Survivalcraft now available for Android!

I published it. There’s no certification to go through in Google Play so it’s up within a couple of hours of me pressing the button.

Here’s the links to the store:

Survivalcraft Demo

Survivalcraft Paid

If you haven’t read the earlier post, the reason I am releasing it for Android is so that I can eventually have more time to work on more features for the game!

If you support that, please download the demo version to your Android devices (if you own any) and tell all your friends and family about the game. The more downloads the more visibility the app will get. If you do, don’t forget to rate it.

Now for the people worried about updates for Windows Phone.

  1. The features for all platforms will be kept synchronized, within hardware limitations. Android has now just got 1.17 (exact the same features as what you have)
  2. Updates for all platforms will be published at the same time (bar things beyond my control)

The way I have done Android port, all the features are automatically shared, I don’t have to do more work to support both versions. Pretty much the only thing I have to do separately is testing and publishing. In fact this was the key thing when doing the port – I wouldn’t go for it if I had to rewrite the whole thing.

So WP7 owners you should not worry – everything will be as before. WP7 version is alive and kicking. Actually if the launch goes smoothly today, tomorrow I will be back working on the new stuff for 1.18. And I already have something almost finished that you will probably approve of, unlike this entire Android business :-) The video is getting a solid bashing from you…

53 Comments

  1. GamerF
    Posted October 14, 2012 at 20:18 | Permalink | Reply

    I still cant update to 1.17 in windows phone… no notification .. neither when i go into the marketplace from the phone… still 1.16

    • GamerF
      Posted October 14, 2012 at 20:33 | Permalink | Reply

      PD: Tried the demo in a BQ Kepler Android 2.3 and neither the boat of the beggining, the animals or the guy(in third person mode) appear… strange bug…

    • brian t
      Posted October 14, 2012 at 20:54 | Permalink | Reply

      GamerF i too had a little trouble This is what i did, go to the marketplace search the game manually (type it in) when you find it you should see it as 1.17 version. come back out to menu and you should see 1 more update than you had before. click on updates and hopefully hey presto will now be there. anyone else do it this way?

      • brian t
        Posted October 14, 2012 at 21:03 | Permalink | Reply

        GamerF would you repost if that works please as may help others waiting thank you.

        • GamerF
          Posted October 14, 2012 at 21:07 | Permalink

          Nope.. tried quite a few times .. and it still appears to be 1.16…ill wait one day or two… maybe the marketplace has to update or something…

        • GamerF
          Posted October 14, 2012 at 21:17 | Permalink

          is working now… as i said.. marketplace had to update :) (sorry for all of this comments… be free to delete them kaalus ^^)

        • brian t
          Posted October 15, 2012 at 00:37 | Permalink

          Thanks for replying GameF you must have gone on there just at the right time. Persistance can pay off sometimes. Sorry my problem wasn’t the same as yours.

  2. Snarcker
    Posted October 14, 2012 at 20:18 | Permalink | Reply

    I cannot see the menu on my Samsung Galax Nexus, there is nothing only the background animation and when I’m ingame the texture doesn’t work and the performance is really bad…. Need an Update… Sorry for my bad English ;) But i hope i can help you with this bug report.

  3. Cr360
    Posted October 14, 2012 at 20:42 | Permalink | Reply

    “The way I have done Android port, all the features are automatically shared, I don’t have to do more work to support both versions.”
    – I don’t understand how you can do that automatically knowing that the programming language is different and same for the 3D API (OpenGL). Did you use MonoGame/MonoTouch ?

  4. xxref
    Posted October 14, 2012 at 20:58 | Permalink | Reply

    Google play is not secured. The game’s download without paid

    • brian t
      Posted October 14, 2012 at 21:02 | Permalink | Reply

      Is the game Free xxref? . somebody better tell the boss he’s loosing money already. I know the demo isn’t working yet so must be paid version.

      • xxref
        Posted October 15, 2012 at 20:49 | Permalink | Reply

        Paid games can be downloaded without paying.

  5. Duxk
    Posted October 14, 2012 at 22:16 | Permalink | Reply

    I don’t know Kaalus. Didn’t live up to the hype for me.

    Seems like even though you have all of your time to work on the game, now that it’s on two platforms your work load is multiplied by 2. So those may balance out.

    Also, while I’m glad more people will get to play your game and I’d love to see some more talent adding content like textures and maps, it was nice having such a great exclusive on the WP7.

    So yeah. Bittersweet for me. Just remember your roots. I’ve had your game since 1.0

  6. cg
    Posted October 14, 2012 at 22:34 | Permalink | Reply

    Does this mean it will show up on the kindle fire since it has an Android marketplace.

  7. brian t
    Posted October 14, 2012 at 22:38 | Permalink | Reply

    Kaalus your not the only one to make a huge jump today and I watched both. I hope that the one by yourself is very successful, if so it could benefit you and us at the same time. I thought you were going to launch a PC version of the game and as you work on it on your PC how could this not be a natural move. I thought that the time it took did mean writing it for that platform, but your saying it needed little change to jump to the android platform. I don’t understand Sorry.

