Alpha 1.5 submitted!

Finally. I decided there’s no point adding more stuff without seeing some feedback, so I sent it out for certification to MS. If everything goes well, it should be with you late this week or early in the next.

The major new feature in this release is of course animals and weapons: so far there are 3 types of bird, as described in earlier posts, 3 types of spear (both for melee and throwing), and stones.

Since the video was made in the last post, I improved AI of the birds. Now they can detect danger in two ways: by seeing it or by hearing it. Unlike the real birds, they only see forward (about 120 degrees), so you can easily approach them from behind. They also hear your footsteps from up to 5 blocks away, unless you are sneaking. The AI is fairly complex and based on modular, competing behaviors, which can be freely mixed and matched. Hopefully it will make it easy to extend. It definitely was fun to program and easier than I thought.

I am sure the whole system needs a lot of balancing, especially the weapons. Please forgive me if you find it too difficult/too easy. It’s only Alpha :-) Balancing isn’t a task for a single guy, that’s why I am releasing it. My plan for survival features in the game requires that it is difficult to catch a bird, and it takes proper gear and skills. If you just charge mad, you should never get anything. So, once you get the game, please let me know how close I got to this ideal :-)

Another thing in this version is food. At the moment you can only get it from birds, but eventually there will be more sources, including plants. You can eat raw food, but it is not very nutritious. It’s better to cook it first, using a furnace. Health regeneration is gone, so you need to hunt to stay healthy. To eat, open the panel with sleep/suicide buttons and drag a piece of food into the big box on the left.

Yet another major change is in the terrain generation. I reduced the frequencies of some noise generators, such as temperature and humidity. This should give you less random terrain with much larger biomes. For example it is now quite possible to be in the middle of a desert and not see the ends of it. It should also make navigating easier, because the terrain does not change so rapidly as you go.

And I extended the trial to 25 minutes.

37 Comments

  1. mikewar123
    Posted January 23, 2012 at 11:06 | Permalink | Reply

    Hey Kaalus :D.

    Big fan dog your work your doing a great job. Thanks so much for making the best app on windows phone!

  2. Posted January 23, 2012 at 11:34 | Permalink | Reply

    Heya, loving the game so far, this sounds really good. As an idea, could there be difficulty or something to affect health regen as I much prefer the casual approach rather than constantly worrying about health and having to go out my way to find food and what not. I’m sure there may be others that feel the same?

    • Posted January 23, 2012 at 13:01 | Permalink | Reply

      Well as of right now, if I am reading right, you don’t have to eat to stay alive per se, just if you hurt yourself you have to eat to heal. So as long as you are fairly careful in what you are doing then you should be ok.

  3. AssassinDemiell
    Posted January 23, 2012 at 12:28 | Permalink | Reply

    Hoooraaaaayyyy!!!!! UPDATE!!!!!! KAALUS YOU ARE BEEEEEST!!!!!

  4. Smadin2000
    Posted January 23, 2012 at 13:03 | Permalink | Reply

    Hey kaalus could come in the next update perhaps the multiplayer mode? I have a few screenshoots from the bug where everything is invisible!

    • jriot10
      Posted January 23, 2012 at 21:57 | Permalink | Reply

      Multiplayer mode wont come until all the survival concepts have been added

      • Smadin2000
        Posted January 24, 2012 at 14:48 | Permalink | Reply

        Thanks ;)

  5. Liam
    Posted January 23, 2012 at 15:07 | Permalink | Reply

    At the moment, the game is almost unplayable for me because of lag on my first-Gen phone. Could u please, PLEASE add a lower resolution setting to fix this? I am sure other people are having this problem too. As I said, the game is impossible to play right now and I am very disappointed.

    • code5
      Posted January 23, 2012 at 22:10 | Permalink | Reply

      I have a first Gen phone and it works pretty good except for when I go to the very bottom of the game and head up…

      Anywho I’m using a Samsung focus, what are you using?

    • Posted January 24, 2012 at 04:59 | Permalink | Reply

      What 1st Gen phone is that? Even my suckish LG Optimus 7 can play on high with no problem.

    • Posted January 24, 2012 at 12:05 | Permalink | Reply

      Hi Liam. The framerate heavily depends on where you are in the world. On 1st gen phones it can be as low as 15 fps in very mountainous areas with a lot of caves and overhangs, and 30 fps in flatlands. it’s also a matter of personal “tolerance” to low frame rates. Some people even ramp up the resolution on 1st gen phones, which can cause framerate to drop below 10 fps.

      • GamerF
        Posted January 24, 2012 at 20:16 | Permalink | Reply

        Hi Kaalus,
        Could you enable an option in the menu that lets you toggle on and off fps during gameplay?
        Great game by the way! Continue like this, and you’ll be top of the marketplace :)

      • jriot10
        Posted January 24, 2012 at 22:07 | Permalink | Reply

        Most likely not because xbox live games are always on the top

  6. mhmhmh
    Posted January 23, 2012 at 16:29 | Permalink | Reply

    Hi Kaalus
    Thanks for this update, but do we have to create a new world or can we play with an old one?
    mhmhmh

    • Posted January 23, 2012 at 18:17 | Permalink | Reply

      Hi mhmhmh. You can keep the existing worlds.

