Shadows

I added creature shadows. They are subtle but add more depth to the scene. Unfortunately they also cost performance, mostly because they are non-trivially projected onto the terrain, so I added an option to disable them in the settings. Drawing shadows in the worst case (30 creatures) takes about 4ms on a 1st gen phone.

Here’s how they look:  http://youtu.be/nyHmCW2uerM

I think shadows will be the last thing for 1.17. I am now starting testing for submission. There has been a lot of internal changes and optimizations since 1.16, due to the Big Thing. These will not visible for the users yet in 1.17, but have a nasty habit of producing new bugs. For example I completely refactored drawing of inventory blocks. They no longer require a separate drawcall per block, all the blocks on screen are drawn as one.

I really would like to give you a hint, but cannot think of anything good. The Big Thing is very much unlike anything else I’ve done to the game before.

Since the mishap with loading of old worlds in one of the previous releases, my first testing step is to check loading of a bunch of old worlds (I have a set of them in my Dropbox going all the way back to 1.9) and see if they work properly :-)

Btw. did you know that Survivalcraft should be able to successfully load worlds from old versions, going all the way back to 1.0, even though there has been insane amount of changes since then? One day I must test it, I can get 1.0 sources back from the source control, build it, and save a world.

 

19 Comments

  1. jriot10
    Posted October 5, 2012 at 03:14 | Permalink | Reply

    The fly mood looks pretty cool but it would look cooler if he like fly’s into the air like superman

    • pippyo03
      Posted October 5, 2012 at 03:33 | Permalink | Reply

      I disagree I think it was an amazing job. It doesn’t look over done or under done. Just perfect

    • jriot10
      Posted October 5, 2012 at 04:28 | Permalink | Reply

      Yah i never said it was bad i think its amazing. When i saw it i was stunned. I’m just saying that superman flying would be cooler :P

  2. pippyo03
    Posted October 5, 2012 at 03:32 | Permalink | Reply

    Right now my world works and it was from 1.0 or from 1.1

  3. jriot10
    Posted October 5, 2012 at 04:28 | Permalink | Reply

    I forgot to ask. Is the big thing in 1.17? or is it coming in 1.18?

    • Posted October 5, 2012 at 17:35 | Permalink | Reply

      It will likely come in between.

    • generalguy41
      Posted October 5, 2012 at 17:38 | Permalink | Reply

      I’d assume not since 1.17 is almost ready for submission, but he said the Big Thing isn’t ready yet. Of course I could be completely wrong (I kinda hope I am).

      • generalguy41
        Posted October 5, 2012 at 17:40 | Permalink | Reply

        Note to self: Refresh page before posting replies. Question may have already been answered….

  4. Sir Knight
    Posted October 5, 2012 at 04:59 | Permalink | Reply

    So, exactly how is the Big Thing different: gameplay wise, or technical wise? And if gameplay wise, can we (the player) control it?

    • Posted October 5, 2012 at 11:08 | Permalink | Reply

      It’s different on all levels. No, you cannot control it.

  5. Posted October 5, 2012 at 09:25 | Permalink | Reply

    So will the tools be 3d in the next release? Have you considered making the character start to loose life if it does not eat? I think that would make the game more intresting and realistic. Or make a realistic gamemode where that feature would be because now I really dont have to hunt or worry about eating.
    I really love the game <3 <3 Waiting for the multiplayer if it ever comes out.

    • Posted October 5, 2012 at 11:01 | Permalink | Reply

      Yes, 1.17 will have the new tools, and the stick, yay :-)

      Hunger, cold, sickness are all waiting to be done and they will eventually make it. At the moment the survival aspect is very limited and simplified from what I want it to be.

      • Posted October 5, 2012 at 23:46 | Permalink | Reply

        Oh wow! Can’t wait. I really love what you have done with the 3d, the tools look awesome. Can’t wait for the next release “Are we there yet, are we there yet, are we there yet.” Ok, back to the game.

      • Posted October 5, 2012 at 23:53 | Permalink | Reply

        Oh, one more thing! One thing I hate in the game…. when I forgot the match in my hand and go back to my castle and first light up my door, then my boxes and then … and I can only watch the whole thing burn. And another thing while I’m at it. When I have done like 3 hours of mining and about to go back to store the goods, I do something that makes my character die….then I don’t make it back to the items in time and they vanish. I have literally thrown my phone on the wall couple of time because of that. I know “save” option is not realistic or will it ever make it to the game but one can have dreams right?

  6. cooperdan
    Posted October 5, 2012 at 10:37 | Permalink | Reply

    Kaalus, don’t try and fix something that isn’t broken, with this big thing… Take your time, and get it right first time :)

    • Posted October 5, 2012 at 11:08 | Permalink | Reply

      I can’t break something that does not exist yet :-)

      • max
        Posted October 5, 2012 at 12:03 | Permalink | Reply

        Chuck Norris could.

  7. brian t
    Posted October 5, 2012 at 19:46 | Permalink | Reply

    Always easy to say to much. So HUGE well done looks fantabulous.

  8. brian t
    Posted October 5, 2012 at 19:54 | Permalink | Reply

    As Cliff said once the shadows look great.

Leave a Reply. No swearing please.

