Upside-Down Trapdoors

I am working flat out to clear the todo list for 1.19. During a little break, I made this video for you:

http://youtu.be/qg-fZykEz30

I am now adding features so quickly that I have a lot more done than I can show. Stuff for the next video is already in.

Unfortunately I may need to add one more thing to the todo list. I have reports of people losing their worlds on Android, due to a failed save. I need to add a fail-safe saving system that is more resilient to sudden app shutdowns, power losses and low on memory situations than the current one. Somehow it wasn’t needed on Windows Phone, but Android is more picky.

In the meantime, if you have a valuable world, please backup it to Dropbox periodically. You can also reduce the probability of the loss happening by:

  • Making sure that you exit the game when you are finished playing (go to main menu and press the back button)
  • Make sure that you have enough free internal space on your phone
  • Make sure that you do not run out of battery while playing

46 Comments

  1. jriot10
    Posted December 9, 2012 at 23:01 | Permalink | Reply

    This update is by far going to be the best ever! Although i did kind of guess that was what upside down trapdoors were going to enable us to do.
    When you said suffering for science that reminded me of Portal lol
    Other people say not to cram so much in this update but you should try to put everything you want electricity to do in this update so people won’t ask for more stuff later.

  2. Posted December 9, 2012 at 23:13 | Permalink | Reply

    Pulley system would be epic in a future update( to replace pistons) for pulling a block to the side or up. And for pushing upwards or side to side, a hydrolic system would be a pretty good idea.

    • Posted December 9, 2012 at 23:16 | Permalink | Reply

      Motors would probably need to be added for logical reasons. And then the obvious feature of being abke to use a button, pressure plate, or lever to activate these things.

  3. Davidkm
    Posted December 9, 2012 at 23:31 | Permalink | Reply

    Any chance kaalus of fixing it so that we can also paint wooden slabs and stairs? Great work on the update. :-)

    • generalguy41
      Posted December 9, 2012 at 23:42 | Permalink | Reply

      ^This

      • Alex McCulloch
        Posted December 10, 2012 at 04:26 | Permalink | Reply

        That would be awesome! I changed the paint option to create cushions and fabric. This would allow me to create furniture and chairs with the stairs and slabs. =)

  4. generalguy41
    Posted December 9, 2012 at 23:34 | Permalink | Reply

    Hey Kaalus, I have android 4.0 running on an HP Touchpad, so I’m not sure if the problem lies with me, but I can’t upload worlds to dropbox on it. Anytime I leave the app (to go to the browser and allow the permission) and try to return, SC shuts down, and you start back from the splash screen. Doubt it’s a problem with the game, more likely just some android multitasking issue, but is there any other way to do it? Maybe an in-game browser?

    Thanks, looking forward to the next update.

    • Posted December 10, 2012 at 00:15 | Permalink | Reply

      Me to on quad core samsung note. Samsung galaxy s 3 phone is ok

      • Alex McCulloch
        Posted December 10, 2012 at 04:24 | Permalink | Reply

        I had problems to until I downloaded it from my pc directly to my dropbox on the pc and then downloaded to my phone directly through the dropbox connected via my survival craft. I’m pretty sure its the phone itself doesnt allow the user to download png or scworlds because it saves them as html and not their intended file. Root your phone or either find an app -if one exists- that will allow you to save files properly. Otherwise do it through a pc through your local library or school. like I do

        • Posted December 10, 2012 at 11:32 | Permalink

          I know what you mean, I program web apps in a varity of languages which does give a very clear insight to the problem. I have no interest in rooting my device because the security loop holes in purchases from google play. I seriously do not recommend you root devices that transact payments. Plus I have every faith in K that it will get resolved promptly. Thanks for the advice though, but patience is a virtual.

        • generalguy41
          Posted December 10, 2012 at 13:22 | Permalink

          My problem is that I can’t even connect to dropbox to download, upload, or open files. When you press the button to link the game to dropbox, it leaves the game to open the browser. This causes SC to restart, and it’s no longer prepared to accept the permission. It makes you start over, and that’s where the problem lies. It’s kinda like on Windows Phone how some apps (still) aren’t optimised to continue running when you leave them and restart when you come back to them.

