Freezing contd.

I found the freezing culprit – it’s autosaving. Thanks to all who replied to the earlier post!

With all the recent additions, mostly since 1.12, saving got a little out of hand and I failed to spot it. I have now optimized it heavily and brought it down to a fraction of time it takes in 1.15. In one of the worlds I was sent (thanks!), autosaving took around 500ms. Now it takes 20ms. And all autosaving file access is now done on a background thread.

I had to make some compromises here and there to get it down. For example in 1.16 if you don’t visit your animals for a very long time (many game days) they will eventually disappear, even if totally enclosed (visiting means coming within ~16 blocks). This is required to keep the amount of animals data at bay.

Plus autosave now happens every 20 seconds, not 10 as before.

7 Comments

  1. lowbudgetbatman
    Posted August 31, 2012 at 03:44 | Permalink | Reply

    Hey kaalus I never had this problem on my focus which I found odd but I guess every phone is different. But I did experience heavy lag from certain caves I thought was caused by flowing water, if you want I can post The game save after work. Was also wondering what you would think about including a debug screen in options(frame rate, animation amount etc) to help you better pinpoint smaller problems

    • Posted August 31, 2012 at 18:00 | Permalink | Reply

      Yes by all means email the world to me please.

  2. Posted August 31, 2012 at 04:53 | Permalink | Reply

    Can you make the visiting range greater than 16 blocks? I think it is way to close especially for the dangerous mobs. It should be at least 32 blocks. :)

  3. epic2015
    Posted August 31, 2012 at 13:24 | Permalink | Reply

    I never knew there was auto saving, but NOW I know. Lol

  4. xxref
    Posted August 31, 2012 at 20:10 | Permalink | Reply

    It is possible to add survivalcraft redstone and lever? Thanks

    • Posted August 31, 2012 at 20:13 | Permalink | Reply

      Copper wires and circuits are planned for later. No redstone.

      • xxref
        Posted August 31, 2012 at 20:22 | Permalink | Reply

        Thank you very much. Survivalcraft is the best game. I appreciate your work.

Leave a Reply. No swearing please.

