Fiery stuff

That’s how the fiery stuff looks inside of a bucket:

And it’s called magma! I am now working on the piece of code that randomly spawns pools of magma underground. So far I discovered that my current code for spawning is not good enough, because it would spawn flying chunks of magma inside caves while I want them to pool on the ground. But I’ve got an idea how to do it.

Of course, I really should be working on sharing of worlds and creative mode but I have to finish what I started first :-)

Magma emits light and can light large areas, as you can see on the screenshot below.

 

37 Comments

  1. reundeadified
    Posted February 26, 2012 at 15:17 | Permalink | Reply

    Awesome, now we’ll have hazards underground (keep up the good work). One question though: how much damage does the magma do to you?

    • Posted February 26, 2012 at 20:24 | Permalink | Reply

      A lot. You can only survive a couple of seconds touching it. Eventually it will need to set you on fire but there is no fire yet.

  2. jriot10
    Posted February 26, 2012 at 15:25 | Permalink | Reply

    AWESOME!!! But you also have to consider the fact that when lava touches water something has to happen because lava cannot simply float over water. In minecraft lava and water either create cobblestone or obsidian so i’m thinking that you should do obsidian too.

    • Posted February 27, 2012 at 14:36 | Permalink | Reply

      This is already done. Lava flowing into water creates basalt. Water flowing into lava creates granite.

      • jriot10
        Posted February 28, 2012 at 04:02 | Permalink | Reply

        YOU A GENIUS!!!!

      • Posted February 28, 2012 at 20:18 | Permalink | Reply

        It’d be more realistic for water flowing into lava to evaporate, and lava flowing into water to make obsidian, or possibly basalt if there was a lot of lava flowing into water so it didn’t cool as fast.
        You would never get granite from either.

  3. pippyo03
    Posted February 26, 2012 at 15:37 | Permalink | Reply

    Yay but the two things that I want really bad are boats, and the ability to change my challenging world to harmless that would be cool.

    • jriot10
      Posted February 26, 2012 at 15:42 | Permalink | Reply

      You will never be able to change your challenging mode to harmless based off what i have heard

      • jriot10
        Posted February 26, 2012 at 15:42 | Permalink | Reply

        And why would you want boats if there is nothing but ocean when you leave your island?

      • pippyo03
        Posted February 26, 2012 at 16:00 | Permalink | Reply

        Because I want to and I think a boat would be really cool but that’s just me

      • jriot10
        Posted February 26, 2012 at 16:08 | Permalink | Reply

        Well if that’s what you really want i guess that’s fine :)

      • reundeadified
        Posted February 26, 2012 at 16:55 | Permalink | Reply

        Boats would be cool if someone wanted to build a city surrounded by water (think Venice)

      • Nikpol22
        Posted February 26, 2012 at 19:50 | Permalink | Reply

        I have a giant river, I don’t know how it generated, but I want to explore it with a boat. And maybe there can spawn some another islands like in Stranded 2? I think boats are very needable. And I want saplings and electricity.

      • Posted February 26, 2012 at 20:24 | Permalink | Reply

        Changing the mode is possible, there is just no UI to do it.

    • pippyo03
      Posted February 26, 2012 at 17:01 | Permalink | Reply

      ya that’s sorta what im gunna do when we get buckets and all

    • dragomon64
      Posted March 5, 2012 at 04:23 | Permalink | Reply

      I second that emotion I have an island far away from the actual map and it takes a while to get there

  4. Daniel
    Posted February 26, 2012 at 15:59 | Permalink | Reply

    Hi,

    I used to play survivalcraft a lot, but I have lost interest in last updates maybe because I prefer the mining and building part of game.

    I don’t miss the creative mode, but I would love to have more materials, fences, red stone,etc.

    Save worlds to SkyDrive would be a nice feature too.

    • jriot10
      Posted February 26, 2012 at 16:09 | Permalink | Reply

      Your the same as my brother :)

    • reundeadified
      Posted February 26, 2012 at 16:58 | Permalink | Reply

      I’ve only gained interest since 1.7 it inspired my treefort of doom which has helped me kill over 100 boars (pic of treefort will be in the forum soon)

    • Code5
      Posted February 27, 2012 at 09:07 | Permalink | Reply

      well in the latest update you can create new worlds with the “harmless” difficulty so you can keep mining and exploring

      so…..just update the game, create a new world and your set :)

    • Nikpol22
      Posted February 27, 2012 at 17:32 | Permalink | Reply

      I have this problem too. Somebody likes building, mining, somebody hunting. And I want more survival. There is no dangers at all. Only boars which will only attack you, when you have touched them. I like building a lot, so I want more materials for making houses and buildings looking better. Hope you, Kaalus, will think about this problem.

