Birds

Yesterday I realized that I need to give the player a way to hit the animals, how could I possibly overlook it escapes me :-) While adding it I fixed a long-standing bug where your hand (or the item you held) would stay extended in front of you after digging.

Anyway, I’ve now got a little bird running around, flying, and doing some pecking! And you can kill it. What is needed is a new “run away” behavior, so that the birds run away from the player. Once I do it, I’ll post some videos.

Later on I intend to make the bird a first source of food, but it will not be easy to catch! At least that’s the plan. We’ll see how it goes. In the meantime have fun with Alpha 1.4.

Btw. I changed the ugly automatic world names (“My World 1” and the ilk). These are now randomly generated and much nicer. Next time when I’m in the mood for making small improvements, I’ll allow you to rename worlds, see the number of deaths and the seed you used (all requested in the forums) . Sadly, seeds of all existing worlds are impossible to recover, because they were turned into integers before storing. My bad.

17 Comments

  1. jriot10
    Posted January 9, 2012 at 03:17 | Permalink | Reply

    Are they going to be the only animal coming in the next udpate?

  2. kenkesey8
    Posted January 9, 2012 at 06:26 | Permalink | Reply

    Oh my god. Birds. Awesome. I like birds.

    • ohoh
      Posted January 9, 2012 at 09:16 | Permalink | Reply

      Oh please no angry Birds :D

  3. mattlekim
    Posted January 9, 2012 at 09:42 | Permalink | Reply

    Sweet very cool :D

  4. Posted January 9, 2012 at 13:12 | Permalink | Reply

    Very nice kaalus.
    With the seeds, in minecraft, its enough to know the integer values to play the same world as someone did before, because the integers will be the seed.
    I think, it should be able to share the seed from existing worlds too, we only can’t see the seed in its pure form as we entered it.

    Alpha 1.X (don’t know if it will be 1.5) will be great with animals.
    I hope, we can see the bird soon :D

    P.S: Don’t forget my suggestion from my email, I haven’t posted it yet in the forum but I can do it, if you want

  5. maxnax
    Posted January 9, 2012 at 16:24 | Permalink | Reply

    Hi kaalus i buyed your Game , but now i have problems with this account ans i reseted my phone and now i have a New account that means , i buyed your Game but nie i can’t Play it do you know a possebillity how i can Play it without buying it again ( please replay to my e-Mail )

    • Posted January 9, 2012 at 17:37 | Permalink | Reply

      You can’t transfer games from old account. I’d advise you to reset your phone again if you have not installed many apps and re use your old account. There is no possible method, look it up on the official WP sites. If not, then you either buy it again or just don’t play, which I know you wouldn’t do.

    • Posted January 9, 2012 at 21:34 | Permalink | Reply

      Yea If you’re not using the same account that you bought the game on then you can’t play unfortunately. I suggest using that same account and to troubleshoot your problem. There’s tons of sites that can help with that. If it was possible to buy a game on one account and play it on another then I could buy a game once and give it to all my friends. That would suck for many devs and be a reason for devs not to make games/app for wp7.

  6. reebs (you)
    Posted January 10, 2012 at 03:06 | Permalink | Reply

    Will you need to eat food in order to stay alive or will it just be used to heal yourself?

    • Posted January 10, 2012 at 10:09 | Permalink | Reply

      Eventually you’ll need to eat to survive, but this will probably not come out with the next version yet. We need more food sources first.

  7. Adam
    Posted January 10, 2012 at 16:33 | Permalink | Reply

    When will be next update :)

    • Posted January 10, 2012 at 21:30 | Permalink | Reply

      Hi Adam. I would like to know myself. I could say “when it is ready” as Id software does :-) I still don’t know whether there will be more interim updates, or whether the next one will contain the animals. I have the basics of animals ready, but there is still a lot to do before production quality is reached.

      • jriot10
        Posted January 10, 2012 at 23:00 | Permalink | Reply

        I say that you add a bunch of animals and monsters in the next update instead of submitting a bunch of smaller updates.

  8. rtes2459
    Posted January 10, 2012 at 17:59 | Permalink | Reply

    Hey Kaalus i got a problem…. I played since yesterday without any problems but now when i start the game, everything is black, i can just see the torches of my house and the moon and the sun… What happened there ?? :(

    • Posted January 10, 2012 at 19:46 | Permalink | Reply

      Hi rtes2459. This is likely the “disappearing terrain” bug. Rebooting the phone should resolve it.

  9. keonovic
    Posted January 11, 2012 at 16:27 | Permalink | Reply

    I am very excited! kaalus I greatly appreciate your enthusiasm and the amount of work you put in, this is by far one of the greatest value products I have paid for, it is great now to know it will soon be on a whole new level. Thank you!

  10. zach
    Posted November 13, 2012 at 02:33 | Permalink | Reply

    Is there any seeds u know of

Leave a Reply. No swearing please.