  7. d1kan
    Posted January 23, 2012 at 16:59 | Permalink | Reply

    Oh Yeah I need this update… Yes Kaalus is the best!!!!
    I will finally kill birds HAHA!!!
    Will you make the same animals than Minecraft? somethings originaly will be cool i think
    P.S. I’m french, I hope I have made no mistakes… I don’t use Google translate: it would be too easy :)

    • jriot10
      Posted January 24, 2012 at 03:27 | Permalink | Reply

      We are trying to move away from minecraft actually

      • d1kan
        Posted January 24, 2012 at 17:18 | Permalink | Reply

        thanks
        I just noticed it after my comment… My question was stupid –‘
        I love Survivalcraft and you have to continue!! :)

  8. jeremiah
    Posted January 23, 2012 at 17:03 | Permalink | Reply

    Kaalus,
    Hats off to you chap!
    I really like the direction that your going with the game.
    You may have started this game based on Minecraft but I think you have done a great job developing it into a game that is worthy of respect in its own right.

    The birds are a fantastic edition to an already epic game.
    One thing that I appreciate about the update is that it will not cause a disruption to those of us that want to casually mine/build undisturbed.

    As you mull over ideas for future updates I might suggest a couple animals to incorporate.
    I think bats would be a nice addition in caves, and possibly Bears as a larger animal to avoid/hunt.
    Both of these animals could double as food sources as well as the somewhat missing danger element that I have seen many request in the forum.
    Obviously these are not the only two animals but the concept is hunting a dangerous animal to add a sense of risk and danger.

    I play SC 4-5 hours a week and thoroughly enjoy it, thank you for your diligent work as a programmer and developer.

    P.S. When I finally post pics of the fleet of Imperial Star destroyers that I am building over the ocean in my world you will forever know my name!

    • reundeadified
      Posted January 23, 2012 at 19:08 | Permalink | Reply

      Bears would be awesome hut if they are super dangerous then there should he an extra incentive to track one down and risk your life. I was thinking maybe being able to use their hide for armor and possibly the bones as extra armor or tools

      • jeremiah
        Posted January 24, 2012 at 00:18 | Permalink | Reply

        Cool idea reundeadified. I like.

      • Posted January 24, 2012 at 13:00 | Permalink | Reply

        yes, being ablt to take the hides from animals like bears and deer to make clothing and leather would be awesome!

  9. Savage1969
    Posted January 23, 2012 at 17:04 | Permalink | Reply

    Sleeping will regen health also…..right? If not it should certainly be considered. Thanks.

    • code5
      Posted January 23, 2012 at 23:25 | Permalink | Reply

      Yea agreed but instead of just going to sleep when u get hurt maybe be only able to sleep after night time sets in and a message pop up sleep available or something letting you know when u can

      • jriot10
        Posted January 24, 2012 at 03:28 | Permalink | Reply

        Sleep currently regenerates your health but as he said in the early post that is being kicked out after this update comes through

      • Savage1969
        Posted January 24, 2012 at 23:10 | Permalink | Reply

        Exactly. Allow sleep only when dark and provide at least some amount of health benefit, even if it’s only one “heart”. It gives another option besides throwing sticks & stones for hours and hours on end. Please consider this Kaalus, if it remotely fits into the big picture of things. Thanks.

    • hypernova
      Posted January 24, 2012 at 03:39 | Permalink | Reply

      I was also wondering this.. Sleeping now brings your heath back will it still? And loving all the new stuff finally! A little bit of a challenge haha :D and are the spear heads made from stone, iron and copper? Or wood? great job can’t wait until this comes out then we can hear about even more survival aspects! :D don’t listen to the people who want you to add multiplayer or focus on the building aspect, ive got a feeling you want it to be more of a survival thing then anything else just focus on what you want the game to be then work on the other bigger stuff like other modes cause we can find those things elsewhere, but a real survival game where you can build what you wish hasn’t been done :D

  10. LakuPetteri
    Posted January 23, 2012 at 21:46 | Permalink | Reply

    Yay for animals! Now the survival part is coming slowly, but surely. Next big update that I would like to see would be something that could attack the player, like bears like someone said earlier. I would also like the fact that you had to eat, otherwise you would eventually die. Then it would really be surviving.

  11. nelson799
    Posted January 23, 2012 at 22:48 | Permalink | Reply

    Am I the only more excited about the terrain modifications over the other parts of this update lol. I was get sick of climbing not stop mountains and it takes a week to level one out. Sweeeet!

    • Code5
      Posted January 24, 2012 at 05:44 | Permalink | Reply

      lol, i filled in a lake in about a week xD
      just so i could mine in the cavern below it

      created a nice building location in the process, with the mountains surrounding it, kinda looks like a horseshoe

  12. thedapeproject
    Posted January 24, 2012 at 03:59 | Permalink | Reply

    How to survive a bear attack dig down and own it

  13. bazdch
    Posted January 24, 2012 at 12:58 | Permalink | Reply

    Yeah! go for it! been waiting for mobs – g’wan Kaalus!! <3

  14. Adam
    Posted January 24, 2012 at 19:45 | Permalink | Reply

    Its update on marketplace right now ??

    • Posted January 24, 2012 at 20:15 | Permalink | Reply

      Not yet. Based on previous submissions, Friday would be my best guess.

  15. Adam
    Posted January 24, 2012 at 20:16 | Permalink | Reply

    Ok .. great job :):)

  16. Skullbucket
    Posted January 28, 2012 at 01:17 | Permalink | Reply

    The spears are awesome. I was just in a cave with a duck. I was trying to spear it, which I did, but the spear bounced off the cave ceiling and killed me. It was wicked funny. I noticed a bug when picking up dropped items after a death. I had a lot of gear laying around and when I picked it up it made the noise when you pick things up but when I checked my inventory there was nothing there.

  17. zack
    Posted March 4, 2013 at 03:58 | Permalink | Reply

    How do you get content it keeps saying select an active user but I don’t know what to activate?Great game by the way

Leave a Reply. No swearing please.

