New move control

Reading through the comments I see people are complaining about movement controls. Indeed, the controls are very different from what they may have got used to playing e.g. Minecraft PE. So I decided I will add an option to make controls more like it.

In controls settings you can now switch move control from pad (i.e. Survivalcraft default) to buttons (like Minecraft PE).

That’s how the new buttons look like (lower left):

(The old movement pad is still the default, you need to change an option to get the buttons).

I am used to the normal Survivalcraft move control, and personally I think it’s better in the long run, but the buttons are quite usable as well. The center circle is for jumping.

In the future I may add an option to get rid of the look pad (i.e. the lower right one) and use entire screen for look direction changes. But I am afraid it will lead to accidental digging/placement of blocks.

20 Comments

  1. Posted May 19, 2012 at 21:55 | Permalink | Reply

    “In the future I may add an option to get rid of the look pad”
    Just make that optional too ;)

  2. dova
    Posted May 19, 2012 at 22:00 | Permalink | Reply

    I like the controls in the game alot better than most phone games

  3. pippyo03
    Posted May 19, 2012 at 22:25 | Permalink | Reply

    Ok I have a few questions for the new move pad if you move you finger above the W will you stop moving like in minecraft PE because I really don’t like that about mine craft. Second if you use the entire screen for looking make it different than minecrafts because it’s very sticky and the instant digging will get messed up that’s what I like about survival crafts controls

  4. Duck Zues
    Posted May 19, 2012 at 22:26 | Permalink | Reply

    Personally I like the look and move pads but there should be an option to make them and other stuff on the screen invisible for taking pics…

    • pippyo03
      Posted May 19, 2012 at 22:27 | Permalink | Reply

      There is look in the graphic section on setting and just change the one that says ui

    • Posted May 19, 2012 at 22:34 | Permalink | Reply

      It is there already. Look in graphics settings.

  5. bob
    Posted May 19, 2012 at 22:56 | Permalink | Reply

    I like the original survivalcraft controls and I always hear people complaining about the minecraft pocket edition controls alot too

  6. jason
    Posted May 20, 2012 at 00:21 | Permalink | Reply

    Wow~~ l like the new control =]

  7. zanderman101
    Posted May 20, 2012 at 06:57 | Permalink | Reply

    I have an LG Quantum. Is there a way that you can make it so you could use the full qwerty keyboard to control your movement???

  8. zanderman101
    Posted May 20, 2012 at 06:59 | Permalink | Reply

    I have an LG Quantum. Is there a way you can make the full qwerty keyboard be able to control the movement?

  9. nomnomisgood4u
    Posted May 20, 2012 at 07:59 | Permalink | Reply

    Why are there WASD things on the pad, isn’t this for a phone so no use for keyboard?

    • Posted May 20, 2012 at 18:52 | Permalink | Reply

      Just for fun. I had it without them and I think it looks better like that. Some console kids who have never seen a PC shooter might also wonder what they mean :-)

      • YuvbinTrowld
        Posted May 21, 2012 at 11:43 | Permalink | Reply

        I must admit, I didn’t notice it when I first glanced at it. Then I looked again and lol’d.
        Perhaps though this is the basis for a compass?

  10. Chanc3
    Posted May 20, 2012 at 08:15 | Permalink | Reply

    looks beast love this game

  11. xfim
    Posted November 27, 2012 at 19:57 | Permalink | Reply

    I don’t have a cross in a middle of a screen! How to get it?

    • Posted November 27, 2012 at 20:57 | Permalink | Reply

      The crosshair is only in my dev version running on a PC.

      • xfim
        Posted November 28, 2012 at 08:43 | Permalink | Reply

        Can you put it in mobile version?
        I like that in Minecraft PE (when I hold
        finger on screen (in Minecraft), it starts digging. That is what I like in
        Minecraft…

        • xfim
          Posted November 28, 2012 at 09:38 | Permalink

          I mean – in Survivalcraft- nice would be – if I hold finger in look pad it would start digging a block in a middle of a screen, also,
          the cross would be in middle of a screen. Ok that is only my opinion…

          btw
          It is a great game and it would be also great on a PC

          Great thing is that it is working with qwerty keyboard but pls make an update so it would work and
          with a mouse. (I wanna play it on my Asus Transformer Pad)

  12. muchlition
    Posted December 22, 2016 at 22:31 | Permalink | Reply

    I choose the move pad sir cause we can control our speed we can walking and running with move pad so add walking and running animation sir it will be realistic but we can not walking or running/control our speed with the move buttons

Leave a Reply. No swearing please.

