1.14 emergency bugfix submitted

I’ve just clicked the final submit button. Will be some time before you get it, in the meantime if you want to fix your world you can use the instructions from the last post.

But 1.14 fixes a lot of  bugs:

  • old world loading bug
  • ladder dismounting bug
  • grass regrowth bug with grass sometimes overwriting other blocks (like fences)
  • bird spawning bug with lots of birds spawning
  • moon lighting bug
  • blurry text bug

but also adds some new stuff: the hygrometer:

Hygrometer tells you how humid certain area is. The more humidity the better chance of trees growing. I didn’t have time to add any other big things, this being an emergency release.

But I made some tweaks here and there. For example the initial spawn position is now almost always in a humid, lowland area. No more spawning in the middle of the mountains. And there is the new text rendering engine – visual differences may be subtle, but they are there, and it is also faster than the built-in XNA text renderer that I was using before.

I also uploaded the new block icons for 1.13.

28 Comments

  1. nosyrbllewe
    Posted July 14, 2012 at 22:53 | Permalink | Reply

    I love how the thermometer looks on the wall, now we get the hygrometer! (Did you mean Hydrometer?) :)

  2. ScSarth99
    Posted July 15, 2012 at 00:25 | Permalink | Reply

    I still don’t have 1.13 and 1.14 is on its way ._.

    • kevin m
      Posted July 15, 2012 at 00:34 | Permalink | Reply

      goto marketplace and search up survivalcraft click view details or what ever button to see details and at the left bottom you should see Update(that’s what I had to do)

      • Antonio27791
        Posted July 15, 2012 at 01:43 | Permalink | Reply

        I had to do the same thing

      • epic2015
        Posted July 15, 2012 at 02:45 | Permalink | Reply

        Not me, I uploaded my worlds and uninstalled it and reinstalled the 1.13 version.

  3. kevin m
    Posted July 15, 2012 at 00:33 | Permalink | Reply

    Thanks!

  4. Antonio27791
    Posted July 15, 2012 at 01:45 | Permalink | Reply

    Thank you I can’t wait to play survivalcraft agian

  5. epic2015
    Posted July 15, 2012 at 02:48 | Permalink | Reply

    Good thing this is emergency release.

  6. Sir Knight
    Posted July 15, 2012 at 09:03 | Permalink | Reply

    Kaalus, now that we have saplings and a way to measure humidity, would it be possible to implement a system of irrigation to increase an areas humidity? I have been trying it out, but apparently digging trenches and filling them with water do nothing to improves an areas agricultural potential…

    • Posted July 15, 2012 at 20:06 | Permalink | Reply

      Good idea but don’t know how easy it will be.

      • Sir Knight
        Posted July 15, 2012 at 21:18 | Permalink | Reply

        Does water have any effect on humidity? Perhaps you could implement an “Area of Effect” in which water increases humidity to all adjacent dirt/grass blocks, with the effect decreasing as the distance to water increases, similar to how the torches affect the light in an area…

  7. Posted July 15, 2012 at 14:17 | Permalink | Reply

    Well, the fix from your last post got all my worlds loading again… but do you have any idea why not all of my worlds received the new sky? 3 did, 1 didn’t.

  8. PapaDuke
    Posted July 15, 2012 at 22:45 | Permalink | Reply

    Has anyone mentioned that the food bug is still an issue? I still need to individually separate a piece of food before dragging into the eat box.

    • Posted July 15, 2012 at 23:48 | Permalink | Reply

      Hmm, eating works fine on mine, just tried it with a stack of eggs. Can you please doublecheck? This bug was fixed as one of the first things for 1.13

      • PapaDuke
        Posted July 16, 2012 at 06:35 | Permalink | Reply

        OK, that was random then…

        I updated. Then I started my world to make sure it would load. It did :)

        Went to a tree to try to get some saplings during the day. Almost got pawned by a wolf that decided to attack me in the daytime but since I was going to cut down trees, I was able to fend for myself. Was down to a heart or two and tried to drag a stack of bacon. Wouldn’t work like the old bug. I had to separate the stack to a single piece to feed.