    • brian t
      Posted October 14, 2012 at 23:44 | Permalink | Reply

      I must admit i can purchase an android tablet 4.0 here for about £51.24. Sterling. the game is £2.99 so why wouldn’t I. Well I prefer the fact i can carry my lumia in my pocket. and it is always with me. But that’s not enough to put many off. the android market must be huge, maybe bigger than the windows phone market. If i owned the game it would make sense to sell it to as many markets as possible. My real worry is about being left behind, and i’m sure this is the biggest worry of most. This has always been the case and hence why we have games and software now that could not be entertained 30 years ago. I say we need to help it’s transition and may the game continue and grow to many markets. someway down the line we may well need to upgrade. And i hope the things we upgrade to have the latest versions of this game.

  8. epicdriv
    Posted October 14, 2012 at 23:06 | Permalink | Reply

    So who guessed ot right I know I said IOS or android

    • brian t
      Posted October 15, 2012 at 00:47 | Permalink | Reply

      I thought it was you epic that prompted that idea so well done buddy. their were so many idea’s i guess someone was gonna hit the nail on the head. It deffinately wasn’t me even with the hundred guesses i made. Gold Star. maybe you could prompt him to keep it alive in the windows phone market place inc wp8. congratulations again.

      • epicdriv
        Posted October 19, 2012 at 08:09 | Permalink | Reply

        oh yeh!!
        I’ll go celebrate in my dark corner lol

  9. pippyo03
    Posted October 14, 2012 at 23:52 | Permalink | Reply

    One thing that I loved about survivalcraft is that I was unique to windows phone. At least I think that something should be unique about the windows phone version.

  10. brian t
    Posted October 15, 2012 at 00:08 | Permalink | Reply

    when are we likely to see the windows phone 8 version? so it’s clear

  11. brian t
    Posted October 15, 2012 at 00:16 | Permalink | Reply

    That top menu may get very large have you all noticed

  12. MHollis
    Posted October 15, 2012 at 00:39 | Permalink | Reply

    Since work being done on one automatically applies to the second that implies that you’re writing it in C++, but WP 7.5 doesn’t support native apps except from some OEMs, so I’m curious as to how you’re accomplishing the “all the features are automatically shared, I don’t have to do more work to support both versions.” Perhaps using an android version of Mono?

  13. Kaleb
    Posted October 15, 2012 at 00:55 | Permalink | Reply

    Well this brings up a question, what if a windows phone user later switches to an android phone, do we have to re-purchase SC?

    • pippyo03
      Posted October 15, 2012 at 00:57 | Permalink | Reply

      Yes you will because they are a different stores.

      • brian t
        Posted October 15, 2012 at 01:09 | Permalink | Reply

        Kaalus could give us a code so if we update to new platform we would have free option to upgrade, that seems fair we contribute to games buggs he gives us a code. why wouldn’t he be happy with that concept.

        • brian t
          Posted October 15, 2012 at 01:25 | Permalink

          75% of my time is now taken by the Big Thing

        • brian t
          Posted October 15, 2012 at 01:29 | Permalink

          There’s no certification to go through in Google Play so it’s up within a couple of hours of me pressing the button.

      • Kaleb
        Posted October 15, 2012 at 05:36 | Permalink | Reply

        yeah I was kinda wondering if there would be a way kaalus could see a way around pre-purchasers having to buy the game again. I’ve been playing since 1.0 and ive loved every bit of it, but part of the reason I bought it early was because of the later price raises…

  14. brian t
    Posted October 15, 2012 at 01:01 | Permalink | Reply

    Personally i wouldn’t work for free, and i would put money first. If he ran out of money how could the game progress. Money makes the world go round and money gives you choices. money money money “it’s a rich mans world”

    • brian t
      Posted October 15, 2012 at 01:53 | Permalink | Reply

      please guys do not forget my crypticism my words are for the survivalcraft of this game.

    • jakeymacaroni
      Posted October 15, 2012 at 06:51 | Permalink | Reply

      Hey that’s from ABBA, haha

  15. Electric Jack
    Posted October 15, 2012 at 01:52 | Permalink | Reply

    Kaalus, Please do one thing, definitely don’t let the disappointment of everybody get to you. I have to admit I am disappointed the same as many on the fact of losing one of WP7’s greatest exclusives(especially due to the lack of minecraft PE) and this disappointment is not with you or the game. It will be when we have to hear from the Android users that they now have it too and can even play it on their tablets. But this will all pass and die down. Afterall, we got wp8 right around the corner and tablets coming as well. I am not worried. I couldn’t be happier for you and hope that this brings you all the success that others in the indie gaming line have found. I hope you get millions of sales on Android and then have millions more follow on WP8 after that (hoping strongly that WP8 hits big). Even though I am surrounded by Android users who always claim superiority over me and WP7, I will be bigger than them and not even say that we had it first. I will instead, promote your game as much as I possibly can. Congrats and you have every right to be excited! To the future of an amazing game that will only become even more amazing for both WP users and Android users alike. (and maybe even PC users? ;) lol)

    • brian t
      Posted October 15, 2012 at 01:55 | Permalink | Reply

      Well said Jack( and i said too much already i know)

  16. Arthur
    Posted October 15, 2012 at 02:14 | Permalink | Reply

    Hi Kaalus. I’ve been an WP7 user right from when it launched. However, things changed and I got and android. I was really excited and I bought the game right away. It runs smoothly, without problems, and maybe even better on the HTC Vivid than on my old HTC HD7S! The only problem I have is Dropbox. It does not let me log in. Thanks.

