Tool damage system

I am adding a new feature to 1.16, all very secret so far :-), and I need to change the tools damage system for it to work. I thought I’ll mention it, because the new way tools will get damaged can be useful for the adventure mode.

Before 1.16 tools were damaged probabilistically – i.e. you could not predict exactly how many times the tool can be used before it breaks. This is due to the fact that I used to have only 4 bits to represent damage, so I couldn’t do any better.

For some time now I’ve had full 16 bits available for the damage. So, from 1.16 on, tools will have exact number of uses before they expire. For example, wooden pickaxe can be used 48 times before it breaks. You can use this new property of tools in an adventure map by providing e.g. a shovel that has exactly one use left, and so can be used to dig exactly one block – and a dilemma for the poor player. I can see this being useful.

A side effect of that change is that all your existing tools damage will be reset to nil. I could add a version converter to keep the damage, but it’s way too much work for what it’s worth.

13 Comments

  1. Posted September 2, 2012 at 03:07 | Permalink | Reply

    Nil? Did you mean Null?

    • mattlekim
      Posted September 2, 2012 at 09:39 | Permalink | Reply

      i think he ment that they would be set to 0. Ie your tools would be at full helth.

  2. Sir Knight
    Posted September 2, 2012 at 20:18 | Permalink | Reply

    Any hints as to what this secret feature is? Please…

    • Sir Knight
      Posted September 2, 2012 at 20:22 | Permalink | Reply

      My guess so far is that it will the ability to repair worn-out tools…

    • Posted September 2, 2012 at 21:45 | Permalink | Reply

      Something that is messy in real life.

      • max
        Posted September 3, 2012 at 23:48 | Permalink | Reply

        It’s probably gutting and skinning game to eat it, very survivalistic and messy

        • max
          Posted September 3, 2012 at 23:49 | Permalink

          Anyone else have ideas ?

  3. Sir Knight
    Posted September 2, 2012 at 22:01 | Permalink | Reply

    Good hint, very thought provoking. The first thing that comes to my mind is grease or oil…

  4. Jt
    Posted September 3, 2012 at 04:28 | Permalink | Reply

    Hey Kaalus I’m thinking since your character is the only person on the island you should add at least some villages with people in it or just random people walking around trying to survive too.

  5. tommy thomas
    Posted September 3, 2012 at 10:17 | Permalink | Reply

    Hey I just bought survival craft and started working on a world and the screen crashed, now when I load the world it just returns to the load screen, is there any possible way to load the level I was using?

    • Posted September 3, 2012 at 10:57 | Permalink | Reply

      Probably it was saving when crash occured. Do you have a Lumia 610? If the world you lost is important, please email the scworld file to me at candyrufusgames@gmail.com, I’ll see what I can do.

      • epic2015
        Posted September 3, 2012 at 14:07 | Permalink | Reply

        I have deleted almost ALL of my worlds, and STILL freezes.

  6. Zombi3Mast3r616
    Posted September 3, 2012 at 20:24 | Permalink | Reply

    Oh hey its me again. Have not talked in a while. Again with ideas but how about a fishing rod. Of course string would be needed but with that bows could be possible. I don’t know what could be the factor of this string maybe leaves or wood like 9 pcs or less also decorative blocks like a wall paper that is half a block sideways not up and down also the occasional mountain a lava pit or volcano. Reply if you agree =D

Leave a Reply. No swearing please.