        Went back to try it again after I saw your post. I was at full health so I climbed my currently two story tall tower and walked off. Apparently, that’s too high cause I died. Respawned, got back my stuff and got promptly pawned by a bull. Respawned and got pawned by the same bull a second time… Respawned again, got back my stuff, lept off of some small falls to knock off two hearts. All that to find that the full stack of bacon worked.

        *sigh*

  9. colton
    Posted July 17, 2012 at 02:40 | Permalink | Reply

    When I throw 20 creatures spawners they stop working

    • Posted July 17, 2012 at 10:10 | Permalink | Reply

      There is a limit of course. You can’t create too many because the phone would not be able to handle them.

  10. jakeymacaroni
    Posted July 19, 2012 at 06:29 | Permalink | Reply

    Hey Kaalus, I have a question: how can I build a cobblestone generator in survival craft? if this concept is when possible, could you when make a video please, or, if you don’t feel like making a whole video, could you just write about it telling us?

    • jakeymacaroni
      Posted July 19, 2012 at 06:30 | Permalink | Reply

      whoops I meant to say, and if this concept is even possible. I wrote when instead of even. Whoops:)

      • eagleeye1
        Posted March 1, 2013 at 21:27 | Permalink | Reply

        that would really help in sky block, cause so far all i learned how to make is a basalt generator and I can’t craft with that

    • Posted July 19, 2012 at 09:27 | Permalink | Reply

      Hi. I don’t know if it is possible. Water/magma rules in SC are different than in MC. I’ve never tried it myself. If you want to know, it’s probably best to try and tell others about your findings :-)

      • jakeymacaroni
        Posted July 19, 2012 at 17:59 | Permalink | Reply

        Well I have tried and the water gets to it and destroys the lava flow and it doesn’t work. Any ideas?

        • Brandon
          Posted February 10, 2013 at 08:23 | Permalink

          I came up with cobble generator design, but the water flows quicker than the lava, therefore removing the lava. If the creator adds pistons of some sort, I should be able to make the piston stop the water after you break the stone, making it wait for the lava the return it’s flow (hope this makes sense)

          I have screenshots but I can’t post them here

      • Sir Knight
        Posted July 20, 2012 at 01:39 | Permalink | Reply

        An alternative is possible, and simple, but I find it complicated to explain it step by step. Any how, the idea is to have water flow fall on top of the lava flow, but not on the lava source block. that can be done by creating a 4 high by 3 wide and 6 long container. Interior wise: lava goes on the ground level, the second is a solid “floor”, third is water. Leave a space on second level, on the 3 wide side, to collect the cobble stone.
        side view: |||| water| top view: |w|. D= dirt / or other “soft” materiale |= tough/ nonfamable material.
        . d|||||||||| | |
        . | lava| | |
        . | d |
        . ||||||
        . ||||||

      • Sir Knight
        Posted July 20, 2012 at 01:40 | Permalink | Reply

        Ahh… The site destroyed my text art. Haha. Sorry.

      • Sir Knight
        Posted July 20, 2012 at 02:08 | Permalink | Reply

        Another, simpler method is to create a 9 long by 3 wide perimeter of hard material. On on end, add water, on the other add lava, place a dirt or sand block in the exact middle. When you want to create a cobble stone, just remove the middle block. Remember to replace it before you remove remove the newly created cobble stone.

  11. roman
    Posted April 26, 2013 at 03:01 | Permalink | Reply

    How do you make a cobble stone generator

  12. Ethan bridgett
    Posted July 30, 2013 at 14:01 | Permalink | Reply

    Hi are you able to tell me when or which update ill be allowed to make armour?

Leave a Reply. No swearing please.

