Logic Gates

No, I’m not a zombie. Yesterday I was doing Kindle Fire stuff, and released 1.18.5 stability update with all the touch issues fixed. Hooray. I will write more about it later.

Today it’s back to electricity, and I’ve got something to show you this time. A pretty long video in fact, took me almost 2 hours to make:

http://youtu.be/Z_swPCnSDaM

I think electricity is about 50% complete at the moment. Next thing to add will be pressure plates and a memory cell, a single bit of course :-) (so that you don’t have to make your own flip-flops when you want something more advanced). Then some sort of light indicator you can attach to the wire and see the state.

Comparing Survivalcraft electricity to Minecraft redstone:

Redstone conceptually works on a lower level, about the level of transistors and diodes. There are no such things in Minecraft of course, but redstone devices are pretty close to that. Survivalcraft works slightly above that, on the level of logic gates. That means you don’t have to make your own gates out of redstone torches and other stuff, and so the logic can be smaller and cleaner. On the other hand, Minecraft gives you more control and a bigger ego boost once you build something.

What I really like about Survivalcraft are the wires. The key thing is that you can have them on all 6 faces independently, unlike in Minecraft, where redstone wire always occupies the entire block. The wires connect intelligently, and you can always see the connections. And it’s all done with just the 4 bits of extra data each block has assigned to it. Magic. How would you do 6 independent wires with just 4 bits without magic?

Took a long time to get right. This is by far the most advanced block mechanics the game has so far.

95 Comments

  1. Charles Hood
    Posted November 25, 2012 at 22:53 | Permalink | Reply

    Pistons!!!

    • Posted November 27, 2012 at 18:33 | Permalink | Reply

      hope kaalus adds more stuff

  2. this guy
    Posted November 25, 2012 at 22:54 | Permalink | Reply

    When you set up the wires, will you need to set up more than 1 power generator if it exceeds a certain length?

    • tech guy
      Posted July 21, 2013 at 21:04 | Permalink | Reply

      No you dont

  3. max samuels
    Posted November 25, 2012 at 23:17 | Permalink | Reply

    Wow…
    Technical
    Me like!!!!!!!!!

  4. Posted November 25, 2012 at 23:20 | Permalink | Reply

    Absolutely amazing! Logic gates on a single block is an incredible idea! Wow, this is so impressive. I honestly can’t wait :)

  5. zelitezskillz
    Posted November 25, 2012 at 23:47 | Permalink | Reply

    Like the simple logic however I do feel its going to be limiting what we can do and like you said yourself the ego boost when you build something big. I do feel you should add the equivalent to Redstone torches or something so it doesn’t limit the creativity, anyway its lookin good, can’t wait to get some multiplayer though, its the only thing that makes me reluctant to play, I feel like I have nobody to share my creations with which is a shame. If you do decide to do multiplayer I would highly reccomend the method of dedicated servers. For one simple reason, if you look at minecraft the only reason it stays popular is because of the servers and games people make of it, if you limit it to vanilla play it is not as effective, people need to build a community and it will grow to be so much more successfull :)

  6. brian t
    Posted November 26, 2012 at 00:41 | Permalink | Reply

    logic, now time for us to all get our heads from our other places and start to learn the basic, are you sure you wan’t 100 questions a day, Very good to learn at the very start, but these pages are gonna be full, 50% there wow, just need it to work on so many levels. This i think is what many have wanted, Brilliant. teach us too though the video is great but we need some info on here how to work these cicuits. maybe a big post on the QA

  7. jriot10
    Posted November 26, 2012 at 00:51 | Permalink | Reply

    You are such a genius. Minecraft redstone is nothing compared to this. Since the button only gives a temporary single is there a way to create a temporary singnal through a button?

    • jriot10
      Posted November 26, 2012 at 01:00 | Permalink | Reply

      I meant to say that the button only gives a permanent signal i was wondering if it was possible to make a temporary signal

      • Posted November 26, 2012 at 04:45 | Permalink | Reply

        The signal is temporary, it just doesn’t close the door when it powers off (which doesn’t make any sense why it would). 😊

    • brian t
      Posted November 26, 2012 at 01:03 | Permalink | Reply

      Jriot as you know a little or a lot about mc can i come to you with many questions?.
      My work is electrical distribution, but most of this scares the crap out of me. this is more about electrical circuits, time to get down the libary i guess.

