Birds of the cold

No, it’s not penguins, it’s ravens!

Ravens spawn in cold areas because they think they look pretty on the snow. They are faster fliers than ducks, but slower than seagulls.

All three types of birds are pretty much done now. I am in the process of implementing stone throwing. So far it works very nice, I spent way too much time today chasing birds and pelting them with coal chunks (I don’t have stones yet). It’s fun, because the birds make horrible din when they get scared :-)

At the moment throwing is done by tapping on the screen when a throwable item is active in the inventory. It is OK, but I think it would be better to change it, so that holding the screen shows some sort of “sights”, and releasing throws. A bit like dropping items, but without the drag bit. Will try it tomorrow.

Once throwing is finished I need to do a bit of optimization. Currently the phone starts to choke on anything more than about 10 birds. This is expected – I am not even culling the birds when offscreen, there is no level of detail and every limb of every bird is a separate draw call. Actually it’s quite amazing that I can have 10 birds under these circumstances :-)

 

19 Comments

  1. hypernova
    Posted January 15, 2012 at 04:35 | Permalink | Reply

    Awesome! Maybe if the hearts were across the top of the screen instead of down the put a button above or below the sneak button that is on or off like the sneak button that brings up a sight and when thats up you can throw the stones I’m sure your ways probably easier just thought id put my 2 cents in lol

    • code5
      Posted January 15, 2012 at 07:01 | Permalink | Reply

      Or remove the help button and make a tutorial on the main menu and put the button for your idea in the help buttons place :)

  2. Kenkesey8
    Posted January 15, 2012 at 07:53 | Permalink | Reply

    I think you should make the health bar a lot smaller, and also make an option to hide at least a part of the GUI in-game, not just on screenshots. Also, pleaze make an option to turn on-off the animals, and/or an option to configure how many birds the game can spawn in a given radius.
    And I also have an idea for the aiming: it would be easier on the phone if the player could just tap the screen while holding the throwable thingy, and then the game would aim on the bird automatically, not the player, but of course with a chance to miss it.
    thx for readin

    • jriot10
      Posted January 15, 2012 at 15:40 | Permalink | Reply

      But then hunting will be too easy!

      • kenkesey8
        Posted January 15, 2012 at 16:09 | Permalink | Reply

        Not at all. You would still have a chance, and you could not shoot while moving, so you would need to sneak close to the bird quietly.

    • Daniel Jackson
      Posted January 16, 2012 at 23:36 | Permalink | Reply

      Hunting is not easy, if I was stuck on an island it could take days of trying before I caught a single bird. I think auto aim might be too easy. Even if there’s a chance on missing, I think aiming ourselves would develop the hunting skill.

  3. Abuur
    Posted January 15, 2012 at 13:59 | Permalink | Reply

    Maybe make the throwing stones out of gravel, pretty useful item at the momemt tbf and get quite a lot of it >.<

    • Abuur
      Posted January 15, 2012 at 18:05 | Permalink | Reply

      Useless** >.<

  4. jriot10
    Posted January 15, 2012 at 18:23 | Permalink | Reply

    Can you post a video now kaalus?

    • Posted January 15, 2012 at 18:50 | Permalink | Reply

      Yes, I would love to see a video :D

      This update is going to be amazing!

      Great work Kaalus!

  5. JuniorDavis
    Posted January 15, 2012 at 22:20 | Permalink | Reply

    So glad this game isn’t dead I didn’t see a lot of stuff in it compared to minecraft. so I figured it might be dead lol. But I did purchase this and hope it gets the updates it deserves. The controls are excellent too please do not change them.

    when are we looking at an update?

    • hypernova
      Posted January 15, 2012 at 23:12 | Permalink | Reply

      How could you possibly think it was, as you put it “dead” the game has had like 4 updates in the last month, its actually the most “alive” game on the entire marketplace

      • JuniorDavis
        Posted January 16, 2012 at 00:24 | Permalink | Reply

        Because I just downloaded It. And it was lacking some of the minecraft stuff. But im definitely glad it’s getting updates.

