200 reviews missing?

I just noticed Survivalcraft is back to 1067 reviews in US marketplace on Windows Phone. I am sure it was well past 1200 already, so something bad must have happened at Microsoft and the data got lost. Now Top Truck is ahead of us again with 1111, and we passed it some time ago when both games were at around 800.

Oh well.

Btw. if you have a pink screen after the latest update, reboot your phone. This is a known glitch. Also see the FAQ.

In the meantime I am still working on the weather stuff for 1.18. The reviews on Google Play started recovering slowly once I disabled downloads for lots of unsupported devices. It would be really good if I could get back to 4.5 stars average…

Unfortunately the game still does not work with any device using PowerVR SGX GPUs, and there is a lot of them (most importantly the very popular Galaxy Nexus and Samsung Galaxy S). I am trying to fix it, but without having a device with this GPU it’s rather difficult. Maybe in the end I’ll have to buy another phone. If it keeps going like that, I’ll end up renting a warehouse to store all those phones and tablets.

If you ever fancy buying an Android tablet, don’t go for the cheap Chinese ones. They kind of work, but are more pain than pleasure, and are too slow to be usable. Buy a Nexus 7 instead. It is awesome. I never thought I’ll be using a tablet for anything apart from testing the game, but this one got me hooked up. I even check most of my email on it now. Unthinkable!

Enough chatting and back to the weather.

35 Comments

  1. Posted October 16, 2012 at 22:16 | Permalink | Reply

    any idea if it works on the Nook Color? if not I will download and see.

    • Posted October 16, 2012 at 22:20 | Permalink | Reply

      It is one of these PowerVR devices, so it will probably give you a blank screen. And it only has a SGX 530, which is ancient, so would be likely unplayable even if it worked. But you might always give it try.

      • Posted October 16, 2012 at 22:26 | Permalink | Reply

        mine is all sorts of hacked and rooted and overclocked. So it may run…but it doesn’t load atm…

    • Posted October 16, 2012 at 22:25 | Permalink | Reply

      well the answer is…doesn’t open up on the nook color..I downloaded the demo and it flashes for a second then goes away.

  2. Chris Gibson and Charles Burns
    Posted October 16, 2012 at 22:25 | Permalink | Reply

    You should improve the water physics. Like in the ocean if you place a block that is connected to the ground it will not float away and if you put another block in front of the one and break the first block that is connected to the ground then the block in the middle of the water will float around. This could make it possible to make boats. Also you should make it to where if you don’t move water you sink. The boat could also be able to tip over and even be taken under. You should also have waves.

  3. jriot10
    Posted October 16, 2012 at 22:30 | Permalink | Reply

    Windows Tablets are better :P

    • korbaksc
      Posted October 16, 2012 at 22:45 | Permalink | Reply

      Microsoft Surface is attractive to me, which tablet do you thought about? :)

      • jriot10
        Posted October 17, 2012 at 02:55 | Permalink | Reply

        I am thinking of the Surface Pro since i plan on using it to replace my laptop as it is really old :(

    • Posted October 16, 2012 at 22:57 | Permalink | Reply

      Quite likely but they’re not shipping yet. If the price is attractive they may be better than Nexus 7, but I somehow doubt Microsoft will be selling them for $199. Android is a messy OS that’s for sure. But I like 7”, it still fits in your pocket, just. And at 1280×800 the screen is super sharp.

      • korbaksc
        Posted October 16, 2012 at 23:56 | Permalink | Reply

        Surface 32go is announced at 489€ in France so around 600 USD…

        • Posted October 17, 2012 at 00:01 | Permalink

          That’s pretty steep. They may have hard time competing with Android tablets which are 1/3 the price.

        • jriot10
          Posted October 17, 2012 at 02:56 | Permalink

          I agree especially since that is the Surface RT tablet which is the cheapest version. Surface PRO will probably end up being 1000 :'(

  4. Andrew
    Posted October 17, 2012 at 01:01 | Permalink | Reply

    Wow I’m been hearing about the “Big Thing” for like two months and the Big Thing is just some new platform that’s bull. I thought it was something cool but it’s just that that’s stupid.

    • max samuels
      Posted October 17, 2012 at 12:13 | Permalink | Reply

      It’s a important step for the game, not for us. And kallus did explain that in the long run it will help the game grow faster update wise.

  5. brian t
    Posted October 17, 2012 at 01:01 | Permalink | Reply

    I don’t realy understand the need for hybrids of good windows phones and alike and the pc itself. You have the phone with you all day at work, and probably fits in pocket. And home at night most people who are not continualy watching tv or alike are people like us here who are sat at a nice PC. the bit inbetween is worthless” in my opinion” In most homes there are at least 1 PC. and in a lot of afluent countries like the usa or uk ,and others every room may have a PC. and chances are they all have a mobile. I don’t have a better practical place to use a tablet. that my phone or Pc can preform to my requirements. I don’t get it. Can anyone explain how a tablet may meet that middle ground.

  6. brian t
    Posted October 17, 2012 at 01:12 | Permalink | Reply

    Regards androids and alike to me they are fasionable only. they may have a seven inch screen or more (not practical) As mobiles get better why wouldn’t we prefer something you can carry in your pocket. some specs on my mobile are better than my pc. My pc is hard wired into the net. How can there be any improvement.
    Kindle ?? waste of time my nokia read does all that. why would i want it bigger. To Show People?