  8. Nandelor
    Posted November 26, 2012 at 00:53 | Permalink | Reply

    Looking good, can’t wait.

  9. Joes
    Posted November 26, 2012 at 01:04 | Permalink | Reply

    Brilliant work here. I must comment you on your dedication I mean 50%already. I’m so giddy for this update. Love the logic gates. Keep it up!

  10. Duxk
    Posted November 26, 2012 at 01:05 | Permalink | Reply

    So what are you going to let us do with it?

  11. jriot10
    Posted November 26, 2012 at 01:10 | Permalink | Reply

    What do the battery and the strange looking window do as well?

    • brian t
      Posted November 26, 2012 at 20:18 | Permalink | Reply

      Video pauser too i saw that window too could it be a screen/vdu it didn’t look like wood on the outside.

  12. Duxk
    Posted November 26, 2012 at 01:16 | Permalink | Reply

    This is great. I was working on circuits in Comp Sci. Now I can build the circuits that I’ve made in the game.

    Why can’t they be placed on the ground though?

    • brian t
      Posted November 26, 2012 at 01:21 | Permalink | Reply

      they can but i think it was Kaalus’s way of showing us how they work.

      • Duxk
        Posted November 26, 2012 at 02:59 | Permalink | Reply

        No. At 1:54 of the video it states that some elements only working on vertical surfaces is a limitation of the system.

        I’m wondering why though. Did it decrease the amount of path finding programming Kaalus needed to do?

        • Posted November 26, 2012 at 11:56 | Permalink

          I don’t have enough combinations available in the 4 bits I am limited to. So rotateable elements can only be placed on the walls. Non-rotateables can be placed anywhere.

        • Posted November 26, 2012 at 22:07 | Permalink

          Then Kaalus, why don’t you use magic to put in the several other states in 4 bits, just like the wires.

  13. Posted November 26, 2012 at 01:34 | Permalink | Reply

    KAALUS U ARE FREAKING AWESOME!!!!!HIP HIP KAALUS!!!!!!!!!!U ARE GENIUS!!!!!!

  14. Posted November 26, 2012 at 01:36 | Permalink | Reply

    im not that good at electricity….got to focus more on science class!!!

  15. Cody White
    Posted November 26, 2012 at 03:07 | Permalink | Reply

    Hahaha lol I watched a bunch of redstone vidios I got it then I forgot it and when I watched your video it brought it back to me but I still need to study on how to use the gates by the way I like how minecraft pe doesn’t have redstone but you have something a little better then redstone

  16. Unknown Admin
    Posted November 26, 2012 at 03:59 | Permalink | Reply

    Door still can be opened if gate locked? If yes please fix. Anyway good idea.

  17. kismona
    Posted November 26, 2012 at 04:16 | Permalink | Reply

    Are you ever gonna add farming kaalus Oliver would love to see it

    • kismona
      Posted November 26, 2012 at 17:02 | Permalink | Reply

      I meant to say i would man my phone has awful auto correct

  18. jriot10
    Posted November 26, 2012 at 04:19 | Permalink | Reply

    I think for adventure maps you should have a special type of door that can only be opened through electricity. That way you can make maps that require people to do things before they can move on.

    • Posted November 26, 2012 at 11:57 | Permalink | Reply

      Oh yeah, sure. That’s coming. My plan is to make all doors only operable if they are not connected to a circuit.

  19. alkhayal
    Posted November 26, 2012 at 05:33 | Permalink | Reply

    Yeah, Kaalus..
    I just wanted to ask u to do Logic Gates yesterday..
    But u really have done it :)

  20. jopa
    Posted November 26, 2012 at 06:31 | Permalink | Reply

    FIX LG OPTIMUS 2X

    • Posted November 26, 2012 at 11:58 | Permalink | Reply

      My ebay case is still opened for the Optimus 2X that I haven’t received. I don’t want to order another one before the case is closed.

      • kirbydiary
        Posted November 27, 2012 at 11:49 | Permalink | Reply

        I have an optimus 2x and it works awesome with the official ics rom
        Cheers

  21. craftw4
    Posted November 26, 2012 at 07:04 | Permalink | Reply

    Awesome!!!