      • hypernova
        Posted January 16, 2012 at 07:39 | Permalink | Reply

        That would make sense if you hadn’t come to this blog I mean clearly its not dead and why does it matter that its missing stuff from mine craft? Its not going to be added this is not a mindless mice craft clone hence the throwing stones as weapons which is way better than swords especially if it built on

      • JuniorDavis
        Posted January 16, 2012 at 14:44 | Permalink | Reply

        Lol wait is there a reason why you’re trolling upon my opinion? I thought the game was dead. Searched for more recipes than what is in the recipe book. Then stumbled upon this. Then found out it wasn’t dead.

        Throwing weapons would be cool. Nor did I say I wanted it to be minecraft. But there are things from minrcraft that should be added. Animals, watercan , etc.

      • Daniel Jackson
        Posted January 16, 2012 at 23:45 | Permalink | Reply

        Those things are gonna be added hyper. We’ve had more updates since the game came out than some games have had when they’ve been out a year or more. I know you didn’t say you want this game to be like minecraft but you kept comparing to minecraft so just understand that can be easy mis-interpreted. We don’t want this game to be like minecraft so you might not get everything you want. The update will be in the next couple weeks I’m sure and keep in mind… The game is only in alpha, not beta or full so all kinds of features are being added. Everything can’t be done at once.

        Here’s a suggestion, there’s a very successful forum that’s linked from this blog that has feature requests where you’ll probably find many features you want already suggested… I recommend throwing your ideas or adding to others. There’s so much info on that forum as well as screenshots of some amazing artwork and creations. Feel free to check it out.

      • hypernova
        Posted January 17, 2012 at 23:20 | Permalink | Reply

        Thinking its dead isn’t an opinion, most of your comment was unnecessary what’s the point of telling us your brain doesn’t work right? I’m pretty sure in the marketplace it says when the last update was released there is no reason to think its dead at all, all the evidence points towards it being alive i don’t see how you could think that and then sharing it why do that? Its be like me saying I saw animals in the game b4 the next update is released id clearly be wrong so I shouldn’t say anything and obviously animals are being added so why say they need to be?

    • JuniorDavis
      Posted January 18, 2012 at 00:51 | Permalink | Reply

      @Daniel, thanks man I actually did create a forum id and there are some amazing builds on there. For someone to mis-interpret what I said would be some serious over thinking. I never said “I want this to be minecraft. Although it’s undoubtedly a spin off of minecraft; if I wanted minecraft id go play it on my PC.

      Obviously some things should be added to the game. There’s a reason we have the poll asking. “what would you like to see in the next patch”.

      I gave my opinion. With this being a spin-off of minecraft I figured id say what id like to see in it that was in minecraft.

      If it’s not meant to be a spinoff. Then I think it should have a different name since I found it in the market by typing “Minecraft. Shouldn’t have the same UI and graphics. Careful of the lawsuit……..

      @hyper, it really seems like you are into this game. Well you at least read into stuff way to much. I didn’t read anything when I downloaded the game and purchased it. Didn’t read any patch notes or anything. Just bought it, played it, missed certain things and thought it wasn’t worked on any longer. If you prosecute people on this blog over their opinion and make a mountain over a mole hill then you need some meds lol.

      Come to Maine I’ll prescribe you medical marijuana before you have an aneurysm.

      Kaalus the games great either way. I dont know if you have a donation up on the site but you should id donate to support the development.

  6. Larry aka BIGOCHUNKA
    Posted January 15, 2012 at 22:25 | Permalink | Reply

    Nice job Kaalus! I would love to craft a weapon for the birds like a bow and make my arrows(different grade of arrows to make it challenging) . A flightless bird would be hilarious too. :] keep up the GREAT WORK, my favorite game on the go! Also I like the voting pole on your front page, gives use a quick say on things.

Leave a Reply. No swearing please.

