Game mode changing

I’ve just finished adding game mode changing and world renaming. It was more complicated than I thought it will be, and I ended up refactoring large chunks of world files management. A visible effect of this change is that you can now have many worlds with the same name. Will come in handy when you’ll be able to download worlds made by others.

With all those people playing Survivalcraft, I was genuinely scared to even touch this code. There is always a risk of breaking something no matter how careful one is. But in the end I had to do it – otherwise there would be trouble. I sincerely hope I will not make you lose any worlds! It doesn’t break anything on mine, and I will spend some more time tomorrow testing it thoroughly. Still, it may not be enough.

This is how the new world modification UI looks:

Ops, just realized that you can now flip between Cruel and other modes – which is not good as it defeats the purpose of cruel. Will fix tomorrow :-) Flipping to and from Cruel will be forbidden.

17 Comments

  1. pippyo03
    Posted March 3, 2012 at 04:34 | Permalink | Reply

    Yes!!!!!!!!!! Thank you so much!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Just what I wanted!!!!!!!

  2. Nikpol22
    Posted March 3, 2012 at 05:06 | Permalink | Reply

    And how about adding worlds to SkyDrive for example? I want to make survival map, where will be something like quest, but how another players will get it?

  3. Tanner
    Posted March 3, 2012 at 06:13 | Permalink | Reply

    Thank you so excited for the update. :-D. :-D :-D. :-D

  4. Posted March 3, 2012 at 10:19 | Permalink | Reply

    What time u want to publish?
    And can u add sign to the game please? :)

  5. Worgun
    Posted March 3, 2012 at 18:22 | Permalink | Reply

    Thank you Kaalus, it’s actually amazing that you are doing what community asks for, and you’re doing it so quick! Other developers could learn a lot from you…

    Hm… How about adding a map? Is it even possible? I do not think compass is really needed as I always use the sun/moon, but a map could be useful…

    Cheers!

    • veryorange
      Posted March 3, 2012 at 21:18 | Permalink | Reply

      Amen brotha! Lol:)

  6. Posted March 3, 2012 at 18:46 | Permalink | Reply

    Kaalus! Y U SO AMAZING?!

  7. jriot10
    Posted March 3, 2012 at 21:19 | Permalink | Reply

    Very good idea thanks Kaalus!

  8. dova
    Posted March 4, 2012 at 06:53 | Permalink | Reply

    I have a problem my world is invisible and there seem to be no way to fix this does anyone know how to fix this

    • Tanner
      Posted March 4, 2012 at 07:21 | Permalink | Reply

      Ahh yes I had the same problem that you had dova but I’ve had lots of experience with games.. What worked with me is I turned of my phone and turned it back on. (Hold power button.) If this doesn’t work reply to my comment and I clicked notify me and I will tell you what else you can do…

      • dova
        Posted March 4, 2012 at 14:05 | Permalink | Reply

        Thanks it worked

        • Tanner
          Posted March 4, 2012 at 17:25 | Permalink

          Your welcome dova enjoy

  9. bastihiems
    Posted March 4, 2012 at 13:42 | Permalink | Reply

    When is the update in germany ?

    • Posted March 4, 2012 at 14:39 | Permalink | Reply

      It’s still not submitted. I am working like mad to submit it by the end of the weekend. Unfortunately yesterday I got sidetracked and worked until 5am doing something that I now realize I don’t want to include in this release :-(

      I need better time management.

      • bastihiems
        Posted March 4, 2012 at 16:40 | Permalink | Reply

        Okay, i can wait ;)
        It seems to get great…

  10. Tanner
    Posted March 4, 2012 at 17:28 | Permalink | Reply

    So kaalus do you know how to code? I’m going to learn that next year.

  11. Tanner
    Posted March 4, 2012 at 17:29 | Permalink | Reply

    Also check your email cause I sent you s power point. If you didn’t get IIS in the forum.

Leave a Reply. No swearing please.

