Make your own swimming pool

I spent most of the last week experimenting with water and I got a functioning directional water propagation, which is important, because without it controlling of water flow is hard. And I got these:

The buckets will be made of copper (iron rusts too easily).

The remaining problem is that on the phone chunk updates take a long time, and this is very noticeable on my Omnia 7. So initiating water flow will make the game run very slowly for a short time until the water ends spreading. I need to have a closer look at it whether I can make it run faster. I don’t expect miracles though.

Anyway, you can make your own swimming pool now.

33 Comments

  1. reebs
    Posted February 19, 2012 at 22:18 | Permalink | Reply

    Copper buckets? Is wood a possibility?

  2. pippyo03
    Posted February 19, 2012 at 22:20 | Permalink | Reply

    Yes!!!!!!!!!!! O my gosh!!!!!!!!!! Thank you so much I hope for a miracle :) hope you can make this thank you so much kaalus. Now all you need to do make it so you can change the game mode!!!

    • pippyo03
      Posted February 19, 2012 at 22:31 | Permalink | Reply

      Now you just need to make boats

  3. jriot10
    Posted February 19, 2012 at 22:43 | Permalink | Reply

    THANK YOU SO MUCH!!!!!! I COULD JUST HUG YOU (sorry that’s creepy)

    • reundeadified
      Posted February 19, 2012 at 23:40 | Permalink | Reply

      Awesome, I’m so excited now. If you can make grass grow on dirt spaces not near a tree this game would be perfect.

  4. razz
    Posted February 19, 2012 at 23:46 | Permalink | Reply

    Sweet! Lets hope he will add lava!

  5. Duxk
    Posted February 19, 2012 at 23:53 | Permalink | Reply

    HAHAHA YEAAH.

    I have actually had a pool dug out since 1.0

    I have waited for this day. You never fail to disappoint Kaalus.

    • BrownieSanFrijolTaco
      Posted February 20, 2012 at 23:30 | Permalink | Reply

      gee, is it just me or did you word that last sentence a bit wrong? :D

      • veryorange
        Posted February 21, 2012 at 01:57 | Permalink | Reply

        Ha! I see it!

  6. Posted February 20, 2012 at 01:29 | Permalink | Reply

    Lol I already have a swimming poll an inside one inside of my castle which is in the water. Well its a hot tub. I think a hot tub Inside a castle on the ocean is a bit weird though. I think it would be cool if he added clothes such as swimming clothes.

    • reundeadified
      Posted February 20, 2012 at 03:49 | Permalink | Reply

      I would like to see some sort of docile mob such as cows or goats (could make milk and cheese from them)

  7. NightSiliencer
    Posted February 20, 2012 at 06:41 | Permalink | Reply

    Could you make way to keep animals like the boars in an area. I have eight pigs in a hole and fear going too far away or else they will disappear. Fences would also be nice.

    • Kaleb
      Posted February 20, 2012 at 12:48 | Permalink | Reply

      I have a similar situation. I agree with this request

    • Posted February 20, 2012 at 19:39 | Permalink | Reply

      The problem is how do I know which animals to keep? I can’t keep all of them – there is a limit on the number of animals that can exist at any given time otherwise the game would run too slow. If you have any ideas please let me know, it would be cool if you could make your own pigsty :-)

      • jriot10
        Posted February 20, 2012 at 20:13 | Permalink | Reply

        Well in minecraft there are wolves and when you feed them bones they become your pets and follow you everywhere, attack monsters, or they just sit down if you tell them too. So you could make a method of feeding animals to tame them so they stay. And when the maximum limit is reached a message tells you there is too many pets :)

        • Posted February 20, 2012 at 21:43 | Permalink

          Yep, that’s one way – although it’s probably better to make old pets die instead of displaying the message. But this is a lot of work on a fringe feature so needs to be put in the backlog for now…

      • mattlekim
        Posted February 20, 2012 at 21:12 | Permalink | Reply

        How about haveing a limit of animals per chunk instead of for the world. Then when animals are far enough away put them in a list for that chunk. You could then reload it when u get back.

        • Posted February 20, 2012 at 21:41 | Permalink

          Hi mattlekim. Saving animals is not a big problem, the problem is when you “keep” a lot of animals, the game will not be able to spawn anymore of them or it will become very slow. One solution I see is to make them die if you keep more than a couple.

      • YuvbinTrowld
        Posted February 21, 2012 at 09:05 | Permalink | Reply

        It’s okay, I trapped two piggies in a pit, they duked it out until one of them died. That was a good day ^_^

  8. zELITEzSKILLz
    Posted February 20, 2012 at 07:06 | Permalink | Reply

    is there any chanve of introducing neutral mobs like sheep so we can get wool for decoration ?

  9. d1kan
    Posted February 20, 2012 at 09:00 | Permalink | Reply

    Fantastic Kaalus, I always dreamed of buckets and panels (don’t know the minecraft name) and there buckets are. I hope you will be able to perform it

  10. mattlekim
    Posted February 20, 2012 at 10:57 | Permalink | Reply

    Couldn’t you run the water physics on a different thread? That way the game wouldn’t lag even if the water ran slow.

    • Posted February 20, 2012 at 19:36 | Permalink | Reply

      Hi mattlekim. Water physics is not an issue, chunk updates (i.e. rebuilding geometry) is. This has to be done synchronously otherwise you would see Bad Things(tm).

  11. Nikpol22
    Posted February 20, 2012 at 12:21 | Permalink | Reply

    Kill me creepe… wildboar, its awesome!!! It’s really cool you added buckets, now boats and saplings will be cool.

  12. Nikpol22
    Posted February 20, 2012 at 12:56 | Permalink | Reply

    Kaalus, think I have found some bags in your game… I have already played a little and when I was carrying some coal in my hand and started holding screen i saw that there was word “throw”. Is it must be like this? And one time I attacked bird and saw that it like disappeared in a second and there was no mobs left behind me after that attack. I reboot my phone and everything gone good.

    • jriot10
      Posted February 20, 2012 at 15:35 | Permalink | Reply

      I don’t know about the whole dissapearing thing but you are suppose to be able to throw coal. Coal, spears, snowballs, and stones can all be thrown

      • Nikpol22
        Posted February 20, 2012 at 15:54 | Permalink | Reply

        We need to throw coal? It’s stupid wasting of resources.

      • jriot10
        Posted February 20, 2012 at 16:05 | Permalink | Reply

        You don’t have to throw it if you don’t want to. The only reason he put it in for throwing is because coal is mined in stone chuncks

        • Tanner
          Posted February 20, 2012 at 17:58 | Permalink

          I have way too much coal lol I could throw half of my coal and still be good I keep finding coal in caves and stuff.

  13. harry
    Posted February 20, 2012 at 18:11 | Permalink | Reply

    Please make it so that boars and other dangerous animals \ mobs sink in water

  14. harry
    Posted February 20, 2012 at 21:39 | Permalink | Reply

    This is off topic but add TNT I will love you 4ever if you do

    • jriot10
      Posted February 20, 2012 at 22:00 | Permalink | Reply

      That’s not creepy at all

  15. BrownieSanFrijolTaco
    Posted February 20, 2012 at 23:36 | Permalink | Reply

    I am freaking out right now!!!! I smashed my phone on a car door (don’t ask) and now i cant play SurvivalCraft!!! I’m Stuck with Minecraft again!!! waaaaaaaaaaaa…. X(
    Love this game btw! :D
    update looks great icant wait for my replacement to come so i can play this again!

Leave a Reply. No swearing please.

