Saved worlds screwup

Sadly a lot of people are reporting that Alpha 1.5 does not want to load their old worlds. I don’t know why this might be, all 3 worlds I have on my retail phone converted OK. Also all the tests I did before the release worked fine. Worse, some people are not able to create any new worlds without uninstall/reinstall of the game, which will delete their old worlds for good.

I feel so bad about it, sorry guys I screwed up :-(

We really need some backup functionality. If only this was a PC you could just copy the files, like in Minecraft, but on WP7 this is much more complicated. There’s nowhere the files can be copied on the phone itself (media library is one place but it only accepts jpgs and movies). Even Skydrive doesn’t accept arbitrary files. I will probably have to look into using dropbox.

30 Comments

  1. Randy Shafer
    Posted January 27, 2012 at 00:24 | Permalink | Reply

    I don’t have any trouble at all, MAYBE if People knew how to utilize their devices it would work for them. MAYBE. If they weren’t all 5 years old, they would know that they need to have a certain amount of memory to run a game. I enjoy this game very much, keep up the GREAT work. YOU DIDN’T SCREW UP!!!!!!

    • jriot10
      Posted January 27, 2012 at 02:35 | Permalink | Reply

      -1000000000000000, man take a chill pill. What’s wrong with you?

    • nelson
      Posted January 27, 2012 at 03:20 | Permalink | Reply

      Dude chillax.

  2. reebs (you)
    Posted January 27, 2012 at 00:41 | Permalink | Reply

    ^ ok man chill. Even if they are 5 year olds, they want to play this game which is good for both the community and for kaalus. They matter.

    Kaalus, whatever the issue is im sure you’ll fix it in no time and remember you have the full support of your community. Everyone should understand that this is an alpha version and examine this situation from that angle. You’re doing great work and redefining, even revolutionizing, the role that a developer plays. I only hope other developers follow in your footsteps.

    P.S.- 1.5 has worked perfectly for me and hunting is the perfect amount of challenge so far.

    • Randy Shafer
      Posted January 27, 2012 at 00:50 | Permalink | Reply

      People compel me to tell the truth about them, that’s all and never nothing less. Don’t think for one minute your ,CHILL MAN, is going to shut me up. Most people don’t much anyways. Did that give you a power trip? Any who, grow up and don’t go around telling anybody to chill, shut up or the like. However old you are ………

      • Reebs
        Posted January 27, 2012 at 01:08 | Permalink | Reply

        chill means relax not shut up. it also wasnt capitalized. Im all for everyone saying as much as they want as long as its constructive towards bettering Survivalcraft.

        To answer your question Randy, I like the power that I have outside of a mobile game blog fine, and certainly dont need to be getting it from being condescending to people I dont know. That isnt how I meant it to sound, and I apologize if I offended.

        Any post on this website that does not either encourage or commend kaalus, or serves a purpose in improving the game really has no purpose at all. Im sure the community isnt interested in any disagreement we might have. If you want to get the last word, which I assume you might, you can message me on the forums at “reebs”.

        • Randy Shafer
          Posted January 27, 2012 at 01:43 | Permalink

          It’s called respect…………….

      • RyoTGZ
        Posted January 27, 2012 at 02:46 | Permalink | Reply

        Randy you have me confused. You ask for respect but you belittle all the people having issues by saying they’re 5 and don’t know how to ‘utiluze’ their phones. My game save, originally from the first release, stopped working in this version. I have 6.67 GB available storage on my Titan. If you have a some known method to fix this, please share. Otherwise let’s not get up in arms about this. My first thought was, this is an alpha build so no worries. I started a new game with hope this will be fixed as Kaalus is an awesome programmer.

        BTW – Kaalus. You may want to look into how Dragon Blade handles game backups. Its not SkyDrive but you get a unique code after the upload. Might be worth checking into. :)

      • code5
        Posted January 27, 2012 at 04:01 | Permalink | Reply

        respect? Calling ppl 5yr olds is Not respect, therefore what makes you think ppl shouldn’t treat you like crap

        I see your type of attitude before in my career field “because I know it everyone should know it and therefore your all dumb” just like I remind coworkers and friends that is Not the case cuz I could call you an idiot because memory allocation is out of the end users control, and personally I’ve had the same problem as everyone else cuz like most apps you install/update I did not reboot my phone

  3. Justin
    Posted January 27, 2012 at 00:46 | Permalink | Reply

    Since 1.4 I’ve been having a problem where the game runs fine but I can’t see any of the land. Torches, the stuff in my hand, and the UI work and are visible but I can see right through the ground. It’s like the world has no textures. Is there any way to fix this? 1.5 did not fix it.

    I’m on a Focus S

    • Posted January 27, 2012 at 00:50 | Permalink | Reply

      Hi Justin. Rebooting the phone fixes it.

  4. Savage1969
    Posted January 27, 2012 at 01:00 | Permalink | Reply

    Kaalus, see the WP7 phone game “Dragon’s Blade” as a possible idea for game save backups. It works well.

  5. Electric Jack
    Posted January 27, 2012 at 02:44 | Permalink | Reply

    Wish I had checked my email before running the new update. Fortunately it appears to be working on my HTC Surround. World converted fine and everything looks as it should. However, even if I had lost my world, no worries Kaalus. These things happen, afterall it is still an Alpha. Comes with the territory and we all can’t expect it to go smoothly all the time. ;) I just think of all the time I spent getting Minecraft to work on my PC with Java issues and Video Driver issues, etc. lol The update btw is fantastic! Got my first seagull.

  6. Posted January 27, 2012 at 05:21 | Permalink | Reply

    Consider http://dropboxwp7.codeplex.com/ for dropbox support.