          My device is rooted because obviously the Touchpad wasn’t meant to run Android, so I’ll look around for the files to see if I can do a direct copy/transfer.

    • jesusice
      Posted December 11, 2012 at 21:29 | Permalink | Reply

      The worlds are saved in data/data so backing up Survivalcraft with Titanium should be sufficient. Then upload the backup to DB. Not the answer you were looking for but a solution.

  5. brian t
    Posted December 9, 2012 at 23:43 | Permalink | Reply

    And just thank you, i already have many ways of using this new tool. As i said a few pages back it could also affect water flow and maybe many ideas ive not even thought about.

  6. brian t
    Posted December 10, 2012 at 00:11 | Permalink | Reply

    And with affecting water we could also allow the water being affected to cover copper wirring that becomes disabled. You stated cables may not be placed under water and this will open up many many usable circuits. the simple upside down trap door opens up so many avenues. Can’t wait.

    • brian t
      Posted December 10, 2012 at 00:59 | Permalink | Reply

      adventure creators will get so much from alowing the trapdoors to work the way normal doors work. given the way some items work both ways, looking at other blocks these may also offer a second use, i will say no more, but there are some simple implementations that open up 100’s of uses. this game becomes limitless when looking at it from another side. Keep your good ideas coming. just to say you need to change things just a little to require huge additions.

  7. Posted December 10, 2012 at 00:13 | Permalink | Reply

    When I lost my world it was because I accidently hit the home button then when I try to go back to the game it hangs on a black screen which I then have to force close it. When I reload the game my world is lusted but has no name (title) and will not open.

  8. Alex McCulloch
    Posted December 10, 2012 at 01:05 | Permalink | Reply

    yah my scworld slurothan 3.0 got deleted but luckily I had it backed up on dropbox. I lost one of my quests completely. Was frustrated but I remade it and 2x better the second time. Thank you for addressing this deleting problem, I love survival craft so keep up the good work. lol

    Cant wait for the new update. I’m going to hold back making quests until I get the update- which I’m willing to wait for because I have tons of patience unlike most people. That and I can still create the world with doors that lead to empty quests.

    • Posted December 10, 2012 at 01:43 | Permalink | Reply

      Trying to back my world up results in the black screen because it requires the game to be run in the background. So I can’t even back it up. Spent about 2 weeks on one of the worlds and lost it. Then about a week on another so have given up on the game untill it has been fixed. Nothing to do with low resources from my tablet since it has 2GB RAM, Quad core. Shame really. But once the problem has been fixed I will go back to the game. In the meanwhile I can only wait :(

      • Alex McCulloch
        Posted December 10, 2012 at 04:15 | Permalink | Reply

        I’m pretty sure your world got completely lost. if you press edit on the blank name world the world wont even state what version it is. I know this because my world was erased completely and am good with software. I tried to embed my erased world into someone elses to trick the system which worked and the map was their but my created stuff was none existent luckily I backed up my world to dropbox at least 20 times and only lost one quest. I luckily started doing this because I in the paste have destroyed an entire city building a floating city above my main city. Of which had lava traps – and one of the traps leaked out lava all over the bottom one. This destroyed almost everything before I noticed anything happened. So I learned my lesson. Even though bad stuff happens like this I still play this game. Barely even play my ps3 anymore because I’m on my phone playing survival craft.

  9. Scott
    Posted December 10, 2012 at 02:33 | Permalink | Reply

    Good work mate.. This one game has made buying a tablet worthwhile :-)

    As much as I want this new update good execution of well made game is more important and worth waiting for so take you time we can all see you are working hard through your awesome communication to the fans.

    Cheers
    Scott

  10. taylor
    Posted December 10, 2012 at 04:40 | Permalink | Reply

    Hey I am a video game tester and I hav been playing survivalcraft for about a month and a half and I love it already. I am looking. Forward to the next update and may be able to help you, I can test it if you let me and inform you of eny problems.

  11. Posted December 10, 2012 at 15:49 | Permalink | Reply

    Is it a chanse to make a delay on the signal? I mean so I kan make the door open and then close with just one button press.

