Android Stability Update 1.18.1

Yesterday I pushed out a new Android stability update – 1.18.1. This one is focused on getting Sony Xperia Play and the ilk working properly, and improving Dropbox user experience.

This second goal has not been achieved 100% because of ongoing problems with multitasking on some phones (multitasking is required to sign in to Dropbox, because it needs to redirect you to the browser). Anyway, apart from that, it is a lot better and there should be no more 404 errors. This fix will also appear on Windows Phones in 1.19.

I hoped to implement proper hardware controls for Xperia play. Sadly I had to give up on the touchpad support. Forgive me the technicals, but I have to explain myself. Buttons and triggers are easy, and I’ve partially done them. But it is very difficult if not impossible for me to support the touchpad! It is used for thumbsticks. Touchpad is only accessible through Android NativeActivity, which I am not using! It might still be possible, but in several hours I spent investigating it, I haven’t found a way :-(

I’d love to add hardware controls on Xperia Play, maybe I’ll revisit it at some point and try harder. At the moment Dpad, triggers and jump controls work, but you still have to use screen for looking around. But all the crashes are history.

1.18.1 also contains a slightly reworked UI system that allows me to display dialog boxes anywhere and anytime. Previously it was much more cumbersome. With it I hope to improve error reporting and general communication with the user. I made a start with the Dropbox. The rest will come in 1.19.

The next stability update is likely to address Tegra 2 display glitches. For that I need a Tegra 2 device.

28 Comments

  1. Eric
    Posted November 7, 2012 at 20:02 | Permalink | Reply

    I have a tegra 2 tablet that I could test any beta builds on.

  2. Calvin
    Posted November 7, 2012 at 20:06 | Permalink | Reply

    Thank you!! :D

  3. Matthew
    Posted November 7, 2012 at 20:17 | Permalink | Reply

    The new update stopped all lag for me:D

  4. jriot10
    Posted November 7, 2012 at 21:01 | Permalink | Reply

    Warning!!! Do not go on a hill during a thunderstorm! You will be struck by lightning :(

  5. brian t
    Posted November 7, 2012 at 22:29 | Permalink | Reply

    I too have witnesed animals destroyed by the fire produced from lightning, and the nurfing isn’t working that well i have watched many trees completely burned down after a strike and my overhead glass block need to be replaced nearly every where i go that has weather.

    • brian t
      Posted November 7, 2012 at 23:53 | Permalink | Reply

      lovely new picture for the xperia play though ! sorry matt

      • brian t
        Posted November 8, 2012 at 00:09 | Permalink | Reply

        sorry nerfing isn’t working to well Kaalus.

  6. jax
    Posted November 8, 2012 at 03:15 | Permalink | Reply

    Thank you for trying to make xperia play hardware keys work. Hopefully you will have a break thru. In any case keep the updates coming and good luck to you sir.

  7. nik
    Posted November 8, 2012 at 07:55 | Permalink | Reply

    On my LG Optimus 2X(tegra 2) leaves on trees and 3d grass are black,and i cant see what is in my invertory,only number of blocks :((( I tryed another texture pack,but nothing helps…Can you fix it please?) (Sorry for my bad english:))

    • jaja
      Posted November 18, 2012 at 19:41 | Permalink | Reply

      Nik how do you install a texture pack?

  8. epicdriv
    Posted November 8, 2012 at 07:59 | Permalink | Reply

    Hi kaalus just let U know the fourm has a 500 Internal server error cannot accses it

  9. bartek
    Posted November 8, 2012 at 11:32 | Permalink | Reply

    I have a proplem with dropbox and the game. Since the last update there is finally no more 404 error in dropbox but it still doesnt show any content of my dropbox in game :( the dropbox window in game is empty but i’m logged in. What does it mean?

    • Posted November 8, 2012 at 11:44 | Permalink | Reply

      Do you have anything in your Dropbox account under Apps/Survivalcraft folder? The contents of that folder are shown in this view.

      • bartek
        Posted November 8, 2012 at 14:13 | Permalink | Reply

        works perfect! thank you very much for your help and overall wonderfull job! I forgot to put my contents in mentioned apps folder.

        Greetings!

  10. Wojtek
    Posted November 9, 2012 at 17:56 | Permalink | Reply

    You must create this for pc

    • jack
      Posted November 10, 2012 at 13:22 | Permalink | Reply

      No.. Let survival craft be only on phone games .. Tht different from minecraft… :)

  11. Антон
    Posted November 10, 2012 at 06:32 | Permalink | Reply

    Kaalus, please make control by mouse and keyboard. Thx for you work

  12. max samuels
    Posted November 10, 2012 at 18:21 | Permalink | Reply

    Hi kallus, do yo know if survivalcraft will be on the surface tablets?
    After all most windows devices are supposed to work together now.

  13. brian t
    Posted November 10, 2012 at 23:18 | Permalink | Reply

    So SurvivalCraft is a bit of a MC clone but who think’s that it is better every now and then in the game world games are copied and some turn out better than the origonal concepts. I think SurvivalCraft is one of those and that must be salt in the wounds to Markus or (notch) but it must bring some interest to his game aswell. not that he needs it. So here is the thing MC or SC you who have played or seen,, my marks are 9 to Kaalus and 7.5 too Notch…anyone agree.?

    • brian t
      Posted November 10, 2012 at 23:20 | Permalink | Reply

      Out of ten by the way because i too want to see more in time.

      • brian t
        Posted November 10, 2012 at 23:26 | Permalink | Reply

        Am i blowing smoke as they say …yes whilst he is busy i just fealt we all could. as thanks to his hard work at least..

    • mystik
      Posted November 11, 2012 at 04:28 | Permalink | Reply

      I agree with you. :) Out of 10 for both people, 7.5 to MC and 9 to SC.

      5 to MCPE (minecraft pocket edition).

  14. craftw4
    Posted November 11, 2012 at 13:18 | Permalink | Reply

    This is much better than minecraft :D. Do not put this to computer, it’s not fun any more if this come for computer

  15. Gtavonspring2013
    Posted November 11, 2012 at 16:30 | Permalink | Reply

    I dont want to annoy you, but could you make a ios version(ipad iphone version)
    I own a windows phone 7 but i would love to play on my ipad too!I know there is minecraft pe for ipad but i like more survivalcraft beacuse of its bigger world and the werewolfs!

  16. aspen
    Posted November 14, 2012 at 00:44 | Permalink | Reply

    Can you send me the game Please

  17. mat
    Posted November 14, 2012 at 18:46 | Permalink | Reply

    i may have an idea for your xperia play problem. what if you use the L or R button as a shift? this way you can use the buttons (o,x,/\,[]) for the actions, and when you pres the L, or hold, the buttons will change so you can control camera? just an idea… i wouldn’t know how to do this though… love your game btw, just hoping xperia play optimized

  18. Ava
    Posted December 1, 2012 at 16:28 | Permalink | Reply

    How do I update? I sounds so cool please help me!!!

    • Posted January 8, 2014 at 07:55 | Permalink | Reply

      To update go on to the app store u got survival craft from type survivacraft survival craft should appear and then press update

Leave a Reply. No swearing please.

