happens above ground as well. I just turn the game off then on again then its fine. I have a galaxy ace 2 running 2.3.6 gingerbread. But i really do stress that it is random.

    • bar-tech
      Posted February 26, 2013 at 07:42 | Permalink | Reply

      My too sometimes but so far only underground. My device is Samsung galaxy s3 running android 4.2.
      If it happens, you can’t edit text lines and can’t go back to the game, I always had to restart the game to make it work.

    • Posted February 26, 2013 at 07:54 | Permalink | Reply

      If you ask me,everywhere(the stairs climbing)!Sorry,but i am a kid so i cant identify my device.So i used slabs to hide the bug.
      I experienced the NO WRITING ON SIGNS bug just once.
      I forgot why coz it happened long time ago.
      How will the aquatic animal’s spawners work kaalus?

  8. Parker Young
    Posted February 25, 2013 at 23:21 | Permalink | Reply

    More mobs kaalus…
    Survivalcraft needs more mobs, the mobs are mostly animals.

    Oh yeah… What about farming?

  9. K.night
    Posted February 26, 2013 at 00:27 | Permalink | Reply

    Farming Would Be Cool, But Just Wondering When Should the Update Be Out?
    And Lets Keep It SC NOT MCPE or MC

    • Parker Young
      Posted February 26, 2013 at 01:06 | Permalink | Reply

      I’m guessing at the end of March the update will come out.

      • Posted February 26, 2013 at 07:55 | Permalink | Reply

        I am hoping in mid march so after my school test,i can play SC like crazy

  10. Andrey
    Posted February 26, 2013 at 04:58 | Permalink | Reply

    Why stairs can be removed by wayer???

  11. yelihp
    Posted February 26, 2013 at 05:59 | Permalink | Reply

    Device: Samsung Galaxy S Plus ( GT-I9001 ) [1,8Ghz]
    Android Version: Unofficial Slimbean 4.1.2
    Memory: 369mb

    For me sometimes the Kexboard wont appear in the Vame but maybe its because i use Hacker’s Keyboard or because Android kills some apps in background when my Ram have no space left.. since i flashd new Kernel with arm7 and Snapdragon optimizations + BigMem Patch i didnt experienced that anymore.

  12. great man great man
    Posted February 26, 2013 at 10:36 | Permalink | Reply

    Often when i want to write something on the plate it isn’t opened

  13. Posted February 26, 2013 at 10:36 | Permalink | Reply

    I have also experienced this bug…I’ve got a kindle fire HD, but I’m not really sure what version of android it’s running (probably the newest) This bug only happens to me when I have my device go to sleep mode (tap the power button but not press and hold, as that would shut It off) and after I make it awaken,soon after I write a few signs it it won’t let me write them. I can tap on the sign to make it go into editing mode, but I can’t tap on the editing bars, all it does when I do that is nothing. I’ve also tried it with the URL bar, same thing happens.

  14. Francisco
    Posted February 26, 2013 at 14:55 | Permalink | Reply

    That is not a bug! That thing happens to me when i click out of the writing box or when i press cancel.

  15. Francisco
    Posted February 26, 2013 at 15:01 | Permalink | Reply

    Kaalus, how many devices people made you buy?

  16. Posted February 26, 2013 at 16:59 | Permalink | Reply

    Its not a bug. Just do Force Close on SurvivalCraft and everything will come back to normal. Happens to me.

  17. jason
    Posted February 26, 2013 at 17:41 | Permalink | Reply

    HTC android don’t no vershon with the sighs but when i type a word and log off it won’t let me back on to edit the sighn also when I made a multiplayer map for futer updates every time I put down a sigh it woled not let me type on them sorry for miss spells spell check hates me and never workes

  18. SCpro
    Posted February 26, 2013 at 18:11 | Permalink | Reply

    I know but it gets pretty annoying having to force close all the time.

  19. DaV97
    Posted February 26, 2013 at 20:43 | Permalink | Reply

    Hi there. I am of Polish, I can not write in English. I translate by google translator. Please write what will be added to version 1.21? and when it will be released. Thanks and sorry for the spelling.

  20. kya
    Posted February 26, 2013 at 21:05 | Permalink | Reply

    I wish there was enderman in survival craft

    • chandler
      Posted February 26, 2013 at 23:05 | Permalink | Reply

      It’s not minecraft

    • Sancroff
      Posted February 26, 2013 at 23:43 | Permalink | Reply

      I wish there were blendermen (and blenderwomen, too, of course) who make fruit smoothies. But I suppose we’ll have to wait for someone to make a BeverageCraft game.

      • SquiggyKTA
        Posted February 27, 2013 at 01:13 | Permalink | Reply

        this>

  21. candyrufusgamermaster
    Posted February 26, 2013 at 21:26 | Permalink | Reply

    There is a WIERD bug with the photodiode and leds. U can place a diode in front of the other, and if u have a bunch of preasure plates in an area, it gets GLITCHED OUT. and that is my BUG report.

  22. vladyslav
    Posted February 26, 2013 at 22:35 | Permalink | Reply

    Yea iv had the same problem with my world, but i found out that it waw because the time prior my device ran out of battery and shut off. The worst that happened is in that same map it would have chunks of 100 by 100 gone randomly outside of the areas I explored… which realy sucked ):

  23. chandler
    Posted February 26, 2013 at 23:05 | Permalink | Reply

    I have a bug where when I have a grey wolf spown it turnes into a werewolf

  24. hielos
    Posted February 26, 2013 at 23:21 | Permalink | Reply

    help kaalus I have this bug in Xperia pro MK16 https://www.dropbox.com/s/qgs5qyxx0dh0r02/Survivalcraft%202013-02-26%2015-07-15.jpg

    • Sancroff
      Posted February 26, 2013 at 23:39 | Permalink | Reply

      Yup, the fence discontinuities are a known problem. :-)

  25. charlie
    Posted February 26, 2013 at 23:29 | Permalink | Reply

    Cant wait for the new update!

