Alpha 1.3 submitted

It was meant to be a quick release to get the performance improvements out before I plunge into potentially lengthy animals work. And of course I got carried away and started adding new stuff instead. It is so much fun!

So, there is the surprise feature of course, but also new rock types: basalt, limestone and marble. You can now craft malachite blocks (a suggestion from the forums) and I completely refactored underground stuff generation. There should be a lot more variety there. Several bugs found by you on the forums are fixed as well.

This is a smaller release than 1.1 and 1.2, but it only took half the time, so I hope I’m not burning out yet :-)

I wanted to run a screenshot contest for the next release, but in the meantime I got an email from Microsoft warning me about screenshots I submitted for Alpha 1.2 (they passed it, but on condition that I will fix it next time). Apparently there is something wrong with them – I guess this is the Survivalcraft logo superimposed on the top. I must be completely sure though, so for now the contest must wait until I get a clarification from MS. In Alpha 1.3 I added a setting to disable the overlay, so if this is indeed the problem you will be able to use it to make contest screenshots.

I don’t know how Christmas affects the submissions, so I can’t tell when Alpha 1.3 will hit the marketplace. If we’re lucky, it might be there sometime next week.

And finally to everyone who can’t get 3×3 grid to work and writes angry reviews because of that – you need to make a crafting table, place it and then tap on it to open the UI.

 

26 Comments

  1. jriot10
    Posted December 20, 2011 at 20:11 | Permalink | Reply

    Hopefully we will get it tomorrow!!!

    • jriot10
      Posted December 20, 2011 at 20:15 | Permalink | Reply

      Plz also but the new block icons in the side bar too!!! Thanks

      • Posted December 21, 2011 at 19:46 | Permalink | Reply

        Hi jriot. If you don’t mind I’ll release them when 1.3 hits the marketplace. It is a bit difficult for me to do it here, and also I would not like to reveal the surprise too soon :-)

      • jriot10
        Posted December 21, 2011 at 20:45 | Permalink | Reply

        I perfectly understand i forgot about the suprise!!!

  2. Posted December 20, 2011 at 21:23 | Permalink | Reply

    Good Work, Kaalus.
    I hope, we will get the update before christmas, but after christmas is still better than nothing :D
    Because there are new blocks and changes to the world generator, that will mean, that I must begin a new world, to get these features.
    But this is the price, that I must pay, when I want to use all new things :D (In minecraft, I started many worlds during alpha/beta so here in SC, it will be the same)
    Enjoy your holidays and don’t work too much, for me, it’s ok, if the next update comes next year (although, some firework to new years Eve will be great :D, but thats a dream from me and I don’t think, that you can add firework easily)

    • Daniel Jackson
      Posted December 20, 2011 at 23:19 | Permalink | Reply

      There is a very good write-up on your question there about having to start a new world or not, it’s at the forum if you’re interested.
      http://survivalcraft.lefora.com

      Basically, you don’t have to make a new world when new blocks are added but the new blocks won’t spawn if you’ve mined in a 16×16 block area, they will spawn in areas where you haven’t done and digging or mining… Hopefully that makes sense but I do suggest heading to the forums as this is better answered plus much more really good information!

  3. kenkesey8
    Posted December 20, 2011 at 21:50 | Permalink | Reply

    It would be cool if you could send me the new textures and block properties to my e-mail, or you could just post them here. For the wikia. Also, could you please explain what you changed on the underground world generation? Of course only do these if you have time :) thx

  4. hypernova
    Posted December 20, 2011 at 23:22 | Permalink | Reply

    Amazing work :D will it work like the forts update in that I must travel away from where I have made changes to the landscape in order to find the new types of blocks? And was Microsoft on your case because you wanted to have a screenshot challenge or because of the name being displayed? I’ve got a friend in Microsoft support down here in Australia lol so I might be able to clear up what they mean :) that fact that I got an email saying the next updated was submitted is all the Christmas presents I need haha :P love your work keep it up :D and thanks for adding the malachite blocks! I suggested it on forums and I got an awesome feeling when I no I helped the game with an idea all be it a small one lol

    • Posted December 21, 2011 at 03:38 | Permalink | Reply

      I’m just gonna paste a good reply from above as it handles part of your question:

      “There is a very good write-up on your question there about having to start a new world or not, it’s at the forum if you’re interested.
      http://survivalcraft.lefora.com

      Basically, you don’t have to make a new world when new blocks are added but the new blocks won’t spawn if you’ve mined in a 16×16 block area, they will spawn in areas where you haven’t done and digging or mining… Hopefully that makes sense but I do suggest heading to the forums as this is better answered plus much more really good information!” -Daniel Jackson

      As far as Microsoft’s complaint, I have no official information either but my guess is that the Marketplace requirements are such that screenshots for an app/game need to be accurate depictions of in-app/in-game content. If that’s the case, then the superimposed logo on the in-game screenshots that we take would not be valid for use as app screenshots for Survivalcraft in the Marketplace. That’s just my guess but it makes sense to me.

