Sneaking, noise and birds

Yesterday I added a new system to the game which tracks noise made by various things. The noise information is used by AI, e.g. to decide whether to run away. For example a fall or splash of a thrown stone generates noise. A nearby bird (likely the one you aimed for and missed) will panic and fly away. Bird panic generates even larger noise, so more nearby birds panic and start to fly away. This looks quite cool and close to how real birds behave.

Another use of the noise system would be to make player footsteps generate noise. The noise would be suppressed if using sneak mode. This way you would only be able to approach the birds by sneaking from behind. I think it might be rather cool.

Later on when I add dangerous animals, the noise could be used by the AI not to run away but to start chasing the player. You would have to sneak around a sleeping predator :-)

19 Comments

  1. BIGOCHUNKA
    Posted January 19, 2012 at 11:47 | Permalink | Reply

    Noise induced A.I, AWWW Yeah! Can’t wait to see your hard work in the next 2 updates, appreciate your dedication Kaalus :] your the real deal! :-]

  2. mattlekim
    Posted January 19, 2012 at 12:39 | Permalink | Reply

    Very sweet look forward to this update.

  3. Posted January 19, 2012 at 13:08 | Permalink | Reply

    sounds awesome! can’t wait for the 1.5 update :)

  4. VeryBlue
    Posted January 19, 2012 at 20:47 | Permalink | Reply

    Dangerous animals sounds…. Awesome!! Thanks for the updates great work! :D

    • code5
      Posted January 20, 2012 at 00:53 | Permalink | Reply

      Sounds kinda scary, its easy to hold the W key then to use a virtual stick cuz my phones virtual stick controls seem to degrade over distance, for example I move my thumb to a particular position and I start moving in that direction fast, as I go, about 5-15secs later I start to slow down even though I have moved my thumb
      I think this might make evading/escaping from dangerous animals a bit hard

      • code5
        Posted January 20, 2012 at 00:55 | Permalink | Reply

        Slow down even though I have Not moved my thumb*

      • jriot10
        Posted January 20, 2012 at 02:38 | Permalink | Reply

        Same here

      • the Masteriii
        Posted January 20, 2012 at 17:39 | Permalink | Reply

        Same here… I think it would be awesome to fix the moving stick or improve it^^

  5. brandon
    Posted January 20, 2012 at 02:12 | Permalink | Reply

    I love the work you’ve done and since my free $25 app card came in, I bought the game. I will say that I think that ravens should drop meat (like in the video), seagulls drop feathers, and ducks could drop eggs (or lay them, but I’m not sure if this would make it more complex). Also, I hate to compare this to Craft World (the competition on WP) but I do wish you had the object showing cracks as you break it (and possibly stay damaged if you don’t completely destroy it like in Craft World). But overall, this is a significantly better game. Can’t wait for enemies, and I hope you make it more realistic than Minecraft (ex. archers instead of skeletons, spiders can stay, bears/spearman instead of zombies, and maybe toads for creepers (toads do explode and can leave their innards up to 1 meter away). But it’s ur choice, and it is a fantasic game.

    • jriot10
      Posted January 20, 2012 at 21:44 | Permalink | Reply

      I don’t think that the brocks should crack since that is to minecrafty

      • brandon
        Posted January 21, 2012 at 03:55 | Permalink | Reply

        I meant more like Craft World’s way of doing it, keeping the damage, rather than the Minecraft the block is breaking and magically heals when you release or your mouse slips. If he did the Minecraft way, I say keep it the same it is right now (bc at least I know how long it will take to break the block).

  6. brandon
    Posted January 20, 2012 at 02:24 | Permalink | Reply

    I noticed in an earlier post you said a sword is “too Minecrafty). I don’t think it would be, but I think keep it in that area (crossbow/throwing knife for bow/arrows, spear for sword I guess, and tools like axe or shovel that speed up the breaking process would be cool, but weapons are more needed). And integrating Recipedia to the Inventory screen (like sleep or death on clothing) would make it much easier to not have to go in and out of the game when you don’t know how to make something, but I am thankful that we have an official crafting guide. Great job with the game so far.

    • the Masteriii
      Posted January 20, 2012 at 17:41 | Permalink | Reply

      There are shovels,axes and pickaxes in the game… just look at the recipidia

      • jriot10
        Posted January 20, 2012 at 21:46 | Permalink | Reply

        Maybe there can be a book icon on the person button that when you click it the person opens up a book and it shows all the crafting.

      • brandon
        Posted January 21, 2012 at 04:03 | Permalink | Reply

        Missed that Masteriii. Thanks for pointing that out. But I think a book icon, that opens the Recipedia, should be on the inventory screen to make the game much easier to work with as an end user. And before he makes enemies, he needs weapons like I mentioned above and possibly closed circuits (example is pressure plate to open/close door in Minecraft).

  7. reebs (you)
    Posted January 20, 2012 at 02:34 | Permalink | Reply

    Wow thats genious. Can’t wait. Before this can be done I think that sneaking should be fixed so that you can move smoothly across several blocks (if possible). Also since there is no jumping in sneak mode that might create some difficulties. I would just allow climbing in sneak mode, maybe even make it similar to climbing a ladder, but you can only do it for one block.

    • jriot10
      Posted January 20, 2012 at 02:38 | Permalink | Reply

      +1

      • hypernova
        Posted January 20, 2012 at 08:22 | Permalink | Reply

        -1

      • jriot10
        Posted January 20, 2012 at 21:46 | Permalink | Reply

        why minus one hypernova

Leave a Reply. No swearing please.