  5. Tanner
    Posted February 26, 2012 at 17:04 | Permalink | Reply

    My one question is if you can fix the malachite problem in the next update? I can’t build buckets without it. :'(

  6. Posted February 26, 2012 at 18:13 | Permalink | Reply

    Now this is a “survival” aspect that I’m interested in =). I do like the lava idea!

    Do you think we’ll be able to use a bucket of magma as fuel for the forge?

  7. d1kan
    Posted February 26, 2012 at 19:32 | Permalink | Reply

    Does the magma makes run the game slowly like water?

  8. Tavin Kastner
    Posted February 27, 2012 at 03:25 | Permalink | Reply

    About how deep underground would the magma be spawned? I have a pretty expansive cave network under my house and would hate to be surprised by some magma

  9. TimoBass
    Posted February 27, 2012 at 08:36 | Permalink | Reply

    I can’t stop playing this game, creative mode should not be a priority. One should earn what they build, that’s why it’s so “epic”. Harmless is fine for now… Buckets, lava, monkeys that hangout in the trees and throw “stuff” at you, are the things that are most important…. That’s right monkeys! And on a side note as a favor to me personally, I need a glass air helmet to breath under water longer, my deep ocean city is taking longer than I thought because of drowning. I guess armor should come first.

  10. rtes2459
    Posted February 27, 2012 at 18:36 | Permalink | Reply

    Hey kaalus.. Nothing against your game and its feautures, but i am VERY angry…. I found a big shelter with tons of coal, malachite and iron ore… I collected at least 300 coal, 60 malachite and 50 iron ore… Then while i was digging i suddently died and everything is away… Which error was this !?!? :(
    …nice new survival feautures btw..
    Sorry for my angryness but i don’t often find so much of recources…

    • jriot10
      Posted February 27, 2012 at 22:08 | Permalink | Reply

      I had a problem too where i placed a block in sneak mode and fell and lost all my stuff. I arrived just in time to watch all my stuff dissapear.

      • reundeadified
        Posted February 27, 2012 at 23:29 | Permalink | Reply

        One trick I use to prevent myself from losing hours worth of stuff is to place wooden chest near the entrance to the cave and just run back to it to “bank” any rare ores I come across (tons of iron or malachite mainly) also sometime I’ll bring extra picks to store in there in case mine wears out. I know this may seem silly its kept my nerd rage at bay many many times

      • rtes2459
        Posted February 28, 2012 at 17:44 | Permalink | Reply

        I had the same problem but i wasn’t able to come in time haha

    • Posted February 28, 2012 at 14:52 | Permalink | Reply

      You’ve got no cause to get “angry”, this is an Alpha version game. If a game is Alpha or Beta, that means you should expect bugs and changes! This game is incredibly stable for an Alpha version, it’s not even Beta yet (which comes before “release version”). Bugs and such can be frustrating but you gotta do your best to not get angry at the developer. Just report the bug and move on =D.

      The Survivalcraft Forum is a good place to post Bug Reports.

      Forum: http://survivalcraft.lefora.com

      • rtes2459
        Posted February 28, 2012 at 17:42 | Permalink | Reply

        Well i was just a bit mad yesterday haha i used the idea of the chests in front of the entrances and now i got tons of recources again :)
        …and. I didn’t die yeehaa

  11. pippyo03
    Posted February 28, 2012 at 02:33 | Permalink | Reply

    I found this really cool bug that some times if I dig something that the item will spin around for like five minutes!

  12. maxiracing
    Posted February 29, 2012 at 12:10 | Permalink | Reply

    the only thing I wait is a rely monster who kill you at the night

  13. Vdeal
    Posted February 29, 2012 at 12:20 | Permalink | Reply

    Uhm why not name it lava? Because it’s above the surface, below the surface it’s magma.

  14. dragomon64
    Posted March 5, 2012 at 20:19 | Permalink | Reply

    Hooray magma burn the town x 5

  15. dragomon64
    Posted March 7, 2012 at 23:34 | Permalink | Reply

    Can magma be used as smelter fuel

Leave a Reply. No swearing please.