      As Kaalus mentioned, there will be a toggle for the logo overlay in screenshots (if I read that right), so that problem should be solved. He’s still waiting for “official” clarification of course.

      • hypernova
        Posted December 21, 2011 at 07:46 | Permalink | Reply

        Cool so it is like the other updates awesome! Thought as much but its better to be safe than mining for something that isn’t there lol and Microsoft must not care to much since they haven’t rejected any update yet so thats good news lol

      • Posted December 21, 2011 at 20:08 | Permalink | Reply

        Yup great info, thanks instant!

  5. Collin
    Posted December 22, 2011 at 18:11 | Permalink | Reply

    Hey Kaalus, I just wanted you to be aware of this bug I found. I had 8 solid iron cubes and when i went to covert them back into bars they disappeared once I dragged them into my inventory. I didnt again and it happened once more. So I lost about 80 pieces of iron :/ I hope this helped you so you can fix it so no one else can lose their hard work either. Great job with the game by the way! I have been playing it non-stop since I got it! I look forward to more metals and items and ores cause I’m tired of just finding cobblestone lol. I hope that bug I found helps.

    • Collin
      Posted December 22, 2011 at 18:26 | Permalink | Reply

      Also Kaalus, if I could make a suggestion. I have read people wanting things like diamonds in the game. I totally agree that this game shouldn’t be a direct copy off of Minecraft. So my idea is that in minecraft you want to get diamonds because they are the best thing, so in this game make up a gem that allows we would all be searching for. And it doesn’t have to be a real gem either, it could be a made up one. Instead of light blue for diamonds, it could be dark purple for Kaalusim (I don’t know what you would call it) but it would be hard to find and would be strong too. So you could program it so that you would have pockets of this super stone in certain conditions, so we would know where to find them. I hope you like my idea, if not that’s cool too.

      Keep up the good work and Merry Christmas Kaalus!

      • code5
        Posted December 22, 2011 at 21:49 | Permalink | Reply

        A backpack to allow you to hold more at one would be awesome :)
        and chests that are stackable so that one chest doesn’t take up one spot only
        Just my 2cents
        Keep up the good work!

      • LUCKYSHOT53
        Posted December 24, 2011 at 14:23 | Permalink | Reply

        +1 4 a purple substance woot woot I <3 purple! No game like minecraft or minecraft ever uses purple ores we would be the 1st=D

    • Posted December 22, 2011 at 18:53 | Permalink | Reply

      Hi Colin. Thanks for the info. This bug is fixed in 1.3 which should be out in several days.

    • Posted December 24, 2011 at 15:59 | Permalink | Reply

      The best place designated for bugs is the forum, have you checked it to see if this but has already been reported? If you could report at the forum with as many details possible, that would really help out kaalus and the community.

      Thanks for reporting regardless!

      • jriot10
        Posted December 24, 2011 at 17:39 | Permalink | Reply

        Actually the mod THE AETHER for minecraft uses purple ores

  6. Daverave40
    Posted December 22, 2011 at 21:02 | Permalink | Reply

    I have made a youtube video how to make a craft table ,to help people out

  7. Daniel
    Posted December 23, 2011 at 12:12 | Permalink | Reply

    The Wait is Killing Me! :-)

  8. Bastian Striegl
    Posted December 27, 2011 at 13:42 | Permalink | Reply

    hey Kaalus,
    If you need someone to translate your game in german just tell me.
    I already helped the developers of arcanes TD.

    Bastian :)

    • Justus R. (cruux)
      Posted December 27, 2011 at 15:34 | Permalink | Reply

      Gute Idee Bastian :)
      It would be great to make this game multilang. I also want to help , if you agree Kaalus. :)

      Justus

  9. Daniel
    Posted December 27, 2011 at 16:04 | Permalink | Reply

    Hi kaalus

    Do you have any update about the 1.3 certification status?

    Regards and thank you for your work.

    • Posted December 27, 2011 at 16:35 | Permalink | Reply

      I’m not kaalus, but I think, it should be certified today, because it was christmas and nobody has worked.
      Tomorrow, we will get the answer

  10. Posted December 28, 2011 at 03:35 | Permalink | Reply

    I just checked on the Survivalcraft status and the version has changed to 1.3.0.0!!

    Just goto Survivalcraft in the Marketplace and make sure the version says 1.3.0.0. If it does but you only get a “Share” button, just hit back and select Survivalcraft again and you should get an Update option.

Leave a Reply. No swearing please.