    Another lowtech possibility would be to simply use a base64 encoded string which can be exchanged via copy and paste for those without dropbox.

    A more professional alternative would be an external site with a WCF Service. It is not that hard. There was a pretty good introduction on XNA UK http://xna-uk.net/blogs/randomchaos/archive/2012/01/25/wp7-game-app-talking-to-wcf-web-services.aspx Consider using MTOM Transport Configuration if the worlds exceed 1 MB

    A somewhat easier way would be to use REST which means you sumit the world as a HTTP Request with method PUT. If the credentials are right you can use this with only a little bit of webserver configuration (WebDAV Extension on IIS)

    As these server site backups would cause extra costs maybe offer it as a premium service (e.g. backup without cost but pay for restore)

    Consider zipping the backups with http://slsharpziplib.codeplex.com/.

    • jriot10
      Posted January 27, 2012 at 13:46 | Permalink | Reply

      wow that was awesome

  7. Blade402860
    Posted January 27, 2012 at 05:25 | Permalink | Reply

    Wow Kaalus this THE BEST update yet! I’ve been waiting for mobs and weapons! As for the issues people have been having I have an HD7 and it works fine on my phone all my worlds converted without any problems. Great job

  8. YuvbinTrowld
    Posted January 27, 2012 at 09:19 | Permalink | Reply

    Long time lurker here (1.1 – present), checking this blog every morning when I get into work, much kudos etc.
    I found an amusing feature; when holding to aim a spear, I realised throwing it into the water wasn’t exactly a great idea, so while looking for ways to cancel the throw, I tapped the inventory button – my dude stabbed himself and lost 4 and a bit life hearts!
    Tried to replicate this phenomenon, but all that happened the second time was my spear vanished. I’m still looking for it in my house.

    Bollocks to work, I’m playing this all morning.

    • jriot10
      Posted January 27, 2012 at 13:47 | Permalink | Reply

      Yah one time i stabbed myself i dont know how and i died losing 26 iron ignots

      • BIGOCHUNKA
        Posted January 28, 2012 at 02:01 | Permalink | Reply

        Hey bud, if you want to cancel a spear throw just drag your thumb/finger back to the HUD Look or Move corners. Saves a wasted throw and you won’t get hurt either! :]

  9. Posted January 27, 2012 at 12:08 | Permalink | Reply

    I also had this problem with disappearing worlds, but an reboot from the phone has helped.
    A backup function will be very great.
    As others said, look at the system from Dragons Blade, but Dropbox will also be ok, because I have one.
    Please fix this bug with water which has no bottom and border because I often see this, when I found a cave and if I alter a block there, the cave will be flooded and it’s hard to remove all water so I can explore my cave.
    And I also think, that the controls are a little bit buggy, sometimes when I moved and only try to look, the character still moves.

    Anyway, great update kaalus even when the birds sometimes are hard to catch.
    Please (re)implement that sleeping will heal you, because i nearly have no hearts anymore (I accidentally walked into a pit while it was dark and lost many hearts) and birds are hard to catch without spear (because they need 2-3 hits and are hard to follow depending on how they land on the ground), so I haven’t any possibilty to heal myself

    • YuvbinTrowld
      Posted January 27, 2012 at 12:58 | Permalink | Reply

      I’ve used iron spears, one hit kills for me (1 duck, 2 gulls, 1 raven so far)

      • jriot10
        Posted January 27, 2012 at 13:48 | Permalink | Reply

        90 gulls, 5 ducks, 2 ravens

      • YuvbinTrowld
        Posted January 27, 2012 at 13:48 | Permalink | Reply

        Yeah but jriot10, you’re crazy :P

  10. Posted January 27, 2012 at 13:35 | Permalink | Reply

    HD7S. Game saves loaded fine. I would like to be able to back up my game saves somewhere though. The Dropbox idea is pretty good. However, since we are WP7 users, perhaps you could set it up to use our skydrives instead.

    • Posted January 27, 2012 at 14:14 | Permalink | Reply

      Hi Bilpocalypse. I’d love to use Skydrive but it doesn’t accept arbitrary file types. Only images, videos, documents, audio. Anything else is against the rules and could get the app banned. A shame really and a big mistake by Microsoft IMO. They said they may revise it in the future, though.

      • Posted January 27, 2012 at 14:38 | Permalink | Reply

        yeah I am sure they will implement that at some point, even the Xbox now has cloud storage for saved games..

      • BrownieSanFrijolTaco
        Posted January 28, 2012 at 21:41 | Permalink | Reply

        From what I remember, SkyDrive also accepts .zip files. Would that be a possibility? Maybe the app could compress the world into a zip and upload it to SD and when the world is redownloaded it just unzips it and transfers all the necessary files to the necessary places. Would that work?

      • Posted January 30, 2012 at 00:09 | Permalink | Reply

        Sounds to me like a simple suffix problem. If you make it save the files to a format using the suffix .pdf, .doc, or something of that measure, it shouldn’t have any issues uploading to skydrive.

  11. code5
    Posted January 27, 2012 at 16:49 | Permalink | Reply

    So for those of us with this problem, should we just delete our old worlds or hold onto them and wait for the next release?

    I miss my epicly big tunnel ;(

  12. Posted January 27, 2012 at 17:44 | Permalink | Reply

    someone ( I forget who) was able to extract their world from their phone and e-mail it to Kaalus, I wouldn’t delete it just yet, let him mess with it and see if he can come up with a solution. In the meantime maybe just play a new world to keep yourself amused.

Leave a Reply. No swearing please.