  7. brian t
    Posted October 17, 2012 at 01:21 | Permalink | Reply

    And re some larger androids with lager screens. “it must be harder to play games like survivalcraft” your hand will be all over the screen as apposed to your thumbs. The market is bigger there and Kaalus you are going to do really well in that market, Be sure. But with practicallity and continuing inprovements to smaller mobiles. It’s not gonna last forever. Maybe enough for you to do very well, but long term these devices 6 inch screen plus will become the new versions of the large brick phones we had in the 1980’s.

  8. brian t
    Posted October 17, 2012 at 01:30 | Permalink | Reply

    PC and alike (if it aint broken don’t fix it) the Pc and Alike will be around for a very very long time. If they wern’t pratical to use we would all be using smaller devices in the work place, and we are not. and not going to be niether. I guess i’m stating the obvious. Ergonomically Perfect.

  9. brian t
    Posted October 17, 2012 at 01:33 | Permalink | Reply

    Lets face it where would you be more likely to create a great game like SurvivalCraft. a Pc or a smaller unit?

  10. brian t
    Posted October 17, 2012 at 01:49 | Permalink | Reply

    I know if we were ten years down the line you would agree with me, and you would be saying yes but i did very well in that market. and i would agree. But my values can’t change I’m sorry.

  11. brian t
    Posted October 17, 2012 at 02:01 | Permalink | Reply

    Don’t forget one major little detail, In the phone market we gadget lovers tend to upgrade between 1 and 2 years. we Keep our computers for about 3-4 years after some upgrades by ourselves.The mobile market continues that push to get us to keep pushing our mobiles to the next level. Me motorolar? 3310 7650 n95 n97, lumia and so fourth. i still have the same pc from my 7650. many of us re download some aps we love. at our cost. the phone market (pocket based) is a huge market. don’t overlook it please.

    • jriot10
      Posted October 17, 2012 at 02:57 | Permalink | Reply

      No need to be rude but you just posted 7 comments on the same topic when u could have made only one. Plz limit what you say so more important stuff such as bug fixes can be easier to see.

    • Cooperdan
      Posted October 17, 2012 at 08:02 | Permalink | Reply

      Shutup Brian…. -_-

    • Posted October 17, 2012 at 08:05 | Permalink | Reply

      Your spamming is getting ridiculous.

      • brian t
        Posted October 17, 2012 at 15:19 | Permalink | Reply

        Barracuda can help there it stops nearly everything.I have no problem at all deffinately worth downloading.

  12. Posted October 17, 2012 at 11:34 | Permalink | Reply

    I currently have a galaxy tab 2 and SC runs beautifully, its even still fine on my Samsung omnia 7 which is ancient as hell. I did see a lot of the negative comments but the majority are only because of the incompatibility, im sure if you fix the issue we will have a rapidly growing community and player base !:)

  13. skittledude
    Posted October 17, 2012 at 14:13 | Permalink | Reply

    I don’t know if this too important but I am still being offered an update for Survivalcraft after already doing so. Every time I search Survivalcraft in the Marketplace I am offered the ability to update which, after tapping, brings me to the download page with nothing being downloaded. I have also been seeing the “1” on my Marketplace live tile which is always Survivalcraft requesting an update which, when accepted, also leads me to the download page with nothing being downloaded. This isn’t too problematic but I just hope that it doesn’t inhibit me from updating when 1.19 is released.

    • Posted October 17, 2012 at 14:25 | Permalink | Reply

      1.17 is the latest version, there shouldn’t be any more updates available once you’ve got it. If there are, that’s likely some MS glitch, hopefully harmless.

  14. skittledude
    Posted October 17, 2012 at 14:18 | Permalink | Reply

    *1.18, sorry.

  15. Nikpol22
    Posted October 17, 2012 at 17:33 | Permalink | Reply

    Kaalus, when you will make skins?

  16. Posted January 10, 2013 at 01:31 | Permalink | Reply

    I do not comment, but after looking at through a bunch of comments on 200 reviews
    missing? Survivalcraft. I do have 2 questions for you if you don’t mind. Could it be only me or do a few of the comments appear like they are coming from brain dead people? :-P And, if you are posting on other places, I’d like to follow you.
    Could you post a list of every one of all your shared sites like your Facebook page, twitter feed,
    or linkedin profile?

    • Posted January 10, 2013 at 10:34 | Permalink | Reply

      I am posting on this blog and on Twitter. Facebook page is there as well, but I don’t really have time to update it :-(

  17. Posted June 28, 2013 at 21:29 | Permalink | Reply

    It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button! I’d most certainly donate to this outstanding blog! I guess for now i’ll settle for bookmarking and adding your
    RSS feed to my Google account. I look forward to
    brand new updates and will share this site with my Facebook group.
    Chat soon!

  18. MTB adventures/RCs to the limit
    Posted March 29, 2015 at 16:26 | Permalink | Reply

    HE HE 2015.

  19. Posted August 27, 2015 at 09:35 | Permalink | Reply

    I’m sure those 200 reviews were all 5 stars…

Leave a Reply. No swearing please.