  22. jack
    Posted November 26, 2012 at 11:43 | Permalink | Reply

    Y I dont have update 1.18.5 update !!! I use xperia mini pro !!, plz help did my phone not suitable!!

    • Posted November 26, 2012 at 11:53 | Permalink | Reply

      The update is on Google Play, not sure why you don’t see it. I haven’t excluded any new phones from 1.18.5. But this update is mostly for Kindle Fires, it fixes the annoying touch input offset. There won’t be much difference on your device.

      • jack
        Posted November 26, 2012 at 11:56 | Permalink | Reply

        So my phone dont need the update ?

        • Posted November 26, 2012 at 12:01 | Permalink

          This is a bugfix and stability update only. If the game works for you, no need to download it.

        • jack
          Posted November 26, 2012 at 12:26 | Permalink

          I hope no problem when I update 1.9 .. :).. Great job kalus !!! I love SC much more thn mcpe !! Mcpe quite boring cuzz not enough item n I love real crafting :)

        • jack
          Posted November 26, 2012 at 13:16 | Permalink

          Kalus when I left my phone with SC is on.. Than after im going to play it again my screen go dark .. I only can see almost 1/4 of the screen .. Why it happen like tht . Did my phones need the update 1.18.5. .. Without the update can I update to 1.9 .. Plzzz help

  23. Melvin
    Posted November 26, 2012 at 13:18 | Permalink | Reply

    I like how the wires are straight on the blocks and offset on the ground very cool. Keep up the good work I look forward to the next update=)

  24. wade
    Posted November 26, 2012 at 14:36 | Permalink | Reply

    So my game file totally locked up on me, must have been 35mb. No version info or name is shown and it wont load. Game runs other worlds just fine. Anyone else have this problem?

    • Posted November 26, 2012 at 15:40 | Permalink | Reply

      This may happen if your phone ran out of storage space (internal) or the app was interrupted during a save.

      • max samuels
        Posted November 26, 2012 at 19:47 | Permalink | Reply

        Is there anyway to fix this, I’ve lost two worlds to that problem

        • Posted November 26, 2012 at 19:59 | Permalink

          The common causes are the phone running out of battery during a save, or that your internal storage is full. Has any of these happened in your case?

        • max samuels
          Posted November 26, 2012 at 22:51 | Permalink

          Probably, although I think one time one of my water lava mountain generators did it.
          No surprise, the game lags to high hell when I use them.

      • wade
        Posted November 28, 2012 at 14:37 | Permalink | Reply

        Neither. the game froze, Crashed and im pretty sure rebooted my phone. Will an update fix the game world? Man, ive put so much work into that world I really dont want to lose it

      • Posted December 14, 2012 at 21:58 | Permalink | Reply

        Hi mate,
        I turned off Force GPU Rendering in the settings/Developer Options and it has solved the black screen problem. I can now go to and from the home screen and other apps with out the game crashing which was the cause of losing my maps. Thought I would let you know in case it is a fix for other devices. My device is a Samsung Note 10.1 Quad 2GB Ram. Hopt it helps fella.

        • Posted December 14, 2012 at 22:53 | Permalink

          Hi Mark,

          Thanks for the info. That’s quite important, I didn’t realize it makes the game go black screen.

          cheers, Kaalus

        • Posted December 14, 2012 at 23:03 | Permalink

          No problem, it fixes the problem other than when I press the power button, which is just plain silly to press while the game is active. Other than that if I accidently press the home button I can re-enable the game with no problems. Best of luck with development Kaalus! :)

  25. Alex
    Posted November 26, 2012 at 14:45 | Permalink | Reply

    On the HTC One X their is a glitch with the signs. I believe the problem roots to when the dayshift-full moon appears. What happens it prevents you from being able to type or post signs. I have to close the app and open it again to fix the issue. I would though very much prefer you to ignore this issue to work on electricity at the mean time because I’m to excited for electricity to care. lol

  26. jriot10
    Posted November 26, 2012 at 16:18 | Permalink | Reply

    Great job on the electricity Kaalus. Please do keep in mind that most builds do need some sort of delay so some functions happen before others. This way infinite loops can be made possible in the game. I would suggest some sort of device that switches on and off and u can set the time between the two different types of states. This would probably only take two bits of data and the device could be turned on by a push of a button

  27. kismona
    Posted November 26, 2012 at 17:07 | Permalink | Reply

    Maybe another item could be electric fences to get some defense going for your house

  28. Kaleb
    Posted November 26, 2012 at 20:02 | Permalink | Reply

    all i Can say is wow. You’ve outdone yourself kaalus, this is spectacular!