  26. mason
    Posted February 26, 2013 at 23:32 | Permalink | Reply

    I have a stiars bug when I go up the stairs it bring me to where I started! Please fix this bug. Samsung galxey tab.10.1

    • mason
      Posted February 27, 2013 at 02:34 | Permalink | Reply

      It also happened above ground. P.s i have 1wolve and coyote in my house.(if only i could tame them).

  27. joel
    Posted February 27, 2013 at 00:50 | Permalink | Reply

    I had that problem before but in 1.20 u fixed it some how for my device

    • Posted March 14, 2013 at 21:55 | Permalink | Reply

      I am having a problem because sometimes I will be able to write a sign message but when I press back I can’t write in it again

      • Posted March 14, 2013 at 22:17 | Permalink | Reply

        This bug is fixed in 1.21, which will be the next update. In 1.20 you need to restart the game to be able to type again.

  28. LuvSurvivalGames
    Posted February 27, 2013 at 01:08 | Permalink | Reply

    This is weird but probly is a glitch so,one day on chalanging mode I made this fence thingy and it was split in half but when I went to sleep (in survival craft) and woke up it was fine!?It happens to me ATT (All The Time) and my thing is when I put up a lot of TNT and blow it up it freezes for bout a good 10 minutes I done like that please fix it a liittle it can go slow but not 2-15 minutes slow se fix that and some times when I blow up TNT every thing goes white for a bout 2-5 minutes please fix this and a shout out to HTC fans!!Because I have HTC tablets too!!!So,go HTC!!!

    • LuvSurvivalGames
      Posted February 27, 2013 at 01:21 | Permalink | Reply

      Oh,and hi kaalus love surviveal craft keep it up!

      P.S You are better than that 7$ Minecraft!

  29. Posted February 27, 2013 at 08:25 | Permalink | Reply

    Whats the other new animals and electrics kaalus.
    Since you are busy with Survivalcraft,can i have your Minecraft account? 0:D
    Multiplayer doesnt have to be online YET kaalus.
    How do we make mods for Survivalcraft.
    How do we change animals texture.
    Please tell us about yourself
    POST MORE

  30. charlie
    Posted February 27, 2013 at 14:19 | Permalink | Reply

    XD dam thats creepy

  31. IvoPro
    Posted February 27, 2013 at 14:58 | Permalink | Reply

    Problem with signs is that if u press on it and write something and press some where on the screen but not the ok button it bugs it and you cant write anymore…to fix it u need to restart the game(exit it)
    hope it helped :)

  32. Blockmaster
    Posted February 27, 2013 at 15:14 | Permalink | Reply

    I have a bug where the coal blocks go out. I hope this is not supposed to happen because they should burn forever. Please fix this as soon as possible.
    -Blockmaster

  33. SCpro
    Posted February 27, 2013 at 16:42 | Permalink | Reply

    I have that bug aswell!

    • candyrufusgamermaster
      Posted February 27, 2013 at 17:18 | Permalink | Reply

      I dont

  34. Cody
    Posted February 28, 2013 at 01:25 | Permalink | Reply

    I have a Google Nexus 7 and if I tap a text box and tap out of it, I can’t get into any text boxes until I restart the game.

  35. natedog209035
    Posted February 28, 2013 at 06:32 | Permalink | Reply

    The new animal is a sting ray?!?!?!?!?!?!?

    • natedog209035
      Posted February 28, 2013 at 06:34 | Permalink | Reply

      Srry posted in the wrong area

  36. Muzammil
    Posted February 28, 2013 at 11:19 | Permalink | Reply

    Which device: Sony Xperia u

    Android version: 4.0.4

    What happens when i click: Okay so when i click the sign 4 lines appear with a colouring box next to them but when i click any line for typing something the keyboard doesnt pop up(sometimes)

  37. Posted March 8, 2013 at 23:30 | Permalink | Reply

    HEY I have that bug too.there’s also a bug when wolf’s turn into werewolfs
    When its not the full moon.its annoying,its like ur nevur safe.can u fix that

  38. Scarlett
    Posted March 14, 2013 at 20:21 | Permalink | Reply

    Kaalus I have a kindle fire an I downloaded this and played on it………..and I tried to type on a sign but it won’t let me please fix this bug (I am on version 1.20 wish I could update..)

    • Posted March 14, 2013 at 22:16 | Permalink | Reply

      This bug is fixed in 1.21 which will be the next update. In 1.20 you need to restart the game to be able to type again.

  39. Dot
    Posted March 20, 2013 at 23:41 | Permalink | Reply

    Same problem here as everyone else is writing about (the typing issue). Worked when I restarted it.

  40. Posted March 21, 2013 at 04:04 | Permalink | Reply

    I have this game :).

  41. Posted March 21, 2013 at 04:07 | Permalink | Reply

    I think it is ok but can you add guns.

  42. Posted March 21, 2013 at 04:09 | Permalink | Reply

    Can you please. Add guns :( .

  43. Posted March 21, 2013 at 04:17 | Permalink | Reply

    I liked the game!

Leave a Reply. No swearing please.