    • Arthur
      Posted October 15, 2012 at 03:05 | Permalink | Reply

      Also, multitasking is not working very well.

  17. airforcerulz
    Posted October 15, 2012 at 03:13 | Permalink | Reply

    Im getting an android soon I think,do I HAVE to buy it AGAIN?

  18. generalguy41
    Posted October 15, 2012 at 04:07 | Permalink | Reply

    I guess it’s my turn to chime in. I’ll try to keep it short.

    Kaalus. You are a fantastic developer, and this game is nothing short of amazing. I completely understand where you’re coming from and will continue to support you and this game. I will, however, say that I too am slightly disappointed at the loss of WP exclusivity. It was a nice thing we had going over Android and iOS while it lasted. I always had a thought in the back of my mind of “Maybe he’s doing well enough that he won’t need to port it over,” or “Maybe he doesn’t have enough time on his hands to do a port, with all these updates he’s pumping out.” but alas, it was only wishful thinking.

    As some of the other commentors have mentioned, none of this disappointment is directed to you or the game, merely the fact that we are losing exclusivity of a great game. On the other hand, the Android market just got a fantastic new addition to their collection, and I hope that they will react positively and that this will stem wonderful results.

    Congrats again Kaalus on a successful port, and I wish you nothing but good luck and fortune in the future for this game, and any others you may make. Forget the naysayers, and keep doing what you do best!

    PS. I will be purchasing a second copy for my Android tablet. Come on people, it’s $4.00. Four!

  19. preben
    Posted October 15, 2012 at 15:47 | Permalink | Reply

    I think this is a good thing, my gf allways complained she couldnt play this game, but now thanks to kaalus, she can! And I was thinking about buying a new Phone, since my lumia 800 have what it seems to be a broken speaker, so I cant talk to people during a calls..

    • epicdriv
      Posted October 15, 2012 at 16:19 | Permalink | Reply

      well I have to agree with you proben my sister and both cousins have to play mcpe its alright but in my eyes sc is better it would also benfit wp7 because if (fingers crossed :) multiplayer is launched more players to play with= win+win
      Keep it up kaalus

  20. Del_Gro
    Posted October 15, 2012 at 17:57 | Permalink | Reply

    epic lag on the old lg p500

  21. brian t
    Posted October 15, 2012 at 22:58 | Permalink | Reply

    24. Name witheld

    Posted May 28, 2012 at 08:47 | Permalink | Reply

    I got a new phone and its a Android I can’t find it anywhere does anyone know where I can find it or if you could make it available for Android (one letter changed)
    Started work in june (seed became Tree)

  22. brian t
    Posted October 15, 2012 at 23:10 | Permalink | Reply

    Will this gentleman/lady see some royalty’s for his great suggestion. If so, could you make survivalcraft for Iphone.

    • brian t
      Posted October 15, 2012 at 23:15 | Permalink | Reply

      Sorry to mention that Ovis magnet Phone.

  23. Wade
    Posted October 16, 2012 at 23:15 | Permalink | Reply

    So i tried to find the app on my friends Droid Razr and couldnt find it in the marketplace

    • Kaalus
      Posted October 16, 2012 at 23:29 | Permalink | Reply

      Droid Razr has PowerVR SGX540 which is currently unsupported. But I am working on it.

      • wade
        Posted October 17, 2012 at 07:58 | Permalink | Reply

        Thanks for the tip. I was hoping that would be of some use to you

  24. Jimbo
    Posted November 11, 2012 at 23:38 | Permalink | Reply

    What’s the difference between the Demo version and the Paid version?

  25. Posted November 15, 2012 at 20:38 | Permalink | Reply

    Hey i have a Tablet but evreytime i start this game i see black for about 3 – 4 seconds and then it goes back to my homepage of my tablet
    please help me i really want to play!

    • Posted November 15, 2012 at 21:08 | Permalink | Reply

      Hi Rick. What tablet do you have and running which version of Android?

      • Posted November 16, 2012 at 07:05 | Permalink | Reply

        I have an Difrence DIT1010 Tablet and its running on android 4.0.3 and a 9,7 inch screen

        • Posted November 16, 2012 at 10:14 | Permalink

          Hi Rick. This seems to be one of Rockchip tablets, I thought they were fine working with the game. If you had a bit of time and wanted to help, could you install CatLog from Google Play and email me the system log that ensues when the game crashes? Thanks.

  26. Posted February 2, 2013 at 21:10 | Permalink | Reply

    But i have an iphone.. How can i get survival craft?????:(

Leave a Reply. No swearing please.