  12. craftw4
    Posted December 10, 2012 at 18:03 | Permalink | Reply

    I have idea….
    If there is mystery boxies in map somewhere? And there can be something like diqmond or few iron or something

  13. Duxk
    Posted December 10, 2012 at 18:48 | Permalink | Reply

    If you don’t need the battery to power that then what is it used for?

  14. victorlourme
    Posted December 10, 2012 at 19:24 | Permalink | Reply

    I have a picture problem, I do not see the animals, it’s been my shadow on tablette.Que quelqu’in help me. thank you

  15. victorlourme
    Posted December 10, 2012 at 19:30 | Permalink | Reply

    I believe the battery has left cert activate as redstone torch in minecraft

  16. ...
    Posted December 10, 2012 at 19:56 | Permalink | Reply

    Multiplayer?

  17. max samuels
    Posted December 10, 2012 at 21:05 | Permalink | Reply

    Will there be any way to make a delayed signal?

  18. ths guy
    Posted December 10, 2012 at 22:56 | Permalink | Reply

    Can you make chain reactions

    • brian t
      Posted December 11, 2012 at 00:02 | Permalink | Reply

      Kaalus has been very busy so i guess he pobably is in the middle of the chain reaction. But if the upside down trap door enables us to affect water flow which it will, we be able it to alter circuits thus leading to the ability to create the said chain reaction. I think we should be careful though, too many chain reaction may make the game pause a little. But only the Big guy could comfirm that.

  19. Greg I
    Posted December 11, 2012 at 13:24 | Permalink | Reply

    I agree, but still pistons would be a big advancement in survival craft history

  20. jack
    Posted December 11, 2012 at 15:10 | Permalink | Reply

    Anyway when Sc 1.19 update will come out .. :( .. Ur guys will mad at me cuzz I’ll ask this question …… People will say at me – y u ask this question the longer time for update the better …. :(

    • Posted December 11, 2012 at 15:38 | Permalink | Reply

      I wonder to, not to rush. But as a rough idea

  21. victorlourme
    Posted December 11, 2012 at 17:32 | Permalink | Reply

    when will release the 1.19? I Impatien!! :)

    • jake
      Posted December 11, 2012 at 20:20 | Permalink | Reply

      Christmas i think, good christmas present :-)

      • Greg I
        Posted December 11, 2012 at 21:56 | Permalink | Reply

        Ya your right

        • Aj Nineht
          Posted December 12, 2012 at 03:34 | Permalink

          Yes, yes it will be. I CAN’T WAIT UNTIL CHRISTMAS!!!!!!!!!! :3

      • jake
        Posted December 12, 2012 at 22:32 | Permalink | Reply

        I hope they add snowmen.

  22. joel
    Posted December 11, 2012 at 22:46 | Permalink | Reply

    Add pets

  23. Aj Nineht
    Posted December 12, 2012 at 03:32 | Permalink | Reply

    Maybe as an addition you could add… sideways trapdoors? And possibly put a ‘lock’ electric piece? You know, to lock doors with? So you cannot just open the door by tapping it. And to unlock it, deactivate the circuit? More food…

    • jesusice
      Posted December 12, 2012 at 03:42 | Permalink | Reply

      He’s said if you have a switch hooked to a door it will only work with the switch.

  24. victorlourme
    Posted December 12, 2012 at 06:32 | Permalink | Reply

    Christmas! I Impatien. I want a computer, a table, a chair and other decorative objects in survivalcraft.MAIS ESPECIALLY ELECTRICITY!!!

    • cool123199
      Posted December 12, 2012 at 17:45 | Permalink | Reply

      thats what i want

  25. lachlan
    Posted December 26, 2012 at 00:54 | Permalink | Reply

    I hate survivlecraft and it`s copyed from minecraft

  26. zamud
    Posted February 2, 2013 at 02:53 | Permalink | Reply

    I’m playing SC on my Kindle Fire. It’s awesome! But I just lost my world, too. I am absolutely not technically savy and I followed the instructions on the drop box tab, but I can’t make heads or tails of it. how do I save to the dropbox? I’m not sure if I can save while I’m in the game.

Leave a Reply. No swearing please.