  29. Adrian
    Posted November 26, 2012 at 23:27 | Permalink | Reply

    Hunger, please

  30. julio
    Posted November 26, 2012 at 23:55 | Permalink | Reply

    Is any one else experiencing a purple screen right after it loads?

    • Posted November 27, 2012 at 00:16 | Permalink | Reply

      Please reboot your phone. Also see the FAQ.

  31. brian t
    Posted November 27, 2012 at 00:26 | Permalink | Reply

    Hi Kaalus my wp7 has several game plays but the world i am working on is already 185.05mb on the nokia lumia will i reach a stage where the game and memory are a problem and with the new updates will this be a problem memory wise, I have no problems to report, but could an island this size become a problem?

    • Posted November 27, 2012 at 10:02 | Permalink | Reply

      The size of world has nothing to do with memory (RAM) use. The entire world is never loaded into the memory. What can run out is your storage space, but that’s unlikely as most phones have at least 8GB, so long way to go still :-)

  32. JustDucky
    Posted November 27, 2012 at 01:03 | Permalink | Reply

    Will you be adding XOR gates?

    • Posted November 27, 2012 at 10:00 | Permalink | Reply

      Not sure yet. You can always simulate them with the existing ones. Anything can be made from AND+NOT or OR+NOT combinations.

    • badopcode89
      Posted December 21, 2012 at 18:40 | Permalink | Reply

      I use a simple four nand gates circuit to build xor.
      Make four bands in a diamond shape pattern. (Nand being a not gate connected to the output of a and.). Than take your two inputs (switches) and connect it to the nand at the very bottom and the nand at the second tier on the side of the input. From the second tier of nands run the outputs of those to the top nand input and you now have xor.
      I wouldn’t mind seeing a integrated xor as its a common needed circuit. But not critical as its easily done manually.

  33. Posted November 27, 2012 at 06:11 | Permalink | Reply

    Hi Kaalus, in your video I noticed, among the items some batteries that you didn’t use. Could you make a new video showing how to use them?
    Thanks.

  34. Posted November 27, 2012 at 18:04 | Permalink | Reply

    add light bulbs

    also i found a bug go on creative set terain flat and let a block of sand fall in the water it makes a hole

    • max samuels
      Posted November 27, 2012 at 20:37 | Permalink | Reply

      That’s not a glitch

      • brian t
        Posted November 27, 2012 at 22:57 | Permalink | Reply

        yeh agree same in other modes, I find water vertualy unpredictable as is lava, I’ve tried a few basic expirements the simple ones are understandable but a glass tunnel into the sea i built in harmless using sand as a drydock have been hard to refill but still working on.

        • Sailey
          Posted December 14, 2012 at 03:52 | Permalink

          Lol you know on my game called horseland when the horses come out multicolored we call them a ‘glitch’

  35. Posted November 27, 2012 at 18:31 | Permalink | Reply

    could you add electro detonators were u put one next to tnt put wires down a button on the end press it then it goes of
    i know its easier said than dun

    • Nikpol22
      Posted November 28, 2012 at 15:41 | Permalink | Reply

      It would be more interesting if TNT would explode not from elecricity, it would be more interesting, if sulphur could be put onto the block and lit if electricity is activated, and from that TNT will explode

    • blob10
      Posted November 29, 2012 at 00:15 | Permalink | Reply

      I think it should just be tnt and you should also be able to ignite it with a match :D

  36. jriot10
    Posted November 27, 2012 at 23:03 | Permalink | Reply

    I hope you add some sort of block pushing and pulling mechanism because i can’t see my self being able to build anything without them. All of my redstone builds have had pistons in them

  37. lightning
    Posted November 27, 2012 at 23:45 | Permalink | Reply

    When will windows update for Nokia lumia come out?

  38. Posted November 28, 2012 at 06:23 | Permalink | Reply

    All I ask for now is pistons, wall spikes(for piston traps), ceiling spikes(same concept), item emitter, and minecarts (if possible).

