Spears sticking in wood

I am testing the big thing and adding some small stuff for 1.18:

http://youtu.be/FbtB9pmVKTc

Amazingly, despite the shortage of hints some of you are getting close to guessing what this big thing will be. It’s different from anything I did to the game before, and it took me a long time to do, I think since June in fact! Keep trying :-)

If everything goes well with 1.17 submission (which is still at Microsoft), I plan to release the big thing some time after 1.17 hits the marketplaces.

42 Comments

  1. pippyo03
    Posted October 10, 2012 at 01:11 | Permalink | Reply

    Nice now we can practice accuracy

  2. airforcerulz
    Posted October 10, 2012 at 01:18 | Permalink | Reply

    Its skins isn’t it? Please message me on twitter if im correct @USAIRxFORCE

    • pippyo03
      Posted October 10, 2012 at 01:54 | Permalink | Reply

      I don’t think it would take him 3 months no make skins. Im thinking weather.

  3. Chris Gibson and Charles Burns
    Posted October 10, 2012 at 02:26 | Permalink | Reply

    You should have a gore mode. You know with blood and stuff. And then a clean mode where it is peaceful and non violent

  4. Posted October 10, 2012 at 02:38 | Permalink | Reply

    I looked at the posts on this website all the way back to June 1st and have noted the few things Kaalus has hinted to in respect to future additions to Survivalcraft.

    Kaalus has noted possible creation of the following things:

    Sun related navigation including a sextant leading to caches the character must find find to create something.
    Certain things happening exclusively at certain moon cycles such as angrier wolves during a full moon.
    Something related to animal persistence.
    Falling dirt.
    And finally (and this one is my personal favourite) rain modifying the rate at which wet dirt blocks fall.

    I hate to give my personal opinion on what the possible update may be, at the chance of being wrong and making someone feel as though I’m not grateful for what is given, but I believe that this “Big Thing” may be weather conditions. I’m somewhat inclined to doubt myself due to Kaalus typing the “Big Thing” with capitals making me believe that it may be a living thing or place. Regardless, I will, as always, utterly enjoy each addition to Survivalcraft as each change makes the game so much more fun and in depth, creating a truly lasting appeal to a game which requires only my thumbs, eyes and imagination.

    Thanks for everything you’ve done Kaalus and please don’t ever stop being awesome!

    • Sir Knight
      Posted October 10, 2012 at 02:41 | Permalink | Reply

      Well said.

    • generalguy41
      Posted October 10, 2012 at 04:34 | Permalink | Reply

      Preach! Hear, hear! :P

  5. Sir Knight
    Posted October 10, 2012 at 02:55 | Permalink | Reply

    Furthermore; I am glad to hear that bows are underway. I hope that someday we will be able to practice some horse archery. speaking of animals; any new hints on the new one kaalus sir?

  6. jriot10
    Posted October 10, 2012 at 03:04 | Permalink | Reply

    Kaalus why so evil!!!!!! You should tell us before my heart stops do to suspense. You don’t want to have a dead and previously eager customer do you?

  7. jriot10
    Posted October 10, 2012 at 05:22 | Permalink | Reply

    Here is my guess that I have thought about for a while and it made a lot of sense to me although it isn’t much of a big thing to me it is pretty awesome and it would be a cool feature. My guess is that he is adding multiple islands so that the world is not just a single giants strip of land. This way you could travel to different islands. Weather is also a very good guess as it also has to due with optimizating the code. If the multiple islands is not the correct annswer then it would still be a very awesome/ awesomely amazing feature to have in the game.

    And another guess I came up with while is was typing that huge paragraph is that he would be adding “dungeons” or some generated structure that you would find while exploring or mining. If I got the big thing right then you should make a post about it so I can stop thinking about it while I try to do homework.

  8. bartekxyz
    Posted October 10, 2012 at 07:39 | Permalink | Reply

    As I said earlier it’s probably a port of Survivalcraft for Windows 8/RT. I’m pretty confident about it.

    • Preben
      Posted October 10, 2012 at 10:47 | Permalink | Reply

      If thats true, I hope the Xbox gets some piece of the action

    • pippyo03
      Posted October 10, 2012 at 13:35 | Permalink | Reply

      I don’t think so because he said I came out in 1.18. I wouldn’t need an update to the phone if he was just putting it on win 8. Plus it’s still in alpha so that’s alot more coding for each update.

    • jriot10
      Posted October 10, 2012 at 16:32 | Permalink | Reply

      It is most definently not a port of Survivalcraft for windows 8 as apps are automatically made avaible for windows 8 also he said in a previous post that he had to do some things to fix the depth bias. The PC version of survivalcraft is a pretty good guess though.

      • bartekxyz
        Posted October 10, 2012 at 18:17 | Permalink | Reply

        You mix up Windows 8 with Windows Phone 8. From the beginning I was talking about computer OS(Windows 8 and Windows RT). Look again at what I said.