  39. Posted November 28, 2012 at 06:34 | Permalink | Reply

    Btw, zombies please. I mean werewolves are great but they’re not around long and dont show up often. Zombies that come around at night would provide me with extra motivation to SURVIVE! Dont get me wrong though, I fuckin LOVE this game. I just have a few things I wish I could in the game.

    • Posted November 28, 2012 at 06:43 | Permalink | Reply

      You could add the zombies to a seperate mode so as to allow the players to decide if they even WANT to play SC zombie style.

      • Posted November 28, 2012 at 18:01 | Permalink | Reply

        no way who wants zombies to much like MC

        found a bug which some times happens where a small slit apears in the fence

        • Posted November 28, 2012 at 18:28 | Permalink

          Plus i asked to add the zombies as a mode so that people like YOU arent forced to play with zombies.

        • Posted November 28, 2012 at 18:38 | Permalink

          Like, maybe that mode could be called fear mode. Just like theres already creative, harmless, challenge, cruel, and adventure modes. Fear mode has a more horror based survival element to it.( with maybe not just zombies but mummies in the desert and spiders as well as (just
          Spitballing here) lizardmen, living slimeballs, witches ect..) im just asking for a more, i guess, exciting survival mode.

  40. Posted November 28, 2012 at 18:24 | Permalink | Reply

    Why do you think myself and ALL of my friends even play tbis game. Its because its the only mobile game that comes anywhere close to minecraft. MCPE sucks ass. Nobody wants to play that shit. This game has everything minecraft has minus the pistons and mobs. Im not asking for zombies specifically but some sort of “mob” based creature.

    • Posted November 28, 2012 at 18:25 | Permalink | Reply

      Besides cows and wolves.

      • Posted November 28, 2012 at 18:26 | Permalink | Reply

        And the only mob based creatures i can think of are the undead.

      • Kevin
        Posted November 29, 2012 at 13:08 | Permalink | Reply

        NPC’s my suggestion from 2-3 months ago

  41. craftw4
    Posted November 28, 2012 at 19:37 | Permalink | Reply

    Kaalus,

    Do you add pistonss,

    Please answer

    • blob10
      Posted November 29, 2012 at 00:04 | Permalink | Reply

      Pistons not pistonss, or do you have glitchy autocorrect

  42. blob10
    Posted November 29, 2012 at 00:01 | Permalink | Reply

    Next thing light bulbs XD

  43. blob10
    Posted November 29, 2012 at 00:08 | Permalink | Reply

    And kaalus, do you get wiring from some new ore or what?:-S

  44. craftw4
    Posted November 29, 2012 at 06:33 | Permalink | Reply

    Yep, i mean pistons

  45. Posted November 29, 2012 at 08:10 | Permalink | Reply

    Add pistons please, I love making traps inside mazes:D
    And also if you wouldn’t mind, please add some wall spikes and some over head spikes
    Thank you

  46. badopcode89
    Posted December 21, 2012 at 18:02 | Permalink | Reply

    For me the greatest fun in Minecraft is building gizmos. Takes me back to being a kid playing with my huge box of pro tech logos. But after you do a hand full of the basic stuff you can do with red stone and you look at what is required to take it to the next level… It becomes…nah too much work and not enough play. Survivalcraft hits the nail on the head of what I wanted from mc to take gizmo building to that next level. The only thing missing for me to be a perfect utopia is pistons. If you ever add those in… Well that would pretty much end up what little I have of a social life. :)

  47. tristin
    Posted February 17, 2013 at 16:33 | Permalink | Reply

    you should really try to work on bouts and armour, it would make a huge difference in the game! :)

  48. Kaghon
    Posted May 6, 2013 at 00:42 | Permalink | Reply

    It would be more realistic and “survival” like if you had to hook up a battery to every electric mechanism. Otherwise, what is the use for crafting an expensive battery when you could craft a cheap lever.

  49. Posted October 30, 2013 at 09:56 | Permalink | Reply

    How do I make the electricity run in an infinant loop. For example I’m building an air strip and I’m using a bunch of delay gates for the red lights on the runway. But when I flip the switch I want those lights to turn off and on automatically.

    Plz help

  50. Posted June 3, 2015 at 16:03 | Permalink | Reply

    Please add pistons!!!!

Leave a Reply. No swearing please.