        • pippyo03
          Posted October 10, 2012 at 21:50 | Permalink

          I no thats what I mean windows 8

  9. celsius
    Posted October 10, 2012 at 08:43 | Permalink | Reply

    It could be possible that the “Big Thing” could be a separate platform version of SC. Maybe on PC? Just speculating.

    • bartekxyz
      Posted October 10, 2012 at 09:28 | Permalink | Reply

      Look at my prevoius comment above.

    • Sebastian
      Posted October 10, 2012 at 12:52 | Permalink | Reply

      ZOMBIES!!!!!

      • cooperdan
        Posted October 10, 2012 at 13:32 | Permalink | Reply

        Sigh

      • max
        Posted October 10, 2012 at 13:48 | Permalink | Reply

        No… Not zombies…..

        . anybody want to explain to him

        • Preben
          Posted October 10, 2012 at 15:41 | Permalink

          No, just leave him be :-P haha. Just read arlier posts ;-) sry 4 my english

  10. brian t
    Posted October 10, 2012 at 17:45 | Permalink | Reply

    His words have us hanging on waiting for any hint, It’s generating more guess’s than I have ever seen

    • brian t
      Posted October 10, 2012 at 17:51 | Permalink | Reply

      He did say he was gonna put it In sometime between 1.17 and 1.18 did he mean exactly that. Is that right

      • brian t
        Posted October 10, 2012 at 17:54 | Permalink | Reply

        Do those spears dissapear differently to say others things idling on ground?

        • Kaalus
          Posted October 10, 2012 at 18:09 | Permalink

          Nope, they disappear after 75 seconds

        • brian t
          Posted October 10, 2012 at 19:34 | Permalink

          Could they stay put forever, I guess the way certain inventory works thats no, not without major changes to whole game. sorry answered myself. there goes my long distance spear challenge from tallest building. I’d be playing on my own at mo anyway.

  11. brian t
    Posted October 10, 2012 at 20:19 | Permalink | Reply

    I was hoping (The Big Thing) may be a large creation or am I being too politicaly correct?

  12. brian t
    Posted October 10, 2012 at 20:40 | Permalink | Reply

    Back to the spears are you aware the stacking problem is still there, i guess you realise that.

  13. brian t
    Posted October 10, 2012 at 20:48 | Permalink | Reply

    I know tools are not stackable but yours come from one place and return to seperate slots unless exactly the same?

  14. Sebastian
    Posted October 10, 2012 at 22:21 | Permalink | Reply

    Does anyone have the update

    • brian t
      Posted October 10, 2012 at 23:24 | Permalink | Reply

      only in submission stage so couple of days after passing usualy for me

  15. brian t
    Posted October 10, 2012 at 23:38 | Permalink | Reply

    I reckon on friday or monday for me given last updates time taken. At least that spooky things gonna be here for the eve of all HALLOWS.

  16. epic2015
    Posted October 10, 2012 at 23:45 | Permalink | Reply

    Nice idea. I wonder what the BIG THING will be.

  17. brian t
    Posted October 10, 2012 at 23:59 | Permalink | Reply

    Epic i thought he may move towards power orig and the big thing being techs to support it. I now think it’s gonna be something many of have asked for , given it’s launch time between 1.17 and 1.18 i think the move towards more players and it being BIG, I think a new platform such as PC etc..

  18. brian t
    Posted October 11, 2012 at 00:06 | Permalink | Reply

    I have prompted and many others how the game could be used on PC etc. and he is already using a pc to gear the game that, that move is very possible. And maybe planned anyway. It would bring more into the game given then the abbility to port videos made by us and others, and the fact the mobile game is so good this would be a very new thing seing mobile games going to larger platforms like pc.

  19. brian t
    Posted October 11, 2012 at 00:17 | Permalink | Reply

    Kaalus stated his work began in june and we are approaching november. It would take very long to Create other platforms of game. But i could be wildly wrong, just hoping i guess. the only problem i see is the controls. On pc the mouse could be your digging finger, i would like to see two keys that are close to be your move and look but it gets complicated. his own pc vids seem to work well so he has that sorted. some of the things worked on recently do lend to that move… Lets just wait and see.

  20. brian t
    Posted October 11, 2012 at 00:37 | Permalink | Reply

    Last comment, given that we have dropbox the game could work very well on many platforms eventually. Dropbox supports windows mobiles and pc. Play on mobile updtae world to dropbox, if you play on your pc at night update and continue where you were.

    • jriot10
      Posted October 11, 2012 at 03:05 | Permalink | Reply

      Could you put everything in one comment instead of 12?

      • brian t
        Posted October 11, 2012 at 19:39 | Permalink | Reply

        The problem i have is i’m not very good at spelling and the gramma so it can take me a while to do just a couple of lines. sorry again

  21. brian t
    Posted October 11, 2012 at 19:34 | Permalink | Reply

    sorry j riot will try harder.

    • brian t
      Posted October 11, 2012 at 19:41 | Permalink | Reply

      By the way it’s more like 16 times sorry 17

Leave a Reply. No swearing please.

